An End Has A Start

  • Record Label: Fader
  • Release Date: Jul 17, 2007
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 85
  2. Negative: 9 out of 85

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ToddW
    Jul 30, 2007
    2
    Hopefully, this offering is the start of the end for this band. This album can't suck enough. I got their first based on the Interpol comparisons and, as they say, fool me once... This second is even worse. Anyone who is comparing Interpol to these guys is an idiot. Don't even get me started on the Joy Division talk, which is beyond laughable. The person who wrote the Playlouder Hopefully, this offering is the start of the end for this band. This album can't suck enough. I got their first based on the Interpol comparisons and, as they say, fool me once... This second is even worse. Anyone who is comparing Interpol to these guys is an idiot. Don't even get me started on the Joy Division talk, which is beyond laughable. The person who wrote the Playlouder commentary is trying way, WAY too hard to impress the fools who get sucked into this miasma of monotonous musical meanderings. I'd suggest something else for that person: pull your head out of your nether region and really listen to this mess. A 100? a 10? Excuse me as I catch my breath after laughing so hard. Expand
  2. ralphs.
    Jul 18, 2007
    1
    This album is void of anything genuine; it sounds so derivative, like one had the most popular albums from 4 years ago only, listened to them over and over again in a week's time then rushed an album together in few days, always checking to see if the songs sound exactly the same.... forget the comparisons to Joy Division, this band of poseurs is so not in their league... And forget This album is void of anything genuine; it sounds so derivative, like one had the most popular albums from 4 years ago only, listened to them over and over again in a week's time then rushed an album together in few days, always checking to see if the songs sound exactly the same.... forget the comparisons to Joy Division, this band of poseurs is so not in their league... And forget the comparisons to Interpol, Editors cannot hold a candle to Interpol, and that by no means is praise for Interpol either. Expand
  3. nickc
    Jul 29, 2007
    2
    Bunk. While not as much of a complete rip-off of Interpol and the Smiths as their debut, Editors new release just goes to show what hype does to music: celebrate bands with hit-potential that have absolutely no soul or backbone. This CD will be critically acclaimed in 2007, and be all but forgotten by 2010.
  4. ralphs.
    Jul 18, 2007
    1
    This album is void of anything genuine; it sounds so derivative, like one had the most popular albums from 4 years ago only, listened to them over and over again in a week's time then rushed an album together in few days, always checking to see if the songs sound exactly the same.... forget the comparisons to Joy Division, this band of poseurs is so not in their league... And forget This album is void of anything genuine; it sounds so derivative, like one had the most popular albums from 4 years ago only, listened to them over and over again in a week's time then rushed an album together in few days, always checking to see if the songs sound exactly the same.... forget the comparisons to Joy Division, this band of poseurs is so not in their league... And forget the comparisons to Interpol, Editors cannot hold a candle to Interpol, and that by no means is praise for Interpol either. Expand
  5. PatS.
    Jul 18, 2007
    1
    This is terrible music for over-serious, middle-class college students. It's OK to have a sound similar to your influences if you do something with it, but these guys dont. Simply put, this sh*t is just so f*cking dull it makes Coldplay look thrilling.
  6. jimm
    Jul 21, 2007
    1
    Middle class poseurs... hey Tom Smith, get your own thing and quit biting on everyone else's... and if you can't write songs maybe you just shouldn't be in a band.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Occassionally, the songwriting does contain flashes of thoughtfulness.
  2. An End Has a Start actually sounds like it was crafted as ten quite individual chapters of a long-running saga; surprisingly, though, it ultimately works better than its predecessor as a cohesive, flowing album.
  3. By producing a more polished, more accomplished sheen while The Killers have roughed themselves up and forgotten to shave, the two bands have moved towards a middle ground where they're virtually indistinguishable.