An Awesome Wave Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length album for the British quartet who met at Leeds University.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. May 25, 2012
    90
    Young, yet somehow void of naivety. Vibrant, yet artistically matured.
  2. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    You can see every angle and every side of the shape they've made. And the unimpeachable logic of each song, added to their odd tunefulness of the songs, makes them exciting to listen to.
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    80
    There's undeniably something new and intriguing going on here. [Jul 2012, p.95]
  4. Sep 18, 2012
    70
    Despite sounding more like Radiohead's wistful indie-pop nephews than the genuine article, alt-J are a group offering moderate experimentalism that'll serve as an effective gateway for younger fans.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    67
    Alt-J crafts an ethereal ocean of sound that's remarkably cohesive-at once strange and familiar.
  6. Jun 26, 2012
    40
    The whole album is uncertain and unconvincing. [Jul 2012, p.94]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 6 out of 26
  1. khw
    Sep 20, 2012
    10
    Simply stunning.......at first, I was hooked by only one or two songs (Tessellate & Something Good), but with each listen, I discover more depth and more to like. Collapse
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    A new band from Cambridge is pushing the limits of alternative rock to the edge. With transient beats, folksy guitars, layered vocals, and unpredictable song structures, Alt-J Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    This experimental mix of the genres form a sound that refuses to be classified for it jumps from one genre to the next as the album progresses.Each track jumps onto you with an entirely different feel and it gives the album some texture and keeps it interesting for the listener, because you don’t know what’s going to happen next. Alt-J is a different band from any other and so is their sound. However since they are heavily influenced by many other genres, it will sure enough crack open a special niche in your brain, just for them. The experience after listening really is rewarding and refreshing, like an awesome wave. It's not for everyone, but open up to them and you'll be pretty damn glad you did. Underneath all the convoluted composition, is a vibrant, pure personality begging to be heard. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    Who would have thought that one of the year
  5. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    Their sound is intriguing. When I first listening I wasn't sure what to make of it, but I couldn't stop listening. For about a month straight. And the more I listened, the more I appreciated the uniqueness. Fast forward a few months and I'm still as intrigued as ever. Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2013
    5
    It sure is catchy, and fun on first listen, but subsequent listens reveal a lack of depth. The band has a couple of ideas that they spread out through the album. It gets old quickly, and is not something a patrician listener is likely to remember for much longer than a year. Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2013
    0
    An album and a band that have ripped off Leeds' finest, Wild Beasts, to a shameless, crass and pitiful extent. Derived tosh with no heart. They have come and gone now, but I shall not forget the brief time they managed to pull the wool over those less than astute publications' eyes. (looking at you NME!) Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.