AM

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Sep 10, 2013
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 542 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 542
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This is the best album you will listen to all year long. An absolute masterpiece from the Monkeys. They never fail to amaze with each album, constantly delivering pieces of pure genius but even for Alex Turner this propels him to an ever greater legendary status. 'AM' seems to have gained the Monkeys universal acclaim and got them the recognition and success they fully merit! It's easilyThis is the best album you will listen to all year long. An absolute masterpiece from the Monkeys. They never fail to amaze with each album, constantly delivering pieces of pure genius but even for Alex Turner this propels him to an ever greater legendary status. 'AM' seems to have gained the Monkeys universal acclaim and got them the recognition and success they fully merit! It's easily the most accessible of all their albums with such a range of and variety of emotions on show. Lead track 'Do I Wanna Know' kicks 'AM' off is fabulous fashion. It immediately draws you in and will have you playing it over and over again on repeat (Till you fall asleep?) and instant hit for sure. But from there they burst into an already cult classic for fans 'R U Mine?' It's a proper tune. And will have you rising to your feet and just chanting along. 'One For The Road' then takes you in a different direction, it's an unusual track from Arctic Monkeys. At it's roots seem an R&B rhythm mixed with 'Humbug' elements making for a splendid song. 'Arabella' is lyrically majestic! From interstellargator skinboots to helter skelters.. It's just an abundance of talent poured into one amazing tune which ends up erupting into rock guitar and banging drums. Track number 5, 'I Want It All' despite not being on pat with the majority of other songs on the album it's smart lyrics and delivery makes it enjoyable. Next, 'No.1 Party Anthem' which is in deep contrast as to what you'd expect from the name of the song. It's much more gentle and laid back and eases you into 'Mad Sounds,' A beautiful, slow, ballad-like, easy on the ears and catchy. 'Fireside' which features Bill Ryder-Jones rediscovers a rockier edge detailing Turner's doomed past encounters with a loved one. The second single, 'Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High' is another fantastic track. Nick O'Malley kills it on bass guitar with an addictive sound and punchy chorus. 'Snap Out Of It' is another standout track. This one is very catchy and instantly noticeable! From it's upbeat intro to relentless chorus. Sure to be a favourite on tour. Arctic Monkeys always have a tendancy to end things in an excellent manner and AM is no different. 'I Wanna Be Yours' is a seductive and stunning song originally by poet John Cooper Clarke but performed masterfully my the Monkeys gushing out some wonderful lyrics.

    'AM' is a career defining album from the best band around at the moment. It cements their legacy and ensures that they are unquestionably Britains greatest exports to date. They continue to improve and innovate producing some tremendous tunes and amazing albums. Alex Turner himself is a complete genius. Lyrically this is his finest hour! It is sublime songwriting of the highest degree. Simply the best lyricist of modern times and that's not an understatement. A masterpiece in it's entirety! Believe the hype!!
    Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    These guys really are Alex Turner put to is simply one of the best albums of the decade and for me there was no better release that ''AM'' in 2013. Arctic Monkeys since its debut, when they were still young and had the appearance of a garage band, only been evolving positively, this album now, until we see influences from genres of black music built, worth listening every minute of thisThese guys really are Alex Turner put to is simply one of the best albums of the decade and for me there was no better release that ''AM'' in 2013. Arctic Monkeys since its debut, when they were still young and had the appearance of a garage band, only been evolving positively, this album now, until we see influences from genres of black music built, worth listening every minute of this album. Recommend! Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    This album showcases a very mature vibe its an instant classic its addicting well crafted ,has great lyrics and has the potential to be the best album of the decade Great Rock Record.
  4. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. A work with truthful and deep creativity, the band shows a wide reach that surprised me. They made an album that transforms itself in an unexpected but astonishing way. A great turn point for the band.
  5. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    This album completely blew me away. I had high expectations for this album since I heard the first single, but I never expected it to possible be their best album. This very well may be the album of the year.
  6. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    An amazing blend of rock, psychedelic rock, and alternative. AM stuns listeners with it's slow paced songs and the classic feel to it. It is without a question tracks like "Do I Wanna Know" and "R U Mine" help carry AM to becoming arguably one of the best rock albums in the least 20 years.
  7. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    Brilliant album, one of the coolest I've ever heard. My favourite song from the album is Arabella, one of the best songs I've heard in a long time. Some very catchy songs like Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High?, Snap Out Of It and I Want It All. Can't recommend this album enough.
  8. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    La evolución y madurez de la banda se hizo notoria en una obra maestra. Un álbum conceptual que te lleva sin aburrir desde el rock fuerte de R U Mine? hasta los rinconces melancólicos de I Wanna Be Yours o No. 1 Party Anthem. Genial uso de la voz y los falsetes, mejor uso del bajo. Puntos altísimos: Do I Wanna Know?, R U Mine?, No. 1 Party Anthem, Knee Socks.
  9. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    One of the best proper rock albums in a while. They managed to merge the sounds of the past two records into something magical. A serious contender for album of the year!
  10. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It seems to go without saying that Arctic Monkeys are one of the musical ‘greats’ in the making, and rightfully so. Their 5th studio album, “AM”, takes you on a voyage through the emotions, the push and pull of every day life, leaving you perfectly satisfied when looking back on where you’ve been. This is a band really at the top of their game, doing what they do best: producing fantastic music.

    “AM” is such a diverse album, full of creativity and experimentation, that really keeps you excited throughout. The opening combination of sister tracks “Do I Wanna Know?” and “R U Mine?” is pure genius, after the drowsy downbeat tempo of the first you simply cannot help rising to your feet and losing it a little to the sublime latter. Talk about a contrast in emotions! But the musical delight has only just begun, as we are introduced to an unfamiliar track in “One For The Road” which brings together a Dre-esque rhythm and “oooh-ooohs” borrowed from “Sympathy For The Devil” with echoes of “Humbug”.

    “Arabella’s got some interstellar gatorskin boots/ And a Helter Skelter ‘round her little finger and I ride it endlessly” Alex Turner croons in the opening seconds of “Arabella”, satisfying fans of his lyrical talent, before the track builds into an eruption of rock guitar and pounding drums. Contrast yet again intervenes as the ironically-named “No.1 Party Anthem”, which has “Submarine” written all over it, combines with the beautiful “Mad Sounds” to create a couple of tracks that recall Lou Reed & The Velvet Underground (Let’s not forget that the title “AM” is a sure imitation of the latter band’s “VU”). Slow paced, these “mad sounds in your ears” are romantic and extremely pleasant to listen to.

    After the central relaxation of the LP, the pace and energy build yet again around Matt Helders’ drums in “Fireside” and Nick O’Malley’s bass in “Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High?”. The next track, “Snap Out Of It” is a personal favourite amongst the unheard pieces on the album, namely because it is so damn catchy: before you know it you’ll be singing along to “I wanna grab both your shoulders and shake, baby, snap out of it” oh if only life were that simple.

    Arctic Monkeys have a knack for closing tracks. Think of “A Certain Romance”, “505”, “The Jewelers Hands” and “That’s Where You’re Wrong” over their last four LPs. “AM” is no exception to the rule; “I Wanna Be Yours” is a stunning tribute to one of Alex Turner’s most important influences in poet John Cooper Clarke. Turner’s interpretation certainly sounds nothing like the original performed by Clarke, but adds a dimension of eerie despair as backing vocals desperately repeat “I wanna be yours” before a decrescendo into silence marks the start of another few years of waiting until Arctic Monkeys’ next release.
    Expand
  11. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    Arctic Monkeys have been making albums for years, making music for more than a decade. Each album of theirs represents a different feel, all reflecting something distinctively English and bittersweet; even their more upbeat songs have something darker hidden subtly inside them.
    In recent years the boys have gone back to simple elegance; the cover art for Suck it And See was, well,
    Arctic Monkeys have been making albums for years, making music for more than a decade. Each album of theirs represents a different feel, all reflecting something distinctively English and bittersweet; even their more upbeat songs have something darker hidden subtly inside them.
    In recent years the boys have gone back to simple elegance; the cover art for Suck it And See was, well, unpopulated by anything more significant than a title, and last year’s single R U Mine? had nothing but the record on the jacket. The film clip, edited well to make it look like one constant shot, was put in black and white, and when Do I Wanna Know was released this year, the film clip was made almost entirely of simple cartoons in white on a black background, with the exception of some familiar random Arctic Monkeys-ness in Technicolour, like a fish and a car. When you look at it this way, the cover for AM is just another in a long line of craziness from the Sheffield natives.
    Every artist changes with the release of every new album, and these lads are no exception. But what is most surprising is how much they’ve matured with their music. Guitarist Jamie is married off, and drummer Matt is engaged to Black Treacle’s love interest, Breana McDow, while Alex Turner has transformed into a ’50s-villian with a slick quiff and a leather jacket. With this maturity comes a whole new sound, a whole new feel, a whole new Arctic Monkeys.
    AM is, very simply, very very different from Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not. Without any of their schoolboy charm, there’s less cheekiness and more sultry tones across all instruments. No song can be called ‘upbeat’ except maybe Firestarter; almost all of them are love songs.
    But with that said, there is something very special about this album. It’s that rare thing, a record that defies normal music adjectives like sweet or happy or eerie or sad. They’re still bittersweet, still lusty, but also lithe and suave and slinky and sexy and dark and intoxicating. If AM was a hairstyle, it would be messy. If AM was an item of clothing, it would be studded leather shorts. If AM were a photo, it’s of a girl with messy hair and studded leather shorts with her hands by her side, legs open, maybe mid-walk. No. 1 Party Anthem is the song playing in your head when you’re cleaning up the mess after a bash at your place the night before, or walking home after seeing someone you want kissing someone else. I Wanna Be Yours needs to be playing in a sex scene in a movie, like, now. It’s the album that’ll make you remember moments in nightclubs and mornings-after, the album that’ll make you, just for a second, love the evil cruelty of love and sex. It’s the best record yet from Arctic Monkeys, and possibly the best record released this year. Standout track? Knee Socks.
    Expand
  12. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    In my opinion this is one of the best albums they have ever done, I love the hip-hop vibe you can tell were incorporated into their songs.. One of the best albums in a long while
  13. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This album is one of the most complete pieces of art I have ever heard. The band has clearly matured and taken their music to a new level, translating their signature youth rebellion spirit into something much deeper, transcendent, and ultimately collectively uplifting. Fireside is a hidden gem.
  14. Jan 3, 2015
    10
    In AM, the band has finally found a perfect balance between crude and suffered melodrama and high rocky moments to cheer up and tear down in equal (and strategic) positions. But what makes this album their best is the elegance, artistry and maturity in developing and expressing feelings, through complex and yet easy and catchy structures and simple melodies. This is not only a return toIn AM, the band has finally found a perfect balance between crude and suffered melodrama and high rocky moments to cheer up and tear down in equal (and strategic) positions. But what makes this album their best is the elegance, artistry and maturity in developing and expressing feelings, through complex and yet easy and catchy structures and simple melodies. This is not only a return to the old Monkeys; it's a consecration. Expand
  15. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Just amazing, one of the best 2013 albums, I have fallen in love with this band... definitely is a must. They deserved a grammy nomination, but probably this album is greater than a grammy award.
  16. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    This album leaves me speechless, which is itself big deal. I lack words for describing it. At least adequate ones. So I am left with stream of consciousness.

    Mind blowing. All possible synonyms of amazing. Crazy. Subtle. Lobotomic. Evasive. Oscuro. Old-soul. Coherent. Wit. Sparkle. Sarcastic. Love. Sex. Nevertheless love. Hard. Low. Sultry. Drunk. Sleepy. Scary. Depressive. Ecstatic.
    This album leaves me speechless, which is itself big deal. I lack words for describing it. At least adequate ones. So I am left with stream of consciousness.

    Mind blowing. All possible synonyms of amazing. Crazy. Subtle. Lobotomic. Evasive. Oscuro. Old-soul. Coherent. Wit. Sparkle. Sarcastic. Love. Sex. Nevertheless love. Hard. Low. Sultry. Drunk. Sleepy. Scary. Depressive. Ecstatic. Full of smoke. On fire. Insomnia. Exhilarated. Vodka with rocks. Masochistic. Kick in the gut.

    It's name is very well chosen. (When the zeros line up on the 24 hour clock Knee Socks) It feels exactly like coming home in 5 am. After one long, long sleepless night. Driving on a empty bus. When you are not jet completely sober, but all comes back to you. (The nights were mainly made for saying things that you can't say tomorrow day Do I Wanna Know?) And than even more. When you are exhausted from alcohol, but Sun rising doesn't allow you to sleep. That are our brightest moments. A-ha ones. When you realize that you still love that idiot, even though that leads you nowhere. When you realize that relationship you are in has date of expiry. (It's not like I'm falling in love I just want you to do me no good No.1 Party Anthem) When you realize he has moved on, and you haven't. When you realize that real relationship is not based on love itself or sex, rather that love and sex are based on something other. You just have to figure out what. This is an album that kept that quest essence of my generation.
    Expand
  17. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    I heard of Arctic Monkeys a few months ago by a couple of friends who love their music. I wasn’t really interested to listen to this album at that time but as my music taste have been expanded over the summer, I gained interest into listening to Arctic Monkeys. It’s no wonder why this album has won so many awards including the BRIT Award for Best British Album of the Year as well asI heard of Arctic Monkeys a few months ago by a couple of friends who love their music. I wasn’t really interested to listen to this album at that time but as my music taste have been expanded over the summer, I gained interest into listening to Arctic Monkeys. It’s no wonder why this album has won so many awards including the BRIT Award for Best British Album of the Year as well as gaining more fans for the band which includes myself after listening to this album.

    The best part of this album was the sound. I feel like a totally different person during the entire album. I feel like a cool person with a cigarette in my mouth (though I don’t encourage smoking) in a gig with a lot of people in the crowd and I blend in very well. I never expected to like this kind of sound considering I am quite a pop person myself.

    The lyrics fits the sound of the album. Sure, the themes are not thought-provoking but I like the themes here which is about partying, a hot girl,etc., without them going through the cliches of exploring those kinds of themes.

    The vocals from Alex Turner were great. He has the voice for a great rock band. He has that voice I want to hear from a rock song.

    I sense that during production, Arctic Monkeys must have been experimenting some new stuff for this album and I like it when artists experiment. This makes me want to hear their previous albums which I will soon considering their sound was way different when they released their debut album.

    I never expected that I would like all the songs from this album. This is quite rare so that means I really really really like this album.

    If you’re wondering why Arctic Monkeys are considered the best band of their generation by some music critics, check this album out. Who knows? You might end up being a fan just like me.
    Expand
  18. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Anyone who likes music must check this out. Really. Its that good. It told me that music is not dead. So buy it. Or don't, if you hate music. There is someone out there. Just saying.
  19. Dec 17, 2014
    10
    There is a term that many, myself included, use to describe an incredibly phenomenal album. That term is "lightning in a bottle", when all the right things happen when making an album that results in a perfect storm of incredibly solid songs from start to finish. Most bands are lucky if they get ONE album like that. Songs for the Deaf by Queens of the Stone Age, as well as Blue Album andThere is a term that many, myself included, use to describe an incredibly phenomenal album. That term is "lightning in a bottle", when all the right things happen when making an album that results in a perfect storm of incredibly solid songs from start to finish. Most bands are lucky if they get ONE album like that. Songs for the Deaf by Queens of the Stone Age, as well as Blue Album and Pinkerton by Weezer, are generally considered to be within this category of greatness. Obviously this is a personal opinion, but I feel that AM is easily "lightning in a bottle". Every song is either catchy as all Hell, centered around heavy and satisfying riffs, or romantically indulging, with many of the songs being 2 or 3 at once. This is my first taste of Arctic Monkeys, and it was a pretty **** good taste. 10/10, will be listening to their other albums now. Expand
  20. Apr 3, 2015
    10
    vou ser sincera nao gostei muito pois tem musicas muito rock n roll , nao gosto muito de rock n roll , eu so baixei o albúm pq o alex turner é gostoso pr crlh , e tmb pq gosto muito de arabella !! um 10 pra vc
  21. Feb 15, 2016
    10
    This isn't the best Arctic Monkeys album (That'd go to Whatever People Say I Am, I'm Not) but it's damn well close. First off, I'm a large fan of Arctic Monkeys' slower more laidback songs, so I was really happy with No. 1 Party Anthem and I Wanna Be Yours. Then there are songs which remind you of their early days with Favourite Worst Nightmare and Whatever People Say I Am, I'm Not like RThis isn't the best Arctic Monkeys album (That'd go to Whatever People Say I Am, I'm Not) but it's damn well close. First off, I'm a large fan of Arctic Monkeys' slower more laidback songs, so I was really happy with No. 1 Party Anthem and I Wanna Be Yours. Then there are songs which remind you of their early days with Favourite Worst Nightmare and Whatever People Say I Am, I'm Not like R U Mine and Snap Out Of It. I love the variety of music in this album which definitely makes it Arctic Monkeys' most innovative project.

    Favorite Songs:Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High, No. 1 Party Anthem, Arabella, I Wanna Be Yours

    Least Favorite Songs:I Want It All (if I had to choose)

    Overall, this is Arctic Monkeys' most variety-filled record yet and when their hiatus end, I'm sure they'll make even more.

    10/10
    Expand
  22. Sep 9, 2016
    10
    This is the best album you will listen to all year long. An absolute masterpiece from the Monkeys. They never fail to amaze with each album, constantly delivering pieces of pure genius but even for Alex Turner this propels him to an ever greater legendary status. 'AM' seems to have gained the Monkeys universal acclaim and got them the recognition and success they fully merit! It's easilyThis is the best album you will listen to all year long. An absolute masterpiece from the Monkeys. They never fail to amaze with each album, constantly delivering pieces of pure genius but even for Alex Turner this propels him to an ever greater legendary status. 'AM' seems to have gained the Monkeys universal acclaim and got them the recognition and success they fully merit! It's easily the most accessible of all their albums with such a range of and variety of emotions on show. Lead track 'Do I Wanna Know' kicks 'AM' off is fabulous fashion. It immediately draws you in and will have you playing it over and over again on repeat (Till you fall asleep?) and instant hit for sure. But from there they burst into an already cult classic for fans 'R U Mine?' It's a proper tune. And will have you rising to your feet and just chanting along. 'One For The Road' then takes you in a different direction, it's an unusual track from Arctic Monkeys. At it's roots seem an R&B rhythm mixed with 'Humbug' elements making for a splendid song. 'Arabella' is lyrically majestic! From interstellargator skinboots to helter skelters.. It's just an abundance of talent poured into one amazing tune which ends up erupting into rock guitar and banging drums. Track number 5, 'I Want It All' despite not being on pat with the majority of other songs on the album it's smart lyrics and delivery makes it enjoyable. Next, 'No.1 Party Anthem' which is in deep contrast as to what you'd expect from the name of the song. It's much more gentle and laid back and eases you into 'Mad Sounds,' A beautiful, slow, ballad-like, easy on the ears and catchy. 'Fireside' which features Bill Ryder-Jones rediscovers a rockier edge detailing Turner's doomed past encounters with a loved one. The second single, 'Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High' is another fantastic track. Nick O'Malley kills it on bass guitar with an addictive sound and punchy chorus. 'Snap Out Of It' is another standout track. This one is very catchy and instantly noticeable! From it's upbeat intro to relentless chorus. Sure to be a favourite on tour. Arctic Monkeys always have a tendancy to end things in an excellent manner and AM is no different. 'I Wanna Be Yours' is a seductive and stunning song originally by poet John Cooper Clarke but performed masterfully my the Monkeys gushing out some wonderful lyrics. Expand
  23. Jan 14, 2016
    10
    The boys are back, only this time - THEY ARE MEN! The cool methodical underline tone of the album grips you from the start. Gone is the beloved quick-witted rap speak that thrust the band into the spotlight, but what we have in return are well thought out luring lyrics that seems impeccably placed in every sentence. The evolution is evident to see that the Arctic Monkeys have let theirThe boys are back, only this time - THEY ARE MEN! The cool methodical underline tone of the album grips you from the start. Gone is the beloved quick-witted rap speak that thrust the band into the spotlight, but what we have in return are well thought out luring lyrics that seems impeccably placed in every sentence. The evolution is evident to see that the Arctic Monkeys have let their music organically grow and the end result if a captivating fifth record. Expand
  24. Mar 20, 2016
    10
    Songs in order
    1. 9,5
    2. 8,8
    3. 8
    4 9
    5 8,7
    6 9,3
    7 9,4
    8 8,8
    9 9
    10 9
    11 10
    12 8,3
    Songs- 8,9/10
    Album flow- 10/10
    Whole album- 9,8/10
  25. Sep 17, 2016
    10
    Despite being my third favourite Arctic Monkeys album, AM is the one that changed my life forever.
    As a kid, my older brother and dad played "Whatever People Say I Am..." and "Favourite Worst Nightmare" around the house a lot. I liked the songs a lot. A couple of years later, "Humbug" was released, of which I heard only one track played around the house: "Crying Lightning". The year after
    Despite being my third favourite Arctic Monkeys album, AM is the one that changed my life forever.
    As a kid, my older brother and dad played "Whatever People Say I Am..." and "Favourite Worst Nightmare" around the house a lot. I liked the songs a lot. A couple of years later, "Humbug" was released, of which I heard only one track played around the house: "Crying Lightning". The year after "Humbug", I took up guitar. A year after that, "Suck It And See" came out, but I didn't pay too much attention to it, despite liking the tracks. I quit guitar for a while, but then came Glastonbury 2013. That performance changed my life completely. Three years later, I still think of it as one of the best live performances I've ever seen. I quickly took it upon myself to listen to every Arctic Monkeys song ever to feature on an album in the months leading up to AM. On September 10 2013, I fell in love for the first time. This album is fantastic. Absolutely fantastic.
    I apologise for my life story.
    Best tracks: The first 4, No. 1 Party Anthem, Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High, Knee Socks and I Wanna Be Yours are the best.
    Worst tracks: Only Mad Sounds falls ever so slightly behind, but I still absolutely love it.
    If for some reason you want to know what happened after the release of AM, keep reading.
    So, I picked the guitar back up, and now I am constantly told how brilliant I am for my age.
    I got really into music and decided it was what I wanted to do.
    And I mean I got REALLY into music.
    Expand
  26. Dec 23, 2016
    10
    On the surface, AM can sound like your typical rock album with catchy hits and a few 'deeper' songs to balance things out. Arctic Monkeys are not this band, and they did not make this album. Instead, what they made was a tribute to Rock N' Roll. They take us back to the period of music where rock was upbeat and sexy. They took us back to Elvis, and to the era of greased hair and leatherOn the surface, AM can sound like your typical rock album with catchy hits and a few 'deeper' songs to balance things out. Arctic Monkeys are not this band, and they did not make this album. Instead, what they made was a tribute to Rock N' Roll. They take us back to the period of music where rock was upbeat and sexy. They took us back to Elvis, and to the era of greased hair and leather jackets. The perceived simplicity of AM captures this perfectly, while still remaining fresh and original in the process.

    AM is the sort of capstone project which people will point to decades later to say "that's the moment that music changed". If these next few years see the rise in leather-clad crooners with a penchant for cigarettes and dark party hits, you'll know why. Arctic Monkeys has become the band that sets the standard for everyone else.

    But with this album, it's easy to focus solely on Alex Turner and forget that it's the music which makes the man. Matt Helders, in particular, shines on this album. R U Mine? has some of the most exciting drumming to grace the mainstream in years. The guitar solo in Arabella is irresistible. The bass is hot and heavy through the entire album, and this all culminates into one sound that is entirely cohesive.

    Finally, this review wouldn't be complete without touching on the lyricism of this album. If you are looking for the same lyrical stylings of Favourite Worst Nightmare, look elsewhere. But just because these lyrics feel different doesn't make them inherently BAD. A better word is 'deceptive'. Remember that this is a tribute album to the greats, who created relatively simple music in the lyrical sense but broke new ground musically. Alex Turner was not writing a Bob Dylan album, but rather, an Elvis album. And to do that, you have to rely on your words in different ways.

    What gives him away, however, is the cleverness of it all. When Turner says "simmer down and pucker up", he creates equal opposites - the same sort of literary device found in the most sophisticated poetry out there. When he sings "Forever isn't for everyone, is forever for you?", my English Lit-trained heart heaves a heavy sigh of pure joy. And the album is filled to the brim with lyrics like these; lyrics which sound simple but are infinitely more difficult to write than most of us can imagine.

    Even as Alex Turner croons in Arabella "take a sip of your soul and it sounds like", he invokes a sense and then Jamie Cook comes in to finish the thought. If you study poetry, you know just how intense these lyrics are, and just how impressive it is that Turner managed to show his ability while remaining true to the spirit of 50s rock.

    It's clear that AM reaches higher and travels further than any of its predecessors. What is unclear is how anyone could feel otherwise.
    Expand
  27. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    The Arctic monkeys (again) create an album that is fine tuned and realized. For such a young band, now with a respectable number of albums under their belt, their sound has matured to a point where most bands take decades to reach. If you liked Suck it and See and Humbug, you'll find a lot here. AM's track list is a good length, but doesn't overstay it's welcome. The hooks are catchyThe Arctic monkeys (again) create an album that is fine tuned and realized. For such a young band, now with a respectable number of albums under their belt, their sound has matured to a point where most bands take decades to reach. If you liked Suck it and See and Humbug, you'll find a lot here. AM's track list is a good length, but doesn't overstay it's welcome. The hooks are catchy and the vocal are smooth as silk. The content is dark and dreary, like being a smoke filled speak-easy, but that's what I love about this band. This isn't the punk garage band anymore, they have moved on to the big leagues. AM is an album that proves this even further. Expand
  28. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    This is a fantastic record, and I thought a completely unexpected twist for the Arctic Monkeys. They took the rock sound from the last couple of albums, knocked it up a notch in a few songs (Do I Wanna Know and R U Mine of course), added some catchy falsetto chanting and sprinkled in some interesting older influences. Alex Turner's voice seriously comes into its own on this album, IThis is a fantastic record, and I thought a completely unexpected twist for the Arctic Monkeys. They took the rock sound from the last couple of albums, knocked it up a notch in a few songs (Do I Wanna Know and R U Mine of course), added some catchy falsetto chanting and sprinkled in some interesting older influences. Alex Turner's voice seriously comes into its own on this album, I realised how fantastic his voice, style and lyricism have become in this record. Give it a listen, whether you've loved all of Arctic Monkeys, or even if you fell out of love with them after their last two albums (I know quite a few people who have which is a shame). Expand
  29. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    Apart from a couple of tracks, this album has some of the most exciting rock music I've heard in a long time. Some very great guitar work in here. Not to mention the vocals and lyrics. I'm very glad to have heard this.
  30. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    http://bit.ly/M276AL I never thought the Monkey's could top Suck It And See but they have done a lot more than that on AM. The talent of these four lads is on show on this record. Though what makes AM such an amazing record is how the outstanding songwriting uses this talent so well. I honestly can't wait to see where this band goes next.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Q Magazine
    Jan 27, 2014
    80
    AM continues a pattern, then: every couple of years, the Monkeys make a great album, sounding tighter and more telepathic with each release. [Oct 2013, p.97]
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    78
    AM's a heavy seduction, restless and all the better for it.
  3. 90
    In the end AM not only signifies a career-defining moment that neatly places the band on a proper pedestal for all to admire--this is where not only Arctic Monkeys have come but in many ways, how they’ve masterfully conquered and continue to simply win.