About A Boy [Soundtrack] - Badly Drawn Boy
About A Boy [Soundtrack] Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Instead of a real follow-up to "The Hour of Bewliderbeast" (look for that later in 2002), Damon Gough returns with the score to the film adaptation of the Nick Hornby novel. The 16 new tracks here are split between short instrumental pieces and full songs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. With About a Boy, Badly Drawn boy has grown up.
  2. It's an album that feels like a watershed somehow, a significant step onwards.
  3. A mix of songs and themes balancing obsessive craft with flippant style. [3 May 2002, p.89]
  4. A vibe of maverick playfulness married to fabulous tunes. [Apr 2002, p.106]
  5. The songs lack the emotional depth of Bewilderbeast, but the jaunty folk-pop is just so much fun.
  6. 70
    The seemingly effortless confidence displayed throughout is startling. [Apr 2002, p.108]
  7. Every card Gough plays is painfully transparent from the first time you play the disc. It's elementary stuff. It sounds manufactured, refined, cosmetic and sterile; in a word, silicone, like a pair of Badly Sculpted Breast Implants.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    As good a soundtrack album as you'll probably hear and a very strong follow up to Hour of Bewilderbeast.While it doesn't have the same depth as Bewilderbeast, it is a soundtrack so is a completely different album. Lots of lovely short tracks in between proper songs. It's centre piece I love NYE and Silent Sigh are worth having this record alone. Donna & Blitzen is a classic alternative Christmas anthems that unfortunately never gets played. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews