American Doll Posse

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: May 1, 2007
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 121

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ShaneequaJ
    Apr 30, 2007
    6
    It's definitely better than The Beekeeper. The problem with ADP is that there's too much. The album is bloated with interludes that don't amount to anything. However, there are some highlights with it. "Dragon" is amazing, and "Smokey Joe" is haunting. Get rid of about 9 or 10 tracks and this album will be pretty solid.
  2. Ck
    Oct 6, 2007
    4
    Big fan, but I just don't get this one. There are a couple of great tracks, but for the most part, ADP falls completely flat for me. While the Beekeeper was also not her best - can someone tell me which songs on ADP are better than Barons of Suburbia, Mother Revolution, or the power of orange knickers? Anyone rating this album above a 5, is seriously kidding themselves.
  3. ss
    May 13, 2007
    10
    I'm sorry, but anyone who gives this album less than an 8 or a 9 must be on some strange sort of drug. Then again, Tori is ahead of her time, so it's understandable that some people just won't get it. That said, this album is mesmerizing, absolutely magic. A 10, 10, 10!!!
  4. HeatherW
    May 3, 2007
    10
    The only reason I'm upset it because I want more! I got the special edition and the dvd was much too short. Of coarse Tori could record a fart in a bucket and I would buy it, but this album is just fantastic. I can't wait to see the tour.
  5. chris
    May 5, 2007
    10
    She NEVER fails to stun me, i think all her albums are all amazing for different reasons and this, is no exception! lots of fantasic songs. I really am shocked when people say the don't get Tori, she is a musical genius!
  6. steoc
    May 5, 2007
    10
    her best album since FromTheChoirgirlHotel
  7. EleannaE
    May 5, 2007
    9
    Ever since Choirgil have I been so moved by an Amos' record. I love all the different styles in it, I have some issues with the lurics but that's ok, she has always had lines that I just couldn't get. But her voice is back, her ENERGY is back and that's what I've been missing most. Hooray for American Doll Posse. :-)
  8. drjoaof
    May 6, 2007
    10
    well , must agree it sounds different from other toris´ albuns but still magnificent
  9. MattD.
    May 9, 2007
    10
    She's never made a bad album, but this one is her most diverse, inventive, and powerful album. Even better than Little Earthquakes.
  10. jimmyr
    Jun 9, 2007
    9
    stunning. digital ghost and girl disappearing are spellbinding in their poigniancy. I used to say the same as everyone else ' oh but such and such an album isnt as good as little earthquakes' but this album blows that out of the water. The aforementioned tracks have the same quality but with a maturity. Its like shes melded the best aspects of all her records and found a muse stunning. digital ghost and girl disappearing are spellbinding in their poigniancy. I used to say the same as everyone else ' oh but such and such an album isnt as good as little earthquakes' but this album blows that out of the water. The aforementioned tracks have the same quality but with a maturity. Its like shes melded the best aspects of all her records and found a muse and the spirit to come to fruition as an artist. Speaking through 5 women seems to have enabled her to vent these different aspects....from the raucous joy of body and soul, to the haunting dragon. she has come into her own. may the muse stay with her Expand
  11. alapsedtorifan
    Jul 20, 2007
    7
    I stopped listening to tori around the choirgirl era, but i'm diggin this new stuff. it's good to be back!
  12. MelissaE
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    Tori is always a 10. She is one of the most under appreciated overly talented artists of our time. She is a genius and her live shows are impeccable . ADP rocks like all the others.
  13. duke
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    this album is beautiful. as a long time tori fan, this album ranks in my top 3 and its a huge step UP from the beekeeper. that album wasn't terrible, but not great and it's nice to know that she can return to form and still release great work nine albums into her career.
  14. LeoF
    May 8, 2007
    7
    Actually is 6,5. But if you cut it to 14-15 songs, it would be a 8,0. Somewhere among the mess, there's a strong album. After the horrible album that "The Beekeeper" was, Tori's showing some signs that she's not over yet, but she still needs someone to help her editing.
  15. RogerArnold
    Apr 30, 2007
    7
    Something's not the same.
  16. MariaR
    May 13, 2007
    9
    It could be one of the greatest cds if it wasn't so ostentatious
  17. PhilippeM
    May 3, 2007
    8
    very good and flows well. I didn' like around 20% of the album but overall it's definetly her best since venus
  18. robertb
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    This is easily Tori's best since "from the choirgirl hotel." The concept can either be viewed as incredibly indulgent and distracting or as a fun add on. Either way, DO NOT let this album pass you by. Aside from a few clunkers, this album is terrific. The real Tori Amos has returned.
  19. EduardoR
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Best Tori album in a long time.
  20. DavidV
    Apr 30, 2007
    8
    ADP contains several tracks that showcase the lyrical ability which Tori seemed to have buried for a few years. Body and Soul, Fathers Son, Velvet Revolution, and Smokey Joe are Tori moments at their finest. Unfortunately there's garbage here, too: filler when filler was not necessary. Five or six songs could have easily been cut for a more brilliant, concise album. Be willing to ADP contains several tracks that showcase the lyrical ability which Tori seemed to have buried for a few years. Body and Soul, Fathers Son, Velvet Revolution, and Smokey Joe are Tori moments at their finest. Unfortunately there's garbage here, too: filler when filler was not necessary. Five or six songs could have easily been cut for a more brilliant, concise album. Be willing to ignore the filler and the over-advertised inner workings of her creativeness, though, and you'll be treated to some of the finest songwriting currently available. Expand
  21. NunoG
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Tori Amos is back. And this time with an album that pumps you up, moves you and mesmerizes the sense all at the same time. The schizophrenia of the represented dolls serve the music really well giving it diversity and personality. But they're all Tori and here lies some of her best, most exciting and enthralling work yet.
  22. sarphilmn
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    the music is great, i dare say it's her best since From the Choirgirl Hotel. as usual, the concept is messy and unnecessary, but that's nothing new and i wish critics would just get over it. one thing i do agree on is that the album is too long -- though every track with the exception of "Yo George" is a keeper, a bonus EP with 5 or 6 songs might've been more pleasant than the music is great, i dare say it's her best since From the Choirgirl Hotel. as usual, the concept is messy and unnecessary, but that's nothing new and i wish critics would just get over it. one thing i do agree on is that the album is too long -- though every track with the exception of "Yo George" is a keeper, a bonus EP with 5 or 6 songs might've been more pleasant than a monstrous 23 track, 79-minute disc with a heavy-handed "concept" to boot. Expand
  23. ChestonL
    May 1, 2007
    9
    Great album, I really like that this album is really out there, a very different Tori.
  24. AllieB
    May 10, 2007
    9
    This is one of Tori's best. It really shows how much she has grown and changed as an artist. The album is brilliant. Much needed after the last two albums. I love it! It's right up there with 'Little Earthquakes'.
  25. ChaseR
    May 12, 2007
    9
    I'm beginning to wonder whether Metacritic is aware of the dozen other positive reviews that have been circulating for several weeks. They certainly seem to have located the negative ones. Anyway, I'm beginning to believe more than ever that American critics have some problems to sort out. I'd think as much of any supposedly authoritative group, in fact, that would put a I'm beginning to wonder whether Metacritic is aware of the dozen other positive reviews that have been circulating for several weeks. They certainly seem to have located the negative ones. Anyway, I'm beginning to believe more than ever that American critics have some problems to sort out. I'd think as much of any supposedly authoritative group, in fact, that would put a Tori Amos record in a similar league with the latest Hillary Duff treacle-fest (see latest scores). ADP is a good piece of work, and for once Tori's growing intellectualism, which admittedly often strikes me as superficial, serves her pretty well. The concept really is an asset. If that doesn't work for you, though, do something many critics haven't and focus on the songs. It seems that a lot of bitter, bitchy journalists in this country have gotten their knickers into a twist over the album's really pretty basic conceptual framework. Avoid that temptation and turn on your stereo. It'll probably be less of a chore than reading. Expand
  26. MeganA
    May 13, 2007
    10
    Simply one of her best albums ever-it's got something for all her fans and a few surprises as well.Buy this one for everyone you know.
  27. Armen
    May 1, 2007
    10
    What an amazing work of art. This is Tori Amos' most "Rock n Roll" album ever. It features some of the most amazing songs ever written by the artist. I don not know how someone cannot fall in love with this record by simply reading the liner notes. The lyrics of this album are a true work of art. The album art direction and the idea of the 5 women is also genius. Definatly worth every cent.
  28. MelissaC
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Amazing. Different. Beautiful. Inspirational. She needs everything wonderful to happen to her. She spreads wonder with each song. Thankou tori.
  29. EricT
    May 2, 2007
    9
    As good as her more lyrical material is, I think it's great to hear Tori rock again. While I'm not in love with every track on the album, I enjoy their diversity, and I know they will speak to a wider audience. As far as length goes, I have always been a fan of the fact that Tori produces long albums -- I feel better paying 20 bucks for an album that has more than 12 tracks on As good as her more lyrical material is, I think it's great to hear Tori rock again. While I'm not in love with every track on the album, I enjoy their diversity, and I know they will speak to a wider audience. As far as length goes, I have always been a fan of the fact that Tori produces long albums -- I feel better paying 20 bucks for an album that has more than 12 tracks on it. Besides, who says you have to listen to all of it at once? Expand
  30. Maria
    May 30, 2007
    10
    This is one of Tori's best albums ever. I love that she didn't sell herself out to compete with the "money market of the industry". She is true to her roots, she mixed it up and added some imagination and a twist on style. I think she had some fun. She is one of the best, we love her in our home. I noticed that most of the critics are so far off the pulse of the listener. I am This is one of Tori's best albums ever. I love that she didn't sell herself out to compete with the "money market of the industry". She is true to her roots, she mixed it up and added some imagination and a twist on style. I think she had some fun. She is one of the best, we love her in our home. I noticed that most of the critics are so far off the pulse of the listener. I am glad I don't worry what they think :) Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Too bad Posse is a conceptual wreck, because it benefits from some of the beefiest, most borderline-glam-rock moments Amos has put on record.
  2. Ambitious, high-concept albums are one thing, but Posse's just a boring mess.
  3. Some of her best work in years is here... There's far too much, though; cut to 10 tracks it would have been her one of her most significant records.