Aaliyah

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Jul 17, 2001
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 79
  2. Negative: 5 out of 79

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Hubert
    Aug 6, 2001
    9
    She's the bomb ! Cool grooves, fluid vocals, catchy lyrics (somewhat funny). She's a good a one ! Rock the boat !
  2. TP
    Sep 8, 2001
    10
    Every track is a winner. I really like the ballad "I Care 4 U". It's hot. "We Need A Resolution" and "Loose Rap" are infectious. Aaliyah handles the sultry laid back style that makes her music great. She's not trying to be anyone but Aaliyah. She is true to herself and the music and lyrics that her producers and writers created. I've respected and enjoyed her talent and Every track is a winner. I really like the ballad "I Care 4 U". It's hot. "We Need A Resolution" and "Loose Rap" are infectious. Aaliyah handles the sultry laid back style that makes her music great. She's not trying to be anyone but Aaliyah. She is true to herself and the music and lyrics that her producers and writers created. I've respected and enjoyed her talent and vocal delivery since her first album. Collapse
  3. EneE
    Oct 30, 2003
    10
    A great CD, her best by far. Pity she'll be leaving us without a dope beat to step to. Rest in peace baby girl!
  4. NadineR
    May 23, 2003
    10
    I love every single one of these songs...I feel like I can relate to all of them!! I miss Aaliyah, her music makes you feel like you know her. Aaliyah we miss you babygurl we know u're up in heaven lookin down on all of us!!!
  5. Phoenixforce
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    This is what RnB should really sound like. Aaliyah's album hits the core of the genre with every sultry note and intoxicating line. "We need a resolution" stands out as the definitive single which truly encapsulates a unique contemporary style with every middle-eastern beat.
  6. MartyC.
    Sep 19, 2001
    10
    I think this cd is some of Aaliyah's best work. I love her soft and sultry though at times empowering voice. I think Aaliyah comes across with this album with much sex appeal without saying the word sexy once. Rest in peace our queen
  7. F.F.
    Jan 13, 2002
    10
    "Aaliyah" was a peek into the adult world of Aaliyah, no longer anyone's Babygirl, this cd is worth the cost if only to hear the sensual whispers of "It's Whatever". "More than a woman" is a tight groove that from the intro grabs you and makes you want to dance. "I Care 4U" is wonderful, with a final note that bounces around in your head for what seems like moments after the "Aaliyah" was a peek into the adult world of Aaliyah, no longer anyone's Babygirl, this cd is worth the cost if only to hear the sensual whispers of "It's Whatever". "More than a woman" is a tight groove that from the intro grabs you and makes you want to dance. "I Care 4U" is wonderful, with a final note that bounces around in your head for what seems like moments after the track has ended. "Loose Rap", "Extra Smooth" and "Those were the days" are fun, uptempo fare, and "Rock the Boat" is so "naughty naughty" that the fact that you find yourself blushing as you sing along is not enough to make you find the strength to turn it off. A wonderful cd, with rarely a disappointing moment. "Aaliyah" offers you far more enjoyable tracks than most artists offer on a single disc. Expand
  8. JoseaL.
    Oct 18, 2002
    10
    Aaliyah had one of the most beautiful voices in this world; this album is outstanding in my opinion. The songbird will be missed dearly.
  9. KimberrleyJ
    Nov 20, 2003
    10
    As, Aaliyah's biggest fan, you might think that Iam just saying this album is the bomb! But, watching her grow from a young girl behind shades, to a classy woman...makes me proud. This album is the best R&B album of 2001. Its a classy artistic statement. Is dark, light and beautiful all at once. Thank you aaliyah for making music for those of us who love the darkness! RIP my special girl!
  10. LyanH
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    The critics are wrong for this low rating. This CD of Aaliyah's is one of her greatest. Aaliyah smooth soulfull voice made this album gold. the beats of"More then A Woman" and her voice did a perfect blend of singing and rhythm.
  11. rickn
    May 8, 2007
    10
    excellent r&b album rip aaliyah
  12. IanRobinS
    Nov 6, 2002
    10
    I love her 3rd album... My most fave song is: Rock The Boat, What If, Never No More, More Than A Woman, I Care 4 U, We Need A Resolution, I Refuse, I Can Be, Extra Smooth. I miss you Aaliyah! I thought you could have met me in person again when you're supposed to be back in Melbourne, Australia for promo tour but you're gone! You are too young to die! Thanks for the music and I love her 3rd album... My most fave song is: Rock The Boat, What If, Never No More, More Than A Woman, I Care 4 U, We Need A Resolution, I Refuse, I Can Be, Extra Smooth. I miss you Aaliyah! I thought you could have met me in person again when you're supposed to be back in Melbourne, Australia for promo tour but you're gone! You are too young to die! Thanks for the music and movie biz, Aaliyah! I love you!!! Expand
  13. TroyF.
    Sep 19, 2002
    10
    Aaliyah was simply the best r&b album realesed in 201. more than a women,rock the boat, what if, its whatever.well all the tracks on Aaliyah's self titled album were great.it so sad that she had to go and at the prime of her life.R.I.P Babygirl
  14. GhettoT
    Mar 15, 2003
    10
    It is Aaliyah's hottest and best cd along with Age Ain't Nothing but A Number and One In A Million. This album truly shows here maturity not only through her singing but also with the mood and the tone of the music. She has truly shown that she is truly one in a million with the help of Missy Elliotte, Timbaland, Static from Play and many others.
  15. MartinL
    Aug 28, 2004
    8
    Very good.
  16. Lela
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    Aaliyah is an album that embodies the sista of the millenium, sassy, sensual, gentle brash, rebellious and sometimes dark. Her singing was even more jazz than before, her silky and snake-like vocals tend to overwhelm the listener. The production of course is top notch ranging from Tim's futurisic, freaky-hip-hop electronica, to the melodic production to the industrial, this album is Aaliyah is an album that embodies the sista of the millenium, sassy, sensual, gentle brash, rebellious and sometimes dark. Her singing was even more jazz than before, her silky and snake-like vocals tend to overwhelm the listener. The production of course is top notch ranging from Tim's futurisic, freaky-hip-hop electronica, to the melodic production to the industrial, this album is arguably the most muscially diverse album out. And the thing is, it still stick after 4 years. Whether Aaliyah is trying to love you, seduce, ignore or hate you, this what Urban music is about! GET THIS ALBUM!!! Expand
  17. AnnabelleB.
    Nov 14, 2001
    10
    Aaliyah, Aaliyah, Aaliyah its so sad that you can't ever feel how much the world still loves you. We always will. Its also a shame that you can't be with us and hear the lovly sayings about you last cd. It seems like most of the ones that have heard it really enjoys it, likes it. I'll miss you and I belivie i always will, til the day I see you on the otherside. if I got a Aaliyah, Aaliyah, Aaliyah its so sad that you can't ever feel how much the world still loves you. We always will. Its also a shame that you can't be with us and hear the lovly sayings about you last cd. It seems like most of the ones that have heard it really enjoys it, likes it. I'll miss you and I belivie i always will, til the day I see you on the otherside. if I got a guarding angel, God, i hope its you. Bye for now. Expand
  18. Missy
    Nov 15, 2004
    9
    One of her best cds.
  19. Jan 20, 2017
    10
    O “Aaliyah” de 2001 é o último disco em vida de uma das mais influentes artistas de r&b. Em seu registro final, um álbum intitulado, com uma capa vermelha fotografada por David LaChapelle, que a cantora descreve como o seu próprio “Control” - álbum de Janet onde a artista assumiu o autonomia e poder criativo de sua carreira - a cantora aposta em seus já consagrados parceiros - que ela temO “Aaliyah” de 2001 é o último disco em vida de uma das mais influentes artistas de r&b. Em seu registro final, um álbum intitulado, com uma capa vermelha fotografada por David LaChapelle, que a cantora descreve como o seu próprio “Control” - álbum de Janet onde a artista assumiu o autonomia e poder criativo de sua carreira - a cantora aposta em seus já consagrados parceiros - que ela tem o mérito de ter descoberto - Timbaland e Missy Eliott, que aqui são coadjuvantes das produções e composições de Stephen Garrett (Static Major), Eric Seats e Rapture. A cantora que aqui é mais sexy e madura que em seus trabalhos anteriores, tem a ousadia de deixar Missy Eliott e Timbaland que eram apostas fáceis de sucesso com apenas 3 das 15 faixas de sua edição normal. O álbum traz uma sonoridade sem compromisso com os charts da época, apesar de “Try Again” - trilha sonora de seu filme auto-estrelado “Romeu Tem Quem Morrer” - ter sido um grande hit que alcançou o topo do Hot 100 da Billboard e deu a Aaliyah prêmios como o MTV VMA. A artista traz sua modéstia em faixas de R&B como “Extra Smooth” que teriam chances tranquilas de serem grandes hits do gênero na época. Diferente de suas concorrentes da época, Aaliyah consegue ser mais variada que Alicia Keys, mais autêntica que Beyoncé e experimentar muito mais que Janet tenha neste século XXI. A artista sabe muito bem como alocar suas influências e até nos surpreende com faixas que mesclam o r&b com o rock como em “What It”, faixa que tem Nine Inch Nails - um de seus artistas favoritos - como inspiração.
    “Aaliyah” não é só um álbum bom, por méritos de uma produção polida, ele é um disco que consegue vencer o tempo, tem qualidade, vence obviedade e tem além da modéstia, a ousadia. As letras do disco são um verdadeiro grito de independência, autoconfiança e maturidade. Em sua maioria das faixas, a cantora transmite um discurso de sempre estar no controle de suas relações. “What If”, faixa já citada, tem uma letra que fala sobre quebrar esteriótipos femininos, assim como “Never No More” - uma das baladas do disco - trata de uma relação abusiva, que a cantora luta contra.
    Quase 16 anos depois, “Aaliyah” permanece como um clássico do gênero, um álbum que redefiniu conceitos, que inspirou toda a geração atual - artistas como o rapper Drake se inspiram nela - e que hoje, é um trabalho que encontra poucos concorrentes à sua altura.
    Quando muitos diziam que a artista teria um futuro brilhante não só na música, como no cinema, era a certeza de observar que Aaliyah deixou em vida trabalhos que ainda hoje soam frescos e que vários de hoje tentam refazer. Uma artista com personalidade e sempre à frente do seu tempo, Aaliyah é firmemente a eterna princesa do r&b.
    Expand
  20. Aug 20, 2014
    10
    This album is pure perfection. Aaliyah is confident in her vocal ability. Her self-titled album showed her artistry. Aaliyah knows how to make good music. From the futuristic "We Need a Resolution" to the sensual "Rock the Boat" to the classic, emotional ballad of "I Refuse" every song is interesting in every way. When Aaliyah jumped out of her usual R&B roots on "What If" it was like sheThis album is pure perfection. Aaliyah is confident in her vocal ability. Her self-titled album showed her artistry. Aaliyah knows how to make good music. From the futuristic "We Need a Resolution" to the sensual "Rock the Boat" to the classic, emotional ballad of "I Refuse" every song is interesting in every way. When Aaliyah jumped out of her usual R&B roots on "What If" it was like she was comfortable with that genre of music. Aaliyah is and was a true musician. This album showed true musicianship and shows that Aaliyah created a classic not only R&B, but classic album of all time. Expand
  21. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    One of the best R&B albums of all time, she was crossing over to other genres. What other R&B artist was doing this? None. I can say so much more but I'm not going to. If you've listened to the album then you know what I mean.
  22. Mar 13, 2015
    9
    An unusually fantastic R&B album with very slick songs and very skillful production. I liked "I Refuse", "We Need a Resolution" and "More Than a Woman" the best. Aaliyah, the princess of R&B, will be missed!
  23. May 8, 2016
    10
    This album is the best project of her. Producing is unique and lit. (hands down to Timbaland)
    (by the way my favourites are 'more than a woman, try again, we need a resolution, loose rap and what if)
  24. Sep 13, 2016
    9
    We Need a Resolution 4/5
    Loose Rap 4/5
    Rock The Boato 4/5
    More Than a Woman 5/5
    Never No More 4/5
    I Care 4 U 4/5
    Rap Tracks Publishing 3/5
    Read Between The Lines 4/5
    U Got Nerve 3/5
    I Refuse 4/5
    It's Whatever 4/5
    I Can Be 3/5
    Those Where The Days 4/5
    What If 4/5
    Try Again 5/5
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Take away the album's lone misfire -- the cliché-filled "Rock the Boat," produced by Rapture and E. Seats -- and this work is nearly perfect.
  2. What's most pronounced is the subtlety of it all, the tastefulness, the lack of bombast and histrionics.
  3. When it clicks, "Aaliyah" transforms the confusion of young adulthood into exhilarating freedom