Aerial

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 8, 2005
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 296 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 296

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Aerial has a couple of immensely unwanted moments, (Mrs Bartollozi, a song about a washing machine, and the vocal guest Rolf Harris on disc two) but the fact is, Kate Bush's Aerial is just so magical, so touching, beautiful and innovative in its own creativity, that you simply couldn't care less for what so little of it isn't so good. I dare say this is Kate's most stunning and flawlessAerial has a couple of immensely unwanted moments, (Mrs Bartollozi, a song about a washing machine, and the vocal guest Rolf Harris on disc two) but the fact is, Kate Bush's Aerial is just so magical, so touching, beautiful and innovative in its own creativity, that you simply couldn't care less for what so little of it isn't so good. I dare say this is Kate's most stunning and flawless work since Hounds of Love. Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    Kate Bush has a career of long thirty years, and even with the big lacks of time between albums, it's always worthy. 'Aerial' is a unique masterpiece of a dream-pop in a league of her own. It's bold songwriting, powerful production and Kate's mature and refined voice, with an atmosphere of happiness in every song. It often sound like a successor to "The Dreaming", but in a most elegantKate Bush has a career of long thirty years, and even with the big lacks of time between albums, it's always worthy. 'Aerial' is a unique masterpiece of a dream-pop in a league of her own. It's bold songwriting, powerful production and Kate's mature and refined voice, with an atmosphere of happiness in every song. It often sound like a successor to "The Dreaming", but in a most elegant way. She never gets old for good music. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Incredible album-although kind of grower,need some time to warm up...the second disc is pure masterpiece from start to finish,probably the best thing she ever did.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Float away into summery, warm and evocative bliss. A few deterrants (Bertie, Joanni) don't manage to distract with the genious conception of this inviting album. 'An Endless Sky of Honey' is probably the warmest atmosphere ever created on an album and leads up to one of the most hauntingly blissful conclusions in Kate Bush's carreer.
  5. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    This is my all-time favourite record. Once again, Kate Bush proves her genius - the second disc is particularly breathtaking, intertwining birdsong and Rolf Harris effortlessly and flawlessly into a completely different yet completely "Kate Bush" way. Spectacular in every way.
  6. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    My all time favourite album, I can't put it into words how much I adore this album. In my opinion this is Kate Bushe's best album, it was most certainly worth the wait. 11/10 AMAZING
  7. RasmaryC
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    As a musician all i can say is, this is stunning!
  8. RachelD
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    What a trip. This gets right inside, heals your heart and lifts your spirits. Gorgeous.
  9. DaveC
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    One of the defining albums of the 21st century, in the same way Hounds of Love was a defining moment in late 20th century popular music.
  10. TimothyG
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Very few albums surprise me, this one did... Having only started listening to Kate about 4 years ago, it was cool to see a new album emerge abd hearing her voice with more modern day production.. Also, the thought that went into everything is staggering... even the artwork with double CD case where laundry turns to birds..... I'm glad I own this one...
  11. MintyZ
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Most excellent. Makes every other purchase in the past two years seem frivolous by comparison. Oh, if only the other 99.9999% of artists had the vision to make a disc like this. . . .
  12. AdanR
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    I don't know how this woman does it...with an album that focuses on domestic life and urges the listening to concentrate on the small things in life (birdsong, the changing light of the day, domestic chores, the smile of a child), she has ended up creating a mind blowing album. Amazing. Listen with an open mind and be swept away...
  13. JohnI
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    While Kate Bush is a big star in the EU and Japan, here in the USA, she has only had a cult following. I am a happy member of this cult. Aerial is not an album that will yield hit singles, but Bush's complex, almost hypnotic songs grabbed my soul after a couple of listens. This is the work of a true, popular music genius!
  14. Reedman
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    Kate is GREAT WORLD ARTIST.
  15. LeeB
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    I doubt that there is or ever was a musician as unique as Kate Bush.Her music takes me away to another world.Aerial is one of her best(The Dreaming is still,for me,the best album ever made at any time by any artist).Let's hope that she records another well before twelve more years have passed!
  16. Matt
    Nov 10, 2005
    8
    Amazing how beautiful Bush's music is without being very melodic. And if you like Tori Amos, give Aerial a chance.
  17. PW
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    An amazing album that gets better with each subsequent listen. Hands down the best album that I have heard all year. And frankly, I'm not even that much of a fan of Kate Bush!
  18. gregi
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    By modern standards it should get 11. Really. Even though it's not perfect, even the failing points have so many redeeming qualities that it is way beyond the sum of it's parts. It gives many a contemporary musician a worthwhile goal: personal, experimental, daring, beautiful, emotional and against the grain. Not many can pull that off successfully in this world of By modern standards it should get 11. Really. Even though it's not perfect, even the failing points have so many redeeming qualities that it is way beyond the sum of it's parts. It gives many a contemporary musician a worthwhile goal: personal, experimental, daring, beautiful, emotional and against the grain. Not many can pull that off successfully in this world of same-o-same-o. And for the listner: countless of hours of listening, finding and enjoyment. Expand
  19. JasperPo
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    Just fantastic!
  20. BertieF
    Nov 30, 2005
    9
    I got trapped under the ice on a lake once, so I like the spooky romance of Hounds better than this resigned merriness - still intensely interesting
  21. WaltonS
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    An album that has genuinely touched me, and I dare say may be one of the finest I've ever heard. From anyone.
  22. ArchwayJack
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    A tremendous return, especially after the slightly disappointing Red Shoes album.
  23. josk
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    astonishing! magical!
  24. Greg
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Pure Magic. Well worth the wait we have had to endure. Perhaps not as great as hounds of love but defintley a masterpiece. Grammy will be singing areials toon.
  25. ChrisB
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Back and better than ever!
  26. NeilB
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Worth every year. Worth every damn second.
  27. billl
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    We are so not worthy. Would have waited 50 years for this album, and it would have been worth it. Aerial is stunning. Joy and beauty on A Sky of Honey; 7 diamonds on a Sea of Honey. mesmerizing and tear-inducing.
  28. JonathanM
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Wow, I've been a Kate fan for several years now and after The Red Shoes being such an overcooked record I really wasn't expecting anything as beatiful and beguling as this. Nearly 30 years on she still manages to be one of the most essential artists around.
  29. MitchellS
    Nov 8, 2005
    9
    A Glorius comeback, whilst not flawless A great record that needs to be heard. The second side is spellbinding.
  30. LeonardoF
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    cd1 is great, cd2 is perfect and when it ends, it makes you want to listen to a cd3. aerial is the kind of album that gets better and better with each listen. hope we don't have to wait another 12 years for more.
  31. MichaelB.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    This is what genius sounds like... A simply amazing and accessible work from an incredibly talented artist.
  32. enricob
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Absolutely superb...it gets better and better and better with each playfrom the Lemon Jelly-styled paean to numbers which is "Pi", moody rocker "How To Be Invisible", the tearjerking "A Coral Room" (worth the price alone) to the gorgeous "Sky of Honey" suite. This album will make you feel delirious and slightly high after listening to it!
  33. LloydC
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Kate's back and better than ever. Aerial is her most cohesive and fully realized album thus far.
  34. JamieH
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    My god, what a comeback. Every moment of the album is perfection. "How to be Invisible" is the catchiest song she's done since the HOL era, "Pi" makes numbers sexy, "Mrs. B" and "A Coral Room" show off Kate's piano ballads, and the entirety of the concept album is filled with lush, stunning arrangements. It's another fantastic album from a fantastic artist.
  35. fredn
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    Brilliant - anything that you like the first listen is crap. It took a few listens to discover how unashamedly brilliant this recording is!
  36. NocturneImmortum
    Dec 30, 2005
    9
    This 2-disc album, first with a Sea of Honey, then a Sky of Honey is a journey into the natural and mystical auditory realm. Though a long time admirer of Kate Bush's work, this creation took a bit getting used to: though the payoff is quite satisfying if one has no preconceived expectations. Just take the journey with her, and enjoy the ride. Maybe a little less birdsong, but all in This 2-disc album, first with a Sea of Honey, then a Sky of Honey is a journey into the natural and mystical auditory realm. Though a long time admirer of Kate Bush's work, this creation took a bit getting used to: though the payoff is quite satisfying if one has no preconceived expectations. Just take the journey with her, and enjoy the ride. Maybe a little less birdsong, but all in all an enjoyable listen. My favourite disc has to be Sky of Honey for its pure visualization and atmosphere. Welcome back Kate! Expand
  37. GC
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    An outstanding album by anyone's standards. Some of the most beautiful music she has ever recorded. One to treasure for many years to come.
  38. JBorea
    Jan 13, 2006
    9
    I can't get enough of the second disk! The first disk has great moments, but the real brilliance of Bush's ability remain spotlighted in tracks like "Sunset" and "Nocturn." Good to have her back!
  39. Paolo
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    Masterpiece!
  40. IANB
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    Beautiful. Thought provoking. Genius
  41. imkros
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    musica e poesia si fondono per dar voce a kate bush...un album meraviglioso ricco di sorprese e di tesori da scoprire
  42. DanielR
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    Many fans expect to be challenged by Kate Bush, but this isn't that kind of album at all. It's simply beautiful, pulling on many of the best elements of her past music. I have listened to this perhaps a hundred time (honestly) -- especially the second disc, the "concept album" -- and don't tire of it. I bought it for my mom, and she loves it too. The appeal is broad and Many fans expect to be challenged by Kate Bush, but this isn't that kind of album at all. It's simply beautiful, pulling on many of the best elements of her past music. I have listened to this perhaps a hundred time (honestly) -- especially the second disc, the "concept album" -- and don't tire of it. I bought it for my mom, and she loves it too. The appeal is broad and universal, easily Kate's most accessible effort. Expand
  43. Delysid
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    Oh yes! It's so sweet to have a great musician in the rock/pop world come back with a stroke of genius like this, and it happens so seldom. Bowie pretty much redeemed himself after his long fallow period, McCartney is a sadly lost cause, ditto Elton John, the Rolling Stones, and too many others to mention. Then there are some who never hit the duldrums but keep putting out excellence Oh yes! It's so sweet to have a great musician in the rock/pop world come back with a stroke of genius like this, and it happens so seldom. Bowie pretty much redeemed himself after his long fallow period, McCartney is a sadly lost cause, ditto Elton John, the Rolling Stones, and too many others to mention. Then there are some who never hit the duldrums but keep putting out excellence through decades: David Byrne, Neil Young, Tom Waits. Kate doesn't quite make that grade for me -- "Sensual World" and "Red Shoes", while they have their moments, pale in comparison to the brilliance of all her preceding work. And now Aerial is right back up there in the same hallowed heights as the best of her pre-Sensual World material. Some reviewers say her sound hasn't changed, implying she hasn't kept up with the times. But Kate was never with the times -- despite her huge popularity, she carves a unique path and has inspired more than she has influenced, with the singular exception I'm aware of being early Tori Amos, which is great in its own way but still kind of Kate Lite. Aerial sounds exactly like Kate Bush and nothing else, and nothing else sounds like prime Kate Bush. Take all the time you need, Kate, before your next album, and I will await with all the patient devotion of the truly faithful, grateful for the granting of such divine grace whenever it comes. Expand
  44. JulianC
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    An album of happiness, comfort and warmth with a nocturne as one of the highlights.
  45. KenL
    May 10, 2006
    10
    It's like saying hello to an old friend. Welcome back Kate Bush
  46. JamesP
    Nov 11, 2005
    9
    Kate Bush is one of those rare artists who can only be judged by the standards they set for themselves. With Aerial she has reached for new heights of expression and every listen reveals additional layers and textures. There are few obvious hit singles but with epic songs as evocative as Sunset, Nocturn, and Aerial, who cares.
  47. CarolG
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Leave it to the too cool for the school Pitchfork review to bring down the average, eh? This is pure art. Nothing else. Awesome. Beautiful. Spectacular. Get me my thesarus.
  48. JoshH
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    This is an absolutely stellar album. I am thrilled to have Kate back.
  49. alexn
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    This is a masterpiece; only for those willing to open their ears... Thank you Kate! And you thought we might not remember you... The question is how can we ever forget you?
  50. TorbenP
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Perfect!
  51. NancyC
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Kate's new album is a potent brew.
  52. orc
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Her master work. That voice and piano...that voice and piano.
  53. ChristineE
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Aerial is another masterpiece from Kate and is comparable to Hounds of Love in it's imagination. The track Aerial is a total belter! Those reviewers criticising the album just don't get it; and they are poorer for that.
  54. KrisH
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    In an era of Bad Bushes - we get the Great Kate Bush back! What a pleasure; listening to Kate Bush is like reading a good book -
  55. McTaffish
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    Stunning. A truly beautiful album. Thanks Kate.
  56. LynM
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    Kate is better than ever. As I have said in other reviews, Aerial is a shameless and glorious expression of adoration. Absolutely enchanting!
  57. MichaelT
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Some of the best music heard this year so far
  58. ninab
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    Once in a while an absoluetly pure, sensitive CD comes along which touches deeply. Did not know what to expect with this new one, but figured I could'nt go wrong with Kate. Put it on and was totally captivated, it pulls you in quickly and does not let go. Its rich in sound, beautiful but simple in songwriting and emotionally moving. Absence really does make the heart grow fonder, Once in a while an absoluetly pure, sensitive CD comes along which touches deeply. Did not know what to expect with this new one, but figured I could'nt go wrong with Kate. Put it on and was totally captivated, it pulls you in quickly and does not let go. Its rich in sound, beautiful but simple in songwriting and emotionally moving. Absence really does make the heart grow fonder, glad to have Kate back. Expand
  59. EdwardH
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    I love the lyrics so much... so different from the current pop-rape songs... The album shows so many different aspect of her life, love of her son, and the rumours. She might not be the most shi-shi looking and glamourous artist, but that's what's so good about her... finally true talent.
  60. AmyO
    Nov 15, 2005
    9
    This disc exceeds all of my expectations. I have been a fan for over twenty years and I can easily say that this is probably her most emotionally resonant and musically beautiful work. Highlights are the moving "A Coral Room" and the musically adventurous "Sunset" and "Nocturne". Unforgettable!
  61. coryB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    9
    Welcome back Kate. You have outdone yourself this time. Sincere, elegant music. Soothing and original. Beautiful piano licks, striking violin. I've missed that sound. Kates voice gets better with age.
  62. DmitriR
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Sky of Honey is stunning. The best music created by Kate. 12 year wait well worth it.
  63. RayH
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    A magnificent, emotionally overwhelming piece of music. I think the second disc will become recognised as her best work. Who else could have made this record?
  64. RB
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    astounding
  65. BexF
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    Well worth the wait.
  66. DavidS
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    How is it her music can still touch us this deeply after all of these years?
  67. ChristopherT
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    Beauty, love, magic, emotion distillied into binary code, reproduce as if handling a priceless work of art -your stereo should be worthy - then be transported. The greatest recording ever made by a human(s) Thanks Kate
  68. SamL
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Incomparable.
  69. SimonD
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    Stunning! I have loved kate's music since 1978, she moves me like no other artist, and Aerial has the same effect on me. I wept the first time I heard Coral Room. And the joy in the Sky of Honey suite is equally emotionally. Everyone on this planet should buy this CD!
  70. MicheleM
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    It's Fantastic. It should be listened to as a whole, not piece by piece.
  71. PatC.
    Nov 30, 2005
    8
    She's always looked in rather than out, so it's always a stretch to follow where she goes. In this unexpected project her audacity and intelligence remain undiminished, and those who have gone too long without a Kate fix will not be disappointed. The work is a little too subdued for my taste as it fumbles around as prelude without hooks, but the final tracks have some zing, even She's always looked in rather than out, so it's always a stretch to follow where she goes. In this unexpected project her audacity and intelligence remain undiminished, and those who have gone too long without a Kate fix will not be disappointed. The work is a little too subdued for my taste as it fumbles around as prelude without hooks, but the final tracks have some zing, even the tracks where one may not Get It are undeniably unique, and the mixing has eliminated the fuzzy blending found in some of her previous albums to present crisp discernable instrumentation and lyrics. She has also made a studied effort to avoid her more strident quirky tendencies while still sharing her vulnerability. All in all, welcome back Kate, we have missed you. Expand
  72. Paolo
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Masterpiece!
  73. TomaszS
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. Now I am rwady to wait another 12 years for another piece like this...
  74. Leven
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    simply amazing. kate bush is truly one of a kind... and she's made me see that once again.
  75. madsl
    Nov 8, 2005
    9
    Its a beautiful achievement from an artist who has been out of the public eye for so long. Some of the more electronic stuff sound a bit dated and contrived but the simple piano arrangements works wonders! Making it a double album actually makes sense even though the running time is just over 80 minutes...the two discs make perfect sense as complementary pieces of music.
  76. JohnK
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Definitely worth every second we had to wait... about 400 million of them...
  77. FinnFreak
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Most amazing album since 1985. The woman is a genius... really: she is.
  78. andyj
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    What can you say? Beautiful album. Beautiful lady. Welcome back Kate.
  79. DavidH
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    If you only buy one album this decade, it's gotta be Aerial. Do yourself a favour. : )
  80. GuyB
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    Sublime! I'll have to give it some more listening time, but as of now, I'll have to say this is Kate's best album yet. Definitely the highlight of 1995!
  81. EddyS
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    This album is a masterpiece of intense and touching music. She was, she is and she will be the best artist of the planet.
  82. NickS
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Wow... Just wow... Never heard of her before this. Usually takes a while for things to grow on me, but this is perhaps the most consistent album i've ever heard. There are no throwaway tracks, nothing to skip over... Just amazingingly beautiful music.
  83. janl
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    After 12 years of absence, Kate Bush moved my again with nice intimate songs.The only track which decived me is ..."King og the mountain".
  84. danh
    Nov 9, 2005
    9
    I feel bad even giving it a 9 (!) a magnificent, ravishing, fresh & inspiring return, and easily the album of the year despite sounding completely out-of-time. It would be insta-classic whatever year it was released in frankly.
  85. bscott
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Aerial was worth the wait! This album is a triumph, and more importantly, a celebration of life. Music like this just isn't made anymore, thankfully, we still have Kate Bush.
  86. HelenC
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Kate's back and has nothing to declare but her genius. Stunning album, comprising one disc of intimate songs mostly revolving around characters real, fictional and historical, and one disc of breathtaking sonic vistas depicting the tranistion from night into day, taking in flamenco, disco and the recurring motif of birdsong.
  87. lièsT
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    TRULY a MASTERPIECE!!!! Let's dare it: ALBUM OF THE YEAR (sorry Antony & Sufjan).The queen is back with such a class....
  88. humberto
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    Brilliant. I waited 12 long years for this. Sky of Honey is a masterpiece.
  89. SheilaS
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Although her earlier 80's insanity will never unfortuneatley be repeated, I wouldn't expect it to. This is Kate Bush all grown up, still with her quirkiness, and equally as unique as she has always been. It was worth the 12 year wait!
  90. SylvainV
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    Kate Bush is a genius and probably the most interesting artist over the past 2 decades. Aerial is the album of maturity and serenity. Welcome back Kate!
  91. MarkusF.
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    This is a masterpiece. Just beautiful.
  92. JayD
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    It is wonderful to once again experience a new Kate album. After all these years away from the limeloight, Kate returns with another stellar classic.
  93. SimonS
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    Subtley GENIUS
  94. HappyM.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    It took a few listens to "get it'. As a mega KT fan I was initially put on the spot - it seemingly wasn't worth a 12 year wait! ...But after a few spins it really stuck with me. Hell, I even love the washing machine song!
  95. worpswede
    Feb 5, 2006
    9
    Near perfect and a back to the era when Kate consistantly put out near perfect albums. Second only to "Hounds Of Love," "Aerial" is challenging yet subtle and it will please anyone who's waited over a decade for this release.
  96. Dennism
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    This is an emotionally transforming experience. Like anyone or thing that is alive you have to spend time to get to know it, and you have to be willing to let it in, to affect you. Meet Aerial. Each song takes on a life of its own and there is such a buoyancy, an ebb and flow that gets embedded in your nervous system. Emotionally complex, and holistic in its approach , these songs have a This is an emotionally transforming experience. Like anyone or thing that is alive you have to spend time to get to know it, and you have to be willing to let it in, to affect you. Meet Aerial. Each song takes on a life of its own and there is such a buoyancy, an ebb and flow that gets embedded in your nervous system. Emotionally complex, and holistic in its approach , these songs have a unique form, some have careful strokes and others have moments that are wonderful accidents; a theme outlined in the song 'An Architect's Dream'. Kate even has a song written for her son hoping for 3 wishes. Brilliantly, she has sections in 3/4 time and notes in couplets of three. This is a technique that the composer Bach often employed, with the number 3 symbolizing the trinity. Not only did Kate birth this wonderful album, she nurtured it and raised it with a gentle wisdom we should all aspire. Expand
  97. nickelb
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    wow yo!
  98. calinv
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    sunset is the best. she sings like did it in 80 years. a very deep emotion, an graceless introspective of soul-bird.
  99. PhilipH
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    A beautiful and enigmatic creation from a super, super talent
  100. CurtB
    Jul 20, 2006
    9
    This release may take multiple listens to fully appreciate it's many qualities.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. There's no pushing of the envelope because there doesn't need to be. Aerial is rooted in Kate Bush's oeuvre, with grace, flair, elegance, and an obsessive, stubborn attention to detail.
  2. Despite her prolonged absence, Bush sounds as vital as ever.
  3. Like all ambitious double albums, [Aerial] is not without its flaws, but even Bush's moments of failure are much more interesting than those of her contemporaries.