A Little More Personal (Raw) Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The actress' second album rocks a bit more than her first, and includes covers of songs by Cheap Trick and Stevie Nicks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Ultimately, like her manufactured pop rivals Ashlee Simpson and Hilary Duff, Lindsay is a little too superficial to sell us angst.
  2. Lohan's (admittedly studio-sheened) brand of pop darkness reads realer than Ashlee Simpson's. [9 Dec 2005, p.85]
  3. Ms. Lohan has staked out a patch of musical ground between Kelly Clarkson and the Foo Fighters, and she can snarl a little without laying it on too thick. [5 Dec 2005]
  4. While this makes for an album that's substantially more interesting and cohesive than the gaudy Speak, it doesn't necessarily mean that A Little More Personal (Raw) is a successful record, either.
  5. RAW is considerably more consistent than its predecessor, and it's not a bad listen by any means, but for all the so-called weighty subject matter, there's not much meat on these bones.
  6. The album de-emphasizes the (very) guilty pop pleasures of her 2004 debut in favor of leaden I-hate-you-Daddy laments.
  7. The red flags run rampant in this album, which has all the personality of HAL 9000.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 49
  2. Negative: 16 out of 49
  1. ReneG
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    Lohan has done a great job on this one! The last was a typical first album, this is better material and better vocal development. Her work on Lohan has done a great job on this one! The last was a typical first album, this is better material and better vocal development. Her work on Beautiful Life is extraordinary. Expand
  2. EDUARDOC
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    i think that changes are good. lindsay loha has a strong voice but i still like the cd alot and its kind of sad that she put songs about her i think that changes are good. lindsay loha has a strong voice but i still like the cd alot and its kind of sad that she put songs about her life she is trying really hard guys dont called lindsay lohan a bictch i mean if you where her you would feel the same pain as her . anyways its a good album. Expand
  3. BenB
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    This album her best one yet the songs are all catchy and has some good lyrics throughout the album. Her voice has really developed since This album her best one yet the songs are all catchy and has some good lyrics throughout the album. Her voice has really developed since speak which seemed to be quite teen popish. Hope the Next one No Little Angel will be as good as this one. Expand
  4. HaterCorrector
    Jan 17, 2006
    8
    Sorry j, but you are obviously a blind poo-brain. While 'on crack' may have been a bit out of line with his comments, LinsLo is Sorry j, but you are obviously a blind poo-brain. While 'on crack' may have been a bit out of line with his comments, LinsLo is definitely greater than at least Mother Theresa (the child thief) and Wonder Woman (she doesn't really have an invisible plane). J- Just get your ears checked so you can clue in to this unstoppable genius poet. Expand
  5. Matt
    Dec 9, 2005
    5
    A Little More Personal's songs are just that - more personal than before - and they seem to reflect how Lohan feels. It's not A Little More Personal's songs are just that - more personal than before - and they seem to reflect how Lohan feels. It's not opportunistic like Ashlee Simpson's I Am Me. Still, Lohan's vocals are a little too weak for songs like "Confessions Of A Broken Heart," and there's uneven material again. This time, the faster songs are worse, with the exception of the fun "I Live For The Day." Grade: C+, while Speak was a B-. Expand
  6. HasABrain
    Jan 14, 2006
    3
    I haven't heard the album. I just wanted to say that anyone who can't tell "On Crack" is being sarcastic does not deserve to own a I haven't heard the album. I just wanted to say that anyone who can't tell "On Crack" is being sarcastic does not deserve to own a computer. That post was hilarious, but not quite as hilarious as the one from "j." j, you win the moron contest, hands down. Congratulations! Expand
  7. Roz
    Dec 14, 2005
    0
    Again... why is this girl a star?

See all 49 User Reviews