21 - Adele
  • Band Name: Adele
  • Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2011
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 326 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 326

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2011
    2
    I have absolutely no clue what all the fuss is about. 3 good songs. Overplayed TRIPE.
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    3
    I don't understand a single person who could survive listening to all 11 tracks on the album. It's all pretty much about the same thing, love, break up, depressing and all the rest of it. On on album you expect variety but this one. Just the same track repeated over and over with different lyrics. If you wanna listen to depressing screeches for 48:12 straight go ahead and pick up a copy of 21. If you want variety. Forget it. Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2011
    3
    Boring as hell. Rolling in the Deep is a really nice song, but the rest are so boring. She has a beautiful voice and she could do so much better with it,
  4. Jan 16, 2012
    4
    Mediocre and pretentious work, nothing musically creative, low quality production, the only really good songs on the entire album are Rolling In The Deep and Set Fire To The Rain. Even though Great vocals and beautiful lyrics. Obviously overrated.
  5. Apr 6, 2011
    3
    On hearing 'Rolling in the Deep' on the local alternative station, I decided to download the album. This ended up being a major disappointment. Besides the single, there was nothing exciting or fresh to be excited about. To me is was just pop with a tinge of blues and soul, with no real originality being put into it. No suprise here it's been number 1 on iTunes for so long...
  6. Mar 27, 2012
    4
    With all the praise surrounding this piece, it falls suprisingly flat for me. Even after a few listens, I have trouble distinguishing between songs. All of the tracs deal with the same subjects : Heartbreak, Love, Betrayal. I can appreciate the depth of emotion in this record, however, to describe it in one word...it's boring. That's it.
  7. Aug 8, 2011
    0
    Crap. Chicks voice is cracking all over the place. Not a good singer. Don't waste your time, it's not worth it. Totally overrated, not seeing the fuss whatsoever
  8. Oct 28, 2011
    3
    I want to say that I love Adele! But the album sounds all the same, Set fire to the rain, Someone like you and Don't you remember are beautiful songs, but the rest is all the same and I want to add that rolling in the deep is a terrible song. BORN THIS WAY IS SO BETTER! IS THE ALBUM OF THE DECADE! so maybe all the people is buying the album but I will not do that because it don't worth the money! XO! Expand
  9. Jun 29, 2011
    0
    This is a very boring album! it has 4 good songs! And when i hear the album i might fall asleep. It is not radio material, but the grammy voters eat albums like this up! In my opinion Born this way deserves album of the year but 21 is a good choice as well !
  10. Sep 4, 2011
    1
    2 good songs! Someone Like You and Set Fire To The Rain. Nothing else is good! Rolling in the deep is kinda good. Besides that nothing!!!! Hope she makes a better 3rd album!
  11. May 2, 2012
    0
    Very bad album. Adele has a nice voice, but the lyrics and melody are suck. My mother make better lyrics than Adele and her producers...........................
  12. Oct 15, 2011
    0
    This is a very boring album! it has 4 good songs! And when i hear the album i might fall asleep. It is not radio material, but the grammy voters eat albums like this up! In my opinion Born this way deserves album of the year but 21 is a good choice as well !
  13. May 30, 2012
    1
    Adele Makes Me Mad..
    Yes We Get It She Can Sing.. I Dont Like It That Everyone Says "Adele Is The Only Current Artist Who Can Carry A Tune Live" Hello People Bruno Mars, Lady Gaga, Florence And The Machine?
    The Album Is Nothing Special At All Is The Most Overated Album Of All Time! This Album Win's 5 Or 6 Grammys Florence And The Machine Is Ignored..
  14. Apr 14, 2012
    4
    Her voice is so beautiful, but most of these songs are really depressing or boring, Rolling in The Deep is, in my opinion, the only catchy and good song from this album.
  15. Jun 25, 2012
    0
    Overrated garbage. Adele can sing but this album is just awful ! the only song i liked was Rolling In The Deep which got annoying after radios overplaying it.
  16. Jul 9, 2012
    0
    Boring album. Boring songs. Boring singer. Boring clips. Just one or two good songs, love, break up, love, break up, love, break up, love, break up, so boring.
  17. Nov 12, 2012
    0
    Morose, Dull, Uninspiring, Middle of the road, Non-offensive blandness. Of course everyone is drawn to her as shes a stripped down pseudo soul-pop singer who popped up as a counter to the over the top electro-pop trend, right place right time. Imagine if she released this album in the mist of the mid 00s when this stuff was all over the place, no one would bat an eyelid..much like her first album as a matter of fact.
    A great songwriter she is not (for one read the amount of songwriters credited on each song, not so personal as she claims) the lyrics are nothing that Alanis Morrisette or Liz Phair have done before, and Adeles lacking the punch and passion of the former. Instead were met with a collection of easy listening flat instrumentation with cliche break lyrics knitted to very standard Melody.
    Adele was among a batch of artists in the UK that came about after Amy Winehouses Back to Black had got big alongside Duffy and Gabrielle Cilmi, Adele timed her release just right and she filled the hole for when Amy Winehouse died to claim the throne of queen of the middle of the road pop. Not too cheesy to alienate parents, not too retro to alienate the teenagers. The music being artistically flat has no bearing on what people are looking for in Adele. Why have groundbreaking, experimental and challenging music when you have this teenage-white girl singing mature orientated songs? I think peoples admiration of her is more down to the fact that she lost a load of weight, rather than her raw lyrical output. Lets see where she is come release of her next album.
    Expand
  18. Apr 14, 2013
    2
    Nothing good here at all. Personally, I don't like her voice. IT'S ALL ABOUT THE SAME THING. Rumor Has It is one of the worst songs I've EVER heard. Rolling In The Deep was alright, average at best. Just a screechy over-rated album.
  19. Jan 11, 2014
    1
    All filler, no killer. 21 is the most overhyped, depressingly boring and uninspiringly dull album ever released by anybody ever - the cover of The Cure hit Lovesong makes the original sound like the "happiest song ever". Sure some of the other singles are slightly better in quality but the filler songs are exactly as described - filler. There is nothing interesting about this album, its a waste of time and space when there are far better musicians out there that sing the exact same types of songs but with more interest and excitement, why everybody decided to go "emo" and buy this is anyone's guess. (Note, no this is not an "emo" album but its the only way I can describe it (its like the Mad World cover that was Xmas No. 1 back in 2003) since its so depressing it would make optimists jump off buildings). Expand
  20. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    well, i dont like her, i dont like this album, and i hate how it is overrated... i just hope she comes with something GOOD in her next album, not about ex and cheatting sh*t
  21. Aug 14, 2013
    2
    It seems that I am the only one who dislikes Adele. I guess it just isn't my genre or something, but I am not impressed with this. The only decent song is "Rumour Has It".
  22. Dec 10, 2013
    0
    boring boring boring and boring, everything about this album is boring. Adele have an amazing voice but this album sucks!! it could be better if she stopped to talk about her break up in every song.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    80
    Hearing a voice that grows scratchy and threatens to break and has not been tampered with, has not been slicked over in a studio, a voice that reveals all that can be found within a person and also seems to hold something back, to suggest another truth just behind the veil.
  2. Apr 20, 2011
    60
    The Brit School girl undergoes a successful soul-pop makeover. [Feb. 2011, p. 108]
  3. 70
    On her sophomore album, 21, Adele channels real emotion and blasts through sincere ballads and angry rockers with few missteps.