All The Right Reasons

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 340 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshC
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Easily the best rock album since the year 1987. I hate the people that say Nickleback sucks, cause, well they don't. It's bands like The Arcade Fire who like use a lot of instruments that sound "different", and also John Vanderslice, he records all of his own music which is just silly, he works too hard. Nickleback takes the easy way out and uses very similar chord structures to Easily the best rock album since the year 1987. I hate the people that say Nickleback sucks, cause, well they don't. It's bands like The Arcade Fire who like use a lot of instruments that sound "different", and also John Vanderslice, he records all of his own music which is just silly, he works too hard. Nickleback takes the easy way out and uses very similar chord structures to each of their songs, so as not to confuse it's audience, myself included. I like that if I turn on the radio at like noon I can hear Nickleback, and if I turn on the radio at like 12:13 I can hear Nickleback, I'm not sure if they are playing the same song or not, but really who can? P.S. Death Cab sucks... and the new Tegan and Sara album is horrible... And the Beatles? I wish they would have been inspired by Nickleback. Nuff said. Everyone should buy this new Nickleback album, and then bite a curb. Expand
  2. HerbisonD.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    More often than not, records with real staying power don't provide instant gratification. That's sad, since the winds of change
  3. VishalP.
    Aug 4, 2008
    1
    The only reason it doesnt get a zero is because its music. really BAD music. why so these guys get so much airplay? all the songs sound the same, boring post grunge rock. its a dying genre. if you want a real band try rise against.
  4. Juc@
    Jun 29, 2006
    7
    I thinkNickelback made better albums before, but I also think that it isn't the worst I've ever heard. I hope the ones who say it's boring and unoriginal, and shit have ever listened to this album, and know what they wrote down. But it isn't the worst album of 2005.
  5. Ana
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    Nickelback is a really great band. Some people probably just judge them on the 2 songs that sound similar. Of course they do. Chad probably got the inspiration from listening to that song. At least they dont right about the same topics like everyone else does. yeah they talk about love but they make all the love theme songs differnt. its not the same topic over and over. they are a great Nickelback is a really great band. Some people probably just judge them on the 2 songs that sound similar. Of course they do. Chad probably got the inspiration from listening to that song. At least they dont right about the same topics like everyone else does. yeah they talk about love but they make all the love theme songs differnt. its not the same topic over and over. they are a great band. Just deal with it! Expand
  6. DanC
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    How the FUCK is this rated so bad.. Good as ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  7. JonasF
    Mar 11, 2007
    0
    Super Job! :~} Oh yeah just great the length the went to to pretend they matter. What a disguiting contribution to the world of music. This garbage sells best at red-neck convention #1, Wal-Mart. Somebody giving this disk worth of BULL%&*% anything over 4 would only be capable of giving a review as rich and in depth as "two words simpley.awsome." which did a fine job misspelling the words Super Job! :~} Oh yeah just great the length the went to to pretend they matter. What a disguiting contribution to the world of music. This garbage sells best at red-neck convention #1, Wal-Mart. Somebody giving this disk worth of BULL%&*% anything over 4 would only be capable of giving a review as rich and in depth as "two words simpley.awsome." which did a fine job misspelling the words simply and awesome. How about, "super job.......chad sounds great in photograph," excellent use of "........" when its really needed! Super job reviewing and telling us of Chad's super duper voice in 'Photograph', you must have a Pulitzer eh? No of course not you'd be banned from wal-mart if you had an award in distinguished writing and then where would you have purchased good ole' All the Right Reasons. One song that is just rich in social commentary is "If Everyone Cared" thats where they show their sophisticate side we lines like this," If everyone cared and nobody lied, If everyone shared and swallowed their pride, Then we'd see the day when nobody died," aww how moving. Honestly are they refering to a war of some sort, world leaders? Does it even matter what they refer to? Radiohead is nothing compared to these cool dudes in Nickelback and their cool guitars, drums, bass and vocal line-up. If you purchased this baby at Wal-Mart you also got a bonus track! Its the band covering Queen's "We Will Rock You," obviously appealing to the southern eardrum and obviously being a terrible cover. The fact that radio hit "Photograph," a @#$$load of words being screamed about Chad boy's adolescence in photobook form peaked #2 on the Billboard Hot 100 just tells you how 98 other songs could ignored by the US crowd. This band can not compare to any other Canadian band. These guys make Canada look like a joke and the fact that the Arcade Fire is not as big there or in the US tells you how terrible the education system must be. Damn you Bush look what you've done! But lets not just blame these two countries, lets blame the whole world! Worldwide over 7,000,000 copies have been sold, in both the USA and Canda they have reached 5x platnium. Do you see why this matters? It matters because right now so many people are allowing the world to breed the music of money whores and ignorance. That we allow this in our homes not just in the United States, but the world. Can nobody else say the truth? My name is Jonas Feathers and I wonder what would happed "If Everyone Cared". :[ Expand
  8. GraceL
    Apr 12, 2007
    0
    Oh dear... another Nickleback album. How can you tell? Because the whole album sound the same from beginning to end. The only difference is the tone of the lead singers droning, undeveloped, amateur vocals.
  9. FrankG.
    Jun 14, 2007
    0
    Horrible... just horrible... my girlfriend gave me this peice of trash and i have to pretend to like it. EVERY SONG IS AT THE SAME TEMPO!
  10. EricC.
    Aug 6, 2007
    0
    Sometimes, music can blow my mind, like the first time I heard the Arcade Fire or when I listened through Panda Bear's Person Pitch. Sometimes music blows my mind for horrible reasons. Like this band, which is like opening the Lost Ark and having your head melt and explode, with this god awful music being the last thing you experience. It actually hurts to listen to Nickleback. I Sometimes, music can blow my mind, like the first time I heard the Arcade Fire or when I listened through Panda Bear's Person Pitch. Sometimes music blows my mind for horrible reasons. Like this band, which is like opening the Lost Ark and having your head melt and explode, with this god awful music being the last thing you experience. It actually hurts to listen to Nickleback. I think I would have been more comfortable with an ice pick jabbed through my ears than when listening to "Photograph". And when you hear "Rock Star" and ponder how anyone could write music this bad, you might just have your mind blown too. And now bands like Hinder are actually coppying this sin against humanity of a band. Maybe this really is the death of popular rock... Expand
  11. PatrickM
    Sep 4, 2008
    0
    Nickelback has ruined rock as we know it. There lyrics have know meaning, just the same lovey dovey, sad and lonely song over and over again. This album beats you to death with sex and love songs like the rest of nickelback's albums. There is no meaning at all.
  12. CleopatraJ
    Nov 1, 2005
    1
    Who are these people below me? Are they really serious? This must be some kind of joke. Quote: "clearly the people that gave this a album a zero dont know anything about music"--that about Nickelback? aka the fourth cycle of grunge lite? completely trite, profoundly unoriginal corporate fm sludge? There's something here.
  13. BenK
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    Nickelback return with yet another dismal album with samey songs that will bore you.
  14. leem
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    I highly doubt any of these low voters actually listened to the whole cd.
  15. alanalda
    Oct 24, 2005
    0
    no . stop.
  16. EffE
    Oct 26, 2005
    0
    I'm not proud to be Canadian anymore... Worst album ever by one of the worst band in the history of our Country. I can't believe they actually sell cd's...
  17. radar
    Oct 26, 2005
    0
    enough!
  18. BrandonW
    Oct 29, 2005
    1
    Notice that everyone who has reviewed this album with a glowing response barely has the intellectual capacity to even remotely command the English language in a correct manner. If you examine that the intellect of the crowd that lauds Nickelback is remarkably apparent. Just like the contrived idiocy of this album.
  19. SherylJ
    Oct 31, 2005
    9
    This album is really enjoyable. I am a 30 something mother of 3 young children and this music is very much enjoyable to listen to. Even my children like it. Their is only one or two songs that are not appealing to me but the rest are awesome.
  20. Matt
    Oct 31, 2005
    0
    One of the worst bands in recent memory. One needs look no further than that the two clone songs "How You Remind Me" and "Someday." How can a band release two songs two years apart that sound nearly exactly the same? A shame to Canadian music and music in general.
  21. IwantmyNICKELBACK!
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    The singer, I think his name is Dwight Nickleback, has the SWEETEST Hair! Anyone who can make a career out of writing the same song over and over again is burdened with the stench of genius! Mr. Nicleback, thank you for making the "middle of the road" safe again!
  22. DaneB
    Oct 30, 2005
    7
    Far and away the best mix overall of music Nickelback have ever produced.On albums such as this from big bands I ten to look for one or two real cracking songs. I didnt have to look far past the beautifully reminisant PHOTOGRAPH and the soon to be smash hit FAR AWAY These two songs alone pull nickelback away from the stricktly HEAVY METAL tag Great Album
  23. MangleR
    Oct 30, 2005
    0
    Wow...looks like the same guy decided to raise the rating. Either that or it's just one huge, inbred family. Nice one, guys. You sure know how to show a girl a good time.
  24. Flërnk
    Jan 1, 2006
    0
    Um... yeah... This album is just plain not good.
  25. TheSecretAssasin(kiddingit'sJamesM)
    Jan 1, 2006
    1
    Terrible and dull. A really boring and stupid album.
  26. FlorenceC
    Nov 8, 2006
    7
    Nickelback is an awesome band and I've been around long enough to know the difference. I grew up in the Beastles/Led Zepplin/Aerosmith era and I know great music when I hear it. Chad has one of the best voices ever in Rock. I like to classify them as groovy rock instead of post-grunge. There are millions of us Nickelback fans and all of you so called music critics are jealous hypocrites.
  27. NicholasF
    Jan 2, 2006
    0
    Kris B seems to think that the genocide that is Nickelback has something to do with Kurt Cobain. Are you insane - don't blame a visionary for the commodified and hollow way Nickelback uses rock/metal. This record is on par with the worst modern music has to offer, and that is saying alot. Unfortunatly people cannot help but lap it up.
  28. aa
    Jan 20, 2006
    0
    More self-conscious throat rock from the everyband
  29. johnybravo
    Jan 3, 2006
    4
    this album is ok. nothing special. it lacks balls, im not convinced with its manly butch sound, and neither is their public by the looks of things. production is almost perfect as usual, shame about the lack lustre songs. only as good as your last album lads...
  30. Segageek
    Jan 4, 2006
    2
    Ok i have listened to the first 4 nickelband albums and they were good. So i thought id give this album a try and how i regret it so. First off everyone needs to relize one thing. CHAD CANT SING! Honestly and Photogragh sounded like a warped version of someday. There is not even one song on this album that stands out. Even the bands chad krouger helps have made better albums then his band Ok i have listened to the first 4 nickelband albums and they were good. So i thought id give this album a try and how i regret it so. First off everyone needs to relize one thing. CHAD CANT SING! Honestly and Photogragh sounded like a warped version of someday. There is not even one song on this album that stands out. Even the bands chad krouger helps have made better albums then his band this year. Aka Default, Theory Of A Dead man. Way better albums. I dont see a reason how these guys are still around a complete and utterly bland album. Check Out the new Default Album it's 10X better then this pos of an album Expand
  31. Lee
    Jan 5, 2006
    9
    I bought the CD after hearings "Animals" on the radio and I couldnt be happier. My fear was that, once again, I would purchase a CD with only one decent song on it. I'm happy to say that I can once again throw the cd in and completely disregard the seek button. I'm impressed with the entire album. Excellent work as usual....
  32. AFWhigs
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    Oh yeah, I've been subjected to this entire cd multiple times by my carpool buddies, and to me it has the force of a long, listless anal probe. Yee gads, this is just pure, unadulterated corporate Product Rock. No soul, no wit, no creativity, no value. It has all the artistic and creative legitimacy of Ashlee Simpson. Even the "rockin'" tunes are so slick and overproduced Oh yeah, I've been subjected to this entire cd multiple times by my carpool buddies, and to me it has the force of a long, listless anal probe. Yee gads, this is just pure, unadulterated corporate Product Rock. No soul, no wit, no creativity, no value. It has all the artistic and creative legitimacy of Ashlee Simpson. Even the "rockin'" tunes are so slick and overproduced it's like dancing to a focus group. This is the kind of heinous garbage that spawned the punk movement in the 70's. Expand
  33. JohnB
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    This album ROCKS!!! All you "0"s are nuts. Too much emo & rap. You all forgot what music sounds like. Chad and the boys try new things on this album. Every song is unique. This is not a good band, this is a great band.........
  34. MichaelC
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    To the scoffers, check your ears and your morals. Here's a bad that's growing up. Yes you like to see angst against everything, but when someone uses a little FAITH, you call the talentless, idiotical, rehashers. I think a look inside is in order. Keep up the great work NICKELBACK!!!
  35. DavidB
    May 6, 2006
    2
    They rewrote the album for the 3rd time. and god this band was decent back in when they made the State. Everything since Silver side up is derirvative. Example: how you remind me- someday- save me are essentially the same song. This time they just added softer songs compared to their last couple of cds. Besides, they were not original in the first pkace. I agree with the guy a few They rewrote the album for the 3rd time. and god this band was decent back in when they made the State. Everything since Silver side up is derirvative. Example: how you remind me- someday- save me are essentially the same song. This time they just added softer songs compared to their last couple of cds. Besides, they were not original in the first pkace. I agree with the guy a few reviewers below me that they had to sing about drugs, wild sex(animals), being a rockstar(rockstar the song itself the same as the last song from the last record See you at the Show). In other words, there are much better bands out there...check out wolfmother, new pearl jam, well most stuff is better than nickelback. However, nickelback is not bad as those emo, r&b, and alot of mainstream rap which saves them from a 0. Expand
  36. SeanU.
    Jun 20, 2006
    1
    Well, well, well, progressive rock band Nickelcreed is back with another album. This is the one where Chad goes on tour, shaves himself a reverse mohawk, dresses up like a sunflower, and sings "Someday" to the local church youth group. You know, even the sameyness of the songs (I wouldm have gone as high as a 3 if these were original compositions!) doesn't bother me as much as these Well, well, well, progressive rock band Nickelcreed is back with another album. This is the one where Chad goes on tour, shaves himself a reverse mohawk, dresses up like a sunflower, and sings "Someday" to the local church youth group. You know, even the sameyness of the songs (I wouldm have gone as high as a 3 if these were original compositions!) doesn't bother me as much as these two things: the banal lyrics and Chad Kroeger's annoying whiny voice. Firstly, why does he have to sound like a tough guy processed through a computer? and what happened to being post-post-post-Grunge? This is "hard" rock, if anything. And radio-ready, pansy wannabe rock. Heck, these guys probably even know they suck, but just want to make the $$$. And I absolutely hate these bands that have to act so serious... like they really cared about doing this. Even in the tongue-in-cheek stuff ("Rock Star"), it's the same cry-down-to-earth spew that is supposed to move you, but the only thing it moves is my bowels. Excuse me for a moment... *FLUSH* Okay, where was I? Ohh, Theory of a Nickelback album. Anyway, "Savin' Me"... ok, we re-arranged some old song and added these cool fade effects where Chad still does the same 8 or 9 syllable line between the chorus that always bugs the shit out of me. "Photograph": You know it, starts off with cheesy radio lyrics "Look at this photograph/Every time I look at it it makes me laugh"... Aww, I didn't know Chad the poet could laugh. In fact, I didn't know Chad the studio automaton could show ANY emotional range at all. And then we have to start "rocking" the chorus so you know we REALLY MEAN IT! We're SERIOUS MAN! This is SERIOUS STUFF! STOP LAUGHING AT IT! Expand
  37. NickelbackMaj
    Jul 30, 2006
    1
    They suck.
  38. marksman_d9k
    Oct 19, 2007
    7
    Quite good. I don't see any particular problems except some songs are almost the same as others. Anyway, i'd personally liked "Savin' Me" and "Rockstar" - they're quite successful. However, i've got bored after listening the whole CD.
  39. sandeepm
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    superb job........chad sounds great in photograph
  40. TuomasS
    Feb 9, 2007
    1
    Overly contrived and predictable, it lacks the artistic credibilty and merit that makes an album interesting. I do not want to sound cliched, but Nickelback tends to form the epitome of a mass-produced, corporate act, sounding bland and strained, not giving a listener anything to walk away with. I hate to stoop this low, but Pearl Jam was good 12 years ago and still fine now, why listen Overly contrived and predictable, it lacks the artistic credibilty and merit that makes an album interesting. I do not want to sound cliched, but Nickelback tends to form the epitome of a mass-produced, corporate act, sounding bland and strained, not giving a listener anything to walk away with. I hate to stoop this low, but Pearl Jam was good 12 years ago and still fine now, why listen to a copy that falls short? Expand
  41. MMars
    Mar 1, 2007
    2
    I give this a number 2 becasue their music sounds like "number 2". This is the same boring god-awful, manufactured, contrived, and overly produced crap I always hear on the radio. Why is this band labled "alternative"? An alternative to what? It sounds like every other "corporate rock" crap that is played on the radio. The lead singer sings like he's taking a dump and all the songs I give this a number 2 becasue their music sounds like "number 2". This is the same boring god-awful, manufactured, contrived, and overly produced crap I always hear on the radio. Why is this band labled "alternative"? An alternative to what? It sounds like every other "corporate rock" crap that is played on the radio. The lead singer sings like he's taking a dump and all the songs sound the same. This band is lacking in originality and creativity. There are so many other great artists on smaller independent lables ... It's a pitty they don't get the airplay they deserve. Anyway, I just wonder how much money these huge record companies are paying these radio stations to play their shit. Expand
  42. KerryH
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    Loving everything Nickelback!
  43. John
    Mar 9, 2007
    0
    Do I really need to comment about this trash?
  44. ChrisM
    Apr 30, 2007
    0
    Nickleback is terrible
  45. SconfSconf
    May 19, 2007
    0
    No one good song on this O_O
  46. DanielB.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    idk y ppl think this album sucks kus it rocks best one so far and nickelbacks albums all rock
  47. st
    Jul 8, 2007
    0
    I actually haven't heard this album, but I had to bring down the overall score after having listened to this: http://www.thewebshite.net/nickelback.htm . I feel bad for all their poor fans that are deluded by their rewriting songs over and over.
  48. j
    Aug 6, 2007
    0
    Can I go lower, no. But my rating is to high
  49. JoeyB
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    you know i HATE how people hate bands becuse of how good they are! to me most people are just jealous...it pisses me off like Eric C. here...i bet your one of those type of people that DOESNT LIKE nickelback becuase of how good they are or how much success they have...nickelback has sold almost 30 million albums and u have so much respect for them that u say they suck....well obvious they you know i HATE how people hate bands becuse of how good they are! to me most people are just jealous...it pisses me off like Eric C. here...i bet your one of those type of people that DOESNT LIKE nickelback becuase of how good they are or how much success they have...nickelback has sold almost 30 million albums and u have so much respect for them that u say they suck....well obvious they dont suck lf they have sold that many albums and people all over the world has bought there albums....i dunno if anyone seen the clip where greendays lead singer made fun of chad krogers voice....well maybe if the guys from green day actually went through puberty and use more than 2 power cords in there songs they would be able put something with talent together.....everyone said the same thing about creed....they sold over 30 million albums in less then 10 years and STILL alot of people said they didnt like them...so its either everyones lying or they just hate them and jealous over them because of there success ...nickelback is clearly one of the best rock bands out there today...it puts all of the emo shit and lame ass punk shit to shame...which is all u see and hear on TV and radio today...grunge and alternative rock is the best stuff out there and the only stuff that has any large amounts of talent such as nickelback. this is an amazing band folks and nickelback keep on rockin! Expand
  50. JH.
    Sep 7, 2007
    0
    I absolutely adore the fact that the best thing that can be said about this band is either pointless (chad sounds great), narcissisistic (Some people probably just judge them on the 2 songs that sound similar. Of course they do. Chad probably got the inspiration from listening to that song.), or bisteringly irrellevant (They Rock so hard!). However, one comment couldn't be more I absolutely adore the fact that the best thing that can be said about this band is either pointless (chad sounds great), narcissisistic (Some people probably just judge them on the 2 songs that sound similar. Of course they do. Chad probably got the inspiration from listening to that song.), or bisteringly irrellevant (They Rock so hard!). However, one comment couldn't be more right, " Nickelback prodecude the goods once more." I indeed felt like my goods were prodecuded by Nickelback, and to be honest, I felt violated. Expand
  51. MiguelM
    Jan 10, 2008
    0
    iis josh c delirious ? are you saying this piece of crap album is better than all the rock albums released after 1987 ? so your saying that this "album" is better than nirvanas never mind or Green days dookie or all pearl jam or the chili peppers ? well pal you must be smoking something cos that statement is so laughable. i got this cd from a relative for Christmas , shed forgotten to iis josh c delirious ? are you saying this piece of crap album is better than all the rock albums released after 1987 ? so your saying that this "album" is better than nirvanas never mind or Green days dookie or all pearl jam or the chili peppers ? well pal you must be smoking something cos that statement is so laughable. i got this cd from a relative for Christmas , shed forgotten to remove the "get this cd for ten dollars" sticker on it, this band is horrible they are simply just unimaginative and un inspiring they're as bland as a piece of white bread. i cant believe your having a go at arcade fire , their music is different and if different music confuses you and the four other nickelback fans well obviously nickelback fans are imbeciles. death cab for cutie is a brilliant outfit they're music speaaks its smart its well written structured and produced the songs are never bland they are brilliant without a reason. no everyone should not buy this album everyone should forget nickelback exists. Expand
  52. finul.
    Dec 20, 2008
    3
    Generic arena-rock ("Animals," "Follow You Home") with the occasional decent but unexceptional ballad ("If Everyone Cared"). Pick up a couple Pearl Jam or Nirvana records instead.
  53. SeanyM.
    Jan 4, 2008
    7
    I seriously don't get all the hate towards this band. Ok, they're all douches. But that has nothing to do with the music, and i personally love this album. There are a few weak tracks (mainly the slower ones - Savin' Me, Far Away, and maybe Photograph and Rockstar for being so damn cliche) but other than them, this album is great. Follow You Home is awesome, Animals is pure I seriously don't get all the hate towards this band. Ok, they're all douches. But that has nothing to do with the music, and i personally love this album. There are a few weak tracks (mainly the slower ones - Savin' Me, Far Away, and maybe Photograph and Rockstar for being so damn cliche) but other than them, this album is great. Follow You Home is awesome, Animals is pure rocking, Next Contestant is menacing and Someone That You're With is just a great rock tune. Most people just hate Nickelback because it's cool to hate them these days. Way to jump on the bandwagon everybody. Expand
  54. JakobL.
    Feb 4, 2008
    4
    Bah. In response to some people here. Just because a band has sold a lot, doesn't mean they're good does it?? Avril Lavigne has sold more of her second album than this, but would you say she was better? I doubt it. The whole thing is just a hard rock cliche, the same formula re-used over and over again , and i guarantee you their next album will be the same. I have given it 4 Bah. In response to some people here. Just because a band has sold a lot, doesn't mean they're good does it?? Avril Lavigne has sold more of her second album than this, but would you say she was better? I doubt it. The whole thing is just a hard rock cliche, the same formula re-used over and over again , and i guarantee you their next album will be the same. I have given it 4 because it's not the worst album i have ever heard by a long shot. Being cliched and boring is better than being tortured by something by, say, Coldplay. If you want true, uplifting music to be inspired by, listen to Radiohead, the Beatles, etc. THAT is rock music. Expand
  55. RyanJ.
    May 11, 2008
    2
    Nickelback is just what's wrong with popular rock...or popular music in general. For them and their peers, it's all about sounding big and tough. Heavy guitars, gravelly vocals x10. But it's all the same stylistic nonsense that bands have been doing since Nirvana split. Equally dismal is the fact that their teenage fans can do nothing to defend them except hurl curses and Nickelback is just what's wrong with popular rock...or popular music in general. For them and their peers, it's all about sounding big and tough. Heavy guitars, gravelly vocals x10. But it's all the same stylistic nonsense that bands have been doing since Nirvana split. Equally dismal is the fact that their teenage fans can do nothing to defend them except hurl curses and death threats at negative reviewers. I used to be that young, and I used to think that that "jock-rock" would make me cool if I listened to it. Then I got older, and I realized it was all calculated major-label radio trash. You kids should get back to us in 10 years. Expand
  56. DaleK.
    Jun 17, 2008
    0
    Only half decent song is "Animals. Too bad there aren't only 10 songs on this album, because if there were, it could get a dismal 1/10. But since there are 11, it still gets a 0. I'm embarrassed that the bum of a lead singer lives in my town. They suck, and always will. This isn't because I don't like them. It's because they suck. I'm also glad that 15 yr Only half decent song is "Animals. Too bad there aren't only 10 songs on this album, because if there were, it could get a dismal 1/10. But since there are 11, it still gets a 0. I'm embarrassed that the bum of a lead singer lives in my town. They suck, and always will. This isn't because I don't like them. It's because they suck. I'm also glad that 15 yr olds don't pick what's on the radio. From the mouth of Claudio Snchez of Coheed and Cambria, "Listen to Maiden." Expand
  57. SuleimanM.
    Jan 4, 2009
    8
    A 41 eh? I guess we should keep giving albums like the Carter III an 82, because that's talent right? Pathetic. Great Album.
  58. AntonF
    Mar 12, 2009
    9
    This is a great album. The songs Nickelback write are amazingly catchy, powerful and well arranged/produced. And try to find a modern rock band that sounds better than Nickelback does live. The songs are just as tight and heavy as they are on the albums. The vocals are pretty much perfect. They sound just like on the album, only more powerful and energetic. Nickelback really knows how to This is a great album. The songs Nickelback write are amazingly catchy, powerful and well arranged/produced. And try to find a modern rock band that sounds better than Nickelback does live. The songs are just as tight and heavy as they are on the albums. The vocals are pretty much perfect. They sound just like on the album, only more powerful and energetic. Nickelback really knows how to write songs that please their fans AND theirselves. They love their own music just as much as the fans. Amazing muscicians. Amazing songwriting. Sure, the lyrics are pretty much crap, but they are definitely not serious. Actually, they're pretty funny. To me, anyway. Anyway, the music is what counts when it comes to Nickelback. You don't have to love, or even like their music. You just have to know, they are truly talented. I am a successful muscician myself, and I really mean this. Take care /anton. Expand
  59. BrittanyD
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    To all of the haters: They "sound like creed", "they're nothing like def leppard", or my favorite "sound the exact same" are some of your petty remarks. All I have to do is smile and think when you're in the car and you hear "rockstar" for the millionth time on the radio because so many people have requested it that you can't help but sing those lyrics-don't deny it. To all of the haters: They "sound like creed", "they're nothing like def leppard", or my favorite "sound the exact same" are some of your petty remarks. All I have to do is smile and think when you're in the car and you hear "rockstar" for the millionth time on the radio because so many people have requested it that you can't help but sing those lyrics-don't deny it. So please, try to comment harshly on Nickelback, because I'm sure your album hasn't sold as many as theirs. Expand
  60. TreyN
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Another entourage of haters dissing a mainstream artist. I mean really, this album heralded hit after hit, and the only reason people dis it is because they are trying to find existentialism in their last doobie and Bob Dylan record that you have to be high to enjoy!!! Now granted, it is a tad poppy, but it has good tracks on it, but for some people, if it is not a band with hardcore Another entourage of haters dissing a mainstream artist. I mean really, this album heralded hit after hit, and the only reason people dis it is because they are trying to find existentialism in their last doobie and Bob Dylan record that you have to be high to enjoy!!! Now granted, it is a tad poppy, but it has good tracks on it, but for some people, if it is not a band with hardcore metal guitars and a pitbul barking as the vocalist, it is not meaningful music. It amazes me that people listen to this album and really went out of their way to trash it! I bet they all secretly hum tunes from it when they are alone and don't have any friends there to point and laugh at them. If people could truly become individuals and appreciate things for what they are, rather than hate anything the radio plays and praise artists that do not get any radio play. Expand
  61. DanielB
    Nov 1, 2005
    1
    God these guys are horrible. Trite lyrics stacked on stilted hooks backed by an image that is such a facade that just hearing their name makes my brain vomit.
  62. dan
    Nov 18, 2005
    0
    this is not music its something you find at the bottom of youre toilet
  63. Toxic
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    Yes..........Canada.........your indie music scene has taken you out of "music hell", but I'll never be able to forgive you for this pitiful band. People that support Nickelback have the worst taste in music and have absolutely zero intelligence. Plain and simple.
  64. NatP
    Nov 20, 2005
    7
    This album isn't the best nickelback album...but I just can't get enough of "Far Away". I love that song! He just sounds so vulnerable in that song and it shows the vocals that Chad Kroeger is capable of.
  65. GavinH
    Nov 23, 2005
    7
    I accept Nickelback for what they are, and once you do that you can allow yourself this guilty pleasure. There are some great straight ahead rock tunes on the album, and Chad Kroger never said he wanted to re-invent the wheel. Want some kick-ass rock? Pick up the album, if you want something more "meaningful"....listen to "OK Computer"
  66. MarieF
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    Can I give it higher than 10? I love it, but then, I like kick-ass rock! I think each album is better & better! I'm always looking forward to the next CD! I can't believe the negative comments made on this site. Guess they don't hear what I do. Keep making music NIckelback because there are plenty of fans like me!!!!!
  67. EmilioS
    Nov 26, 2005
    0
    If you like this album, you're either hopeless or ignorant. For the hopeless, just go on with your worthless lives and bask in the glory that is Nickelback. For the ignorant, you really need to help yourself, for the sake of dignity at least. If this horrible music taps some kind of emotion for you, I guarantee you that there are dozens of other bands who could satisfy that emotion If you like this album, you're either hopeless or ignorant. For the hopeless, just go on with your worthless lives and bask in the glory that is Nickelback. For the ignorant, you really need to help yourself, for the sake of dignity at least. If this horrible music taps some kind of emotion for you, I guarantee you that there are dozens of other bands who could satisfy that emotion ten times more. So please, please seek out that better music, not just for you, but for your children, and your children's children. We can't continue giving our money to Freddy Kruger and all those other criminals who try to ruin music. Expand
  68. GlennM
    Nov 20, 2005
    0
    My pick for the biggest embarrasment to our generation. I dont want to take credit for these dumbasses, this is the worst music I have ever heard out of grown men.
  69. AlleleK
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    To those who would "sh*t sandwich"-review Chad and Co.'s latest effort, I say pox on y'all. I place a pox as well on anyone who would vote Chad the fugliest frontman. I SO do not get that. No, really; you're dingleberries, the lot of you. I upapologetically love this CD and am going on my thousandth listen. You hateraters are just plain ickypoopie! And, no; I do not listen To those who would "sh*t sandwich"-review Chad and Co.'s latest effort, I say pox on y'all. I place a pox as well on anyone who would vote Chad the fugliest frontman. I SO do not get that. No, really; you're dingleberries, the lot of you. I upapologetically love this CD and am going on my thousandth listen. You hateraters are just plain ickypoopie! And, no; I do not listen to "kwap" tuneage. I just saw James Blunt in San Diego. Nevermind the naysayazz: Nickelback is laughing all the way to the dime bank. Please come back and rock Allentown again soon, Nickelbackers! Expand
  70. MahaliaT.
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    Unoriginal and boring.
  71. Mack
    Nov 4, 2005
    0
    Why must albums like this exist? More importantly, how can anyone listen to this and think, "Wow, that's an incredibly creative, unique, and talented band!"? This is talentless fluff rock created with the sole intent of FM radio play to the vapid hoi poloi that is 99.9% of radio listeners.
  72. SeanM
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    This album rocks, it combines the Beatles pop sensiblity with a touch of the raw power of Westenberg's Replacements. Although some tracks were a tad on the slow side, this album for the most part rocks hard and without forgiveness. I was kind of disappointed that it took Nickelback so long to release this, "Middle of the Road" is getting tired of being in the CD player.
  73. heroh
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    Greast ablum great songs
  74. OnCrack
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    You guys are all crazy, this rivals Led Zeppelin's Physical Graffiti, anything less than a 10 is illegal in my opinion.
  75. EllS
    Dec 17, 2005
    0
    I havent even listened to it and i will never. I just hate Nickelback and i always will. They are the worst band ever. THe world would be a better place without their stupid bullshite songs. I hate them.
  76. MorganK
    Dec 22, 2005
    0
    Truly the wosrt album of 2005, which was overall a pretty great year for new music. 'Photograph' sounds like it was written by a 14 year-old (one couplet rhymes 'up' with 'up', followed by 'out' with 'out') and the bland, irrelevance of a post-post-post-post-Pearl Jam makes it just intolerable. It's one of the few albums on Metacritic Truly the wosrt album of 2005, which was overall a pretty great year for new music. 'Photograph' sounds like it was written by a 14 year-old (one couplet rhymes 'up' with 'up', followed by 'out' with 'out') and the bland, irrelevance of a post-post-post-post-Pearl Jam makes it just intolerable. It's one of the few albums on Metacritic that truly deserves a 0 - every one of you giving it a 10 now will be trading it in at the used CD store in 3 years thinking to yourself 'I used to really like this album, but I just don't listen to it anymore' - and that will be because it's shallow, meaningless, pablum. Expand
  77. dimefront
    Oct 24, 2005
    0
    yikes
  78. wander
    Oct 24, 2005
    0
    ...come back, new kids on the block, everything is forgiven and forgotten!
  79. AlanR
    Oct 26, 2005
    0
    On behalf of all Canadians, I'm really sorry.
  80. BostonCanuck
    Oct 26, 2005
    5
    Eh, I mean if you except them for what they are, this is not bad. I mean it is the same song/formula but at least it still rocks. Was anyone really expecting "Dark Side of The Moon"?
  81. danielp
    Oct 26, 2005
    8
    I feel the need to come out in support of this album...i think peopel are looking for the answer to the worlds problems on CD, when really music should be about havin' a darn good time. This album has maximum attitude and will get under your skin within one listen.
  82. Mahogomy
    Oct 26, 2005
    0
    lame. so very very lame
  83. SeanC
    Dec 6, 2005
    0
    Can I give less than 0? I guess not....one of the great mysteries of life is the fact that there are people out there that consume this garbage and fuel the relentless egotism that is Nickleback
  84. DanH
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    all around great
  85. JoeBob
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    clearly the people that gave this a album a zero dont know anything about music and must not have listened to this record, it was the best thing iv herd from nickleback so far and one of the best albums all year.
  86. Cables
    Oct 29, 2005
    0
    Are these people serious about the album of the year comments? This must be the only album they've listened to this year. Someone please stop Nickelback from making another record before it's too late!
  87. BobT
    Oct 29, 2005
    9
    Never been much of a fan of this band - I hate screamers - but after watching Much Music's Nickelback: Coast to Coast, I thought I would give them a listen - and I've found the CD quite enjoyable. Critics criticize while the rest of us enjoy.
  88. YourA.
    Oct 30, 2005
    0
    This album was so amazing! This is going to be album of the year without a doubt, there is no one even going to come close to making an album as good as this! Sufjan Stevens? Pssh, let's hear it for Nickelback!
  89. karlh
    Jan 14, 2006
    0
    nickleback are shit. grunge is shit, this record (yes you've guesed it) is..........SHIT
  90. Jimbo
    Dec 19, 2006
    0
    Cliched, commercial rock music. They set out to be grunge, but they miss what grunge was about; fucking the mainstream. The songs all sound the same and these guys have less talent than three oysters and a tuba.
  91. josak
    Dec 1, 2006
    0
    One of the most annoying, shitty bands I've ever heard. I just wish I could reach through my TV screen/radio and plant my foot in their faces.
  92. ClaireH
    Jan 22, 2006
    9
    I absolutely loved this album, especially "Savin' me" and "Rockstar". it's brilliant!
  93. FunkyMonkey22
    Jan 25, 2006
    9
    This song is awesome!!! The message behind it is so true and everyone can relate. If you listen to this song once, it will be stuck in your head for days.
  94. AndrewL
    Oct 27, 2006
    0
    This album was about as enjoyable as having a rectal examination, Chads singing was the equivalent to a rectal examination, the guitar riffs and drum beats sounded like a guy having a rectal examination
  95. CraigD
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    This album is one of the best to come out in 2005 and just because Chad can right some great songs like Savin' me and Rockstar all you other supposed rock lovers are jelous. His songs have a better meanings than any other atrist I know and anything he writes he means and it shows his talents by the fact he can pen down his life in songs and sing them with great effects
  96. SimonV
    Jan 3, 2006
    0
    nick does not seem to understand that kurt cobain, as genious as he was himself, popularized the "Grunge" movement, which is a genre the same way ''NoLita" is a neigborhood, only to the extent of selling propery/albums. grunge, most importantly nirvana, inspired a bunch of ugly fat guys with shaven heads, beer bellies and tight shirts to create "HARD RAWK", a sonic sin that will nick does not seem to understand that kurt cobain, as genious as he was himself, popularized the "Grunge" movement, which is a genre the same way ''NoLita" is a neigborhood, only to the extent of selling propery/albums. grunge, most importantly nirvana, inspired a bunch of ugly fat guys with shaven heads, beer bellies and tight shirts to create "HARD RAWK", a sonic sin that will never be forgiven. and its all cobains fault. oh, and nickelback is boring. Expand
  97. AnthonyV
    Jan 30, 2006
    5
    If this were an emo album, the critics would have given this album five stars. It's every bit as pop as Jimmy Eat World or Fall Our Plan or Get Up Theory or Juliana Plan or yes I know what their real names are thank you, and ten years after EMO dies too, they'll all be right there in the bargain bin with Nickelback and the other "grunnnge!" bands. Let's quit kidding If this were an emo album, the critics would have given this album five stars. It's every bit as pop as Jimmy Eat World or Fall Our Plan or Get Up Theory or Juliana Plan or yes I know what their real names are thank you, and ten years after EMO dies too, they'll all be right there in the bargain bin with Nickelback and the other "grunnnge!" bands. Let's quit kidding ourselves, people. Nickelback is POP. Middle of the road pop. So are all the emo bands I mentioned. The only thing separating this from the current flavor of the week is that Nickelback sings their songs instead of WHINING THEM. Other than that, same chords, same structure, same instruments, same everything. The band members just don't look as good wearing thick glasses and black hair. Expand
  98. HoobyDooby
    Jan 6, 2006
    0
    To Dawn W who said: "The best rock I've heard in over 20 years", I must ask: what in the hell was stuck in your ears for the past 20 years? This is a horrible CD from a soulless pop band. Don't buy. Don't listen. Just walk away.
  99. Chad
    Feb 14, 2006
    10
    Nickelback what can you say the song Far Away is awesome and the Photograph was just perfect to start off promoting the album. The only thing I didn't like is when they were promoting it on the plane flight from east coast to west coast they didn't play much from the new album and that Seemed wieird but they still are the best. and I also loved rockstar song it's a tag off Nickelback what can you say the song Far Away is awesome and the Photograph was just perfect to start off promoting the album. The only thing I didn't like is when they were promoting it on the plane flight from east coast to west coast they didn't play much from the new album and that Seemed wieird but they still are the best. and I also loved rockstar song it's a tag off from see you at the show but still was a bit funny. Expand
  100. ChrisP
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    The only reason some people dont like this kind of music is cause its not gay and emo enough for them..its cool shit and is making Nickelback a lot of money so they must be doing something right
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Despite all their newly developed relative nuances, Nickelback remain unchanged: they're still unspeakably awful.
  2. Billboard
    80
    Less polish and more attitude are welcome changes that fire up the rock numbers and give them more snap. [8 Oct 2005]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    They're exploring a richer, more diverse sound. [28 Oct 2005, p.84]