American Doll Posse

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: May 1, 2007
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 119

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ss
    May 13, 2007
    10
    I'm sorry, but anyone who gives this album less than an 8 or a 9 must be on some strange sort of drug. Then again, Tori is ahead of her time, so it's understandable that some people just won't get it. That said, this album is mesmerizing, absolutely magic. A 10, 10, 10!!!
  2. HeatherW
    May 3, 2007
    10
    The only reason I'm upset it because I want more! I got the special edition and the dvd was much too short. Of coarse Tori could record a fart in a bucket and I would buy it, but this album is just fantastic. I can't wait to see the tour.
  3. chris
    May 5, 2007
    10
    She NEVER fails to stun me, i think all her albums are all amazing for different reasons and this, is no exception! lots of fantasic songs. I really am shocked when people say the don't get Tori, she is a musical genius!
  4. steoc
    May 5, 2007
    10
    her best album since FromTheChoirgirlHotel
  5. EleannaE
    May 5, 2007
    9
    Ever since Choirgil have I been so moved by an Amos' record. I love all the different styles in it, I have some issues with the lurics but that's ok, she has always had lines that I just couldn't get. But her voice is back, her ENERGY is back and that's what I've been missing most. Hooray for American Doll Posse. :-)
  6. drjoaof
    May 6, 2007
    10
    well , must agree it sounds different from other toris´ albuns but still magnificent
  7. MattD.
    May 9, 2007
    10
    She's never made a bad album, but this one is her most diverse, inventive, and powerful album. Even better than Little Earthquakes.
  8. jimmyr
    Jun 9, 2007
    9
    stunning. digital ghost and girl disappearing are spellbinding in their poigniancy. I used to say the same as everyone else ' oh but such and such an album isnt as good as little earthquakes' but this album blows that out of the water. The aforementioned tracks have the same quality but with a maturity. Its like shes melded the best aspects of all her records and found a muse stunning. digital ghost and girl disappearing are spellbinding in their poigniancy. I used to say the same as everyone else ' oh but such and such an album isnt as good as little earthquakes' but this album blows that out of the water. The aforementioned tracks have the same quality but with a maturity. Its like shes melded the best aspects of all her records and found a muse and the spirit to come to fruition as an artist. Speaking through 5 women seems to have enabled her to vent these different aspects....from the raucous joy of body and soul, to the haunting dragon. she has come into her own. may the muse stay with her Expand
  9. alapsedtorifan
    Jul 20, 2007
    7
    I stopped listening to tori around the choirgirl era, but i'm diggin this new stuff. it's good to be back!
  10. MelissaE
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    Tori is always a 10. She is one of the most under appreciated overly talented artists of our time. She is a genius and her live shows are impeccable . ADP rocks like all the others.
  11. duke
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    this album is beautiful. as a long time tori fan, this album ranks in my top 3 and its a huge step UP from the beekeeper. that album wasn't terrible, but not great and it's nice to know that she can return to form and still release great work nine albums into her career.
  12. LeoF
    May 8, 2007
    7
    Actually is 6,5. But if you cut it to 14-15 songs, it would be a 8,0. Somewhere among the mess, there's a strong album. After the horrible album that "The Beekeeper" was, Tori's showing some signs that she's not over yet, but she still needs someone to help her editing.
  13. RogerArnold
    Apr 30, 2007
    7
    Something's not the same.
  14. MariaR
    May 13, 2007
    9
    It could be one of the greatest cds if it wasn't so ostentatious
  15. PhilippeM
    May 3, 2007
    8
    very good and flows well. I didn' like around 20% of the album but overall it's definetly her best since venus
  16. robertb
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    This is easily Tori's best since "from the choirgirl hotel." The concept can either be viewed as incredibly indulgent and distracting or as a fun add on. Either way, DO NOT let this album pass you by. Aside from a few clunkers, this album is terrific. The real Tori Amos has returned.
  17. EduardoR
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Best Tori album in a long time.
  18. DavidV
    Apr 30, 2007
    8
    ADP contains several tracks that showcase the lyrical ability which Tori seemed to have buried for a few years. Body and Soul, Fathers Son, Velvet Revolution, and Smokey Joe are Tori moments at their finest. Unfortunately there's garbage here, too: filler when filler was not necessary. Five or six songs could have easily been cut for a more brilliant, concise album. Be willing to ADP contains several tracks that showcase the lyrical ability which Tori seemed to have buried for a few years. Body and Soul, Fathers Son, Velvet Revolution, and Smokey Joe are Tori moments at their finest. Unfortunately there's garbage here, too: filler when filler was not necessary. Five or six songs could have easily been cut for a more brilliant, concise album. Be willing to ignore the filler and the over-advertised inner workings of her creativeness, though, and you'll be treated to some of the finest songwriting currently available. Expand
  19. NunoG
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Tori Amos is back. And this time with an album that pumps you up, moves you and mesmerizes the sense all at the same time. The schizophrenia of the represented dolls serve the music really well giving it diversity and personality. But they're all Tori and here lies some of her best, most exciting and enthralling work yet.
  20. sarphilmn
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    the music is great, i dare say it's her best since From the Choirgirl Hotel. as usual, the concept is messy and unnecessary, but that's nothing new and i wish critics would just get over it. one thing i do agree on is that the album is too long -- though every track with the exception of "Yo George" is a keeper, a bonus EP with 5 or 6 songs might've been more pleasant than the music is great, i dare say it's her best since From the Choirgirl Hotel. as usual, the concept is messy and unnecessary, but that's nothing new and i wish critics would just get over it. one thing i do agree on is that the album is too long -- though every track with the exception of "Yo George" is a keeper, a bonus EP with 5 or 6 songs might've been more pleasant than a monstrous 23 track, 79-minute disc with a heavy-handed "concept" to boot. Expand
  21. ChestonL
    May 1, 2007
    9
    Great album, I really like that this album is really out there, a very different Tori.
  22. AllieB
    May 10, 2007
    9
    This is one of Tori's best. It really shows how much she has grown and changed as an artist. The album is brilliant. Much needed after the last two albums. I love it! It's right up there with 'Little Earthquakes'.
  23. ChaseR
    May 12, 2007
    9
    I'm beginning to wonder whether Metacritic is aware of the dozen other positive reviews that have been circulating for several weeks. They certainly seem to have located the negative ones. Anyway, I'm beginning to believe more than ever that American critics have some problems to sort out. I'd think as much of any supposedly authoritative group, in fact, that would put a I'm beginning to wonder whether Metacritic is aware of the dozen other positive reviews that have been circulating for several weeks. They certainly seem to have located the negative ones. Anyway, I'm beginning to believe more than ever that American critics have some problems to sort out. I'd think as much of any supposedly authoritative group, in fact, that would put a Tori Amos record in a similar league with the latest Hillary Duff treacle-fest (see latest scores). ADP is a good piece of work, and for once Tori's growing intellectualism, which admittedly often strikes me as superficial, serves her pretty well. The concept really is an asset. If that doesn't work for you, though, do something many critics haven't and focus on the songs. It seems that a lot of bitter, bitchy journalists in this country have gotten their knickers into a twist over the album's really pretty basic conceptual framework. Avoid that temptation and turn on your stereo. It'll probably be less of a chore than reading. Expand
  24. MeganA
    May 13, 2007
    10
    Simply one of her best albums ever-it's got something for all her fans and a few surprises as well.Buy this one for everyone you know.
  25. Armen
    May 1, 2007
    10
    What an amazing work of art. This is Tori Amos' most "Rock n Roll" album ever. It features some of the most amazing songs ever written by the artist. I don not know how someone cannot fall in love with this record by simply reading the liner notes. The lyrics of this album are a true work of art. The album art direction and the idea of the 5 women is also genius. Definatly worth every cent.
  26. MelissaC
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Amazing. Different. Beautiful. Inspirational. She needs everything wonderful to happen to her. She spreads wonder with each song. Thankou tori.
  27. EricT
    May 2, 2007
    9
    As good as her more lyrical material is, I think it's great to hear Tori rock again. While I'm not in love with every track on the album, I enjoy their diversity, and I know they will speak to a wider audience. As far as length goes, I have always been a fan of the fact that Tori produces long albums -- I feel better paying 20 bucks for an album that has more than 12 tracks on As good as her more lyrical material is, I think it's great to hear Tori rock again. While I'm not in love with every track on the album, I enjoy their diversity, and I know they will speak to a wider audience. As far as length goes, I have always been a fan of the fact that Tori produces long albums -- I feel better paying 20 bucks for an album that has more than 12 tracks on it. Besides, who says you have to listen to all of it at once? Expand
  28. Maria
    May 30, 2007
    10
    This is one of Tori's best albums ever. I love that she didn't sell herself out to compete with the "money market of the industry". She is true to her roots, she mixed it up and added some imagination and a twist on style. I think she had some fun. She is one of the best, we love her in our home. I noticed that most of the critics are so far off the pulse of the listener. I am This is one of Tori's best albums ever. I love that she didn't sell herself out to compete with the "money market of the industry". She is true to her roots, she mixed it up and added some imagination and a twist on style. I think she had some fun. She is one of the best, we love her in our home. I noticed that most of the critics are so far off the pulse of the listener. I am glad I don't worry what they think :) Expand
  29. time
    May 3, 2007
    9
    She's never gotten the proper acclaim she deserves simply because she's not Polly Harvey or Bjork. No she's actually better and if critics are going to pull the Kate Bush card on her again what about Polly and her similarities to Patty Smith or even when the Sugarcubes came out and how they had many similarities to the Cocteau Twins. College radio is FINALLY giving her She's never gotten the proper acclaim she deserves simply because she's not Polly Harvey or Bjork. No she's actually better and if critics are going to pull the Kate Bush card on her again what about Polly and her similarities to Patty Smith or even when the Sugarcubes came out and how they had many similarities to the Cocteau Twins. College radio is FINALLY giving her respect so lets hope she eventually wins over the critics. Not that it matters. Expand
  30. PaulF
    May 3, 2007
    9
    I'm tired of all the critics bashing Tori on this album for including "too much", claiming it would be improved if shorter. Shut up. You are idiots. Ever since Pele she's been giving us nice full records, and I love it. This is her most varied, fun, brassy and beautiful since Earthquakes. The concept is a great way for her to try on different hats and push her songwriting into I'm tired of all the critics bashing Tori on this album for including "too much", claiming it would be improved if shorter. Shut up. You are idiots. Ever since Pele she's been giving us nice full records, and I love it. This is her most varied, fun, brassy and beautiful since Earthquakes. The concept is a great way for her to try on different hats and push her songwriting into different areas. I'm loving this album, and I am sad that more of the media aren't getting it. Expand
  31. RobbieC
    May 4, 2007
    9
    A real surprise following '05's Beesleeper. It rocks, it rolls, it shimmers, it shines. I highly recommend it.
  32. PatrickG
    May 4, 2007
    9
    It's a bit manic and requires a few listenings to really appreciate it but a great album! Yes, it can seem overlong, but songs I didn't like at first turn out to be far better when listening to them individually rather than in 1 long sitting! And for those who diss The Beekeeper, you're so wrong! True, a different style to Chiorgirl, Venus or Pele but that's It's a bit manic and requires a few listenings to really appreciate it but a great album! Yes, it can seem overlong, but songs I didn't like at first turn out to be far better when listening to them individually rather than in 1 long sitting! And for those who diss The Beekeeper, you're so wrong! True, a different style to Chiorgirl, Venus or Pele but that's what's so great about Tori - she can change styles and still produce the results! Expand
  33. AricB
    May 5, 2007
    10
    So many great songs. Although I love all her albums, this one joins Scarlet's Walk, Boys for Pele, and To Venus & Back as one of my very favorites.
  34. OP
    May 5, 2007
    8
    Would have been an easy 10/10 if the Pip songs had been cut from the line-up.
  35. K.Young
    May 7, 2007
    10
    I have been a huge Tori fan for almost 10 years now, first captivated when I heard "Caught a Lite Sneeze" on the radio from her enchanting "Boys for Pele" album. I've been hooked ever since - one of the rare artists of the day that puts so much soul, emotion, & personal experience into each song, not to mention the use of a soaring voice and an amazing talent on the piano. Not since I have been a huge Tori fan for almost 10 years now, first captivated when I heard "Caught a Lite Sneeze" on the radio from her enchanting "Boys for Pele" album. I've been hooked ever since - one of the rare artists of the day that puts so much soul, emotion, & personal experience into each song, not to mention the use of a soaring voice and an amazing talent on the piano. Not since "Pele" has one of her CDs been so mezmorizing, in terms of its rhythm, lyrics and sound. My favorites are "Big Wheel," "Father's Son," "Code Red," "Roosterspur Bridge," "Beauty of Speed," "Dark Side of the Sun," and "Smokey Joes." There is a wide range of music for every fan & taste though on this album. Expand
  36. BrandonS
    May 8, 2007
    8
    I like that Tori's albums are overlong, even though things tend to get muddled. This has been particularly true from Scarlet's Walk on. But it's nice to see some ambition in an artist, and there is a lot going on in Tori's songs, so there will be much to discover through many repeated listens. Better than usual lyrics, this cd also boasts some of her best "pop songs" I like that Tori's albums are overlong, even though things tend to get muddled. This has been particularly true from Scarlet's Walk on. But it's nice to see some ambition in an artist, and there is a lot going on in Tori's songs, so there will be much to discover through many repeated listens. Better than usual lyrics, this cd also boasts some of her best "pop songs" since To Venus and Back. Standout tracks include "Big Wheel," Bouncing Off Clouds," and "Secret Spell." Expand
  37. jyonahj.
    Jun 16, 2007
    9
    Whoa - check out the art work, packaging and wild pics of Tori. The packaging is guaranteed Grammy material. I'm only giving this album a 9, as Boys for Pele is Tori's "10" benchmark. This album is pure Tori genius at its best. Very contemporary. Songs like Bouncing off the clouds are convertable as dance track hits. Girl disappearing is a godly ballad, comparable to Not the Red Whoa - check out the art work, packaging and wild pics of Tori. The packaging is guaranteed Grammy material. I'm only giving this album a 9, as Boys for Pele is Tori's "10" benchmark. This album is pure Tori genius at its best. Very contemporary. Songs like Bouncing off the clouds are convertable as dance track hits. Girl disappearing is a godly ballad, comparable to Not the Red Baron for its heavenly beauty. Love the bonus DVD. Tori, you will always be my favourite artist. I rate this album as co-equal with all her other second tier top albums: LE, UTP, Choirgirl, VAB and Beekeeper. Expand
  38. DavidV.
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    Code Red and Father's Son are Tori classics! Anyone not appreciating this material is not paying attention! Try to get over what version of Tori Amos you want a record to be and instead accept each album at face value. They have their own distinct quality, each a slow digest, and I'd argue she's never made a truly bad album.
  39. ixata
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    is the album being compared to bjork's volta?? didnt know that. but it is better than volta, this one is more coherent, and more listenable, but this does not mean that volta is bad.. but 4 me, i cant believe that an album cnb this brilliant, wonderfful, and it has 23 tracks! this album bears no boredom, not even with one track.. athe best by tori
  40. JamieG.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    Really great album, and a step, not a reproduction of past successes for Tori. Some truly spectacular tracks (Digital Ghost, Teenage Hustling, for example), and then some others that haven't grabbed me. All in all, its become one of those albums I listen to consistently and always enjoy to the point of distraction.
  41. ChrisR
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    I can't understand the fuss... I first encountered her doing her wonderful "noodlings" at the Pritzker Pavilion in Millennium Park in Chicago last summer and was immediately captivated. Since then I've been compiling and reviewing her career and - without a doubt - this is the finest, most visceral (not to mention unexpected) recording she's ever realeased. I'm amazed I can't understand the fuss... I first encountered her doing her wonderful "noodlings" at the Pritzker Pavilion in Millennium Park in Chicago last summer and was immediately captivated. Since then I've been compiling and reviewing her career and - without a doubt - this is the finest, most visceral (not to mention unexpected) recording she's ever realeased. I'm amazed and delighted... Expand
  42. DericM
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    Her best work in years, none of the tracks are boring or uninspiring. Everything is likeable, and the concept is great too. I don't get the critics with this one.
  43. jesseh
    Apr 29, 2007
    10
    There is something here that makes me wonder makes me think mabye in time a result will come with each of these brilliant songs so well thought out. Just close your eyes and think about the beautiful lyrics. This is her best sence the begining! This is an album that you just cant put down I promise it will make you question more then you ever thought you really could. What I think is There is something here that makes me wonder makes me think mabye in time a result will come with each of these brilliant songs so well thought out. Just close your eyes and think about the beautiful lyrics. This is her best sence the begining! This is an album that you just cant put down I promise it will make you question more then you ever thought you really could. What I think is crazy is that ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY gives this a 58 and AVRIL Lavigne A passing grade wow how brilliant could the person that reviewed Avrils and Toris Album be???? The point of an album like this is to LISTEN and well I guess he did not. For someone that has made 9 amazing albums and writes all of her lyrics and music its funny to me that the people that just sing and dont even know what a piano is get better reviews. Please someone fire that man. Start writing a REVIEW Not hate MAIL!! Thank you and go buy this cd everyone I never comment on this website and I look on it everyday so that has to mean something. Have fun with this album most of all! and learn something along the way. Expand
  44. LucianG
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    This album is wonderful, best of 2007 by far
  45. AnthonyA
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing album. This is a return to form for Amos without rehashing old material. The album is long and adventurous. I laugh at the elitism of those who call the album 'too much,' as if an abundance of material makes the better songs less joyful to listen to. Come on people, if you don't like a track, use the skip button. This is my favorite Tori album since From the Amazing album. This is a return to form for Amos without rehashing old material. The album is long and adventurous. I laugh at the elitism of those who call the album 'too much,' as if an abundance of material makes the better songs less joyful to listen to. Come on people, if you don't like a track, use the skip button. This is my favorite Tori album since From the Choirgirl Hotel in '98. Keep rockin' Tori. Expand
  46. StaceyM
    Apr 30, 2007
    8
    Loving this album! Music is top notch...I wish the guitars weren't overpowering her voice on a few tracks...Lyrics are stronger than one previous couple of albums but not as strong as I know Tori can be. A few lines are kinda cheesy but there aren't many of them. Best Tori since Venus!
  47. Lander
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    I think this is the only Tori album I'd give a 10 to, aside from Boys for Pele. I loathed the Beekeeper, and Scarlet was dull but good, but with this one? She's totally back. 23 tracks and I don't think one is a waste.
  48. KimS
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Brilliant! Teenage Hustling it my new anthem...beautiful and interesting songs overall with a great rockin vibe....you won't be sorry!
  49. JB
    May 1, 2007
    10
    so I voted 10 because I'm a tori geek. I recognize that the album's got a few issues; yep, too long and sometimes redundant. yep, tori's still insane (it actually kind of works this time around). and no, I don't know what the hell "programmable soda" is. however, on the whole, she's pretty much brilliant, and her songwriting and performing on this album is, on the so I voted 10 because I'm a tori geek. I recognize that the album's got a few issues; yep, too long and sometimes redundant. yep, tori's still insane (it actually kind of works this time around). and no, I don't know what the hell "programmable soda" is. however, on the whole, she's pretty much brilliant, and her songwriting and performing on this album is, on the whole, stellar. I'd cut some tracks, but in this digital age, you can skip at the press of a button, or burn a new version if you like. I hope she keeps some of this mojo on her next album; this one kicks ass. Expand
  50. SamanthaK
    May 1, 2007
    8
    Some of her best work in years, some of the songs i'd rather not have and the concept is a bit messy, but the fans that left tori after Choirgirl, come back, its worth your attention now.
  51. staceyl
    May 12, 2007
    9
    I like Tori going into harder music which she has done on this album-something new and exciting to hear from her. However, there are songs that lack standing out and just seem like "intermission" music, which she has done on her last few albums. Tori has gotten her energy back though!
  52. EllieW
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Fab album, love the fun of Big Wheel to the sophisticated pop of Bouncing off Clouds to the rock of Body & Soul to the eerieness of Smokey Joe.
  53. ElsaL.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    The best Tori's album since From the choirgirl hotel. Tori's magic is back!!!! and as Tori's fan I have to say: thank you, Tori, for these amazing 23 tracks!!!
  54. ShafiiA
    May 15, 2007
    9
    Definitely one for Tori's "ears with feet". Having said that I miss the works of her first 2 albums but it's important for an artiste to mature methodically in their offerings and I'm all for her experimentations. As with all Tori's albums, ADP definitely takes a lot of listening to before the songs grow on oneself. Some years from now, I believe I will listen to this Definitely one for Tori's "ears with feet". Having said that I miss the works of her first 2 albums but it's important for an artiste to mature methodically in their offerings and I'm all for her experimentations. As with all Tori's albums, ADP definitely takes a lot of listening to before the songs grow on oneself. Some years from now, I believe I will listen to this album again (maybe after years of non listening) and embrace the songs fully as what has happenned with LE and UTP with me. Cheers! Expand
  55. AlfredoM
    May 17, 2007
    10
    Amazing!! Powerful!!! Beautiful!!!.."Big Wheel" and Bouncing Of Clouds" are among the best songs she has ever recorded!!..her best album since Little Earthquakes
  56. KaiH
    May 21, 2007
    10
    Welcome Back Tori. You nailed this one. Edgy and with beat you've got me grooving- She finally finds a way to mix pop with her style, previously only the song "A Sorta Fairytale" worked. This is perhaps her best since "From The Choir Girl Hotel" (her best, and lets face it we will saddly never fully see those days again). ADP is piercing and beautiful. However, I wish she would have Welcome Back Tori. You nailed this one. Edgy and with beat you've got me grooving- She finally finds a way to mix pop with her style, previously only the song "A Sorta Fairytale" worked. This is perhaps her best since "From The Choir Girl Hotel" (her best, and lets face it we will saddly never fully see those days again). ADP is piercing and beautiful. However, I wish she would have left the different character persona with the doomed (but perfectly adequate) album "Strange Little Girls". An all out flag shreding portriate would have brought back her "Boys For Pele" fans, and moreover pissed off the right wrong people. We can always hope for a meanacing video. This album is a fun listen. "Bouncing off Clouds" screams radio hit. Expand
  57. asiar
    May 2, 2007
    10
    it's just great (apart from 2 songs but I just do not listen to them ;)
  58. mike
    May 2, 2007
    9
    what can i say......it's tori. sure there are a lot of songs, a huge concept, multiple voices - but underneath the surface, it's brilliant. her lyrical ability is amazing, and she is simply amazing. rated at a 9 only because i compare everything to Little Earthquakes............and how can you beat that?
  59. BobM
    May 2, 2007
    7
    I love Tori. I truely do, ever since LItte Earthquakes first hit. This just seems self-indulgent. I think it would be stronger if all of these voices lived in one woman instead of all the costuming and pretense. Who is she trying to shock? Too much drama around the album. I"m going to listen to the songs for days and put the album cover away. Seriously loved Choirgirl Hotel, Little I love Tori. I truely do, ever since LItte Earthquakes first hit. This just seems self-indulgent. I think it would be stronger if all of these voices lived in one woman instead of all the costuming and pretense. Who is she trying to shock? Too much drama around the album. I"m going to listen to the songs for days and put the album cover away. Seriously loved Choirgirl Hotel, Little Earthquakes, Scarlet's Walk, Pele and the whole Bootleg collection. Expand
  60. BitBurn
    May 28, 2007
    8
    A very good record, indeed.
  61. MitchellK
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Since Tori's breakthrough debut album, "Little Earthquakes", Tori Amos has been one of the most creative and eclectic artists in the industry. And Tori doesn't fail to impress on her highly anticipated 9th release, "American Doll Posse". Her most political album to date, Tori does one thing that some artists can't seem to do. She is subtle about her opposition to the Since Tori's breakthrough debut album, "Little Earthquakes", Tori Amos has been one of the most creative and eclectic artists in the industry. And Tori doesn't fail to impress on her highly anticipated 9th release, "American Doll Posse". Her most political album to date, Tori does one thing that some artists can't seem to do. She is subtle about her opposition to the administration. Some artists come out and just say in their songs, "I hate Bush!!". But Tori keeps her dignity. She makes many witty quips like, "You have the whole nation on all fours...", "go on Laura, here's a flower for your grave.", "How many young men have to lay down their life and the love for their woman?". This is the sign of a true artist. "American Doll Posse" has been compared to the critically acclaimed broadway show, "Hedwig and the Angry Inch" and I can totally agree with that statement. This album is almost like an alternative rock opera, with it's massive track listing and ellaborate concept. Tori has split herself into 5 distinct personalities: Tori, Santa, Clyde, Pip, and Isabel. Each character has their own agenda in the songs that they sing and it just makes the album flow better. Overall, in my opinion, this album is one of the best released in the 21st century. Tori has always been one of my favorite artists, and this album has totally solidified my love for this artist. I see Grammy nominations for this album in the future. Expand
  62. JasonD
    May 4, 2007
    10
    FANTASTIC...well worth the wait (through Beekeeper and since)
  63. Rick
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    Awesome album, Mesmerizing. She's moving forward and real fans will appreciate her genius instead of being stuck in the past.
  64. TheKingOfRock
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Contains many great songs which somehow even fit together in spite of their variability, Tori is very talented musically, vocally and lyrically and here she uses this talent to produce great music that is fun to listen to. Rocks and kicks ass.i
  65. DJA.
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    At first listen, its good. Second, its too heady, you sense she's tried to hard. Third time, you still sense its worthiness. Fourth, you get it. Fifth listen and then on its a guilty pleasure and one it hooked. Amos worked harder than most to create this piece but at the end of it all its good music and when you can understand them, intelligent lyrics.
  66. JonesJ
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    Her best in years. Its energy is astounding, and she rocks here like she hasn't in a long time. Amazing work. Let's just hope the critics can get past this concept thing and concentrate on the music because that's what really matters.
  67. JerrodL.
    Apr 29, 2007
    8
    Tori's best since Choirgirl. American Doll Posse contains some of Tori's best material, including the cheeky "Big Wheel" and gorgeous "Roosterspur Bridge." This is a great introduction to non-fans and also a gem in the collection of Tori Amos fans.
  68. WesS
    May 12, 2007
    10
    There is so much great material on this album. How can there be too many songs? More is better! If she had cut the album down fans would be complaining about all the b-sides not being released. Some of Tori's best work are her b-sides. This album includes the A's and the B's! Superb!
  69. Amy
    May 17, 2007
    10
    The best Tori album to date. Don't let the bad reviews distract you from this masterpiece.
  70. lukej
    May 29, 2007
    10
    amazing,absolutly amazing from start to finish , one of her greatest albums going, and a bit better than volta since people keep comparing it
  71. johns.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    started to loose my faith in tori but its now fully restored. what a genius. she nails each song and although its long it doesnt contain a single filler or a song i skip. this is the tori i respected and loved from her little earthquake album. so damn inspiring. love code red,smokey joe and teenage hustling. goosebumps. the queen of kooky is alive and kicking. thanx tori ps. only for started to loose my faith in tori but its now fully restored. what a genius. she nails each song and although its long it doesnt contain a single filler or a song i skip. this is the tori i respected and loved from her little earthquake album. so damn inspiring. love code red,smokey joe and teenage hustling. goosebumps. the queen of kooky is alive and kicking. thanx tori ps. only for intellectuals this one. Expand
  72. JohnR
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    Not as good as Scarlet's Walk but much better than the Beekeeper. You won't like it on first listen, which is a good thing.
  73. Apr 19, 2014
    7
    Pretty exciting and different after that last sleepfest The Beekeeper. Doesn't reach the heights of her earlier greatness, but a very fun, very glam record where Tori takes risks and tries on new clothes and new musical styles and does it mostly very well. Fun and crazy record.
  74. Apr 14, 2013
    7
    A very good comeback after the lethargic and bland The Beekeper. The songs are diverse in style, but each one is haunting in her own way. Tori proves she can tackle genres outside her usual domain, but still provides material for fans of her older, recognizeable style.
  75. Jan 28, 2015
    7
    This album sure is a long haul, but for the most part it works surprisingly well. Once again Tori proves that she's an extremely versatile musician capable of tackling new genres while still retaining her own unique style and personality. I think 23 songs is most certainly excessive, but considering that there's actually enough good material in here to constitute a normal length album, IThis album sure is a long haul, but for the most part it works surprisingly well. Once again Tori proves that she's an extremely versatile musician capable of tackling new genres while still retaining her own unique style and personality. I think 23 songs is most certainly excessive, but considering that there's actually enough good material in here to constitute a normal length album, I have to say that this is one of Tori's stronger efforts. Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Too bad Posse is a conceptual wreck, because it benefits from some of the beefiest, most borderline-glam-rock moments Amos has put on record.
  2. Ambitious, high-concept albums are one thing, but Posse's just a boring mess.
  3. Some of her best work in years is here... There's far too much, though; cut to 10 tracks it would have been her one of her most significant records.