A Bigger Bang

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Sep 6, 2005
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 73
  2. Negative: 9 out of 73

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StéphanieV
    Apr 11, 2007
    10
    Great album! Definately 1000% STONES, blows your mind! They've done it again the Rolling Stones made a abso-fucking-lutely magnificent album once more ! The lyrics sound great - good old Jagger/Richards teamwork :) - and the RIFFS & MUSIC what can I say bold as ever. Every single 21th century band can wrap up, go home and change their nappies 'cos the Rolling Stones are in town Great album! Definately 1000% STONES, blows your mind! They've done it again the Rolling Stones made a abso-fucking-lutely magnificent album once more ! The lyrics sound great - good old Jagger/Richards teamwork :) - and the RIFFS & MUSIC what can I say bold as ever. Every single 21th century band can wrap up, go home and change their nappies 'cos the Rolling Stones are in town again; LEAN & Mean as ever... Expand
  2. mechalln
    Oct 2, 2005
    0
    crap! all crap! god i h8 these guys! if our country and our leaders suck so much, go live somewhere else! totally overrated artists.
  3. PaulH
    Nov 7, 2005
    3
    It's just boring music, from what use to be a great band, it's so dull and long. they should of ended the band after "Some Girls", we all know this though some (most) are in denial. The Stones have been embarassing themselves for the last 25 years.
  4. ChuckS
    Sep 23, 2006
    4
    Not much to say about this.........lots of songs but .the lyrics are juvenile without much imagination. The drums and guitars let you know right off its the Stones, however.
  5. JoséR
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    Amazing
  6. EricZ
    Sep 6, 2005
    8
    A pretty good CD. While there are no "WOW that was amazing" hits there are a number of strong efforts. I love "Let Me Down Slow" and "Laugh, I Nearly Died." "Biggest Mistake" is pretty good too. And you've gotta love the Bush-bashing "Sweet Neo Con."
  7. RobertK
    Sep 7, 2005
    9
    Very good album, lots of energy and comparable to Some Girls. Mick Jagger really worked his ass off this time!
  8. NiklasE
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best Stones records in a very long time.
  9. BrandonS
    Sep 7, 2005
    8
    Rock solid rock and roll. I for one don't mind that the lyrics aren't necessarily all that great. They're full of spite and raunch. - Jagger being Jagger. Great Stones album any way you look at it.
  10. SteveMcQueen
    Sep 7, 2005
    9
    A couple of duff tracks but Jagger sounds rejuvenated and the band are stonking
  11. stevek
    Sep 7, 2005
    9
    best since some girls by far they will never stop evolving there jus missin 1 country song like far away eyes
  12. TimothyR
    Sep 7, 2005
    3
    This is not the big comeback we were all hoping for. This album is as ugly as Keith's leathery face. The lyrics do Spinal Tap proud and the music is dull and uninspired.
  13. ErikP
    Sep 7, 2005
    9
    Good album, No really awesome songs on it but over all the music is good.
  14. Giulio
    Sep 8, 2005
    9
    The greatest rock 'n' roll band in the world is back!!! Better late than never ;-)
  15. AndrewJ
    Sep 8, 2005
    9
    just short of a classic...the best stones album since exile
  16. steveM
    Sep 8, 2005
    4
    About four tracks show real effort (and kudos on "Sweet Neo Con", easily the best song on the CD). The remaining 12 tracks are anonymous knockoffs sprinkled with lyrics that make Spinal Tap jealous ("the phone kept ringing as we made sweet love"??). Did I really expect more? Foolishly, I did.
  17. radar
    Sep 8, 2005
    3
    "Bridges To Babylon" is an impressingly lot better than this. Don't ask me what the Allmusic and RollingStone critics are thinking about - daring to tell people anything else. Wipe the dust off of your Babylon-disc and enjoy some good Stones instead!
  18. nevilleq
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    they are back sounding early stones post altamont . brave to take the honest approach and sound like a stones album should + not follow 2005 5 minute pleasers
  19. BrianK
    Sep 9, 2005
    6
    This sounds more like Tattoo You, Black and Blue and Voodoo Lounge than it does Some Girls. What makes this hard to listen to is the variety of Stones genres on this album. Some blues, some ballads, some punkish-rock, some reggae-influenced pop. That's why it reminds me most of Tattoo You. There are some good rockin' tracks but it gets watered down with some of Jagger's This sounds more like Tattoo You, Black and Blue and Voodoo Lounge than it does Some Girls. What makes this hard to listen to is the variety of Stones genres on this album. Some blues, some ballads, some punkish-rock, some reggae-influenced pop. That's why it reminds me most of Tattoo You. There are some good rockin' tracks but it gets watered down with some of Jagger's Alfie-like soundtrack songs. The best song by far is Keith's "This Place is Empty". Here' are the best songs on this CD in my opinion: Rough Justice (B+) - Sounds like a Some Girls leftover ala the Tattoo You, Emotional Rescue albums. Back of My Hand (A-) - Terrific blues guitar and almost sounds like something off Exile. This Place is Empty (A) - Sounds like a classic Steve Earle song. No doubt this song was 100% written by Keith and pays tribute to his late 60's all-American country influences such as Graham Parsons (again). Oh No Not You Again (B)- This sounds like the early 80's releases which were mostly leftovers from the mid and late 70's studio sessions. Expand
  20. BKracke
    Sep 9, 2005
    6
    Sounds more like Tattoo You and Black and Blue than it does Some Girls. Entertaining, great guitar licks as always but the lyrics are not up to the Stones best work. Also, too much variety in terms of song styles on this CD make it inconsistent and uneven.
  21. peterw
    Sep 9, 2005
    9
    I'm amazed at how many tracks I enjoyed - felt that 60's part of me all over again! I espcially was moved by this place is empty, and of course streets of love
  22. MikeH
    Sep 9, 2005
    10
    The Rolling Stones are the best band of all time and this just proves it again
  23. AtleticodeRafaela...
    Sep 9, 2005
    4
    Rolling Stones: this album was unnecesary.
  24. BM
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    This is one great album. Once you've heard the separation of the instruments, you'll realize there are no bad songs. They groove very raunchy, bluezy, Mick in top form. I love TPIE. The Worlds Greatest Rock n Roll Band fo sho!
  25. JohnP
    Sep 11, 2005
    8
    Significantly better than many of the sniffy critic reviews would have you believe. This is the sound of an exceptionally talented, tight band playing a strong set of tunes. Yes, there are a couple of duff moments, but it's a stronger album than most acts 40 years younger are putting out. Jagger's lyrics might not always be hot, but his delivery of them is blistering - you Significantly better than many of the sniffy critic reviews would have you believe. This is the sound of an exceptionally talented, tight band playing a strong set of tunes. Yes, there are a couple of duff moments, but it's a stronger album than most acts 40 years younger are putting out. Jagger's lyrics might not always be hot, but his delivery of them is blistering - you should buy this now and play it very loud. Expand
  26. SteveC
    Sep 11, 2005
    9
    There are three rocking stompers that really kick ass: the steroid pumped 67 vibe of Dangerous Beauty, the sophisticated punk of Oh No, Not You Again, and the sleek rock of It Wont Take Long. Then there's the deliscious funk of Rain Fall Down, and the rending ballad Laugh, I Nearly Died. Thats just fuive outstanding tracks that hold water in any decade's company, 60's There are three rocking stompers that really kick ass: the steroid pumped 67 vibe of Dangerous Beauty, the sophisticated punk of Oh No, Not You Again, and the sleek rock of It Wont Take Long. Then there's the deliscious funk of Rain Fall Down, and the rending ballad Laugh, I Nearly Died. Thats just fuive outstanding tracks that hold water in any decade's company, 60's included, and theres more... Who'd have thought it? What weve been hoping for for a long long time, they've re-set the bar where it belongs, and noone will beat these guys for longevity. Expand
  27. ShannonW
    Sep 12, 2005
    7
    While rock solid and more cohesive-sounding than "Bridges to Babylon," this does not have near the variety and scope of "Voodoo Lounge." That album had country, R&B, and ornate folk alongside the standard power-rockers. I can't see why anyone thinks "Bang" is a significant improvement over that. Probably 'cause it's much easier to go along with the "best album in more than While rock solid and more cohesive-sounding than "Bridges to Babylon," this does not have near the variety and scope of "Voodoo Lounge." That album had country, R&B, and ornate folk alongside the standard power-rockers. I can't see why anyone thinks "Bang" is a significant improvement over that. Probably 'cause it's much easier to go along with the "best album in more than 25 years!" hyperbole. Expand
  28. JosephK
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    Best recording in years. Not over produced like the last couple of ones. There are plenty of good song s but the one that stand out the most to me is "Dangerous Beauty". Classic Stones riff with Jagger's hard driving lyrics. Incredible!!!!!
  29. JEREMYS
    Sep 13, 2005
    9
    This may be the fifth best Stones album ever (after Sticky Fingers, Exile, Let it Bleed and Beggar's Banquet). No there is no Can't You Hear Me Knocking or Gimme Shelter type miracle, but there are about twelve or thirteen tracks ranging from solid (Infamy and Rough Justice) to extraordinary (Streets of Love and Rain Fall Down). People are calling it their best effort in 27 This may be the fifth best Stones album ever (after Sticky Fingers, Exile, Let it Bleed and Beggar's Banquet). No there is no Can't You Hear Me Knocking or Gimme Shelter type miracle, but there are about twelve or thirteen tracks ranging from solid (Infamy and Rough Justice) to extraordinary (Streets of Love and Rain Fall Down). People are calling it their best effort in 27 years because that's what it is. Any doof that just figured out that Mick is not John Keatsand posted a bad rating has apparently been living in a cave since 1964; Mick's lyrics have always been juvenile; it's a part of his charm. Collapse
  30. SeanS
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    greatest effort in years giving yhe old fans what they want and need ladies and gents the greatest rock"n"roll band in the world. Nanker-Phelge are back and they are street fighting with Bush but its not rough justice when your driving to fast and you make the biggest mistake.that sweet neo con needs the back of my hand and it won't take long for this dangerous beauty to realize that greatest effort in years giving yhe old fans what they want and need ladies and gents the greatest rock"n"roll band in the world. Nanker-Phelge are back and they are street fighting with Bush but its not rough justice when your driving to fast and you make the biggest mistake.that sweet neo con needs the back of my hand and it won't take long for this dangerous beauty to realize that this place is empty.hey i mean look what the cat dragged in,laugh i nearly died when bush was re-elected.oh no not you again , this place is empty and there are no streets of love the rain fall down and washed it all away.he will go down in infamy. she saw me coming ,next time let me down slow and kiss me first. sremmus naes Expand
  31. JimS
    Sep 18, 2005
    10
    The best theyve done in 25 years! This is classic rock and powerful R&B This is a Stone"s masterpiece!!!
  32. RandyD
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    INCREDIBLE!!!!!! IS THERE AN 11 IN THE RATING CHART? Best Rolling Stones album in years!!!!!!Mick Jagger still has it!!!!! Lyrics and performing!!
  33. jcarlson
    Sep 25, 2005
    2
    The writing is weak and juvenile. Jagger has be come bitter and Richard and Wood can't lift these tunes above that or the song structure.
  34. CosmoP
    Sep 27, 2005
    4
    Glad to see Rolling Stone magizine still likes to suck dick.
  35. PatM
    Sep 28, 2005
    10
    Bought it today (Netherlands), I didn't buy it earlier 'cause I didn't expect much. Positive reviews and a number 1 entry in the album top 100 in the Netherlands convinced me to buy it. .................I've been jumping, bounching and shuffling for an hour or two right now. Very inspiring and energetic, I'm again proud to be a Stones fan. I'm not into Bought it today (Netherlands), I didn't buy it earlier 'cause I didn't expect much. Positive reviews and a number 1 entry in the album top 100 in the Netherlands convinced me to buy it. .................I've been jumping, bounching and shuffling for an hour or two right now. Very inspiring and energetic, I'm again proud to be a Stones fan. I'm not into comparing with older material, still going strong that's more important. Can't wait to see them performing next year. Expand
  36. Matt
    Sep 29, 2005
    7
    It feels a little desperate to seem relevant, but there are many solid Rolling Stones moments.
  37. CarlosM
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    Their Best Album since "Exile". It´s strong, smood, country. blues. They are The Rolling Stones.
  38. PeterM
    Oct 5, 2005
    6
    A bit disappointing,. I'm in the minority - I preferred their last two albums. Poorly produce, but worth a listen if only for the tightest rhythm section in rock; Jones and Watts are terrific
  39. Rev.Rikard
    Oct 8, 2005
    4
    This album contains the lyric, 'I''ve been traveling, but I don't know where." The content of the album answers Jagger's dillema. The Stones haven't gone anywhere. There is nothing new about his album. It sounds like some old Stone sounds created to make a money-making tour possible. The only positive contribution this album makes to the Stones vast, mostly This album contains the lyric, 'I''ve been traveling, but I don't know where." The content of the album answers Jagger's dillema. The Stones haven't gone anywhere. There is nothing new about his album. It sounds like some old Stone sounds created to make a money-making tour possible. The only positive contribution this album makes to the Stones vast, mostly good, body of work is Jagger's new-found ability to articulate. You can almost understand his every word! In earlier days the Stones could rock you with raw senusality that arose from Richard's powerful, unique manner of playing rythm guitar, accompanied by Jagger's gutteral growl. The lyric didn't have to be understood. Now, in their sixties the lyrics have to matter! Consequently, we have acceptable lyrics and music that has lost it once obvious sexuality. Expand
  40. David
    Nov 3, 2005
    7
    I don't really understand all of this stuff about "the lyrics are bad.," and the comparisons to Spinal Tap. The Stones have always had willfully ridiculous lyrics and vocals ("I was making love last night/To a dancer friend of mine/I can't seem to stay in step/'Cause she come every time that she pirouettes over me" or check out the bridge of the song "Take it or Leave It." I don't really understand all of this stuff about "the lyrics are bad.," and the comparisons to Spinal Tap. The Stones have always had willfully ridiculous lyrics and vocals ("I was making love last night/To a dancer friend of mine/I can't seem to stay in step/'Cause she come every time that she pirouettes over me" or check out the bridge of the song "Take it or Leave It." You think Jagger doesn't know that lyrics like "The moon is yellow but I'm like jello/Staring down your tits " or "You look like your totally spaced/Your breath's got a horrible taste/You look like a leper, dressed as Sergeant Pepper" are completely ridiculous? The man is not an idiot. The Stones presentation has always been campy and overblown. One other thing...people who say that there is "nothing new" about this. That seems like a recycled criticism to me, and one that's not particularly observant. Do people really expect the Stones to start radically innovating and changing their music? Plus, more insightful listeners will realize that this rocks much harder than any of their last albums. Expand
  41. SatanicMajestyColombia
    Nov 4, 2005
    7
    No glowing moments, and still the over-and-over-again-dull-guitar-riffs. It's fairly nice to see the Stones rockin' once again as they seem to never sell out. And, yeah... Jagger is a charmy guy but his band they all got stuck into that fakie/rockin' sound of their last albums: "Flip the Switch" and all that... no rock progression since "Respectable" see? And let me finish No glowing moments, and still the over-and-over-again-dull-guitar-riffs. It's fairly nice to see the Stones rockin' once again as they seem to never sell out. And, yeah... Jagger is a charmy guy but his band they all got stuck into that fakie/rockin' sound of their last albums: "Flip the Switch" and all that... no rock progression since "Respectable" see? And let me finish with something: the Stones are the most "mere" Rock band so, expect no progression on forthcoming albums, as it has been for the last 20 years or so... It's been "Only Rock n Roll... But I Like it" Expand
  42. AlanR
    Nov 7, 2005
    0
    Why won't Mick Jagger just die already? Then I might be able to listen to their back catalogue and not feel dirty.
  43. [Anonymous]
    Nov 20, 2005
    2
    just because they rocked a long time ago doesnt make this album likeable. in other words it sux.
  44. JimR
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    best since tatoo you, mixes all areas of stones sound since the exile days, if they are going out on this one it's a fitting end!!
  45. SteveJ
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    Positively the best work the Rolling Stones have done since Tatoo You. Outstanding gutar riffs and interplay between Wood and Richards, Jaggers vocal ability is at its peak ranging from soulfull to blues to all out rock and roll. No otherband in the world today would put out an album like this containing a MOR power ballad, a electric Delta blues and punk rocking songs. The versatility in Positively the best work the Rolling Stones have done since Tatoo You. Outstanding gutar riffs and interplay between Wood and Richards, Jaggers vocal ability is at its peak ranging from soulfull to blues to all out rock and roll. No otherband in the world today would put out an album like this containing a MOR power ballad, a electric Delta blues and punk rocking songs. The versatility in this band is outstanding they can take any genre and make it there own. Expand
  46. PaulG
    Dec 10, 2005
    9
    There is only a few songs i don`t like. In an age of "idol" music..i needed some grit. It`s in this album. It also has blues and country reference songs that show their roots. What`s interesting is if this band had never made an album and i heard bigger bang as their first i would consider the same rating...to judge it otherwise against a back catalogue is pointless..it may be the last There is only a few songs i don`t like. In an age of "idol" music..i needed some grit. It`s in this album. It also has blues and country reference songs that show their roots. What`s interesting is if this band had never made an album and i heard bigger bang as their first i would consider the same rating...to judge it otherwise against a back catalogue is pointless..it may be the last album and therefore there will be nothing to judge as a forward catalogue. they`re only songs...no one said "You have to eat it!" Expand
  47. LauraS
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    I wasn't expecting too much when I bought Bigger Bang since their last few albums weren't the Stones of old. But now, since listening to it every day in my car, I absolutely think its one of their best albums in their history. It has the classic rock sound of the Stones, along with the bluesiness that has made them the greatest band of all time.
  48. NickR
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    This is the best Stones album since Tattoo You & probably better than Exile on Main Street. The boys sound great as their songs cross over from hard rock to rock to r&b & even a little pop. There is something for everyone. Mick sounds great & Keith once again shows why he is the soul of the band. Ron & Charlie don't miss a beat. This offering isn't just for the fans....it's This is the best Stones album since Tattoo You & probably better than Exile on Main Street. The boys sound great as their songs cross over from hard rock to rock to r&b & even a little pop. There is something for everyone. Mick sounds great & Keith once again shows why he is the soul of the band. Ron & Charlie don't miss a beat. This offering isn't just for the fans....it's for music lovers. Expand
  49. MikeS
    Jan 1, 2006
    9
    One of the best albums they have ever done. I can't get enough of it.
  50. MickJagger
    Jan 22, 2006
    9
    There's no way that you can hate these guys! They are too cool for school! From the beginning to the end, the california raisins kick major butt!
  51. BeaufordeP
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    This is the best rock album of 2005. The Stones reclaim the crown. There is some filler toward the end, but the body of this album is stunning in its eclecticism, range, and execution. Simply a breathtaking ride...the kind of album no other band in the world could make any more...or even dare try...except for the Stones.
  52. steveL
    Mar 23, 2006
    6
    I find it a mixed bag. They can still write the riffs but the lyrics are a bit weak. Time to lose Don Was as producer and find someone willing to give orders rather than take them.
  53. DuckCD
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    This is a very fine album, heartfelt and fierce like all their best work, but also tender, generous and brave enough to expose wounds that would sound silly in younger mouths. While it's not as darkly bold as "Undercover," which remains way underrated, its songs sneak up on you over time. You don't even realize till Track 4 that you're back in deep Stones territory... and This is a very fine album, heartfelt and fierce like all their best work, but also tender, generous and brave enough to expose wounds that would sound silly in younger mouths. While it's not as darkly bold as "Undercover," which remains way underrated, its songs sneak up on you over time. You don't even realize till Track 4 that you're back in deep Stones territory... and then it keeps going deeper. Expand
  54. DrewJ
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    Rolling Stones still and will forever have what most bands going today can only dream about...straight through great ablum...The rest of modern rock has just got the shit kicked out of them by seventy year olds
  55. zachm
    May 8, 2007
    9
    its good
  56. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    A solid later days Stones album and sure it's no Exile On Main St. or Sticky Fingers but it doesn't need to be. It is a compilation of great songs that make the Stones sound more like themselves than they have since Tattoo You. "Rough Justice" is a great rock track and it probably the best song they've done in twenty years. "Let Me Down Slow" is a great up-tempo ballad and "Rain Fall Down"A solid later days Stones album and sure it's no Exile On Main St. or Sticky Fingers but it doesn't need to be. It is a compilation of great songs that make the Stones sound more like themselves than they have since Tattoo You. "Rough Justice" is a great rock track and it probably the best song they've done in twenty years. "Let Me Down Slow" is a great up-tempo ballad and "Rain Fall Down" is a catchy "Miss You" esque dance tune. "Back Of My Hand" is pure blues and it's great to hear the boys going back to their roots with this one. "Oh, No Not You Again" and "Driving Too Fast" round out the great songs on the albums. Expand
  57. Aug 2, 2013
    4
    I dont like this album.I think this is the worst album that rolling stones have ever produced.But a few songs are really good like rough justice and for their age the album is good.So it seems to me this is a bad album but a really good effort for their age
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. A strong, engaging, cohesive Rolling Stones album that finds everybody in prime form.
  2. Some of their best work in nearly two decades.
  3. Billboard
    40
    16 songs of stalwart Stones riffs that almost compensate for generally embarrassing lyrics. [10 Sep 2005]