• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jan 5, 2010
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 87 out of 231

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    A great debut album, Ke $ ha knew well the effect of using auto-tune, their songs are fun to dance and forget their problems, is a complete album made for fun, as well as the artist, it may seem commercial but is nonetheless a good album.
    Highlights: Tik Tok and Animal
    Lows: Hungover and Boots And Boys
  2. ManuelK
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Definitely a contender in the run for Best Album of 2010. The beats are sick (thanks to the genius that is Dr.Luke). The lyrics are sicker. Her voice is so autotuned it's ridiculous...But it all makes for a fun album. A MUST-HEAR album for parties to come. I was ready to write her off as jst another white-trash Britney wannabe...but this girl has BALLS...and i mean BALLS! Songs like Definitely a contender in the run for Best Album of 2010. The beats are sick (thanks to the genius that is Dr.Luke). The lyrics are sicker. Her voice is so autotuned it's ridiculous...But it all makes for a fun album. A MUST-HEAR album for parties to come. I was ready to write her off as jst another white-trash Britney wannabe...but this girl has BALLS...and i mean BALLS! Songs like "Boots & Boys" & "Take it Off" are basically Britney songs sung in Ke$ha's voice. But the songs have HIT written alll ove them. Expand
  3. JB
    Jan 19, 2010
    8
    I must not have any taste, but this CD makes me smile. I am not sure she is trying to be ironic, but damn if I want to laugh. The beats are catchy. She reminds me of an Uffie, but with better production.
  4. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    Best album of 2010. 1. "Your Love Is My Drug" 7/10 (Annoying Chorus, great otherwise)
    2. "Tik Tok" 8/10 (Great Track, But Over Played)
    3. "Take It Off" 10/10 (Amazing track all around, only critique too much autotune) 4. "Kiss 'N' Tell" 10/10 (Great lyrics about a cheating boyfriend, overall extremely catchy) 5. "Stephen"
    Best album of 2010. 1. "Your Love Is My Drug" 7/10 (Annoying Chorus, great otherwise)
    2. "Tik Tok" 8/10 (Great Track, But Over Played)
    3. "Take It Off" 10/10 (Amazing track all around, only critique too much autotune)
    4. "Kiss 'N' Tell" 10/10 (Great lyrics about a cheating boyfriend, overall extremely catchy)
    5. "Stephen" 5/10 (Oh dear, only song i cant stand)
    6. "Blah Blah Blah" (featuring 3OH!3) 10/10 (Effective lyrics and great overall track)
    7. "Hungover" 10/10 (A softer side of Kesha, great track) 8. "Party at a Rich Dude's House" 7/10 (Missing a special something)
    9. "Backstabber" 8/10 (Great track)
    10. "Blind" 10/10 (Favorite track from the album)
    11. "Dinosaur" 7/10 (Funny but a little blah)
    12. "Dancing with Tears in My Eyes" 9/10 (Amazing lyrics, typical chorus)
    13. "Boots & Boys" 6/10 (Missing something)
    14. "Animal" 10/10 (Great track )
    Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    This CD Should Of Won ALBUM OF THE YEAR! A Great Debut Album, Almost As Good As Katy Perry's One Of The Boys.
    Kesha "Ke$ha" Sebert Has A Very Different Sound Than Anyone I Have Ever Heard.. I Don't Care What Other People Say "She Can't Sing Live Withought Autotune" Yes It Sounds Different... But Still Good!
    Below Is A Score Of Every Song On Ke$ha's Debut Album: Animal Your Love Is My
    This CD Should Of Won ALBUM OF THE YEAR! A Great Debut Album, Almost As Good As Katy Perry's One Of The Boys.
    Kesha "Ke$ha" Sebert Has A Very Different Sound Than Anyone I Have Ever Heard.. I Don't Care What Other People Say "She Can't Sing Live Withought Autotune" Yes It Sounds Different... But Still Good!
    Below Is A Score Of Every Song On Ke$ha's Debut Album: Animal
    Your Love Is My Drug 10/10
    Tik Tok 9/10
    Take It Off 9/10
    Ki$$ And Tell 8/10
    Stephen 9/10
    Blah Blah Blah (The Hardest Song To Score.. I Hate The Guys.... K$ Does Fine) 8/10
    Hungover 10/10
    Party At A Rich Dudes House 8/10
    Blind 9/10
    D.I.N.A.$.A.U.R. (Best Lyrics) 10/10
    Dancing With Tears In My Eyes 8/10
    Boots & Boys (The Worst Song On The CD 6/10)
    Animal (BEST VOCALS & The BEST SONG ON THE CD!) 10/10
    Expand
  6. KyleM
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    Already think it will be one of the best albums this year!!
  7. PedroH
    Jan 14, 2010
    8
    After the huge success of 'TiK ToK', all we could expect from Ke$ha was a party-all-the-time-album. Well, seems like the new rising star of 2010 have more than fun to offer in her debut-album 'Animal'. The tracks 'Blind' and 'Dancinw With Tears In My Eyes' show this. But don't be foolish to think that the party here is poorly. 'Take It After the huge success of 'TiK ToK', all we could expect from Ke$ha was a party-all-the-time-album. Well, seems like the new rising star of 2010 have more than fun to offer in her debut-album 'Animal'. The tracks 'Blind' and 'Dancinw With Tears In My Eyes' show this. But don't be foolish to think that the party here is poorly. 'Take It Off', 'Blah Blah Blah' and 'Party At A Rich Dude's House' are three of the best dance tracks of 2010. Mix all this with a funny-track ('Stephen'), an alternative song-truth ('Animal') and a teenager-adventure ('Backstabber' and 'Dinosaur') and you've got one of the greatest albums of the year. Collapse
  8. JJFad
    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    I'm giving her an 8 just because I enjoy Tik Tok and I think she deserves a little love for it. After listening to the album twice, I can't really remember any of the songs, but there were definitely some chuckle worthy lyrics in there, particularly from the terribad "Dinosaur." She seems a little like a sloppy ho, which resonates with me hahah. I'll look forward to a maybe I'm giving her an 8 just because I enjoy Tik Tok and I think she deserves a little love for it. After listening to the album twice, I can't really remember any of the songs, but there were definitely some chuckle worthy lyrics in there, particularly from the terribad "Dinosaur." She seems a little like a sloppy ho, which resonates with me hahah. I'll look forward to a maybe more thought-through second album. Expand
  9. BrianN
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    I love this album, this is what 2010 should sound like. Ke$ha is the next star in today's pop scene.
  10. JonS
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    LOVE this album!!
  11. nemo.
    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    Despite the ridiculous lyrics the album is a fun catchy dance album!
  12. TatianaG
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    This is very new music. Some songs sound similar at first listen. The album grows and grows on you. Great album.
  13. AshtonM
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    New pop princess Ke$ha proves that she can make hits easily with this re-freshing electro-pop album, 'Animal'. With all songs written by the young starlet, they focus around typical things that happen in life; such as having an untrustworthy friend (Backstabber), going out and having a good time despite having no money (TiK ToK), or feeling lonely without having your lover by New pop princess Ke$ha proves that she can make hits easily with this re-freshing electro-pop album, 'Animal'. With all songs written by the young starlet, they focus around typical things that happen in life; such as having an untrustworthy friend (Backstabber), going out and having a good time despite having no money (TiK ToK), or feeling lonely without having your lover by your side (Dancing with Tears in My Eyes). With this club banging album that'll be playing on your mp3 all night, I think 'Animal rightfully deserves a 10/10. Perfect material for a rising debut pop star. Adults and Teenagers will love it, it has a very fun anthem to it. Enjoy! Expand
  14. laura
    Jan 28, 2010
    8
    Its funny that it's either 0 points or ten points here for this album. seems like most of the people have just decided (by hearing Tik Tok) that she is just one rubbish product of greedy music-industry. well, i totally understand why you think so, though so after hearing tik tok for the first time. ok, her music is lyrically brainless, incredibly catchy (which may annoy some people) Its funny that it's either 0 points or ten points here for this album. seems like most of the people have just decided (by hearing Tik Tok) that she is just one rubbish product of greedy music-industry. well, i totally understand why you think so, though so after hearing tik tok for the first time. ok, her music is lyrically brainless, incredibly catchy (which may annoy some people) mainstream pop with autotuned vocals. despite those facts i am still able to enjoy this album, not as an atistically deep piece of art, but as a fun party-album that makes me want to sing-along and dance around. she has said herself that she made this album to make some people dance, so why you are taking it so seriously? listen to 'party at the rich dudes house' and tell me if you still think she's serious. i give 8 out of ten, because as i previously stated, this is perfect music for going out and having good time. Expand
  15. matth
    Jan 10, 2010
    8
    Ke$ha is a the whore version of Taylor Swift, and I am not gonna lie but her cd is very catchy.
  16. Jun 2, 2011
    8
    Much like Lady Gaga's "The Fame", Ke$ha's "Animal" is one of the most well-polished successors to Britney Spears' "Blackout". Hard to listen at first, it becomes very enjoyable after multiple listens though intellectually, she never seems to veer away from the drunk materialistic gal she's embodying in every song or video. Even so, her portrayal is sincere and rocking and the fact that sheMuch like Lady Gaga's "The Fame", Ke$ha's "Animal" is one of the most well-polished successors to Britney Spears' "Blackout". Hard to listen at first, it becomes very enjoyable after multiple listens though intellectually, she never seems to veer away from the drunk materialistic gal she's embodying in every song or video. Even so, her portrayal is sincere and rocking and the fact that she doesn't give a f*ck what you think makes the music more enjoyable to listen to. A drunk record with a drunk soul. Expand
  17. MichaelW.
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    Surprisingly addictive. I keep listening to it over and over. Very catchy, funny, and there are some real hits on here. Favorite song right now is the title track Animal
  18. Craig
    Jan 5, 2010
    8
    It's slutty, naughty, sleezy and over-produced. But that is the very reason as to why its such a success. Kesha comes off the streets and into our ears with one of the raunchiest albums of the year. But as drunken and atroshish as this album may be, her heart fills each song to its fullest like the cups of alcohol she has in her hands. Each song is frisky and fun, not trying to be a It's slutty, naughty, sleezy and over-produced. But that is the very reason as to why its such a success. Kesha comes off the streets and into our ears with one of the raunchiest albums of the year. But as drunken and atroshish as this album may be, her heart fills each song to its fullest like the cups of alcohol she has in her hands. Each song is frisky and fun, not trying to be a political statement or the next song you will hear at church. Kesha doesn't play by the rules and doesn't give a shit. Finally, an album that is pure joy and fluff (good fluff that it is). One-night stands and bottles of jack have never seemed so sophisticated. Expand
  19. JimC.
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    Takes the inane debauchery of pop music and exaggerates it to a facetious extreme that is both fun and funny. Ke$ha is part of a new generation of pop artists including Lady Gaga, in that any kind of sincerity is forgone in favor of practicing the "art" of popular music. This album has so many quotable lines it is sure to spread wildly and float regardless of critical response. With 5+ Takes the inane debauchery of pop music and exaggerates it to a facetious extreme that is both fun and funny. Ke$ha is part of a new generation of pop artists including Lady Gaga, in that any kind of sincerity is forgone in favor of practicing the "art" of popular music. This album has so many quotable lines it is sure to spread wildly and float regardless of critical response. With 5+ radio-worthy tracks, this album is a tailor-made sensation. Expand
  20. Sammy
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Love it......I'm sure the haters are either 30-something or only care about rockbands :) music doesn't have to be serious all the time.....HAVE A LIL FUN!
  21. Miniiime
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    I love Ke$ha. I'm a teenager and I think her music is very different to most artist atm. I've listened Uffie before and Ke$ha kind is like the complete oppesites as the both make music about oppersite things. (listen to Uffie Dismissed and Ke$ha Blah Blah Blah too understand what I'm saying) so I don't see why people are comparing, If I compared Ke$ha too someone it I love Ke$ha. I'm a teenager and I think her music is very different to most artist atm. I've listened Uffie before and Ke$ha kind is like the complete oppesites as the both make music about oppersite things. (listen to Uffie Dismissed and Ke$ha Blah Blah Blah too understand what I'm saying) so I don't see why people are comparing, If I compared Ke$ha too someone it would be Lady Gaga as there both electronica and make music about the same sort of things. But anyway Good album, I love pretty much all of it XD my fav song is Your Love is My Drug. Expand
  22. Nov 1, 2010
    7
    With Animal, Ke$ha proves that she can make a nice-use of the auto-tune, with many danceable songs, despite this, we can't even say if she has any vocal ability.
  23. Nov 6, 2010
    7
    She has sass and i'll say that. The album has just a tad bit to much auto-tune to it. Yet songs like "Kiss n Tell" and "Your Love is My Drug" are obvious best. The worst " Take it Off". It has just too much auto-tuned to it.Though the dance sound is nice at many times.
  24. Nov 25, 2010
    7
    Animal have (like the most of the albums) a message on the lyrics. The message of Animal is: "it's party time". The album's lyrics are about party and that's good because in this world full of concerns, you need to forget it and chill out. However, the album take that party message to a extreme. The album in an only word: "catchy".
  25. Nov 26, 2010
    7
    Her debut album is neither bad nor too good. It is good. Her songs are catchy and fun. The album is made for the dancefloor from "Your Love Is My Drug" to "Animal." Her techno-ballads possess that dancefloor beat. Lyrically, TiK ToK, Back$tabber, and etc is bad, "trying too hard", and empty. I love the rhythm and beats but the alcoholic lyrics is not needed.
  26. Dec 12, 2010
    9
    I am a little ashamed to say that I really liked this album. Some may say a lot of bad things, but in it, there is tons of great songs. I mean, "Tik Tok" already entered on the world pop culture. A lot of singers have covered this song, it appeared on Simpsons, and even earned a fun video parody with Star Wars. Everyone that listened to the song, got it stuck on their minds. I mean, it'sI am a little ashamed to say that I really liked this album. Some may say a lot of bad things, but in it, there is tons of great songs. I mean, "Tik Tok" already entered on the world pop culture. A lot of singers have covered this song, it appeared on Simpsons, and even earned a fun video parody with Star Wars. Everyone that listened to the song, got it stuck on their minds. I mean, it's not clever, but this is the POP song that we have been waiting since Britney Spears' "Toxic." But there are other two song extremely good on the album: "Take It Off", a hard song that is incredibly catchy and "Animal" that is the one that everyone that says that Kesha doesn't write good music should listen to. "Hungover" is another song that shows a different side of her. I mean, you will like this album, if you do not take it seriously. Expand
  27. Aug 4, 2012
    7
    The songs on Animal are catchy, but a lot of them are too similar and generic. Ke$ha does display a lot of personality on the album. Although there was a bit too much auto-tune, one thing I liked seemed to pop up on a few of the songs' final hooks: the way her vocals were layered (on Animal, DWTIME, KnT, Blind). Unfortunately, Ke$ha doesn't display as much talent as she has.
  28. May 19, 2012
    7
    There are many earworms on this album, but Kesha's delivery is the same in each song. It's part of her appeal, but it gets old quite fast. Once again I keep admiring the people who wrote these songs (it's not easy to write light pop songs that you can hum after hearing them once) rather than the performer. And after seeing Kesha live at some TV shows, it's clear that she needs autotune forThere are many earworms on this album, but Kesha's delivery is the same in each song. It's part of her appeal, but it gets old quite fast. Once again I keep admiring the people who wrote these songs (it's not easy to write light pop songs that you can hum after hearing them once) rather than the performer. And after seeing Kesha live at some TV shows, it's clear that she needs autotune for more than just a cool sound effect. Expand
  29. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    The debut album from Ke$ha is certainly a good one! Although the auto tune can be quite unkind at times theres no doubt the tracks on this are lyrically amazing and they will get you dancing! If you take a look at the 4 singles released TiK ToK,Blah Blah Blah,Your Love Is My Drug and Take It Off, most people just think its an album full of party tracks, wrong. Look at songs like Stephen,The debut album from Ke$ha is certainly a good one! Although the auto tune can be quite unkind at times theres no doubt the tracks on this are lyrically amazing and they will get you dancing! If you take a look at the 4 singles released TiK ToK,Blah Blah Blah,Your Love Is My Drug and Take It Off, most people just think its an album full of party tracks, wrong. Look at songs like Stephen, Blind and Dancing With Tears In My Eyes. Overall a favourable album with highlights such as TiK ToK, Animal, Your Love Is My Drug, Blind and Take It Off. The only low i can find in the whole album would be Boots & Boys, i just dont really like the song personally. If you dont have the album yet, pick it up now its worth it! Expand
  30. May 22, 2014
    10
    After 20+ listenings I would give the album an A.
    After a while you learn to appreciate each and every song on this fun dance pop album. It's -as is clearer now- certainly an album with a clear organic connection to the singer. I would suggest listening to Animal Inside, a very beautiful song.
  31. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    Nice debut album from Ke$ha that managed to deliver a string of hits. It's pure party pop music, and sure Ke$ha might not have the best voice but it's a fun album and full of catchy songs. Worth buying :)
  32. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    Below Is A List Of The Songs And A Score Out Of 10
    Overall A Good Debut!

    Your Love Is My Drug 10/10
    Tik Tok 10/10
    Take It Off 10/10
    Ki$$ N Tell 9/10
    $tephen 8/10
    Blah Blah Blah 7/10
    Hungover 10/10
    Party At A Rich Dude'$ Hou$e 9/10
    Back$tabber 6/10
    Blind 8/10
    DINO$AUR 7/10
    Dancing With Tear$ In My Eye$ 8/10
    Boot$ And Boy$ 7/10
    Animal 10/10
  33. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    If you overlook the intense autotune use, this album was actually very good. Ke$ha shows the world it's okay to be crazy and fun loving, with humorous lyrics and catchy beats.
  34. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    I love this CD! This is not a "mixed or average" CD! This is Ke$ha's best work, and you can see that in the songs. And songs like "Dancing With Tears In My Eyes" show that Ke$ha isn't just a party girl.
  35. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    While this album is generic pop, its well done generic pop. All the songs are very catchy. Especially Backstabber and Kiss 'n' Tell are songs you'll be singing to within three listens.
  36. May 10, 2015
    7
    A fun album, but too much auto-tune. Other than "Tik Tok", there are standout tracks including fun bops such as "Your Love Is My Drug", "Take It Off", "Kiss n Tell", and "Animal". Overall a moderate debut album for Kesha.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. It’s hard to remember the last time an album so flat and vacuous generated such a buzz.
  2. Here he frames her Valley Girl sneer with electro-glam arrangements that make brushing one's teeth ''with a bottle of Jack'' sound like an awesome way to kill the morning-after blues.
  3. Ke$ha's tipsy lilt allows her to effortlessly shift from half-singing to half-talking, a technique that makes her vocals carom like shiny pinballs against the crazy beats and sound effects that make up these tracks. She never gets bogged down or sounds like she's trying too hard.