A Rush Of Blood To The Head

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Aug 27, 2002
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 425 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 425

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. musicLover
    Oct 17, 2002
    0
    Bought the album - Can I get a refund ???
  2. Frank
    Sep 20, 2002
    3
    really bland stuff and so damn middle of the road. The amount of acclaim this record is getting shows how boring music critics are. At least Travis had the decency to do a humorous video clip.
  3. ErwinK.
    Sep 30, 2002
    2
    Yes. Music for bedwetters.
  4. Bk
    Jan 3, 2005
    0
    over rated!
  5. SusanB
    Sep 13, 2005
    3
    Mediocre at best, dull and lifeless at worst. The occasional good track, i.e. The Scientist, is cancelled out by the overwhelming blandness of the album as a whole. Uninventive, unemotional and overated
  6. Jazzy
    Nov 12, 2002
    2
    Comparisons to U2 and Radiohead are bound to happen when you have fans that have their head stuck that far up their arses. Every song on this album sounds like it has been created through some Let's-try-and-sound-like-Radiohead-but-with-a-bit-of-Jeff-Buckley-thrown-in-but-lets-try-not-to-be-so-self-conscious-about-it-formula. Lyrically piss-weak, Martin has nothing interesting to Comparisons to U2 and Radiohead are bound to happen when you have fans that have their head stuck that far up their arses. Every song on this album sounds like it has been created through some Let's-try-and-sound-like-Radiohead-but-with-a-bit-of-Jeff-Buckley-thrown-in-but-lets-try-not-to-be-so-self-conscious-about-it-formula. Lyrically piss-weak, Martin has nothing interesting to say. Yyyyaaawwwnnn!!!! Expand
  7. Melissa
    Sep 4, 2002
    0
    100% facade.
  8. OsaA
    Dec 9, 2006
    0
    I bought this album because it won a Grammy for album of the year so I thought it most be good and decided to by it at Best Buy. The album sounded good at first, but then I realised that is album was not that great and cannot believe it won a Grammy because it was so safe with not too many great songs. The only song that was most appealing and radio friendly was Clocks, which was about I bought this album because it won a Grammy for album of the year so I thought it most be good and decided to by it at Best Buy. The album sounded good at first, but then I realised that is album was not that great and cannot believe it won a Grammy because it was so safe with not too many great songs. The only song that was most appealing and radio friendly was Clocks, which was about it. I was so disappointed that I sold it on Amazon. If you a person who likes poems and deep storyline music that makes you think this album is for you, but not for me unfortunately. Expand
  9. ShawnT
    Feb 27, 2003
    0
    worst band and album ever. The songs are sooooo boring!!!!!!!!!
  10. Jan 19, 2011
    0
    Its incredible how the people who give Coldplay zeros give absolutly no reason or justification behind their score, at least no descriptive enough, how about going into detail? Boring? Thats it? You have yet to learn about what it means to grade music, this album is Pink Floyd reincarnate. 473rd greatest album of all time, Too low. These critics are reliable people but people evenIts incredible how the people who give Coldplay zeros give absolutly no reason or justification behind their score, at least no descriptive enough, how about going into detail? Boring? Thats it? You have yet to learn about what it means to grade music, this album is Pink Floyd reincarnate. 473rd greatest album of all time, Too low. These critics are reliable people but people even discredit them without any evidence, so why do we even have a user score if 90% of them are completly bias. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Without the emotional resonance of Martin's voice at its most free, Coldplay's brilliantly minimal musical foundation has nothing to support. So it falters.
  2. Coldplay's new record is a little edgier, trancier, and more conversational than their last. It is called A Rush of Blood to the Head, and in waves and swells of major tunes and frisky then looping time signatures, that's just about the effect it has.
  3. But while the sound of this album is more expansive, the influences a bit less obvious, and the approach more varied, the guys forgot to tote along their initial strength: the songs.