• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jan 5, 2010
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 87 out of 231

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ManuelK
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Definitely a contender in the run for Best Album of 2010. The beats are sick (thanks to the genius that is Dr.Luke). The lyrics are sicker. Her voice is so autotuned it's ridiculous...But it all makes for a fun album. A MUST-HEAR album for parties to come. I was ready to write her off as jst another white-trash Britney wannabe...but this girl has BALLS...and i mean BALLS! Songs like Definitely a contender in the run for Best Album of 2010. The beats are sick (thanks to the genius that is Dr.Luke). The lyrics are sicker. Her voice is so autotuned it's ridiculous...But it all makes for a fun album. A MUST-HEAR album for parties to come. I was ready to write her off as jst another white-trash Britney wannabe...but this girl has BALLS...and i mean BALLS! Songs like "Boots & Boys" & "Take it Off" are basically Britney songs sung in Ke$ha's voice. But the songs have HIT written alll ove them. Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    Best album of 2010. 1. "Your Love Is My Drug" 7/10 (Annoying Chorus, great otherwise)
    2. "Tik Tok" 8/10 (Great Track, But Over Played)
    3. "Take It Off" 10/10 (Amazing track all around, only critique too much autotune) 4. "Kiss 'N' Tell" 10/10 (Great lyrics about a cheating boyfriend, overall extremely catchy) 5. "Stephen"
    Best album of 2010. 1. "Your Love Is My Drug" 7/10 (Annoying Chorus, great otherwise)
    2. "Tik Tok" 8/10 (Great Track, But Over Played)
    3. "Take It Off" 10/10 (Amazing track all around, only critique too much autotune)
    4. "Kiss 'N' Tell" 10/10 (Great lyrics about a cheating boyfriend, overall extremely catchy)
    5. "Stephen" 5/10 (Oh dear, only song i cant stand)
    6. "Blah Blah Blah" (featuring 3OH!3) 10/10 (Effective lyrics and great overall track)
    7. "Hungover" 10/10 (A softer side of Kesha, great track) 8. "Party at a Rich Dude's House" 7/10 (Missing a special something)
    9. "Backstabber" 8/10 (Great track)
    10. "Blind" 10/10 (Favorite track from the album)
    11. "Dinosaur" 7/10 (Funny but a little blah)
    12. "Dancing with Tears in My Eyes" 9/10 (Amazing lyrics, typical chorus)
    13. "Boots & Boys" 6/10 (Missing something)
    14. "Animal" 10/10 (Great track )
    Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    This CD Should Of Won ALBUM OF THE YEAR! A Great Debut Album, Almost As Good As Katy Perry's One Of The Boys.
    Kesha "Ke$ha" Sebert Has A Very Different Sound Than Anyone I Have Ever Heard.. I Don't Care What Other People Say "She Can't Sing Live Withought Autotune" Yes It Sounds Different... But Still Good!
    Below Is A Score Of Every Song On Ke$ha's Debut Album: Animal Your Love Is My
    This CD Should Of Won ALBUM OF THE YEAR! A Great Debut Album, Almost As Good As Katy Perry's One Of The Boys.
    Kesha "Ke$ha" Sebert Has A Very Different Sound Than Anyone I Have Ever Heard.. I Don't Care What Other People Say "She Can't Sing Live Withought Autotune" Yes It Sounds Different... But Still Good!
    Below Is A Score Of Every Song On Ke$ha's Debut Album: Animal
    Your Love Is My Drug 10/10
    Tik Tok 9/10
    Take It Off 9/10
    Ki$$ And Tell 8/10
    Stephen 9/10
    Blah Blah Blah (The Hardest Song To Score.. I Hate The Guys.... K$ Does Fine) 8/10
    Hungover 10/10
    Party At A Rich Dudes House 8/10
    Blind 9/10
    D.I.N.A.$.A.U.R. (Best Lyrics) 10/10
    Dancing With Tears In My Eyes 8/10
    Boots & Boys (The Worst Song On The CD 6/10)
    Animal (BEST VOCALS & The BEST SONG ON THE CD!) 10/10
    Expand
  4. KyleM
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    Already think it will be one of the best albums this year!!
  5. BrianN
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    I love this album, this is what 2010 should sound like. Ke$ha is the next star in today's pop scene.
  6. JonS
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    LOVE this album!!
  7. nemo.
    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    Despite the ridiculous lyrics the album is a fun catchy dance album!
  8. TatianaG
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    This is very new music. Some songs sound similar at first listen. The album grows and grows on you. Great album.
  9. AshtonM
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    New pop princess Ke$ha proves that she can make hits easily with this re-freshing electro-pop album, 'Animal'. With all songs written by the young starlet, they focus around typical things that happen in life; such as having an untrustworthy friend (Backstabber), going out and having a good time despite having no money (TiK ToK), or feeling lonely without having your lover by New pop princess Ke$ha proves that she can make hits easily with this re-freshing electro-pop album, 'Animal'. With all songs written by the young starlet, they focus around typical things that happen in life; such as having an untrustworthy friend (Backstabber), going out and having a good time despite having no money (TiK ToK), or feeling lonely without having your lover by your side (Dancing with Tears in My Eyes). With this club banging album that'll be playing on your mp3 all night, I think 'Animal rightfully deserves a 10/10. Perfect material for a rising debut pop star. Adults and Teenagers will love it, it has a very fun anthem to it. Enjoy! Expand
  10. MichaelW.
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    Surprisingly addictive. I keep listening to it over and over. Very catchy, funny, and there are some real hits on here. Favorite song right now is the title track Animal
  11. JimC.
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    Takes the inane debauchery of pop music and exaggerates it to a facetious extreme that is both fun and funny. Ke$ha is part of a new generation of pop artists including Lady Gaga, in that any kind of sincerity is forgone in favor of practicing the "art" of popular music. This album has so many quotable lines it is sure to spread wildly and float regardless of critical response. With 5+ Takes the inane debauchery of pop music and exaggerates it to a facetious extreme that is both fun and funny. Ke$ha is part of a new generation of pop artists including Lady Gaga, in that any kind of sincerity is forgone in favor of practicing the "art" of popular music. This album has so many quotable lines it is sure to spread wildly and float regardless of critical response. With 5+ radio-worthy tracks, this album is a tailor-made sensation. Expand
  12. Sammy
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Love it......I'm sure the haters are either 30-something or only care about rockbands :) music doesn't have to be serious all the time.....HAVE A LIL FUN!
  13. Miniiime
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    I love Ke$ha. I'm a teenager and I think her music is very different to most artist atm. I've listened Uffie before and Ke$ha kind is like the complete oppesites as the both make music about oppersite things. (listen to Uffie Dismissed and Ke$ha Blah Blah Blah too understand what I'm saying) so I don't see why people are comparing, If I compared Ke$ha too someone it I love Ke$ha. I'm a teenager and I think her music is very different to most artist atm. I've listened Uffie before and Ke$ha kind is like the complete oppesites as the both make music about oppersite things. (listen to Uffie Dismissed and Ke$ha Blah Blah Blah too understand what I'm saying) so I don't see why people are comparing, If I compared Ke$ha too someone it would be Lady Gaga as there both electronica and make music about the same sort of things. But anyway Good album, I love pretty much all of it XD my fav song is Your Love is My Drug. Expand
  14. Dec 12, 2010
    9
    I am a little ashamed to say that I really liked this album. Some may say a lot of bad things, but in it, there is tons of great songs. I mean, "Tik Tok" already entered on the world pop culture. A lot of singers have covered this song, it appeared on Simpsons, and even earned a fun video parody with Star Wars. Everyone that listened to the song, got it stuck on their minds. I mean, it'sI am a little ashamed to say that I really liked this album. Some may say a lot of bad things, but in it, there is tons of great songs. I mean, "Tik Tok" already entered on the world pop culture. A lot of singers have covered this song, it appeared on Simpsons, and even earned a fun video parody with Star Wars. Everyone that listened to the song, got it stuck on their minds. I mean, it's not clever, but this is the POP song that we have been waiting since Britney Spears' "Toxic." But there are other two song extremely good on the album: "Take It Off", a hard song that is incredibly catchy and "Animal" that is the one that everyone that says that Kesha doesn't write good music should listen to. "Hungover" is another song that shows a different side of her. I mean, you will like this album, if you do not take it seriously. Expand
  15. May 22, 2014
    10
    After 20+ listenings I would give the album an A.
    After a while you learn to appreciate each and every song on this fun dance pop album. It's -as is clearer now- certainly an album with a clear organic connection to the singer. I would suggest listening to Animal Inside, a very beautiful song.
  16. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    I love this CD! This is not a "mixed or average" CD! This is Ke$ha's best work, and you can see that in the songs. And songs like "Dancing With Tears In My Eyes" show that Ke$ha isn't just a party girl.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. It’s hard to remember the last time an album so flat and vacuous generated such a buzz.
  2. Here he frames her Valley Girl sneer with electro-glam arrangements that make brushing one's teeth ''with a bottle of Jack'' sound like an awesome way to kill the morning-after blues.
  3. Ke$ha's tipsy lilt allows her to effortlessly shift from half-singing to half-talking, a technique that makes her vocals carom like shiny pinballs against the crazy beats and sound effects that make up these tracks. She never gets bogged down or sounds like she's trying too hard.