+

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
+ Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The British singer-songwriter's debut full-length album was produced by Jake Gosling and No ID.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Jun 18, 2012
    83
    Gentle standouts like "The A Team" and "Small Bump" cast a quieter spell. [22 Jun 2012, p.64]
  2. 80
    He's a bona fide hitmaker with a colossal YouTube following, working in the argot and style of his own generation
  3. Q Magazine
    Sep 28, 2011
    80
    Fresh-faced wunderkind aces his debut. [Oct 2011, p.118]
  4. Sep 23, 2011
    60
    His debut's failure to capitalize on his unique selling point means it's likely to leave everyone else nonplussed.
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    50
    + will give Sheeran's rabid fanbase a lot to love, but it'll also make him an easy target for critics hungry for new directions in pop, as it fails to really gel the man's loves of folk and rap.
  6. Sep 23, 2011
    50
    Ed Sheeran is an impressive talent, but his juvenile lyrics and lightweight sensibility make him a tough sell to any one old enough to drink.
  7. Sep 23, 2011
    40
    Half-rapped banalities about watching Shrek 12 times and being "crap at computer games" will certainly win hearts, but perhaps only those of a certain age.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Sep 8, 2014
    10
    The album is just so perfect. His voice is so unique and makes u want to hear it 24/7. And I love the fact that he goes for a more acusticThe album is just so perfect. His voice is so unique and makes u want to hear it 24/7. And I love the fact that he goes for a more acustic sound yet he manage to do upbeat songs like "You Need Me, I Don't Need You". Ed sure is such a talented musician and I can´t wait to hear more about him. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This album is perfect for relaxing. It sounds a bit like a Jason Mraz but more folk. I loved it, there isn't only a song that i don't like.This album is perfect for relaxing. It sounds a bit like a Jason Mraz but more folk. I loved it, there isn't only a song that i don't like. It's ok that he doesn't have the best vocal of the year, but he knows how to use it and have such a great talent. "Wake Me Up" is THE song of the album for me, for being so simple and seems to be completely improvised. "The A Team" "Lego House" "You Need Me I Don't Need You" are the perfect singles for this album because it shows exactly what you gonna hear. Congratulations Ed, perfect album Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Ed Sheeran is a musical genius. His lyrics are perfection. The music he makes is original and unmistakable, he is like no other. This albumEd Sheeran is a musical genius. His lyrics are perfection. The music he makes is original and unmistakable, he is like no other. This album proves how talented his is, if I could only listen to one album for the rest of my life it would be this one, it is an excellent album, if you say or think otherwise, you need your hearing check. His voice is amazing, he is so very talented. If you haven't gotten this album yet, I have no idea what you are waiting for. This album is sheer perfection. It is absolutely flawless. I have no idea why there are bad reviews on this album, those people clearly have horrible taste in anything and everything. This album is amazing, I promise you. Expand
  4. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    If you can excuse the often cheesy lyrics and subject matter, Sheeran has provided a memorable and surprisingly emotional album filled to theIf you can excuse the often cheesy lyrics and subject matter, Sheeran has provided a memorable and surprisingly emotional album filled to the brim with tearjerker moments and goosebumps-worthy vocals. Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2014
    7
    While Ed fails in changing a little of rhythm and structure in his songs, he makes it up in voice and style that mixes pop-acoustic melodiesWhile Ed fails in changing a little of rhythm and structure in his songs, he makes it up in voice and style that mixes pop-acoustic melodies with indie folk gritty-but-soft-voiced tunes and cool semi raps. It's an above-the-average album but needs something more to be considered a great piece. Anyway, there's a solid basis to keep on working out. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2012
    7
    While I wouldn't call it the most versatile album I've ever heard, there aren't any really low moments on this album. Every song is at leastWhile I wouldn't call it the most versatile album I've ever heard, there aren't any really low moments on this album. Every song is at least solid. Ed has a nice voice, and is a good lyricist, and he seems to be well suited for this type of music. There are some fun, enjoyable songs on here, like U.N.I., which has a really good beat to it, and Wake Me Up, which combines humor and emotion in its lyrics, but the real heart of the album is in the two songs. "The A Team", which provides a heart breaking depiction of drug abuse on the life of a woman, performed and written beautifully by Ed, and "Small Bump" about the process of someone looking forward to the birth of their child. While other than those two, most of the songs aren't going to be remembered several years from now, the entire album shows an incredible about of lyrical and musical potential from Ed as an artist, and I'm looking forward to seeing what he has in store for the future. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2012
    1
    meh. he has potencial... but i feel like the concept is really weak and the topics dont match. the ginger needs more time, taylor swiftmeh. he has potencial... but i feel like the concept is really weak and the topics dont match. the ginger needs more time, taylor swift sponsoring him help with exposure so that is good i guess Expand

See all 24 User Reviews