A  Different Kind of Truth Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first album from Van Halen in 14 years sees the band reunited with David Lee Roth.
  • Record Label: Interscope
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Album Rock, Heavy Metal, Hard Rock, Arena Rock, Pop-Metal
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 100
    The first comeback album in history by an iconic rock act that stands up against anything else on the shelves today.... This is the mighty Van Halen at their best.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    Instead of trying to fit into the past, Van Halen are using their history to revive their present and they succeed surprisingly well on A Different Kind of Truth.
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Van Halen have found their dazzle without a hassle.
  4. 70
    Over 13 tracks, A Different Kind of Truth offers the same youthful escape that sold the band to millions worldwide over 30 years ago.
  5. Feb 9, 2012
    70
    If the songs are based on 1970s demos, that was a wise move, because wherever these 13 tunes came from, there isn't a single Waldo on the bus.
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    70
    It's not perfect--it's too long by a third, David Lee Roth often sounds like a 2 A.M. drunk doing David Lee Roth at karaoke, and a Kinks cover wouldn't have killed them. But the album clearly aspires to both be part of the canon, and, if need be, serve as an entry point.
  7. Mar 22, 2012
    40
    A disappointment. [Apr 2012, p.88]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Sammy Hagar's (mostly inane, but always clichéd and unoriginal) lyrics may very well have coaxed the peak songwriting period outSammy Hagar's (mostly inane, but always clichéd and unoriginal) lyrics may very well have coaxed the peak songwriting period out of Eddie Van Halen, just to compensate for the charisma-free zone front & center... David Lee Roth was never the better singer of the two, or even a very good singer at all... But, he always was, and always will be, the better frontman for Van Halen, both on record and stage. Gone, but hard to forget, are the singularly great 'Beach Boys' -style harmonies produced by original bassist Michael Anthony. Replacing him, we have Eddie's son Wolfgang, who handles the bass guitar department with admirable grace, power and finesse, and even his backing vocals are very competent if not exactly 'what VH used to sound like'.

    Roughly half the tunes are re-worked versions of songs originally demo'd in the mid-70's, and the new ones sound pleasantly like they could have been as well. This is not a bad thing. At all. We end up with 13 songs filled to the brim with passionate delivery from everyone involved. And a strong contender for most positive surprise of the year.
    Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    The mighty Van Halen is finally back with the most satisfying, detonating, roundhouse-kick-in-yo-face rock album since 1984!! As a firstThe mighty Van Halen is finally back with the most satisfying, detonating, roundhouse-kick-in-yo-face rock album since 1984!! As a first listener, skip "Tattoo" and go straight to "Honeybabysweetiedoll" to get a true taste of what this album really is about. Also go see them live, because that's where they truly shine! Collapse
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    In evaluating this album, I compared "A Different Kind Of Truth" to Van Halen's catalog, (which includes two other 10/10 albums in "Van Halen"In evaluating this album, I compared "A Different Kind Of Truth" to Van Halen's catalog, (which includes two other 10/10 albums in "Van Halen" of 1978, and "1984" of 1984,) and also to other successful, "comeback" albums, e.g. The Rolling Stones' "A Bigger Bang" of 2006 and AC/DC's "Black Ice" of 2008. Of successful comeback albums, this is the best I've heard since Steely Dan's remarkable return to form on "Two Against Nature," (2000). Like Steely Dan, Van Halen's signature sound is intact; however, now there's something new -- in Steely Dan's case, it was sonic; in Van Halen's case, it's Roth's grade-A lyrics. Who knew that David Lee Roth was this intelligent..? (Admit it -- until you read these lyrics, you didn't.) If these lyrics are any indication, he's one of rock's most intelligent singers -- he simply makes no artistic pretensions. Aside from Roth's greatly lyrics, "A Different Kind Of Truth" could've been, sonically, the bands 5th album if -- instead of going pop on "Diver Down," the band continued its descent into darkness following "Fair Warning." Like that album, I don't hear a single, but also like that album, every track is excellent. No filler. This is a potential album of the year candidate. Expand
  4. May 26, 2012
    8
    I wasn't disappointed when I heard that this album was composed of material the band had reworked from over a decade ago. In my opinion, DLRI wasn't disappointed when I heard that this album was composed of material the band had reworked from over a decade ago. In my opinion, DLR Van Halen is better than SH Van Halen so it was nice to hear that these songs were made when the band was in its prime. The result is an incredibly fun album to listen to. Each song has the classic Van Halen flavor, and fun feel from back in the 1984 days. My only complaints are that DLR's voice does show some age throughout this album, taking away from his range, and my second complaint was that I personally wasn't fond of the track Blood and Fire. Other than that, this album is a great listen and tons of fun. Expand
  5. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    Like many Van Halen fans, I've been waiting a long time for this album, hoping it would be an excellent record. And that's exactly what it is:Like many Van Halen fans, I've been waiting a long time for this album, hoping it would be an excellent record. And that's exactly what it is: excellent. The classic Van Halen sound of the Roth years has returned to glory. David Lee Roth, despite his voice sounding a little tired and less energized at times, still blazes his way throughout the album's 13 songs. The guitar riffs aren't as memorable, but Eddie Van Halen continues to prove his six-string mastery, pumping out screaming solos on every song. There is a strange void due to the absence of Michael Anthony, which is the main reason I didn't give this album a 10. But ultimately, "A Different Kind of Truth" is a must-have for Van Halen fans and anyone who appreciates rock 'n roll. Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2012
    6
    Nothing really original here. The sound isn't that good and I was expecting some crazy guitar riffs and thrills. This release was bland and INothing really original here. The sound isn't that good and I was expecting some crazy guitar riffs and thrills. This release was bland and I could have easily missed it. I wanted powerful guitar solos that would make me exited to hear more. This is not what I expected from the master of guitars. Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2012
    2
    I'm a lifelong VH fan, Van Halen and Van Hagar. I even had some positive things to say about VH III, even though Gary tried to sound likeI'm a lifelong VH fan, Van Halen and Van Hagar. I even had some positive things to say about VH III, even though Gary tried to sound like Sammy too much (and didn't need to). So, naturally, I'm curious about this album, but walked in with low expectations. Even those weren't met. This is such a boring, monotonous CD that even Wolfie's outstanding bass playing, the pretty darn good replication of Anthony's vocal sound and the musical genius of the brothers Van Halen can't make up for how absolutely horrible the songs are. So poorly written, even in **** terms. Vocally, it's embarrassing. I appreciate the attempt, but you've shot and missed. How VH felt good about recording, mixing, mastering and releasing a song in 2012 as dumb as "Stay Frosty," I will never know. I can only assume it was the alcohol. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews