As U Were - Lyrics Born
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 2, 2010
    80
    As a funk or electro album, As U Were is fun to listen to. A little cheesy, maybe, but it gets the proverbial party started, which is always a clear sign that something's going well. It's when Lyrics Born tries to hang on too tightly to his old roots that things start to get messy.
  2. Nov 2, 2010
    70
    Though he sounds slightly out of place on the screeching "Lies X 3," standouts "We Live by the Beat" and "Kontrol Phreak" impressively blend synth-funk and neo-new-wave glamour.
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    68
    Ironically, if there is one thing holding these songs back, it's Lyrics Born himself. Shimura spits sparingly, often just to shake a little life into the imaginary crowd once the groove settles.
  4. Dec 13, 2010
    60
    I concede that playing by old school rules produces most of As U Were's hottest bangers....On the album's lesser half, the hooks are just as big but weak, and the rhyming is sluggish or scarce.
  5. Nov 17, 2010
    60
    Japanese-American hip-hop lifer Lyrics Born may never top Later That Day..., his career-defining 2003 album, but he still puts in an honest year's work.
  6. Nov 2, 2010
    60
    Call it reliable or call it boring, As U Were slots into the Lyrics Born discography comfortably, as an album any hip-hop fan could enjoy, but hardly love.
  7. Nov 2, 2010
    58
    It wouldn't hurt him to slow his roll here. Most of the record is spent on blithe, fruitless trips down other people's styles.
  8. Nov 4, 2010
    40
    His raspy, wonderful voice often lags behind, and the actual substance of the lines gets lost in the dust. [Fall 2010, p.74]
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Nov 10, 2010
    8
    Loving this album. I've been a huge Lyrics Born fan for over a decade, and have loved watching his evolution as an artist. Though i found Everywhere At Once a bit hit-and-miss (loved 50% of the songs, "meh" on the other 50%, sort of like how i felt about The Outsider by DJ Shadow) i think this is a solid album all the way through. Sure, it can get a bit corny in parts (poppin' poppin' poppin') but it's not like this is a Pigeon John album here (another artist i love, but can get corny as hell).

    The worst part of the album? No surprise here: Seth Greenborn. I can't believe how much those skits diminish certain songs--especially I've Lost Myself. Can't we all agree to make 2011 as skit-free as hip hop will allow us to be??
    Full Review »