A Few Steps More Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the second release for the Stereolab side project featuring Laetitia Sadier.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 70
    Lush, engaging and quirkily accessible. [Apr 2005, p.102]
  2. Making the effort to unravel the tightly packed layers and unconventional (even by 'Lab standards) song structures can seem downright daunting, regardless of how long you've been following Sadier and how many of her EPs you've devoured.
  3. A Few Steps More balances the intimate charm of Monade's previous work with a slightly more ambitious, but still off-the-cuff, feel that should please Sadier fans.
  4. Despite the relatively spartan proceedings, there is a substantial amount to latch onto here.
  5. Far more organic and tactile than Stereolab's work.
  6. The songs here... are much more developed and better arranged than anything she'd done on her own before. [#9]
  7. 40
    Frequently lovely but a fair few steps short of compelling. [Apr 2005, p.112]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. LeonardoF
    Apr 17, 2005
    Just wonderful. Laetita's vocals are better than ever! Yes it does sound a bit Stereolab, but what's the matter? The songs are great anyway and if this would be a Stereolab album, it would be a GREAT one. Expand
  2. MichaelM
    May 11, 2005
    Monade's previous album, a collection of limited edition singles and unreleased tracks called 'Socialisme Ou Barbarie' had a mixed bag feel as the tracks were made over a period of 6 years. 'A Few Steps More' is a more focussed and consistent record and still retains the eclectisicm of the previous material. WIth gentle layering of various instruments from guitar, Moog to trombone and accordion, Laetitia treats her fans and new comers to a flowing set of tracks that mixes bonna nova, krautrock and french pop to awesome effect. I know that does sound a tad like a Stereolab record, but the organic nature of the production and the fact that Monade is essentially a quartet now makes for something delightfully different. Well worth checking out. Expand