A Creature I Don't Know Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    The song kick-starts the album's powerful sense of forward motion, of a woman struggling to wrestle free from expectations, relationships and religious convention.
  2. Sep 12, 2011
    90
    These are truly wonderful songs that deserved to be poured over and analysed for months to come.
  3. 80
    Marling has always sounded like an adult, even when she wasn't one. Now that she's got the actual years to back up her world-weary tone, she's all the more thrilling. Maybe it's the beast within.
  4. 80
    Laura Marling continues to impress on her third outing, though the transatlantic influences are becoming more apparent.
  5. Sep 22, 2011
    80
    It's heavy at times, but always thoughtful and interesting.
  6. Sep 14, 2011
    74
    A Creature I Don't Know takes Marling even further in her musical career than her efforts have already-and the girl's only 21.
  7. Aug 16, 2011
    70
    While her music still belies her age, he laser-beam narrative focus still indicates a young adult willing to believe that everything matters. [Oct. 2011, p. 81]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Perfection is the only word to describe this young talent girl and this album shows that it's not a lie!!! She is amazing, this is album is aPerfection is the only word to describe this young talent girl and this album shows that it's not a lie!!! She is amazing, this is album is a mixture of dark and innocence, and i love it! Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    It's fascinating how Laura's music have improved throughout the years. The sweet and mellow melodies of her youth were left behind to imposeIt's fascinating how Laura's music have improved throughout the years. The sweet and mellow melodies of her youth were left behind to impose this marvellous and strong woman. Opening with the defying "The Muse" with a beat that will make feel you're in the middle of the country-side surrounded by nature, she then slows down in "Don't ask Me Why". One of the highlights of this album for me is "The Beast" a song in which in the beginning the guitar is barely listened and then energy starts slowly to grow and grow and an electric guitar is added in a magnificent way, (an instrument that Laura generally doesn't use in her songs). And meanwhile, she sings in a deep and dark voice "tonight he lies with me, tonight he lies with me, and here comes the beast". In all the album you'll hear interspersed soft songs with powerful ones, and she finally gives an end to the album bringing back Country music, in a song that it's outstanding: "All My Rage". Be good to yourself and go and buy this album. You won't regret it. Collapse
  3. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    She is only 21 years and her voice sounds like a great "old" singer...
    A Creature I Don't Know is a masterpiece, is a more mature album
    She is only 21 years and her voice sounds like a great "old" singer...
    A Creature I Don't Know is a masterpiece, is a more mature album (musically and lyrically)
    Laura is lovely in every aspect and she is moving toward a new sound, unbroken, stormy and peaceful, She sounds better between darkness and innocence...
    The Beast, Sophia, Salinas and Don't Ask Me Why...highly recommend!!!
    Sincerely she is amazing...nothing to add...the best album of the year...!!!
    Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    Marling's strongest career moment thus far! A 10 track album whereupon each and every of the 10 tracks seems to simply hit the spot. Not aMarling's strongest career moment thus far! A 10 track album whereupon each and every of the 10 tracks seems to simply hit the spot. Not a classic from Marling yet, but most definitely a winning album alone. Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    Laura Marling's I SPEAK BECAUSE I CAN was a rambling testimony to growing in maturity and knowledge, A CREATURE I DON'T KNOW is herLaura Marling's I SPEAK BECAUSE I CAN was a rambling testimony to growing in maturity and knowledge, A CREATURE I DON'T KNOW is her masterpiece, turning in a new, but not completely unfamiliar territory. THE MUSE, an uptempo, light hearted entry to the album sets a jazzy, smokey feel. I WAS JUSR A CARD, a whist full, fleeting touch back to some of what made I SPEAK... .DON'T ASK ME WHY pulls the masses together and explains WHY the world is what it is. SALINAS, one of the albums highlights, where Marling tries out an American rock-y side which she pulls off completely. THE BEAST, the magnificent 6 minute center piece that winds through a dark tale of suicide and depression filled with electric guitar and Marling's unflinching lyric and tone. NIGHT AFTER NIGHT is a Cohen-esque song about the erosion of the human mind and soul. MY FRIENDS, a folky charge through choices and changes is a memorable creation, one of the albums best. REST IN THE BED is a celtic-y, slightly dark, slow idea, rest in the bed of my bones rambles Marling, joined by a series of eerie siren sounds. SOPHIA, a highlight of Marling's career is another American rock-y country-ish masterpiece about the goddess of wisdom, Sophia. Finally, any pent up rage Marling has sung about is released in the peasant-y ALL MY RAGE where Marling touches on an english wife singing about the sacrifices and furies in her life. All in all A CREATURE... is Marling's best album, the darkest and most powerful in its content, highlights are SALINAS, THE BEAST, NIGHT AFTER NIGHT, REST IN THE BED and SOPHIA but there are no bad songs, like I SPEAK... there is nothing to complain about but this is slightly deeper, darker, a spiralling fairy tale that leaves Marling with a completely new route, but still gives her the folk that makes her one of the most talented singers today! Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    With a voice of an angel, her beautiful lyrics, Marling proves herself again as one of the biggest UK singers nowadays. This album is strong,With a voice of an angel, her beautiful lyrics, Marling proves herself again as one of the biggest UK singers nowadays. This album is strong, confident, and a little bit experimental, and she nailed to mix it and have one of the best albums of the past year, with extraordinary songs like "Sophia" and "Night After Night", and proves her improvement in each CD. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2011
    8
    It takes a while to grow on you, but the new album is really remarkable. Almost as good as her first two or even better for myself once youIt takes a while to grow on you, but the new album is really remarkable. Almost as good as her first two or even better for myself once you lean to love it's bitterness. i love how lyrics express some kind of transition in her life .. from a child and sweet girl in love in Alas to a mature woman in this album. How can a 21 year old make an album that is beyond many others that have been making music for decades. she truly is a brilliant songwriter. In some years Laura will be considered one of the best singer songwriters ever to grace this planet. Expand

Related Articles

  1. September's Best New Music

    September's Best New Music Image
    Published: September 30, 2011
    We reveal the best-reviewed albums from the past month, a list that includes debuts from Wild Flag and Das Racist as well as another in a long line of great LPs by Mastodon and Wilco. Plus, listen to tracks from each album.