American V: A Hundred Highways

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 2 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanaH
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    Mesmerizing... Rubin did a good job in terms of arrangement of the 12 selections. This album could have been too heavy for most listeners to bear, but just when you think you can't bear it any more, Cash's salt n vinegar humor or (surprisingly) gentle reflectiveness helps us get through. The Man in Black rides out in style ( on the 309)...
  2. MerleH
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    John an I have been good friends since the mid 70's. This man is real. I feel as though i have had a priveledge knowing him and loving him. we love you, John. the Hag
  3. andewb
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    As far as final words go, this is truly fitting. Not a hard hitting goodbye that overshadows any of his earlier works but a gentle whisper that leaves you reflecting on a lifetime of artistic achievment
  4. DavidY
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    Johnny Cash never did set a foot wrong musically, and this record is no exception. Every song on the American series, Cash sings as if it's the last song he'll ever sing, which is spooky considering how close he was to his death recording this album. "Like The 309" nearly brought me to tears when I discovered this was the last song he ever wrote. True genius, which we will never Johnny Cash never did set a foot wrong musically, and this record is no exception. Every song on the American series, Cash sings as if it's the last song he'll ever sing, which is spooky considering how close he was to his death recording this album. "Like The 309" nearly brought me to tears when I discovered this was the last song he ever wrote. True genius, which we will never see again... Expand
  5. ChadM
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    This is a phenomanally haunting collection of songs. I actually think it is the best out of the 5 Americana albums. You can hear him struggling on quite a few songs which really puts where he was at the time of recording in perspective. This is as good as any album released so far this year.
  6. zombiem
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    One of the best of the "American" series if not the best, and certainly one of the best records of the year. "God's Gonna Cut You Down" and "309" are Cash classics on the line with songs from "Folsom Prison" all the way up to his reading of NIN's "Hurt". Though Cash's interpretations of other people's songs have always felt like songs written just for him, this One of the best of the "American" series if not the best, and certainly one of the best records of the year. "God's Gonna Cut You Down" and "309" are Cash classics on the line with songs from "Folsom Prison" all the way up to his reading of NIN's "Hurt". Though Cash's interpretations of other people's songs have always felt like songs written just for him, this collection in particular might as well have "Written by J. R. Cash" in the credits section under each song. That is how connected his voice is to the words - each song lyric carries an additional weight when Cash sings it fully well of his final days. Listen to him sing "you know that ghost is me" in his frail but lovely cover Gordon Lightfoot's "If You Could Read My Mind".. then you'll know what I mean. Get this disc! Expand
  7. JasonR
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    At first listen it has some interesting stuff. But then when you listen to it more and more, the soul of it just starts to run through you. There is something prophetic and engrossing about how these songs mesh togethor and run through your marrow. Just the sound of Mr. Cash's voice and its changes from song to song; sometimes strong, sometimes weaker but resolved... I just At first listen it has some interesting stuff. But then when you listen to it more and more, the soul of it just starts to run through you. There is something prophetic and engrossing about how these songs mesh togethor and run through your marrow. Just the sound of Mr. Cash's voice and its changes from song to song; sometimes strong, sometimes weaker but resolved... I just can't put it into words. Each time I listen, it is less like listening to music and more like feeling... Just feeling it. Inspiring in my humble opinion. Expand
  8. Rev.Rikard
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    This is one of the few albums I have purchased that blends human frailty, personal confession, genuine faith, and unquestionable serenity. Cash is a hurt, grieving man; but, a man who knows it will soon end in utter peace and reunion with his "Rose". For years the Man in Black stood tall as an instrument of protest against injustice, whether the injustice was our treatment of one another This is one of the few albums I have purchased that blends human frailty, personal confession, genuine faith, and unquestionable serenity. Cash is a hurt, grieving man; but, a man who knows it will soon end in utter peace and reunion with his "Rose". For years the Man in Black stood tall as an instrument of protest against injustice, whether the injustice was our treatment of one another or the music establishment's desire to pigeonhole every artist. Here, Cash still stands tall in protest. Now he looks death in the eye and dares it to fill him with regret or fear. Someone once said, "I am not afraid of what happens to me after I die, I am more afraid of what happens to me while I live." On this album we hear what happened to Cash while he lived: he fell, got up, failed, learned, and most of all loved. The choice of songs and the manner in which they are delivered let us know the Man in Black died enlightened. Destiny had to team Cash and Rubin for his last musical statement. Thank God he did not go quietly into the night. Expand
  9. PatH
    Jul 16, 2006
    7
    While his vocals are sad and longing, it does not compete with the first three but better than 4
  10. ChrisP
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    This is the best of the amazing series. Power, feeling and genuine quality flow though every track. I've been moved to tears a few times during this CD - it really is amazing - listen to it without thinking about the history and background to its recording and it's fab but add those factors to it and you realise just how precious this work is. True genious at work.
  11. JosiahR
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    Is it wrong to give Cash a 10 just out of respect? Nevermind that it's a solid offering.
  12. NickM
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    absolutly amazing, this cd is extremely emotional, and extremely well done, it is music at its finest.
  13. madsl
    Aug 28, 2006
    8
    the first half of this album is breathtakingly sublime...a shame that the last half is not half as good. But either way it's a fitting farewell to one of the true icons of western music
  14. ToddW
    Sep 27, 2006
    8
    If this is the late Johnny's swan song, and his vaults say no, he once again puts all of today's "country" stars to shame, and I use that term very loosely. He also has something to say to those rock-n-rollers who long ago forgot that he was the original punk. If he can do this on the brink of eternity, why can't healthy mouth-breathers do anything viable other than run If this is the late Johnny's swan song, and his vaults say no, he once again puts all of today's "country" stars to shame, and I use that term very loosely. He also has something to say to those rock-n-rollers who long ago forgot that he was the original punk. If he can do this on the brink of eternity, why can't healthy mouth-breathers do anything viable other than run their mouths? All mankind is blacker upon his passing. Expand
  15. DecepticonPom
    Dec 13, 2006
    9
    Unlike most of what I normally listen to, but this sent chills through me from the first play. The truly stunning sound of a man accepting of his own death. The Man In Black would have loved this album if he heard it recorded by another artist.
  16. Jul 31, 2012
    8
    Probably the most mellow and gentle of the American Recordings albums. I always got a feel of defiance from volumes III and IV but on V it's almost as if the man in black is resigned to his fate as this point. The fire is almost doused here. This style suits the songs picked for this record - a lot of them have a very delicate feel to them, mirroring the state of the singers health at thisProbably the most mellow and gentle of the American Recordings albums. I always got a feel of defiance from volumes III and IV but on V it's almost as if the man in black is resigned to his fate as this point. The fire is almost doused here. This style suits the songs picked for this record - a lot of them have a very delicate feel to them, mirroring the state of the singers health at this point. Free from the chain gang now.... another fine piece of work that fits in well with his American series and a suitable farewell from a legend. Expand
  17. Jul 24, 2015
    10
    As Cash's voice finally begins to fade away after a life of pain and misery and recently-redemption; he puts power and emotion into the words and crafts them perfectly against equally powerful and emotional instrumentals. The album tell a story of life; pain, joy, and longing..it's all here.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. The songs have a measured, elegiac intensity, the sound of musicians choosing their notes carefully and making just the right choices.
  2. Blender
    70
    Some selections are heartwrenching... But others bear the stain of sentimentality, denial, even exploitation. [Jul 2006, p.98]
  3. Virtually every song sounds like a leave-taking, though the overall mood is reflective and restrained, in places almost easy-going.