4

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 538 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 538
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    First notes of 1+1, the new Beyoncéâ
  2. Aug 1, 2011
    4
    it sounds repetitive and uninspired .she just tried to copy janelle monae.Come one beyonce be creative not just use JZ to produce your album .The first single was terrible and a lot of fans said the same .Run the word girls? come one beyonce that was a terrible single
  3. Jul 19, 2011
    6
    The album is a disaster, a wreck, musically terrible. Well, that was before I've listened to the whole album. I understand what Beyonce is trying to do. She doesn't want to be as commercial as on her previous effort. She wants to be seen as a serious artist with serious songs as she left the Gaga-esque field and went with more live-Solange-like instruments and melodies. I've also noticedThe album is a disaster, a wreck, musically terrible. Well, that was before I've listened to the whole album. I understand what Beyonce is trying to do. She doesn't want to be as commercial as on her previous effort. She wants to be seen as a serious artist with serious songs as she left the Gaga-esque field and went with more live-Solange-like instruments and melodies. I've also noticed that she went back to the DC roots (Party, Love on Top). Which is good. The album flows really well. '4' is without a doubt the least commercial Beyonce album ever, and at the same time the most mature album in her career. I'm glad that she distanced herself from all the Pop garbage (Gaga, Britney, Kesha) and took a risk. She took a risk by going back to R'n'B, and artistically, it payed off. Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2011
    5
    "4" is, for sure, the best work Beyonce has ever done. It shows the same R&B singer from "Dangerously in Love" we kinda missed on the too much pop "I Am... Sasha Fierce", but now she is a 29 years old mature woman, already talking about legacy ("I Was Here"). Get higher with "Countdown" and "End of Time", the most uptempo tracks, and get emotional with "1+1" and "I Miss You". Get angry"4" is, for sure, the best work Beyonce has ever done. It shows the same R&B singer from "Dangerously in Love" we kinda missed on the too much pop "I Am... Sasha Fierce", but now she is a 29 years old mature woman, already talking about legacy ("I Was Here"). Get higher with "Countdown" and "End of Time", the most uptempo tracks, and get emotional with "1+1" and "I Miss You". Get angry with "I Care" and "Best Thing I Never Had". We can see that "Dangerously in Love" girl again on "Rather Die Young". "Love On Top"! OMG what is it? It's Beyoncé doing her best, taking some old styles to the radio where we only listen to auto tune nowadays! Congrats, Mrs. Knowles! Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    6
    Beyonce has made an album that will keep her reputation as a powerhouse with vocals, but played it too safe with her songs.

    Highlight: Countdown

    Lowlight: Love on Top

    6/10
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Uncut
    Aug 18, 2011
    80
    The lyrics are occasionally hackneyed, but overall 4 is a very strong record indeed. [Sep 2011, p.79]
  2. Q Magazine
    Aug 16, 2011
    60
    At Glastonbury she dazzled; here she plays it safe. [Sept. 2011, p. 105]
  3. Aug 2, 2011
    70
    While I suspect 4 was made in large part to sound more natural and real, it doesn't succeed entirely. The album is a refreshingly understated change from the constantly banging and bumping sound of modern R&B, but it doesn't really bring us closer to the Queen B.