Antics

  • Record Label: Matador
  • Release Date: Sep 28, 2004
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 202 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 202

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jaredh
    Oct 24, 2004
    5
    This cd fails as a whole. I mean, we all love slowhands, but compare this to their classic debut album. Malnourished, underdeveloped, and completely rid of the ideas and atmosphere which made Bright Lights so great. The best description I've seen is "Interpol lite", but I think I have a better one. Due to it's dumbed down songwriting and structure, this cd should come packed This cd fails as a whole. I mean, we all love slowhands, but compare this to their classic debut album. Malnourished, underdeveloped, and completely rid of the ideas and atmosphere which made Bright Lights so great. The best description I've seen is "Interpol lite", but I think I have a better one. Due to it's dumbed down songwriting and structure, this cd should come packed with a yellow trim, and the title should be "Interpol for Dummies." Expand
  2. EloiP.
    Oct 24, 2004
    6
    Do your best not to compare it to the first album, and you'll probably enjoy it a whole lot more. I was disappointed after hearing it once, but if you play while doing something else (i.e., don't over-analyze it), it'll begin to grow on you. It's just not nearly as catchy or hard driving as "Turn On."
  3. DominicP
    Apr 16, 2006
    6
    After "Turn On The Bright Lights" this album seems a bit of a let down...while spots of the brilliance that was evident throughout Bright Lights do show through (Take You On A Cruise, Not Even Jail, C'mere, Length of Love), the album is not up to the same standard. While thr progress that Interpol has made in respects to their sound is positive (more organ/synths), I do not believe After "Turn On The Bright Lights" this album seems a bit of a let down...while spots of the brilliance that was evident throughout Bright Lights do show through (Take You On A Cruise, Not Even Jail, C'mere, Length of Love), the album is not up to the same standard. While thr progress that Interpol has made in respects to their sound is positive (more organ/synths), I do not believe they stayed tryue enough to what they do best; writing dark, brooding songs that embody a sense of mystery. A decent sophomore effort by the boys from NYC. Expand
  4. SteveJ
    Dec 23, 2008
    4
    Surprised by the other comments to be honest. the album is fairly poor with only a couple of songs able to hold any sort of attention. I have been listening to this off and on for two years and my opinion hasnt changed. For a similar sort of mood, Boxer by The National is far far superior.
  5. Jan 5, 2011
    6
    Though a handful of great songs lurk on this album, the rest of the tracks are disappointingly lackluster. The mood of the album is also lighter, which feels awkward instead of serving as a nice contrast to Interpol's very dark debut. Disappointing after Turn On the Bright Lights, but good enough for fans of the band to check out.
  6. Mar 19, 2011
    6
    'Antics' has not nearly the amount of depth of emotion that The Bright Lights carried. However, tracks such as Evil, Slow Hands and Not Even Jail keep the listener wanting more. It is a pity the rest of the album does not deliver this. I often found myself losing attention.
  7. May 10, 2011
    5
    The good: These songs are all very catchy, some even have a great mood and build up. The band is also really learning to pick up the pace instead of being moody all the time.

    The bad: Paul's lyrics are pretty awful most of the time and the songs make less sense than a Pixies song. Naming imagery is cool and can paint a picture but these days only the mars volta can get away with that
    The good: These songs are all very catchy, some even have a great mood and build up. The band is also really learning to pick up the pace instead of being moody all the time.

    The bad: Paul's lyrics are pretty awful most of the time and the songs make less sense than a Pixies song. Naming imagery is cool and can paint a picture but these days only the mars volta can get away with that kinda stuff while maintaining an entertaining narrative.

    Also, this production BLOWS. It sounds like it was recorded into a seashell, then transported through a campbell's soup can through yarn into another soup can into a studio microphone.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 100
    There's something totally irresistible about Antics: The air of mystery, the bleak but hopeful arrangements and the melodies so sharp and moving that they might inspire a night of heroic partying.
  2. New Musical Express (NME)
    80
    An album scored through with a vehement beauty that, with each listen, becomes all the more acute for its unwillingness to shy away from life's bleaker, more painful moments. [25 Sep 2004, p.62]
  3. Q Magazine
    90
    Antics is ridiculously good. [Oct 2004, p.112]