Bad Vibes - Shlohmo
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Aug 22, 2011
    75
    Shlohmo's "debut" LP arrives slightly bloated due to its own blind ambition, and might require a few taps of the skip button for a more rewarding listen.
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    70
    Processed guitars and keyboards, wordless 
vocals, and muted beats blend into a pastel wash of sound, as shifting patterns hint at familiar styles without assuming a clear shape.
  3. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    It's another triumph for Friends of Friends, and it's a breakthrough for a young producer finally emerging with an individual and inventive style previously only hinted at.
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    80
    In between the tape hiss, the nature sounds, the subtle reverb, the sighs, it becomes clear that Bad Vibes has a soul.
  5. Aug 22, 2011
    78
    Neither the melody nor the ambience overwhelms the other. It's easy to hear the silky, billowy tones through the dying-battery distortion, but hard to picture what they'd sound like without it.
  6. As the record unravels those far-reaching human touches, supported by the more grounded electronic elements, become the emotional sticking point with a surprising amount of staying power.
  7. Aug 22, 2011
    78
    Gently strumming crispy chords or plucking glassy notes from his guitar, Shlohmo (like England's Mount Kimbie) finds fleeting moments of intimacy amid the bustle of urban life.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 27, 2013
    7
    This album understands how to chill you out while still staying interesting. I miss shlohmo's old style but this show's his ingenuity when it comes to making music. Full Review »
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    One of the top electronic/downtempo albums in the last few years. I have a hard time believing this album will ever get a bad review, it is simply a work of art. Very few albums can actually take me on a journey and develop emotional themes and places in my head like this album.
    "Places" does an incredible job at basically letting you catch glimpse or reliving the entire album in that 5:02 while still maintaining it's own unique feel and character.
    The track "Parties" actually brought me down to earth after a night of partying (go figure) too hard and not feeling right. It has to be one of the most relaxed tracks on the album and I can't think of another actual song that is so therapeutic and makes me feel good on top of being an incredible song.
    The track "Your Stupid Face" puts me in the setting of a forest, where an idle spirit awakes, both literally or metaphorically for the spirit inside of you. Lastly "Seriously" is just a perfect dark blue song, someone looking out a window on a rainy day, halfway through you take a step outside, you can no longer hear the rain, you feel it. Not to mention all the awesome warm crackles, the perfect blend or real instrument, makeshift noises and vocals all throughout the album. A must have for anyone who dips their fingers in electronic/downtempo music.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    A delightful break away from the stagnation of electronic music of modern times. Shlohmo, while not to be praised overly, is one of a handful of artists producing electro music presently worth a listen (IAMAMIWHOAMI, Tom Cruise, Unknown Mortal Orchestra). His opening is mind bending and ambiently flowing from song to song. I personally do not feel this LP matches his current EP ''Laid Out'' for substance and depth yet to hear ''Laid Out'' consider Bad Vibes first. A fresh breath in a sour smelling world of crap. Complecro Full Review »