Anarchy, My Dear

Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    70
    A fantastic record that edits down everything they've done to its essence without dilution.
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    63
    Initially, the album seems to lack focus, save a steady burn of fury. But the anarchy's in the lack of cohesion, opening with the hand-clapping force of "Burn a Miracle" and progressing manically toward the melodic woe of "Peace Out".
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    70
    The album creates a nice contrast between the pleasant melodies of the songs and the seething, dissatisfied lyrics that rest on top of them.
  4. Anarchy, My Dear is a record that promises that anything could happen at anytime, and Bemis and company do their very best to shake up what has been expected from them as a band.
  5. 70
    While the album may leave some longtime fans pining for their beloved band of yesteryear, those who are willing to listen with open minds (and ears) will soon realize that Say Anything hasn't lost any of its true musical identity, but simply expanded upon it.
  6. Mar 13, 2012
    67
    Max Bemis has padded Anarchy with lushness, delicacy, and nuance. The problem is, Bemis' nuance screeches louder than distortion.
  7. Mar 12, 2012
    80
    Say Anything have always been a hard pill to swallow for some, and while Anarchy doesn't change that, it shows that they have far more than just the one spanner in the toolbox.
  8. Mar 12, 2012
    70
    Unlike on Say Anything, though, DuPree-Bemis' presence this time around feels less shoehorned in, helping contribute to a loose, lively, fun record.
  9. Entertainment Weekly
    Mar 16, 2012
    83
    Like a good long-distance run, Anarchy rewards with bursts of sonic endorphins. [16 Mar 2012, p.69]
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    It's funny how the negative reviews on the critic's side say that Bemis has nothing to have 'venom' about because much of his spite in thisIt's funny how the negative reviews on the critic's side say that Bemis has nothing to have 'venom' about because much of his spite in this record is aimed towards critics like them. Also, just because an artist got their life together after years of depression doesn't mean that he or she can't write music that's just as passionate as it ever was. Do yourself a favor and don't listen to the critics on this one. They never say anything good anyway. It's probably because most of them are bitter and don't know how to transmit their emotions into something memorable, like real artists do. Max Bemis continues to do just that with this album. Full Review »
  2. Mar 15, 2012
    8
    Personally, I didn't enjoy this album, but only because I like 'old' Say Anything, back in Baseball and Real Boy days. I liked the old-schoolPersonally, I didn't enjoy this album, but only because I like 'old' Say Anything, back in Baseball and Real Boy days. I liked the old-school punk feeling from those albums. That's sort of a reason I didn't like this album, because of it's absence of old-school Say Anything feeling. However, I'm giving it a positive review because I still love the band, and their music still has a lot of passion and meaning to them. So, it might not have been what I was hoping for, but it's still a good album for what it is. Full Review »
  3. Sep 16, 2015
    5
    Meh, it's ok. Least favorite Say Anything album. Has a few tracks I enjoy, and I don't dread listening to it, but unlike other SA albumsMeh, it's ok. Least favorite Say Anything album. Has a few tracks I enjoy, and I don't dread listening to it, but unlike other SA albums there's little to draw me back to the songs. Full Review »