User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 90
  2. Negative: 40 out of 90

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NC
    Oct 7, 2008
    2
    If Selena J. is allowed to discuss the Jonas' dongs, then I'm discussing the Pussycat Dolls' titties... Is that kosher? Seriously.... If you're into something inorganic like this and you're eating it up despite the soul-sapping. time-wasting scam it is - I pity you. I find myself saying that a lot these days - wonder why. Alternatively, when you discover a true If Selena J. is allowed to discuss the Jonas' dongs, then I'm discussing the Pussycat Dolls' titties... Is that kosher? Seriously.... If you're into something inorganic like this and you're eating it up despite the soul-sapping. time-wasting scam it is - I pity you. I find myself saying that a lot these days - wonder why. Alternatively, when you discover a true musical work of art that moves you one day when you are mature enough to relate to it, it will be positively orgasmic in comparison.... BUT, the problem is, when you start with Jonas... sometimes you don't make it that far. Poor America, the land that gives awards to Pink for being a "rock" star (lol!!!!! hahahaha) and thinks she has cred for hassling the likes of Paris, Simpson and co, that she is no better than. You're not still a rock star Pink, b/c you never were one, you're a funny looking troll without your three tonnes of make-up and your bitter messages of revenge and ignorance in the face of the loss of love promote the kind of arrogant self-delusion Pink dares to hypocritically expose in the 'op' princesses, that she actually is one of. Rock is fierce, uncompromising and uncompromised. You are a bitch with a soap box, much like the Jonas Brothers are just three manipulated and manipulating boys who have landed a ticket to nail underage girls. Again, I pity you. Expand
  2. StuieM
    May 30, 2009
    0
    The Jonas Brothers are like marijuana. People go on and on about how good it is but its not. This music really sucks and like pot it just leads you to more sh*t that you shouldn't be interested in. Disney is a lifeless soul sucking company.They should be ashamed for corrupted Americas youth.
  3. SoniaS
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    The JOnas Brothers are extremely talented and well respected guys and for such a young age, I personally think this is an AMAZING album!! Definitely two thumbs up!!
  4. JoanN
    Oct 3, 2008
    0
    They're just like every other boyband we've seen over the years. Making some tallentless songs just for girls to suck up on them, leaving every man ashamed of what teenage girls are listening to. These guys are one hit wonders.
  5. DylanD.
    Aug 24, 2008
    0
    These guys are boring and repetitive. The definition of one hit wonders, and they are lucky to get that one hit.
  6. jazmineh
    Sep 21, 2008
    8
    I LOVE the jonas brothers, but I wouldn't give their cd a 10, because while alot of them like "sorry" and "a little bit longer" are great songs, it seems like they just sing about one thing in all of their songs-girls-except for in "a little bit longer ofcourse". I love the songs, I just wish they would vary in song topics.
  7. JacobE
    Jan 2, 2009
    0
    I personally didn't listen to this album on for say my ipod or CD player. I listend to it by every single pre teen girl in america to the point where I couldn't walk down the street without hear the same 3 repetitive man screams called a "Band". Well to be honest these guys are a record companies dream. You can basically up nothing but them talking on a CD and little girls will I personally didn't listen to this album on for say my ipod or CD player. I listend to it by every single pre teen girl in america to the point where I couldn't walk down the street without hear the same 3 repetitive man screams called a "Band". Well to be honest these guys are a record companies dream. You can basically up nothing but them talking on a CD and little girls will gobble it up like it some sort of Fat Free Super Cake. All in all they are the prime example while people are marketing Monkeys. Expand
  8. SoapM.
    Aug 12, 2008
    0
    The worst group ever. Next Bay City Rollers.
  9. CaroV.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    I loved the cd which i think show more maturity and it sound like they have fun.
  10. coolmom
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    This CD has all the great things that JB's last CD had, i.e. great hooks, cool production, clever lyrics, hot licks, rocking vocals, good beat, you can dance to it. But with A Little Bit Longer, JB has shown that they are not only listening to their influences, but are internalizing the influences and creating something that is completely their own. Such a great step up to the plate This CD has all the great things that JB's last CD had, i.e. great hooks, cool production, clever lyrics, hot licks, rocking vocals, good beat, you can dance to it. But with A Little Bit Longer, JB has shown that they are not only listening to their influences, but are internalizing the influences and creating something that is completely their own. Such a great step up to the plate guys, WAY TO GO! Do I have a favorite song? No because I love them all. However, I think that "Shelf" through "Pushin' Me Away" is my favorite run of songs. Those seven songs showcase JB perfectly. If someone asked me why I love Jonas Brothers, what is all the shouting about, I'd burn those songs for them and say "Here. You'll find out." Expand
  11. Mrs.N.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Awesome, and original songs...amazing CD!!!
  12. KristineH.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    FANTASTIC! nice vibe good beats sweet lyrics hot boys!! love it very clever.
  13. GrantC.
    Aug 19, 2008
    0
    Terrible music. No other way to describe it.
  14. SelenaJ.
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    Each dong on this album has a great beat and lyrics that really mean something, they are not just another sugar coated pop group, these boys really have some talent. The youngest brother Nick once again blows minds with his exceptional voice. I give this album a 10 out of 10. I most definately cannot stop listening.
  15. KaraleeO.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Dear Nick, I think you are so awesome! plus, my sister Savannah Bond bought you're new song album, A Little Bit Longer!
  16. Demosthenes
    Sep 25, 2008
    7
    The Jonas Brother's past attempts at music have been a string of terribly ghastly and appalling bubblegum pop that on someone older than 14 could potentially do harm. However, their new album is unusually feisty for a Disney boy band. The musicianship on many tracks is much more classic rock and power pop oriented, with actual guitar solos. Yes, guitar solos. Now, I've seen and The Jonas Brother's past attempts at music have been a string of terribly ghastly and appalling bubblegum pop that on someone older than 14 could potentially do harm. However, their new album is unusually feisty for a Disney boy band. The musicianship on many tracks is much more classic rock and power pop oriented, with actual guitar solos. Yes, guitar solos. Now, I've seen and heard enough about their behind the scenes recording, and am aware that most of the musicianship is from a backup band, but consider the Jonas Brothers an act that includes the backup band, and not just three squeaky clean vanilla faced heart throbs. It's a tad easier to digest. The lyrics are nothing special, but the boys know how to pen a good pop hook, and on tracks like Lovebug and Shelf, there's more hooks than you'll find on a fishing boat. A Little Bit Longer is not ground-breaking. It's not revolutionary. They aren't the new Beatles. They aren't saviors of power pop. It's just pop rock. And that's alright. Because as long as it contains very slight elements of classic rock, and as long as they claim to be inspired by musical greats such as Elvis Costello and Freddie Mercury, their music might actually get the youth off of bubblegum pop slowly but surely. (A friendly word of advice to those negative reviewers I have seen that have brought up Radiohead...I don't believe anyone will ever compare the Jonas Brothers to Radiohead. Ever.) Expand
  17. CaptainObvious
    Sep 29, 2008
    0
    Utterly deplorable... A slapdash mish-mash of cacophonic and discordant sounds that should never, ever be called music. Do your self a favor; listen to real music (i.e., metal).
  18. AmandaC.
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    Not perfect but certainly great! There are some great songs on this album and it's definitely different from their first self-titled album. I liked it alot!
  19. PeterP
    Mar 19, 2009
    0
    Awful music, doesn't exist words to describe it.
  20. VivaLaVida
    Jun 11, 2009
    0
    Terrible. No talent whats so ever. Only decent song is "Pushin' Me Away" the rest suck.
  21. GaryH.
    Aug 23, 2009
    8
    A surprisingly good album that will keep teenagers or 8-year-olds smiling their asses off.
  22. D.S.
    Sep 19, 2009
    0
    Talentless and soulless. Ultra mainstream music made only for the music industry. Notice how all the user reviewers who gave this a ten are obnoxious girls.
  23. AndrewE.
    Sep 7, 2009
    0
    Oh come on! This is Jonas Brothers.
  24. NicoleC.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    Absolutely AMAZING! This is the first album I bought of the Jonas Brothers and its nothing less of my expectations and I am extremely appreciative to some of the songs on this album. The boys sing from the heart and the lyrics to a lot of the songs hit home to not only myself but to everyone! Great job on this album! I will be looking forward to your next one!!!!!
  25. ElizabethL.
    Aug 12, 2008
    9
    Not perfect, but more of an evolution from their previous album than the band purported it to be. All the elements the super fans - young and,yes,old - love about them, matching the (vocals which go from adolescent to passionate to desperate to seductive to in the course of the album) to driving rock and roll sounds with more than a hint of soul, and some of the humble, unselfconscious Not perfect, but more of an evolution from their previous album than the band purported it to be. All the elements the super fans - young and,yes,old - love about them, matching the (vocals which go from adolescent to passionate to desperate to seductive to in the course of the album) to driving rock and roll sounds with more than a hint of soul, and some of the humble, unselfconscious offstage goofery that won so many fans over in the beginning, after the music. Joe's voice, particularly, has developed spectacularly. The album loses a point for some overproduction - if you've seen them live, you know how awesome they are without some of the bells and whistles, coming close to their recorded sound (perhaps as it SHOULD be). I believe they can pull anything off. Just enough of a departure...can't wait to see what's next. Expand
  26. JennyD.
    Aug 13, 2008
    4
    The bottom line is, their last album was 10x better. A lot of the songs were not suited for their voice, specially, "Sorry", ouch boys, you are not sopranos.
  27. JasmineA
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    I think the album is awsome... starting with the first track BB Good. it sort of has that prince feel even throughout the song when Joe is talking he even tends to sound similar to Prince. Next Got me going crazy is a totally diferent side of Jonas, that track has a kind of R&B soul time tune to it which is new and great for Jonas... it shows how they can go into any genre and rock it I think the album is awsome... starting with the first track BB Good. it sort of has that prince feel even throughout the song when Joe is talking he even tends to sound similar to Prince. Next Got me going crazy is a totally diferent side of Jonas, that track has a kind of R&B soul time tune to it which is new and great for Jonas... it shows how they can go into any genre and rock it out. Even with Love Bug which is Pure and raw and then the end is totally the Jonas we all grew to know and love. The album is awsome and if yo u havent bought it yet you really should consider it!!! Expand
  28. HarrisK.
    Aug 17, 2008
    0
    These guys plain suck. Their songs are boring and repetative. The lead singer puts way too much strain in his voice. They're only big because of their looks.
  29. PrincessV.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Their CD Rocks!!!! I love their music and not just because they're hot. I love the song A Little Bit Longer. I think it is definitely worth buying!
  30. JoeBlow
    Sep 15, 2008
    0
    Why are we discussing rubbish like this? Are these ponces even worth a review? They're little boys with hair-do's and Prada clothing. I mean, it is pretty obvious that this is a record company cash grab, so what's the big deal? It's not like they're Radiohead or some other band worthy of a spotlight beyond the relatively short attention spans of your average 12 Why are we discussing rubbish like this? Are these ponces even worth a review? They're little boys with hair-do's and Prada clothing. I mean, it is pretty obvious that this is a record company cash grab, so what's the big deal? It's not like they're Radiohead or some other band worthy of a spotlight beyond the relatively short attention spans of your average 12 year old girl. Come on folks, we're talkin' fast food here, ratings need not apply. Remember people, McDonald's is only good while you're eatin' it! Expand
  31. JackS.
    Sep 15, 2008
    0
    I really regret listening to them...i just wanted to get a opinion on them but afterwards i have to say that this was a huge mistake, the songs are repetitive, simple and boring, little girls will love it i guess.
  32. Mr.Phat
    Apr 25, 2009
    10
    You guys SUCK WHo didn't like this album!!!!!
  33. Joanna
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    I love the jo bros.... to Joan N.... one hit wonders? you obviously don't know your history.... look it up... plp like you won't hurt their career at all.... so keep on hating.
  34. TerribleMusic
    Dec 31, 2008
    0
    All those who buy any of this brain washing music are helping bring down the intelligence of human kind. What is worse is that these future parents will be passing along this garbage and teaching their kids to like it. Kinda like fast food eats away at your health, Jonas Brothers eat away at the brain and reduce cognitive functioning. God help us all (or Flying Spaghetti Monster if you prefer).
  35. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    Im pretty sure The reviewers that gave them scores in the green are runned by smart intelectual men, and not little girls. Anyone who dislikes the Jonas Brothers are quite bias. A band with average songs. Sos and Burnin up are one of Jb's worst songs, ironically they are the most famous of the jbs. but that is not the Jonas Brothers I know, Video girl "ranked 49th best song of 2008" greatIm pretty sure The reviewers that gave them scores in the green are runned by smart intelectual men, and not little girls. Anyone who dislikes the Jonas Brothers are quite bias. A band with average songs. Sos and Burnin up are one of Jb's worst songs, ironically they are the most famous of the jbs. but that is not the Jonas Brothers I know, Video girl "ranked 49th best song of 2008" great song. "shelf" a song quite reminiscent to "hey Jude" by the beatles. "tonight" is also a good song. People just judge them based of listening to 2-3 songs. This album is quite good. Expand
  36. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    This album is good for what it is. The Jonas Brothers, as a boy band "created" by Disney, have grown up very fast and with this cd they reach unbelievable things. Music is good, lirycs too and they still have that "sex appeal" that just make teens buy their music.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. It's unfortunate that much of their sophomore effort is submerged in an ocean of heavy-handed production, so deep that the boys' natural talents struggle to break the surface.
  2. It's a nice run of numbers that really gets going with 'Shelf,' an impassioned advisory not to leave the singers' hearts in the titular location. [15 Aug 2008, p.64]
  3. The boys' fantastic third album is steeped in the fuzzed-up guitars, three-part harmonies and cotton-candy choruses of Big Star and Cheap Trick.