An Awesome Wave Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length album for the British quartet who met at Leeds University.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. May 25, 2012
    90
    Young, yet somehow void of naivety. Vibrant, yet artistically matured.
  2. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    You can see every angle and every side of the shape they've made. And the unimpeachable logic of each song, added to their odd tunefulness of the songs, makes them exciting to listen to.
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    80
    There's undeniably something new and intriguing going on here. [Jul 2012, p.95]
  4. Sep 18, 2012
    70
    Despite sounding more like Radiohead's wistful indie-pop nephews than the genuine article, alt-J are a group offering moderate experimentalism that'll serve as an effective gateway for younger fans.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    67
    Alt-J crafts an ethereal ocean of sound that's remarkably cohesive-at once strange and familiar.
  6. Jun 26, 2012
    40
    The whole album is uncertain and unconvincing. [Jul 2012, p.94]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 6 out of 29
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    No other album this year has managed to capture my attention as well as this one. It blends catchy and addictive melodies and a unique voice with a very new sound. Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    From Ars Nova to Dubstep in one album. Alt-J offers a very refreshing approach to music.
    Firmly roted in european musical tradition at the
    same time exploring brand new territories.
    Yet "An Awesome Wave" doesn't feel weird at all, I simply can't get enough of it.
    Expand
  3. khw
    Sep 20, 2012
    10
    Simply stunning.......at first, I was hooked by only one or two songs (Tessellate & Something Good), but with each listen, I discover more depth and more to like. Collapse
  4. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    One Of a best album of this year.

    Simplement agréable, on y retrouve diverses influences, la voix rappelle les Fleet Foxes, bref
    un album entre indie rock, pop, electronic, et hip hop, où l'on retiendra Alt-J. Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2012
    8
    Mercury Prize Winner this year. Debut album. They
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    An Awesome Wave has a lot going on under the one roof and tries to be experimental at every turn. For the most part the record holds together well considering the ambition behind it, however there are times when it feels like there is too much going on. The record is at its strongest at its centre when it is at its most focused. For a debut record, it is very impressive in its complexity and how well this is carried off. I will be very interested to hear how they follow this up or whether they have put all their cards on the table first time round. In general it's a nicely textured record, excellently produced but at times at little unfocused in terms of direction. Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2013
    0
    An album and a band that have ripped off Leeds' finest, Wild Beasts, to a shameless, crass and pitiful extent. Derived tosh with no heart. They have come and gone now, but I shall not forget the brief time they managed to pull the wool over those less than astute publications' eyes. (looking at you NME!) Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.