Aaliyah - Aaliyah
Aaliyah Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the third album for Detroit-born Aaliyah, who debuted in 1994 (at the age of 15) with 'Age Ain't Nothing But a Number.' Timbaland produces three tracks. The singer died in a plane crash in August 2001, shortly after the release of the album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Aaliyah isn't just a statement of maturity and a stunning artistic leap forward, it is one of the strongest urban soul records of its time.
  2. Though not as immediate as some of her past mainstream work, Aaliyah's latest has the smoky temptress slowly working her way through R&B, hip-hop and even slightly techno beats...
  3. Aaliyah only missteps when she tries to stretch outside of her musical comfort zones, indulging in Latin pop and cheesy metal on ''Read Between the Lines'' and ''What If,'' respectively.
  4. When it clicks, "Aaliyah" transforms the confusion of young adulthood into exhilarating freedom
  5. What's most pronounced is the subtlety of it all, the tastefulness, the lack of bombast and histrionics.
  6. Overall, aside from the crummy rock-out of 'What If', 'Aaliyah' is accomplished fluid soul, with nothing too jagged or startling to spoil the polished veneer.
  7. An album of dull, vocal virtuoso ballads.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25