Anarchy, My Dear - Say Anything
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    It's funny how the negative reviews on the critic's side say that Bemis has nothing to have 'venom' about because much of his spite in this record is aimed towards critics like them. Also, just because an artist got their life together after years of depression doesn't mean that he or she can't write music that's just as passionate as it ever was. Do yourself a favor and don't listen toIt's funny how the negative reviews on the critic's side say that Bemis has nothing to have 'venom' about because much of his spite in this record is aimed towards critics like them. Also, just because an artist got their life together after years of depression doesn't mean that he or she can't write music that's just as passionate as it ever was. Do yourself a favor and don't listen to the critics on this one. They never say anything good anyway. It's probably because most of them are bitter and don't know how to transmit their emotions into something memorable, like real artists do. Max Bemis continues to do just that with this album. Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2012
    8
    Personally, I didn't enjoy this album, but only because I like 'old' Say Anything, back in Baseball and Real Boy days. I liked the old-school punk feeling from those albums. That's sort of a reason I didn't like this album, because of it's absence of old-school Say Anything feeling. However, I'm giving it a positive review because I still love the band, and their music still has a lot ofPersonally, I didn't enjoy this album, but only because I like 'old' Say Anything, back in Baseball and Real Boy days. I liked the old-school punk feeling from those albums. That's sort of a reason I didn't like this album, because of it's absence of old-school Say Anything feeling. However, I'm giving it a positive review because I still love the band, and their music still has a lot of passion and meaning to them. So, it might not have been what I was hoping for, but it's still a good album for what it is. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    A departure from the norm, as Say Anything often does and although I wasn't pleased initially, the album grows on you a lot. Not a masterpiece, but a solid release.
  4. Apr 18, 2012
    2
    "...Is a Real Boy" is one of my favorite albums, and every album since has kept my attention for a few listens. When I listened to the first 3 songs of this album, I felt ashamed of myself for considering their first two records any good. The actual music uses all the worst pop-punk conventions I remember from the New Found Glory days and Max Bemis's annoying singing and"...Is a Real Boy" is one of my favorite albums, and every album since has kept my attention for a few listens. When I listened to the first 3 songs of this album, I felt ashamed of myself for considering their first two records any good. The actual music uses all the worst pop-punk conventions I remember from the New Found Glory days and Max Bemis's annoying singing and faux-intelligent, depressing lyrics sound like a different band making fun of "...Is a Real Boy". Sorry if I didn't get through every track, but I couldn't do that to myself - it's unbearable trying to relate to Bemis's teen angst. Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    3
    If a band determine themselves as playing pop punk, emo or alternative rock - it will be automatically expected for them to play a solid, energetic portion of music that will be able to ravish the listener. But what Say Anything placed on "Anarchy, My Dear" is simply an insult to the self-respecting rock band. Where the vocals had to be subtle and provide some excitement, at times it isIf a band determine themselves as playing pop punk, emo or alternative rock - it will be automatically expected for them to play a solid, energetic portion of music that will be able to ravish the listener. But what Say Anything placed on "Anarchy, My Dear" is simply an insult to the self-respecting rock band. Where the vocals had to be subtle and provide some excitement, at times it is unbearable ("The Stephen Hawking"), melody layer and individual instrument parts are boring, and sometimes pathetic. Although somewhere out there you can capture an interesting nuance, nevertheless it is so short and dominated by the musical portion of the crap - that it's a shame to even mention it. Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    1
    This is a band that has WAY more potential than this. It is a bit tiring to hear songs about Bemis' wife for a whole album. The overall production quality is quite poor as well.
  7. Sep 17, 2013
    5
    This wouldn't have been so bad if Bemis hadn't completely lied about its premise in the months leading up to its release. That being said, it's not very good either way. "The Stephen Hawking" and the title song "Anarchy, My Dear" are the crowning jewels of this release, and everything else feels like filler.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    63
    Initially, the album seems to lack focus, save a steady burn of fury. But the anarchy's in the lack of cohesion, opening with the hand-clapping force of "Burn a Miracle" and progressing manically toward the melodic woe of "Peace Out".
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    50
    The problem is that the rantier Bemis gets about poseurs, the more he forgets to write hooks for his invectives, which strive for Real Boy's Broadway-punk propulsive grace, but strain under the weight of unsingable lines.
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    70
    The album creates a nice contrast between the pleasant melodies of the songs and the seething, dissatisfied lyrics that rest on top of them.