Animal

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jan 5, 2010
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 258 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 258

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkB.
    Jan 6, 2010
    5
    To many same sounding songs.
  2. matth
    Jan 10, 2010
    8
    Ke$ha is a the whore version of Taylor Swift, and I am not gonna lie but her cd is very catchy.
  3. StanJ
    Jan 12, 2010
    0
    Absolutely horrible "music" that is more or less a copy of Uffie. How talking over beats with poor lyricism can be be considered music is anyone's guess. Rappers are much more clever than Ke$sha. Maybe the dollar sign in her name signifies how much it's worth?
  4. steve
    Jan 10, 2010
    0
    Utter crap. The music biz is already way too diluted with garbage. This is worse than garbage. Let's hope she goes away for good. I saw her on Conan O'Brien. Stupid song, stupid lyrics and lame trashy manufactured MTV persona.
  5. ManuelK
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Definitely a contender in the run for Best Album of 2010. The beats are sick (thanks to the genius that is Dr.Luke). The lyrics are sicker. Her voice is so autotuned it's ridiculous...But it all makes for a fun album. A MUST-HEAR album for parties to come. I was ready to write her off as jst another white-trash Britney wannabe...but this girl has BALLS...and i mean BALLS! Songs like Definitely a contender in the run for Best Album of 2010. The beats are sick (thanks to the genius that is Dr.Luke). The lyrics are sicker. Her voice is so autotuned it's ridiculous...But it all makes for a fun album. A MUST-HEAR album for parties to come. I was ready to write her off as jst another white-trash Britney wannabe...but this girl has BALLS...and i mean BALLS! Songs like "Boots & Boys" & "Take it Off" are basically Britney songs sung in Ke$ha's voice. But the songs have HIT written alll ove them. Expand
  6. JB
    Jan 19, 2010
    8
    I must not have any taste, but this CD makes me smile. I am not sure she is trying to be ironic, but damn if I want to laugh. The beats are catchy. She reminds me of an Uffie, but with better production.
  7. GabrielS.
    Jan 8, 2010
    0
    Horrible, just plain horrible. Lyrics, Beats, and the HEAVY use of Auto-tune is disturbing. But I don't know who is worse though, her or Soulja Boy?
  8. KirstenR.
    Jan 10, 2010
    0
    Listened to this album with a completely open mind, and it was still absolutely horrible.
  9. randyy.
    Jan 10, 2010
    0
    Another bad debut album. The lyrics are easily some of the most stupid ever. I'm a teenager and even i think this sounds terrible. Go listen to some real music.
  10. KyleM
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    Already think it will be one of the best albums this year!!
  11. PedroH
    Jan 14, 2010
    8
    After the huge success of 'TiK ToK', all we could expect from Ke$ha was a party-all-the-time-album. Well, seems like the new rising star of 2010 have more than fun to offer in her debut-album 'Animal'. The tracks 'Blind' and 'Dancinw With Tears In My Eyes' show this. But don't be foolish to think that the party here is poorly. 'Take It After the huge success of 'TiK ToK', all we could expect from Ke$ha was a party-all-the-time-album. Well, seems like the new rising star of 2010 have more than fun to offer in her debut-album 'Animal'. The tracks 'Blind' and 'Dancinw With Tears In My Eyes' show this. But don't be foolish to think that the party here is poorly. 'Take It Off', 'Blah Blah Blah' and 'Party At A Rich Dude's House' are three of the best dance tracks of 2010. Mix all this with a funny-track ('Stephen'), an alternative song-truth ('Animal') and a teenager-adventure ('Backstabber' and 'Dinosaur') and you've got one of the greatest albums of the year. Expand
  12. ChrisC
    Jan 10, 2010
    0
    Lets dissect this album. Lyrics:0 Quality:0 Musical Talent:0 Oh and BTW, everyone look up The Party by Justice ft. Uffie. Then come back to me and ask why Justice doesn't sue the living god out of Kesha.
  13. Mike
    Jan 10, 2010
    0
    Gutter-trash lyrics over Disney Channel beats... Who is this album even for? If "Ke$ha" is attempting to be a joke, it's working... her problem is that it's just not funny. Luckily, no one will know who she is 6 months from now.
  14. MarcyP.
    Jan 22, 2010
    0
    Nothing fun about this album...just some girl who keeps drinking about alcohol. Boring.
  15. JJFad
    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    I'm giving her an 8 just because I enjoy Tik Tok and I think she deserves a little love for it. After listening to the album twice, I can't really remember any of the songs, but there were definitely some chuckle worthy lyrics in there, particularly from the terribad "Dinosaur." She seems a little like a sloppy ho, which resonates with me hahah. I'll look forward to a maybe I'm giving her an 8 just because I enjoy Tik Tok and I think she deserves a little love for it. After listening to the album twice, I can't really remember any of the songs, but there were definitely some chuckle worthy lyrics in there, particularly from the terribad "Dinosaur." She seems a little like a sloppy ho, which resonates with me hahah. I'll look forward to a maybe more thought-through second album. Collapse
  16. BrianN
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    I love this album, this is what 2010 should sound like. Ke$ha is the next star in today's pop scene.
  17. Sasha
    Jan 6, 2010
    0
    utterly stupid. go listen to smashing pumpkins
  18. JonS
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    LOVE this album!!
  19. nemo.
    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    Despite the ridiculous lyrics the album is a fun catchy dance album!
  20. TatianaG
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    This is very new music. Some songs sound similar at first listen. The album grows and grows on you. Great album.
  21. EnnisM
    Jan 14, 2010
    0
    Abusive use of synthesizer to mask Kesha's inability to sing this kinda of music (whatever you call it, dance, pop...) has succeeded in fooling most of us (as people are finding it appealing). There is an emergence of electronic music nowadays, but that does not mean that the singer should not care about making use of his/her real voice; after all, singing remains vocal music Abusive use of synthesizer to mask Kesha's inability to sing this kinda of music (whatever you call it, dance, pop...) has succeeded in fooling most of us (as people are finding it appealing). There is an emergence of electronic music nowadays, but that does not mean that the singer should not care about making use of his/her real voice; after all, singing remains vocal music accompanied by musical arrangements (merely talking all through videogame sounds does not make a song). May be she can try and sing more naturally next time; wish you best Kesha if you read this. Expand
  22. RanelG
    Jan 14, 2010
    0
    No talent, horrible voice, horrible lyrics, just flat out horrible. The only people who ever like her are preppy teenage girls, and trust me they have horrible taste in entertainment. Also, what were the critics thinking?! 63?! I was expecting this to be a 38 or something. Yet they rate down good bands like Seether, Theory of a Deadman, Nickelback, Hinder, Three Days Grace, and yet rate No talent, horrible voice, horrible lyrics, just flat out horrible. The only people who ever like her are preppy teenage girls, and trust me they have horrible taste in entertainment. Also, what were the critics thinking?! 63?! I was expecting this to be a 38 or something. Yet they rate down good bands like Seether, Theory of a Deadman, Nickelback, Hinder, Three Days Grace, and yet rate up this loser....please. Expand
  23. GrantP
    Jan 16, 2010
    0
    It really is sad that there are people who enjoy this. It's not even music...it's a product of the music industry for a quick buck.
  24. AshtonM
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    New pop princess Ke$ha proves that she can make hits easily with this re-freshing electro-pop album, 'Animal'. With all songs written by the young starlet, they focus around typical things that happen in life; such as having an untrustworthy friend (Backstabber), going out and having a good time despite having no money (TiK ToK), or feeling lonely without having your lover by New pop princess Ke$ha proves that she can make hits easily with this re-freshing electro-pop album, 'Animal'. With all songs written by the young starlet, they focus around typical things that happen in life; such as having an untrustworthy friend (Backstabber), going out and having a good time despite having no money (TiK ToK), or feeling lonely without having your lover by your side (Dancing with Tears in My Eyes). With this club banging album that'll be playing on your mp3 all night, I think 'Animal rightfully deserves a 10/10. Perfect material for a rising debut pop star. Adults and Teenagers will love it, it has a very fun anthem to it. Enjoy! Expand
  25. TurlutteB
    Jan 18, 2010
    2
    There are only a couple of good songs. There are too many filler songs here. Nothing exciting about this album.
  26. MarkC
    Jan 19, 2010
    0
    Absolutely awful. Contains some of the worst music I have ever heard and contains some of the dumbest lyrics ever produced. Whoever gave this girl a record label seriously needs to be fired...this scum is stinking up the music world.
  27. MichaelW.
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    Surprisingly addictive. I keep listening to it over and over. Very catchy, funny, and there are some real hits on here. Favorite song right now is the title track Animal
  28. Craig
    Jan 5, 2010
    8
    It's slutty, naughty, sleezy and over-produced. But that is the very reason as to why its such a success. Kesha comes off the streets and into our ears with one of the raunchiest albums of the year. But as drunken and atroshish as this album may be, her heart fills each song to its fullest like the cups of alcohol she has in her hands. Each song is frisky and fun, not trying to be a It's slutty, naughty, sleezy and over-produced. But that is the very reason as to why its such a success. Kesha comes off the streets and into our ears with one of the raunchiest albums of the year. But as drunken and atroshish as this album may be, her heart fills each song to its fullest like the cups of alcohol she has in her hands. Each song is frisky and fun, not trying to be a political statement or the next song you will hear at church. Kesha doesn't play by the rules and doesn't give a shit. Finally, an album that is pure joy and fluff (good fluff that it is). One-night stands and bottles of jack have never seemed so sophisticated. Expand
  29. JimC.
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    Takes the inane debauchery of pop music and exaggerates it to a facetious extreme that is both fun and funny. Ke$ha is part of a new generation of pop artists including Lady Gaga, in that any kind of sincerity is forgone in favor of practicing the "art" of popular music. This album has so many quotable lines it is sure to spread wildly and float regardless of critical response. With 5+ Takes the inane debauchery of pop music and exaggerates it to a facetious extreme that is both fun and funny. Ke$ha is part of a new generation of pop artists including Lady Gaga, in that any kind of sincerity is forgone in favor of practicing the "art" of popular music. This album has so many quotable lines it is sure to spread wildly and float regardless of critical response. With 5+ radio-worthy tracks, this album is a tailor-made sensation. Expand
  30. JoelG.
    Jan 5, 2010
    1
    This is ubber trash .. the sound and the gimmicky of kesha is just unflattering and her style and music underwhelms and leaves you wanting more.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. It’s hard to remember the last time an album so flat and vacuous generated such a buzz.
  2. Here he frames her Valley Girl sneer with electro-glam arrangements that make brushing one's teeth ''with a bottle of Jack'' sound like an awesome way to kill the morning-after blues.
  3. Ke$ha's tipsy lilt allows her to effortlessly shift from half-singing to half-talking, a technique that makes her vocals carom like shiny pinballs against the crazy beats and sound effects that make up these tracks. She never gets bogged down or sounds like she's trying too hard.