Aerial

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 8, 2005
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 298 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 298

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 17, 2016
    10
    Ten years after this amazing gift of an album came out and it still sounds fresh. After such a long lay off I expected the album to be a sad shadow of Kate's earlier music. Instead she produced something different, more mature, more confident, a record that reminded me how much I used to love music. If this album as been on your "maybe I should get around to it" list do yourself a favorTen years after this amazing gift of an album came out and it still sounds fresh. After such a long lay off I expected the album to be a sad shadow of Kate's earlier music. Instead she produced something different, more mature, more confident, a record that reminded me how much I used to love music. If this album as been on your "maybe I should get around to it" list do yourself a favor and make the time. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Aerial has a couple of immensely unwanted moments, (Mrs Bartollozi, a song about a washing machine, and the vocal guest Rolf Harris on disc two) but the fact is, Kate Bush's Aerial is just so magical, so touching, beautiful and innovative in its own creativity, that you simply couldn't care less for what so little of it isn't so good. I dare say this is Kate's most stunning and flawlessAerial has a couple of immensely unwanted moments, (Mrs Bartollozi, a song about a washing machine, and the vocal guest Rolf Harris on disc two) but the fact is, Kate Bush's Aerial is just so magical, so touching, beautiful and innovative in its own creativity, that you simply couldn't care less for what so little of it isn't so good. I dare say this is Kate's most stunning and flawless work since Hounds of Love. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Float away into summery, warm and evocative bliss. A few deterrants (Bertie, Joanni) don't manage to distract with the genious conception of this inviting album. 'An Endless Sky of Honey' is probably the warmest atmosphere ever created on an album and leads up to one of the most hauntingly blissful conclusions in Kate Bush's carreer.
  4. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    My all time favourite album, I can't put it into words how much I adore this album. In my opinion this is Kate Bushe's best album, it was most certainly worth the wait. 11/10 AMAZING
  5. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    Kate Bush has a career of long thirty years, and even with the big lacks of time between albums, it's always worthy. 'Aerial' is a unique masterpiece of a dream-pop in a league of her own. It's bold songwriting, powerful production and Kate's mature and refined voice, with an atmosphere of happiness in every song. It often sound like a successor to "The Dreaming", but in a most elegantKate Bush has a career of long thirty years, and even with the big lacks of time between albums, it's always worthy. 'Aerial' is a unique masterpiece of a dream-pop in a league of her own. It's bold songwriting, powerful production and Kate's mature and refined voice, with an atmosphere of happiness in every song. It often sound like a successor to "The Dreaming", but in a most elegant way. She never gets old for good music. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Incredible album-although kind of grower,need some time to warm up...the second disc is pure masterpiece from start to finish,probably the best thing she ever did.
  7. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Tremendous evolution and maturity. I cannot get through A Coral Room without crying, so sad, sonorous and poetic and gorgeous it is. Nocturn is bliss in motion. Aerial is pure flight. The rhythms, nuances, her quirky other worldish voice and its tremendous range all combine to make this album an experience not to miss. In a world filled with ugliness, Kate Bush reminds me that thereTremendous evolution and maturity. I cannot get through A Coral Room without crying, so sad, sonorous and poetic and gorgeous it is. Nocturn is bliss in motion. Aerial is pure flight. The rhythms, nuances, her quirky other worldish voice and its tremendous range all combine to make this album an experience not to miss. In a world filled with ugliness, Kate Bush reminds me that there is tremendous beauty and passion...I hope somehow when I die it is her voice I hear as I set forth on the long journey. Expand
  8. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    This is my all-time favourite record. Once again, Kate Bush proves her genius - the second disc is particularly breathtaking, intertwining birdsong and Rolf Harris effortlessly and flawlessly into a completely different yet completely "Kate Bush" way. Spectacular in every way.
  9. TakisS
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    A real experimental masterpiece! Only Kate can make songs like Aerial Prologue or Prelude in that Age. The album is the successor of Hounds of Love! A masterpiece!
  10. KeithD
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    4 years later and Aerial continues to shine brilliantly, deliriously so.
  11. ElC
    Mar 24, 2009
    10
    Frankly speaking, I did not like it too much the first time I have listened. Yet, with every time I listened it sort of opened up more and more. It is so rich that it unfolds and unfolds and unfolds, presenting each time with more, even when you thought you have it all. Kate must be a real witch, there is an incredible amount of "force" in this album. She is a very wise and mature person Frankly speaking, I did not like it too much the first time I have listened. Yet, with every time I listened it sort of opened up more and more. It is so rich that it unfolds and unfolds and unfolds, presenting each time with more, even when you thought you have it all. Kate must be a real witch, there is an incredible amount of "force" in this album. She is a very wise and mature person in sense of understanding the world and stuff, too - her songs prove it. Practically all songs on this album are charged with very deep emotions, and some are so much, that you can not hold tears listening. In short, this is an amazing, incredible album, one of the real treasures I have pleasure to listen to, ever. Expand
  12. adama
    Dec 21, 2008
    10
    Hey if you don't "understand" why this album is a brilliant masterpiece maybe you should think about what you're saying. Since when has understanding factored into the enjoyment of getting lost in a magical world that Kate Bush has created for us to explore? Either you give in to the magic or you resist it. Those who resist usually end up with comments like "disappointing" or Hey if you don't "understand" why this album is a brilliant masterpiece maybe you should think about what you're saying. Since when has understanding factored into the enjoyment of getting lost in a magical world that Kate Bush has created for us to explore? Either you give in to the magic or you resist it. Those who resist usually end up with comments like "disappointing" or "some good tunes but a lot of filler" or "I could do without all the bird noises". Come on people, where are your hearts? Your souls? If this album can't touch you I don't think there is any hope for you. Not that it's completely your fault. You've been conditioned to respond only to certain elements of music in a positive way, ususally music that doesn't challenge or offend. God forbid an artist should request your full attention for the duraton of a double album for the sole purpose of transporting you out of your dull but rational existence into a world of adventure, emotion and dreams where anything is possible. God forbid an artist should have the nerve to break all of the rules of music we've wasted our lives creating. Who does Kate Bush think she is anyway? Expand
  13. CarolineB
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    Incredible - atmospheric, thoughtful intelligent and beautiful. Bill M's problem is not the music. He needs to open his ears, mind and heart.
  14. PiyuT.
    Jun 26, 2008
    10
    Simply put, one of the best albums I have ever had the fortune of listening to. Just shows how much KB has matured as an artist and a person.. her vioce is deeper and if it is possible, more mellifluous than it was twelve years ago. Just one thing Kate - please don't go into a sabbatical again, EVER (or atleast not one lasting twelve years)!
  15. AnyaZ.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Buying this album was best spending of money ever!!! Aerial is amazing album, great work of art and music. One of Bush's best.
  16. RobbieC
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Simply stunning.
  17. ChrisP
    May 19, 2007
    10
    The second CD, a Sky Of Honey, grew and grew on me. and is now one of my very favourite albums. Think of it as a single piece as it's full of cross-references. And it's introspective yet ecstatic, everyday yet transcendent, full of secrets and wonderful from beginning to end.
  18. OlavL
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    Soundscape is like traveling my own country's landscape!
  19. Filip
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    Aerial isn't magnificent, it's perfect. Just aerial perfect.
  20. barbrad
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    Forget the therapist - listen to this. Stunning
  21. David
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    Simply divine. A true artist at work. Kate's music makes most of today's award noted music pale in comparison. Here here to a truly great double CD.
  22. MICHAELW
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    It's like visiting another planet. No, make that another universe. Kate Bush succeeds in drowning the listener in a tub full of honey. It's not sickening sweet as one would imagine, more softer textures prevail here that resonate like a quick shot to the gut. I confess, I'm hooked. How can something so delicate pack such a powerful punch? Feel as though I've been It's like visiting another planet. No, make that another universe. Kate Bush succeeds in drowning the listener in a tub full of honey. It's not sickening sweet as one would imagine, more softer textures prevail here that resonate like a quick shot to the gut. I confess, I'm hooked. How can something so delicate pack such a powerful punch? Feel as though I've been ambushed by a thousand butterflies. Delicious insanity. Expand
  23. nicka
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    Well after a 12 year gap the question everyone wants answered is has it been worth the wait? Most definitely yes, Kate makes the album shes always wanted to and her genius is let loose completely on this double album. The first cd titled A Sea Of Honey is typical Kate with perhaps the best ever song about numbers, as with any Kate album she does take alot of risks but even when she Well after a 12 year gap the question everyone wants answered is has it been worth the wait? Most definitely yes, Kate makes the album shes always wanted to and her genius is let loose completely on this double album. The first cd titled A Sea Of Honey is typical Kate with perhaps the best ever song about numbers, as with any Kate album she does take alot of risks but even when she occasionally becomes a bit too self indulgent or takes a risk too far musically shes still wonderfully eccentric. The second cd titled A Sky Of Honey is where she lets it all out and brings together things that you think how does she make that work? the sound of birdsong, and especially wood pigeons are all brought together beautifully to give an organic start to some of the songs, in a sense this grounds the listener. Although the second cd is quite conceptual in nature there are some wonderful songs and beautiful choruses, after the first listen you want to go back and listen again to check you didnt miss something, theres so much going on here and most of it is beautifully drawn together. This album takes to you to far away places in your mind, at times haunting, beautiful, eccentric, innovative,it takes chances, it pushes the listener and rewards them. Simply put this album is like a snow capped mountain rising above the clouds,it leaves the majority of todays so called music deep in the valley below! A wonderful return from Kate, its great to have you back but please dont make us wait another 12 years. Expand
  24. nolandw
    Sep 30, 2006
    8
    After a listen a sea of honey left me cold.A sky of honey made me hot and horny.I allway wanderd what it would be like to have sex with Kate Bush after to hearing A sky of honey I nkow.
  25. CurtB
    Jul 20, 2006
    9
    This release may take multiple listens to fully appreciate it's many qualities.
  26. LeeB
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    I doubt that there is or ever was a musician as unique as Kate Bush.Her music takes me away to another world.Aerial is one of her best(The Dreaming is still,for me,the best album ever made at any time by any artist).Let's hope that she records another well before twelve more years have passed!
  27. PhilipH
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    A beautiful and enigmatic creation from a super, super talent
  28. SteveS
    Jun 24, 2006
    10
    The best album of 2005 and Kate's near best (Hounds of Love still holds that crown). This woman is still astonishingly relevant, despite a 12 year hiatus.
  29. ChristopherM
    Jun 23, 2006
    9
    Beautiful work from Kate; My rating may be premature, as I am only just listening to it now for the first time, so it may grow on me more...
  30. KenL
    May 10, 2006
    10
    It's like saying hello to an old friend. Welcome back Kate Bush
  31. calinv
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    sunset is the best. she sings like did it in 80 years. a very deep emotion, an graceless introspective of soul-bird.
  32. markn
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    I put both Cd's in my multi disc player in my truck , and as I drove around for the next week here in Hawaii that's all I listened too! The songs matched the wide and changind landscape as if she wrote the songs here. I waited along time for this and I loved it. I love her and anyone who has inspired her to keep her music alive! Please keep writing Kate and don't wait so I put both Cd's in my multi disc player in my truck , and as I drove around for the next week here in Hawaii that's all I listened too! The songs matched the wide and changind landscape as if she wrote the songs here. I waited along time for this and I loved it. I love her and anyone who has inspired her to keep her music alive! Please keep writing Kate and don't wait so long next time. Expand
  33. JulianC
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    An album of happiness, comfort and warmth with a nocturne as one of the highlights.
  34. nickelb
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    wow yo!
  35. Dennism
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    This is an emotionally transforming experience. Like anyone or thing that is alive you have to spend time to get to know it, and you have to be willing to let it in, to affect you. Meet Aerial. Each song takes on a life of its own and there is such a buoyancy, an ebb and flow that gets embedded in your nervous system. Emotionally complex, and holistic in its approach , these songs have a This is an emotionally transforming experience. Like anyone or thing that is alive you have to spend time to get to know it, and you have to be willing to let it in, to affect you. Meet Aerial. Each song takes on a life of its own and there is such a buoyancy, an ebb and flow that gets embedded in your nervous system. Emotionally complex, and holistic in its approach , these songs have a unique form, some have careful strokes and others have moments that are wonderful accidents; a theme outlined in the song 'An Architect's Dream'. Kate even has a song written for her son hoping for 3 wishes. Brilliantly, she has sections in 3/4 time and notes in couplets of three. This is a technique that the composer Bach often employed, with the number 3 symbolizing the trinity. Not only did Kate birth this wonderful album, she nurtured it and raised it with a gentle wisdom we should all aspire. Expand
  36. Delysid
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    Oh yes! It's so sweet to have a great musician in the rock/pop world come back with a stroke of genius like this, and it happens so seldom. Bowie pretty much redeemed himself after his long fallow period, McCartney is a sadly lost cause, ditto Elton John, the Rolling Stones, and too many others to mention. Then there are some who never hit the duldrums but keep putting out excellence Oh yes! It's so sweet to have a great musician in the rock/pop world come back with a stroke of genius like this, and it happens so seldom. Bowie pretty much redeemed himself after his long fallow period, McCartney is a sadly lost cause, ditto Elton John, the Rolling Stones, and too many others to mention. Then there are some who never hit the duldrums but keep putting out excellence through decades: David Byrne, Neil Young, Tom Waits. Kate doesn't quite make that grade for me -- "Sensual World" and "Red Shoes", while they have their moments, pale in comparison to the brilliance of all her preceding work. And now Aerial is right back up there in the same hallowed heights as the best of her pre-Sensual World material. Some reviewers say her sound hasn't changed, implying she hasn't kept up with the times. But Kate was never with the times -- despite her huge popularity, she carves a unique path and has inspired more than she has influenced, with the singular exception I'm aware of being early Tori Amos, which is great in its own way but still kind of Kate Lite. Aerial sounds exactly like Kate Bush and nothing else, and nothing else sounds like prime Kate Bush. Take all the time you need, Kate, before your next album, and I will await with all the patient devotion of the truly faithful, grateful for the granting of such divine grace whenever it comes. Expand
  37. DanielR
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    Many fans expect to be challenged by Kate Bush, but this isn't that kind of album at all. It's simply beautiful, pulling on many of the best elements of her past music. I have listened to this perhaps a hundred time (honestly) -- especially the second disc, the "concept album" -- and don't tire of it. I bought it for my mom, and she loves it too. The appeal is broad and Many fans expect to be challenged by Kate Bush, but this isn't that kind of album at all. It's simply beautiful, pulling on many of the best elements of her past music. I have listened to this perhaps a hundred time (honestly) -- especially the second disc, the "concept album" -- and don't tire of it. I bought it for my mom, and she loves it too. The appeal is broad and universal, easily Kate's most accessible effort. Expand
  38. stephan
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    Kate's beautiful Album!!
  39. cassandram
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    Kate just gets better, she reaches new and different realms. The sound is neither dated nor hackneyed, but beckons one to explore new ways of listening and seeing. She dosnt have to conform to what is considered "cool" because she just inherently is and she can set a mood like none other....
  40. Reedman
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    Kate is GREAT WORLD ARTIST.
  41. worpswede
    Feb 5, 2006
    9
    Near perfect and a back to the era when Kate consistantly put out near perfect albums. Second only to "Hounds Of Love," "Aerial" is challenging yet subtle and it will please anyone who's waited over a decade for this release.
  42. SimonS
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    Subtley GENIUS
  43. JohnI
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    While Kate Bush is a big star in the EU and Japan, here in the USA, she has only had a cult following. I am a happy member of this cult. Aerial is not an album that will yield hit singles, but Bush's complex, almost hypnotic songs grabbed my soul after a couple of listens. This is the work of a true, popular music genius!
  44. Paolo
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    Masterpiece!
  45. AdanR
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    I don't know how this woman does it...with an album that focuses on domestic life and urges the listening to concentrate on the small things in life (birdsong, the changing light of the day, domestic chores, the smile of a child), she has ended up creating a mind blowing album. Amazing. Listen with an open mind and be swept away...
  46. JBorea
    Jan 13, 2006
    9
    I can't get enough of the second disk! The first disk has great moments, but the real brilliance of Bush's ability remain spotlighted in tracks like "Sunset" and "Nocturn." Good to have her back!
  47. imkros
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    musica e poesia si fondono per dar voce a kate bush...un album meraviglioso ricco di sorprese e di tesori da scoprire
  48. HappyM.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    It took a few listens to "get it'. As a mega KT fan I was initially put on the spot - it seemingly wasn't worth a 12 year wait! ...But after a few spins it really stuck with me. Hell, I even love the washing machine song!
  49. IANB
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    Beautiful. Thought provoking. Genius
  50. JayD
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    It is wonderful to once again experience a new Kate album. After all these years away from the limeloight, Kate returns with another stellar classic.
  51. WayneG
    Dec 30, 2005
    9
    Brilliant (aside from 3 songs on the first cd)
  52. NocturneImmortum
    Dec 30, 2005
    9
    This 2-disc album, first with a Sea of Honey, then a Sky of Honey is a journey into the natural and mystical auditory realm. Though a long time admirer of Kate Bush's work, this creation took a bit getting used to: though the payoff is quite satisfying if one has no preconceived expectations. Just take the journey with her, and enjoy the ride. Maybe a little less birdsong, but all in This 2-disc album, first with a Sea of Honey, then a Sky of Honey is a journey into the natural and mystical auditory realm. Though a long time admirer of Kate Bush's work, this creation took a bit getting used to: though the payoff is quite satisfying if one has no preconceived expectations. Just take the journey with her, and enjoy the ride. Maybe a little less birdsong, but all in all an enjoyable listen. My favourite disc has to be Sky of Honey for its pure visualization and atmosphere. Welcome back Kate! Expand
  53. JyotirmayaD
    Dec 27, 2005
    7
    This is a good double CD but you have to be in the mood for it. The songs sound a little too much the same, and it's too long - kind of what I thought of Tori Amos' latest release "...Bee's" coincidentally and interestingly.
  54. MichaelJ
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    The muse of modern music, Kate Bush has created a soundscape that is so original and compelling that it really is impossible to review except to say: Thank God for Kate. And we hope that she doesn't wait another 12 years. In this age of unoriginality and amatuerism, she is a beacon of possibilities and sensation that defies labeling. Listening to this record is magical, especially The muse of modern music, Kate Bush has created a soundscape that is so original and compelling that it really is impossible to review except to say: Thank God for Kate. And we hope that she doesn't wait another 12 years. In this age of unoriginality and amatuerism, she is a beacon of possibilities and sensation that defies labeling. Listening to this record is magical, especially "Sky of Honey," the conceptual second CD. From start to finish, it draws us into the dreaming world of Kate Bush, a world and artist like no other. And her passion makes you start right back at the beginning as soon as it finishes. Expand
  55. SheilaS
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Although her earlier 80's insanity will never unfortuneatley be repeated, I wouldn't expect it to. This is Kate Bush all grown up, still with her quirkiness, and equally as unique as she has always been. It was worth the 12 year wait!
  56. MarcusB
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Side Two - Astonishing In Its Beauty! Fucking Gorgeous. The Woman Has Natural Talent, Her Entire Career Is One Of Unsurpassed Quality.
  57. josec
    Dec 10, 2005
    10
    the greatest has come back with a vengeance
  58. MarkusF.
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    This is a masterpiece. Just beautiful.
  59. GC
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    An outstanding album by anyone's standards. Some of the most beautiful music she has ever recorded. One to treasure for many years to come.
  60. SylvainV
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    Kate Bush is a genius and probably the most interesting artist over the past 2 decades. Aerial is the album of maturity and serenity. Welcome back Kate!
  61. humberto
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    Brilliant. I waited 12 long years for this. Sky of Honey is a masterpiece.
  62. fredn
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    Brilliant - anything that you like the first listen is crap. It took a few listens to discover how unashamedly brilliant this recording is!
  63. PeterH
    Nov 30, 2005
    9
    Yes, some of the lyrics are weak, and yes, Joanni and Bertie are really cringe-inducing if you spend a lot of time thinking about them. None of that changes the fact that I've played this over and over and over again since its realease. Just to hear it washing over is reward enough. Unlike The Red Shoes and even The Sensual World, I am not skipping tracks although I confess that King Yes, some of the lyrics are weak, and yes, Joanni and Bertie are really cringe-inducing if you spend a lot of time thinking about them. None of that changes the fact that I've played this over and over and over again since its realease. Just to hear it washing over is reward enough. Unlike The Red Shoes and even The Sensual World, I am not skipping tracks although I confess that King of the Mountain is not all that terrific. But follow it, get to Sunset and Nocturn, and all is very much well with it. I like that she things about mundanity and that she can make me care about things like washing machines. Expand
  64. PatC.
    Nov 30, 2005
    8
    She's always looked in rather than out, so it's always a stretch to follow where she goes. In this unexpected project her audacity and intelligence remain undiminished, and those who have gone too long without a Kate fix will not be disappointed. The work is a little too subdued for my taste as it fumbles around as prelude without hooks, but the final tracks have some zing, even She's always looked in rather than out, so it's always a stretch to follow where she goes. In this unexpected project her audacity and intelligence remain undiminished, and those who have gone too long without a Kate fix will not be disappointed. The work is a little too subdued for my taste as it fumbles around as prelude without hooks, but the final tracks have some zing, even the tracks where one may not Get It are undeniably unique, and the mixing has eliminated the fuzzy blending found in some of her previous albums to present crisp discernable instrumentation and lyrics. She has also made a studied effort to avoid her more strident quirky tendencies while still sharing her vulnerability. All in all, welcome back Kate, we have missed you. Expand
  65. BertieF
    Nov 30, 2005
    9
    I got trapped under the ice on a lake once, so I like the spooky romance of Hounds better than this resigned merriness - still intensely interesting
  66. IvoS
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    Beautiful, inspired and inspiring, wacky, incredibly well-crafted and even surprisingly kick-a** in places. Anyone who can sing the digits of pi like that is okay by me. Wonderful album.
  67. RasmaryC
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    As a musician all i can say is, this is stunning!
  68. JasperPo
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    Just fantastic!
  69. SimonD
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    Stunning! I have loved kate's music since 1978, she moves me like no other artist, and Aerial has the same effect on me. I wept the first time I heard Coral Room. And the joy in the Sky of Honey suite is equally emotionally. Everyone on this planet should buy this CD!
  70. SamL
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Incomparable.
  71. dirkk
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Unlike almost all other artists, Kate Bush Is afforded a rare luxury . She is never expected to deliver upon past credentials or succumb to retracing former genius to be considered successful or relevent. she is however expected to ........Move you. On this her 8th studio release and 12 years on, she delievers something so intangable, so original you have to question all that has taken up Unlike almost all other artists, Kate Bush Is afforded a rare luxury . She is never expected to deliver upon past credentials or succumb to retracing former genius to be considered successful or relevent. she is however expected to ........Move you. On this her 8th studio release and 12 years on, she delievers something so intangable, so original you have to question all that has taken up space in your ears for the past decade. Start to finish Ms Bush takes you places you haven't been, soars through dreamy landscapes and slays you with craft few possess.......Mesmerising Expand
  72. MattD
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    'Hounds' revisited, but with so much happiness. Love it (especially 'sky'), love her
  73. DavidS
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    How is it her music can still touch us this deeply after all of these years?
  74. PSmith
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    This album is a masterpiece...it creeps up on you. Kate Bush is one of a kind.
  75. EricB
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    This is my top album of the year. Yes i waited a long time for a new CD from Kate. and Yes it was worth it. Beautiful from beginning to end
  76. JamesM
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    Deceptively simple and unimpressive on the first listen...but listen to it a few more times, and the whole thing just overwhelms you. An utterly beautiful album, rivalling Hounds of Love as her masterpiece. She makes you glad to be alive!
  77. ChristopherT
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    Beauty, love, magic, emotion distillied into binary code, reproduce as if handling a priceless work of art -your stereo should be worthy - then be transported. The greatest recording ever made by a human(s) Thanks Kate
  78. MicheleM
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    It's Fantastic. It should be listened to as a whole, not piece by piece.
  79. TomC
    Nov 19, 2005
    7
    Ahh, fandom. I guess its defined by a lack of detachment from the object of one's desires. And a twelve year dry spell would make the murkiest of waters seem like a '61 Haut Brion. IMHO Pitchfork was pretty much on the mark. This is an unspectacular record, though lightyears ahead of The Red Shoes, which must be tthe most embarrassing carreer-outro ever by a truly brilliant Ahh, fandom. I guess its defined by a lack of detachment from the object of one's desires. And a twelve year dry spell would make the murkiest of waters seem like a '61 Haut Brion. IMHO Pitchfork was pretty much on the mark. This is an unspectacular record, though lightyears ahead of The Red Shoes, which must be tthe most embarrassing carreer-outro ever by a truly brilliant artist. The production is idiosyncratically dated, the songwriting is totally disconnected to anything going on in the music world (suqare this off against, say Radiohead, or Mogwa), so the only proper yardstick is Katie's older work, which is a hard act to follow. My highlight is clearly Mrs. Bartolozzi, which recreates the charm of Kick Inside and Lionheart days, as is Coral Room - notice, its the voice & piano things that work well. "King" earwormy, but ultimately a simple idea stretched too far. This songwriting approach was far better executed in The Sensual World. Pi is an interesting experiment, but doesn't grab, Bertie is a nice nod to Jethro Tull in their Minstrel phase, but too long and lacks stringency. The other songs on the Sea-side are mediocre in the way that (too) much of Sensual World was - she can do so much bette, no? Honey is a pleasant middle-age, easy-listening affair, even if some heavy philosophy might have gone into it. It's better than 90% of the Schlock on Top 40 radio, but that's not the standard KT deserves to be measured by. And she really loses it on the final tracks, that slide off, unexplanably into a parody of the worst kind of 70s AOR. Perhaps I don't get the joke. It's all worth a 7 really, which is fair enough on a scale of 1-10, but disappointing when you consider that The Dreaming and the Ninth Wave are 19.5 on that scale hands down. But I actually expected less and didn't regret spending twenty bucks. Mrs. Bartolozzi alone is easily worth that. Expand
  80. JeffR
    Nov 19, 2005
    8
    I have listened to this album obsessively since I first received it in the mail. I had not realized just how much I missed Kate Bush. And it contains material which should be ranked along with her best material, along with a few pieces -- like on all her albums -- that just don't do much for me. But I am not -- repeat, NOT -- complaining.
  81. DaveM
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    In the sea of musical mediocrity that now exists Kate Bush stands out like an island of dreams. Simply staggering piece of work.
  82. JarekP.
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    Seductive and magical album, although it often shows common, normal things... I can't stop listening to it. Kate owns my heart.
  83. MichaelK
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    simply wonderful
  84. DavidM
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    Beautiful.
  85. RogerS
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    The closest pop music comes to outsider art, and I mean that in a good way. Kate has always followed her own muse, as if the fickle tastes of the mainstream were non-existant, and the result is a double album that works both as ambient background and as a closely-scrutinized, layered work.
  86. RayH
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    A magnificent, emotionally overwhelming piece of music. I think the second disc will become recognised as her best work. Who else could have made this record?
  87. ElstonG
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    It's pure art, she is simply fantastic human been with lot of love for all.
  88. RB
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    astounding
  89. coryB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    9
    Welcome back Kate. You have outdone yourself this time. Sincere, elegant music. Soothing and original. Beautiful piano licks, striking violin. I've missed that sound. Kates voice gets better with age.
  90. danielc
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    A gem and a masterpiece! Worth every day of the lonnggg wait.
  91. JimP
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    Much anticipated.....not disappointing. As always, grows effortlessly richer with repeated and close listening.
  92. JariV
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    A masterpiece.
  93. GregG
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    Easily Kate's best since "Hounds of Love." The second CD is amazing, and should be listened to as one, complete, unified piece. "Nocturn" may be one of the greatest songs she's ever written. Kate Bush is one of music's few true originals.
  94. AmyO
    Nov 15, 2005
    9
    This disc exceeds all of my expectations. I have been a fan for over twenty years and I can easily say that this is probably her most emotionally resonant and musically beautiful work. Highlights are the moving "A Coral Room" and the musically adventurous "Sunset" and "Nocturne". Unforgettable!
  95. macky
    Nov 14, 2005
    9
    Great album, her best album since Hounds of love. She is unique and when you hear music as good as this it makes you realise how much un-original junk is coming out at the moment. There is only one Kate!
  96. alanc
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    One of her best offerings to date. CD2 excellece in ambience
  97. HaroldGreen
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    Aerial is simply the best album of 2005.
  98. EdwardH
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    I love the lyrics so much... so different from the current pop-rape songs... The album shows so many different aspect of her life, love of her son, and the rumours. She might not be the most shi-shi looking and glamourous artist, but that's what's so good about her... finally true talent.
  99. ninab
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    Once in a while an absoluetly pure, sensitive CD comes along which touches deeply. Did not know what to expect with this new one, but figured I could'nt go wrong with Kate. Put it on and was totally captivated, it pulls you in quickly and does not let go. Its rich in sound, beautiful but simple in songwriting and emotionally moving. Absence really does make the heart grow fonder, Once in a while an absoluetly pure, sensitive CD comes along which touches deeply. Did not know what to expect with this new one, but figured I could'nt go wrong with Kate. Put it on and was totally captivated, it pulls you in quickly and does not let go. Its rich in sound, beautiful but simple in songwriting and emotionally moving. Absence really does make the heart grow fonder, glad to have Kate back. Expand
  100. simong
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    just awesome
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. There's no pushing of the envelope because there doesn't need to be. Aerial is rooted in Kate Bush's oeuvre, with grace, flair, elegance, and an obsessive, stubborn attention to detail.
  2. Despite her prolonged absence, Bush sounds as vital as ever.
  3. Like all ambitious double albums, [Aerial] is not without its flaws, but even Bush's moments of failure are much more interesting than those of her contemporaries.