All Things Bright and Beautiful

  • Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Jun 14, 2011
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 57
  2. Negative: 17 out of 57
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    What a shame for an album that innovating and refreshing to have a score of only 5.2!
    As said before, Young's Owl City is dividing listeners into haters and lovers and, despite some apprehension, I have to admit that I belong to those who are enchanted by his music.
    This album really shows the musical maturity of this project: Young tries new things and each song carries a completely
    What a shame for an album that innovating and refreshing to have a score of only 5.2!
    As said before, Young's Owl City is dividing listeners into haters and lovers and, despite some apprehension, I have to admit that I belong to those who are enchanted by his music.
    This album really shows the musical maturity of this project: Young tries new things and each song carries a completely different universe of its own.
    Just take a minute to listen to Alligator Sky, Galaxies, Kamikaze or Angels and you'll be convinced that Young has more potential that what a lot of haters think.
    Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    As other reviewers have said, this album's gonna be very strongly divided between fans and haters. Adam Young's dreamy synthpop isn't going to win over anybody who doesn't like to drift off into someone else's imagination, as the complex often hard-to-decipher lyrics are chock-full of metaphors and stimulating visual imagery. However, that's what separates Young from the rest ofAs other reviewers have said, this album's gonna be very strongly divided between fans and haters. Adam Young's dreamy synthpop isn't going to win over anybody who doesn't like to drift off into someone else's imagination, as the complex often hard-to-decipher lyrics are chock-full of metaphors and stimulating visual imagery. However, that's what separates Young from the rest of musicians, and that along with his beautiful melodies is what keeps those who are willing to listen with an open mind so enthralled. This is Owl City's best album yet. Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2015
    10
    It's gorgeous, catchy and feels like it was really written from the heart. Each individual song doesn't just feel like a cookie cutter electronic pop song, but instead possesses a personal loving touch, which effectively delivers the messages straight to the heart.
  4. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    This album isn't for everyone since most people are into dub-step I think this album would be too cheerful for people. I honestly love this album; all the songs on it are catchy and original I know his metaphorical lyrics come off as rather cheesy and flowery but I honestly find it interesting and unique. I don't know what you other reviewers meant by "too much production". If the albumThis album isn't for everyone since most people are into dub-step I think this album would be too cheerful for people. I honestly love this album; all the songs on it are catchy and original I know his metaphorical lyrics come off as rather cheesy and flowery but I honestly find it interesting and unique. I don't know what you other reviewers meant by "too much production". If the album had less production, people would complain that the album is "absent of instrumentation". There's no pleasing anyone, is there? Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Young takes a brave departure from his serenading Ocean Eyes release with All things bright and beautiful, he is trying new sounds throughout the entirety of the album, especially evident and Kamikaze, Angels, and Alligator Sky. This is a must-hear for anyone who is a fan of Adam Young's previous work or anyone who likes up-beat pop sounds.
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Another uplifting piece of music from a very musically gifted young man. Makes me smile every time I listen to him. I like how he's branching out from within his sound for a song like Alligator Sky.
  7. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing album. The album has a ton of depth and each song is beautiful in its own way. Highlights include: "The Real World", "Angles", "Dreams Don't Turn To Dust", "Kamikaze", "Galaxies", and "The Yacht Club"! Way to go Adam! :D
  8. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Every song is really really good! Even better than owl citys last album! The best songs are the real world and Deer in the headlights, but all the songs are good too.
  9. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    It's very unique, it takes you on a literal adventure. Some people just have no imagination. Don't close your mind off to only one type of music genera, because this is a spectacular album that if you have an imagination is very fun. The music is very catchy, and Owl City always has something unique, it's not a disappointment, far from.
  10. Jul 10, 2011
    7
    A very beautiful, upbeat album. But it lacks what an album should be, it really just seems like a compact disc with a couple fun tracks on it. As much as I love Owl City, I have to say, this was a bit disappointing, but it's still going on my iPod!
  11. Jun 21, 2011
    7
    Great Album... with errors, but is intersting. Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee, Coffee
  12. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    I think this album is evolution the ocean eyes because have more rhythm and more good vibrations. I have very delighted with the Alligator sky, Deer In The Headlights, Angels, The Yacht club and finally honey and bee. I think this album is a good gift for everybody particularly for offer the girlfriend and for make serenade for her with one music (honey and bee).
  13. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    I'm willing to gamble that most people outside of the fandom of Owl City won't be won over by this seemingly more-of-the-same album. However, those who are open minded enough to journey though Adam Young's imagination can sense the evolution of this unique genre and may be able to appreciate the value and meaning instilled in the lyrics more than others. On a personal level, All ThingsI'm willing to gamble that most people outside of the fandom of Owl City won't be won over by this seemingly more-of-the-same album. However, those who are open minded enough to journey though Adam Young's imagination can sense the evolution of this unique genre and may be able to appreciate the value and meaning instilled in the lyrics more than others. On a personal level, All Things Bright and Beautiful easily places itself as my favorite album of the year because Adam Young manages to do a few things that most mainstream artists can't even comprehend. Beneath the whimsical, well composed, out-of-this-world techno and beyond the brilliant ability to express thoughts and feelings in such an imaginative manner is a constant barrage and central theme of positivity in respect to life, faith and love...all things bright and beautiful. In my opinion, with Adam Young's amazing sense of poetry, no one else could lyrically portray such things any better. Expand
  14. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The reason why the overall rating is around the 5 mark is purely because Owl City its very much like Marmite as they say; those who love him really love him, but those who don't despise him. I happen to be on the positive side and, although I can understand where others are coming from, I think that All Things Bright and Beautiful is a triumph. In general, the diversity in this album strikes me. Considering how many people saw "Ocean Eyes" as "samey", the difference between the sad but optimistic ballad of "Hospital Flowers" and the rocky and incredibly powerful song of confusion that is "Angels", is huge. These songs along with the more pop-orientated "Alligator Sky" mark a new departure for Adam. Other highlights include the clever link between "January 28th 1986" and "Galaxies" where one song merges into the other, the comical search for love in "Deer in the Headlights", the power of "The Yacht Club" and the emotive lyrics of "Plant Life" that really do conjure a beautiful forest scene; "If I were to pluck on your heart strings/ would you strum on mine?" gives me shivers every time!

    In conclusion, All Things Bright and Beautiful isn't going to change the mind of avid haters, but for those who love Adam Young's work, buy it straight away because, as one of these fans, this album is easily one of my favourite pieces of music I've ever listened to. If you've never had an Owl City album before, I implore you to try All Things Bright and Beautiful because you may just absolutely adore it.
    Expand
  15. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    Absolutely outstanding album :)

    The energy just drips from it and it feels like a much brighter and more lively album than Ocean Eyes. I adore it, and have no idea why it's getting such mixed reviews, other than possibly it's sound being potentially "love it or hate it". Some melodies sometimes feel like they are used more than once, sometimes across albums and sometimes only across
    Absolutely outstanding album :)

    The energy just drips from it and it feels like a much brighter and more lively album than Ocean Eyes.

    I adore it, and have no idea why it's getting such mixed reviews, other than possibly it's sound being potentially "love it or hate it".

    Some melodies sometimes feel like they are used more than once, sometimes across albums and sometimes only across songs, but it's rare and is a very mild flaw, if it is one at all. The tracks have character and yet predictable quality and the same beautiful, awe-inspiring sound.

    I am genuinely very confused by the negative reviews, as I would not be exaggerating if I described it as potentially one of my favourite albums of all time :)
    Expand
  16. Aug 14, 2011
    8
    I absolutely adore this album. I listen to it from my DS when I'm not at my computer and have done so many times already. My favorite songs would have to be "Honey and the Bee" and "Plant Life". I feel like Adam is really trying to get out of his comfort zone with the album, and he's doing it well. "Honey and the Bee" definitely replaces "The **** Room" as my favorite song by them. MyI absolutely adore this album. I listen to it from my DS when I'm not at my computer and have done so many times already. My favorite songs would have to be "Honey and the Bee" and "Plant Life". I feel like Adam is really trying to get out of his comfort zone with the album, and he's doing it well. "Honey and the Bee" definitely replaces "The **** Room" as my favorite song by them. My least favorite songs on the album would have to be "Shy Violet" and "Deer in the Headlight", the prior because it just doesn't feel quite right, and the latter because it is just a bit too slow. The version of "Alligator Sky" with Shawn Chrystopher is good, but I think I prefer it by itself when just having it play in the background rather than actively listening, which can be a problem because the song doesn't feel quite "finished" without Shawn. All in all, I give it an 8/10, because of the few things I didn't like, along with the fact that you always need to leave room for growth. Expand
  17. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Owl City, has his own voice and music, "grown-up" and made the songs, "The Real World, Deer in the Headlights, and Plant Life" more memorable. I also love the dance-beat of some songs like "The Yacht Club and Galaxies"
  18. Jun 1, 2016
    9
    When i tell people how much i love this album they often reply with a questioning face. But i do, i really think, this is a fcking great album. You have to be alright with the dreamy aesthetic and the insanely sugary vocals to begin with. But i totally am and i just love how this album just pulls me in every time i listen to it. Its extremely consistent, there is not a single song thatWhen i tell people how much i love this album they often reply with a questioning face. But i do, i really think, this is a fcking great album. You have to be alright with the dreamy aesthetic and the insanely sugary vocals to begin with. But i totally am and i just love how this album just pulls me in every time i listen to it. Its extremely consistent, there is not a single song that falls out, he does not experiment with anything and just sticks to his sound. And while the lyrics are just really onedimensional in terms of sound, they carry very nice similes and metaphorism. I cant say much about this album, i just really love it. And i think its sad that it has such a low rating on this website, but the gap between haters and lovers is really high, i get that. Expand
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    73
    The dozen tracks of effervescent, shimmering, faith-based synth pop blend Young's adenoidal, Warped tour-ready vocals with a decidedly '80s new wave flavor.
  2. Q Magazine
    Jun 20, 2011
    60
    Despite it's title and Young's Ben Folds-esque vocals, All Things Bright and Beautiful keeps its beliefs at a distance for the most part. [July 2011, p. 117]
  3. 20
    Soppy nostalgia that bares little else.