Aw C'Mon

  • Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Feb 17, 2004
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Alternative Press
    100
    As is the case whenever [Kurt] Wagner's velvet croon wraps itself around a night that ends so late it's already morning... there really isn't a critic in the world who can touch him. [combined review of both discs; Mar 2003, p.94]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Judicious distillation might have provided sharper focus, but this is an appealingly ambitious sprawl. [combined review of both discs; 27 Feb 2004, p.99]
  3. As ever Wagner’s voice is rich and warm, the instrument of a faltering singer that just gets better with age, cracked and croaked and delivering lyrics with a strange phrasing that makes the most indecipherable and idiosyncratic observation take on a wealth of meanings for the listener depending how they first, or last, hear it. [combined review of both discs]
  4. Aw C'mon is lovely, compelling, mysterious, and confounding.
  5. 80
    This is deep, rich, slightly unnerving and very very beautiful music. [combined review of both discs]
  6. Throughout the two albums, Lambchop effortlessly and repeatedly cross country, rock, soul, jazz, and cinematic borders. [combined review of both discs]
  7. Uncut
    80
    Wagner has achieved a fusion of the outgoing, string-driven country-soul heard on 2000's Nixon... and the reluctant intimacy of 2002's low-key Is A Woman. [combined review of both discs; Feb 2004, p. 68]
  8. Blender
    80
    Keeps the orchestral Americana on an ambient, after-hours simmer. [Mar 2004, p.123]
  9. An enticing dip into melancholy.
  10. Q Magazine
    80
    The albums are interchangeable, neither one being the stylistic leap that was Is A woman in comparison to its predecessor, Nixon. [combined review of both discs; Mar 2004, p.112]
  11. Mojo
    80
    [These albums] are as much of a pendulum swing from Is A Woman as Is A Woman was from Nixon. [combined review of both discs; Feb 2004, p.90]
  12. Admittedly, there's not exactly the strictest of divides between the two, although 'Aw C'mon' is arguably the more upbeat of the pair.
  13. Aw Cmon is the most relaxed of the two discs, the most instantly pleasing, the most Lambchop-like, boasting the strongest lyrics of the two CDs.
  14. Spin
    75
    Over the course of 24 tracks, we get taut grooves set on Al Green cruise control, lots of havin'-fun-in-the-studio byplay, and the occasional spritz of rude fuzz-box gutiar to give all the gold-leaf detailing some shape. [combined review of both discs; Mar 2004, p.97]
  15. To say one of these albums is better than the other is basically beside the point-- anyone who buys one will certainly want the other, and both are fairly comparable as far as quality is concerned, anyway.
  16. If Aw C'mon pales in comparison, it's due to a pronounced downbeat atmosphere and an over-reliance on cutesy, clunky titles.
  17. Out of these two good albums, a great single album is fighting to break out. [combined review of both discs]
  18. It doesn’t take long for the characters to come alive the way ...Is a Woman’s seemed too exhausted to. [combined review of both discs]
  19. A cohesive collection of brisk, poppy songs in the accessible mode of the band's 2000 breakthrough Nixon.
  20. AwCmon is the stronger of the two, with a trio of outstanding instrumentals acting as the backbone for a suite of typically moody songs.
  21. Notice the way whole songs skulk past without you ever noticing; how half the material here is ornate but unmemorable muzak, with all the emotional force of a feather. [combined review of both discs]
  22. Filter
    50
    A double album slough of easy listening instrumentals. [combined review of both discs; #9, p.108]
  23. Although I quite like some of the tracks here, overall there just isn't enough here to keep me interested. [combined review of both discs]

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. JohnnyV
    Jan 14, 2005
    9
    It's important to note that these albums were created as the soundtrack to the silent movie "Sunrise" directed by F.W. Murnau It's important to note that these albums were created as the soundtrack to the silent movie "Sunrise" directed by F.W. Murnau (Nosferatu). Wagner started an expiremental challenge to write a song a day, during which time he was asked to produce a new soundtrack for a rerelease of the film. So, to refer to the music as background music is quite accurate. I'm a fan of the band, so i'm biased, but thinking of the music of both albums in this context makes each album even enjoyable for me. It's great (but challenging) stuff. Full Review »
  2. DecepticonPom
    Oct 27, 2004
    8
    Must admit I can't help but regard these two albums as one beautiful double player. Not normally what I would go for but an unexpected Must admit I can't help but regard these two albums as one beautiful double player. Not normally what I would go for but an unexpected delight and my album of the year so far. Laid back, sometimes even ambient, yet rollocking in places, this was my most surprising discovery of 2004. Full Review »
  3. andres
    Mar 18, 2004
    9
    Almost impossible to catergorize it's so varied. Difficult enough deciding which disc you'd like to listen to first; even after Almost impossible to catergorize it's so varied. Difficult enough deciding which disc you'd like to listen to first; even after you've made your decision you'll be sorely tempted to play the disc that's just finished again. Superb. Full Review »