• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Dec 13, 2013
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 732 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 92 out of 732

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    Although half of the songs will only entertain people who adored Beyonce's music for a long time, this self-titled album is her best (and maybe the best this year) she ever made in her career with its theme about female sexuality and self-empowerment being delivered successfully.

    Highlights: Pretty Hurts, Ghost, Blow, Younce, Partition, Jealous, Rocket, Mine, Xo, ***Flawless, Heaven
    Although half of the songs will only entertain people who adored Beyonce's music for a long time, this self-titled album is her best (and maybe the best this year) she ever made in her career with its theme about female sexuality and self-empowerment being delivered successfully.

    Highlights: Pretty Hurts, Ghost, Blow, Younce, Partition, Jealous, Rocket, Mine, Xo, ***Flawless, Heaven and Blue
    Potential Singles After the Album's Release: Pretty Hurts, Blow, Younce, Partition, Jealous, Xo(which is actually the lead single right now) and ***Flawless
    Personal Favorites: Pretty Hurts, Blow, Yonce, Partition, Xo, ***Flawless and Blue

    (Personal note: Although I am not quite a big fan of hers, I do love her music. Right now, Beyonce is a genius. Releasing this album without dropping any clues prior is brilliant. And to make every song have a music video attached is even more brilliant. I just hope my favorite artists would follow Beyonce's footsteps in making every song on their album have a music video, but that's if they want to.)
    Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    5
    Average album. I only like Pretty Hurts, Drunk In Love, Yonce and Blue. To be serious, other songs made me bored!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    O álbum visual que mudou o jogo! Beyoncé está de volta e novamente se reinventando. Com uma estratégia incrível de focar apenas na arte que fazer música, ela trouxe ao auge novamente uma reinvenção e inovação de si mesma. Um álbum pra não pular uma música se quer. Essa obra prima permeia diversas formas de arte que caminham desde a simplicidade pop até a complexidade musical R&B, comO álbum visual que mudou o jogo! Beyoncé está de volta e novamente se reinventando. Com uma estratégia incrível de focar apenas na arte que fazer música, ela trouxe ao auge novamente uma reinvenção e inovação de si mesma. Um álbum pra não pular uma música se quer. Essa obra prima permeia diversas formas de arte que caminham desde a simplicidade pop até a complexidade musical R&B, com vocais perfeitos e muita história pra contar. Um álbum íntimo e pessoal, que ao mesmo tempo mostra as diversas faces de uma mulher adulta, que já não precisa provar nada a ninguém. Sem dúvidas, o melhor álbum da cantora. Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Beyoncé's fifth Studio album is her best yet. I was excited to hear the direction her music would go in after becoming a mother and I'm glad it''s a good one. She manages to stay true to the Beyoncé' we all know and love while still revealing sides to her that we have never seen. There is something for everyone here. Fans, Stans and even non-fans can appreciate this body of work. BeyondBeyoncé's fifth Studio album is her best yet. I was excited to hear the direction her music would go in after becoming a mother and I'm glad it''s a good one. She manages to stay true to the Beyoncé' we all know and love while still revealing sides to her that we have never seen. There is something for everyone here. Fans, Stans and even non-fans can appreciate this body of work. Beyond the hype of the surprise release, there is some great music here. Congratulations to Beyoncé' for taking a risk and not being afraid to focus on the ALBUM again. Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    sensuality, mature, sexuality, strenght, fierce, emotion, honesty... a wonderful album for mrs carter, the best of her career for me, i still listening this 2/3 times by day
  6. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    This album really has all the great things of Beyoncé in it. Creativity, maturity and honesty are the keywords of this album. This album includes strong pop ballads as Pretty Hurts, urban/hiphop songs such as ***Flawless and strong R&B midtempoes as Partition, Haunted and Drunk In Love. XO as the lead single is a really smart choice, because it's kind of an anthem. It's a very great loveThis album really has all the great things of Beyoncé in it. Creativity, maturity and honesty are the keywords of this album. This album includes strong pop ballads as Pretty Hurts, urban/hiphop songs such as ***Flawless and strong R&B midtempoes as Partition, Haunted and Drunk In Love. XO as the lead single is a really smart choice, because it's kind of an anthem. It's a very great love song. Beyoncé really shows her voice and talent in this album and she knows how to keep on being the best one in the game. Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2015
    0
    ridicula,essa mulher do jay labios de mel,nao serve pra nada,so canta musica falando do demonio,isso e obra de satanas,alem de parecer uma cabra com torcicolo quando canta,ja deu o que tinha que dar essa satanista
  8. Dec 27, 2013
    2
    Now that that faux shock has worn off, this album is garbage. Luckily, with the top producers like The Dream, Timbaland, Pharell, etc. It's easy to overshadow the mediocrity and nursery rhymed lyrics, but it's still not enough to make this a solid album. Beyonce is not one of those artists known for originality, being innovative, or creative, and while I'll give credit that she tried to doNow that that faux shock has worn off, this album is garbage. Luckily, with the top producers like The Dream, Timbaland, Pharell, etc. It's easy to overshadow the mediocrity and nursery rhymed lyrics, but it's still not enough to make this a solid album. Beyonce is not one of those artists known for originality, being innovative, or creative, and while I'll give credit that she tried to do something different, this is a no go. The novelty has definitely worn off, and won't be one of those albums that'll be played for years to come. But hey, since this generation is obsessed with videos, I guess you can look forward to that. Because clearly the material isn't good enough to stand on its own without visual imagery. Expand
  9. Dec 22, 2013
    6
    O álbum me surpreendeu, mas não da forma avassaladora como ao público em geral. As tracks são de qualidade indiscutível, o trabalho da Beyoncé com certeza amadureceu, mas ainda não o considero o melhor.
  10. Dec 19, 2013
    3
    this album has been vastly overhyped in every possible way.she used a really clever market strategy to sell this product ..kudos 4 this she has a great team behind her..About the music she's experimenting a little more than her usual standards here but the fact that this record has a media of 85/100 on here is totally laughable ..with all the new alternative R&B movement coming out( thethis album has been vastly overhyped in every possible way.she used a really clever market strategy to sell this product ..kudos 4 this she has a great team behind her..About the music she's experimenting a little more than her usual standards here but the fact that this record has a media of 85/100 on here is totally laughable ..with all the new alternative R&B movement coming out( the weeknd, frank ocean, miguel, janelle monae, etc) beyonce wanted to keep up with the new trends( miguel and ocean actually wrote some tracks in this album)but at the same time she wanted to sell to the rihanna's and miley's markets.The result is a mediocre record with an over sexualized beyonce talking about blow jobs and about having sex with her husband in every possible way for at least 8 songs in the project ,all expressed with DREADFUL lyrics..like everyone could write those lyrics..really terrible! and her fake feminist ANTHEM inserted here, the sequel of indepedent women and single ladies is actually worse than the previous attempts.. that bow down verse inserted in a song with an actual speech made by a real feminist makes everything worse..( actually that verse was the original part of the song the speech was added later because she received a lot of criticism so she decided to insert a real feminist speech to try to make the track sound more feminist and improve it but it didn't happen) Expand
  11. Jan 4, 2014
    4
    Esperava um álbum muito melhor da Beyoncé, e ela lança este comprimido para dormir. Senti falta de músicas dançantes, há algumas músicas boas mas o resto não se aproveita. A melhor coisa do álbum mesmo o conceito.
  12. Jan 6, 2014
    0
    Not impressed by this album at all. Every song is boring and unoriginal. I don't see a single hit song on this album. The only song I did like was "BLOW" which can't be played on the radio.
  13. Jan 31, 2014
    0
    I was told to listen to it because ITS SOOO GOOOD apparently, no beyonce album has bored me like this one, overrated crap imo. Everyone has become complacent towards her and its obvious
  14. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    I have only one word to say about this album: FLAWLESS, Beyonce will always be Beyonce, for she got the style, voice, looks, lyrics EVERYTHING. I can predict that this album will be a success
  15. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    I have always appreciated Beyonce as an artist, however, honestly I never looked to her for intellectually stimulating organic music. I figured we only had Janelle Monae achieving any greatness in the R&B/electronic realm. With this record I stand corrected. It is a beautifully expressive piece of work. It's not perfect, but hey it's pop at it's finest. This album will be rememberedI have always appreciated Beyonce as an artist, however, honestly I never looked to her for intellectually stimulating organic music. I figured we only had Janelle Monae achieving any greatness in the R&B/electronic realm. With this record I stand corrected. It is a beautifully expressive piece of work. It's not perfect, but hey it's pop at it's finest. This album will be remembered years after any of us are around. I really hope she continues to experiment because we need more artists willing to do more than make an extra dollar. Expand
  16. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    A flawless effort, Beyonce's self-titled fifth album is the best pop album of 2013. Each song is masterfully crafted and charismatically performed. The album is dynamic and deftly balanced between upbeat and somber due to a mixture of urban/hip-hop, R&B, and pop. Highlights include "X0," "Blue Ivy," "Partition," "No Angel," "***Flawless," and the irresistible "Blow."
  17. Apr 22, 2014
    7
    Beyonce seems to be going in the right direction. The album is not a masterpiece by any means, but it sounds more experimental than ever coming from her. One of Beyonce´s main problem as a recording artist is her lack of creativity (well, her writers lack of creativity) and she seems to be getting better on that front. Her voice keeps being in a good state (no Whitney Houston but you know,Beyonce seems to be going in the right direction. The album is not a masterpiece by any means, but it sounds more experimental than ever coming from her. One of Beyonce´s main problem as a recording artist is her lack of creativity (well, her writers lack of creativity) and she seems to be getting better on that front. Her voice keeps being in a good state (no Whitney Houston but you know, good for nowadays low standards). There is still an over abundance of raunchy songs, which have always been the main structure of her career. The best part of the album is the last, where all that disappears. Expand
  18. Dec 17, 2014
    9
    Cabe resaltar que Beyoncé ha sido capaz de hacer ver un album meramente experimental para su estilo como si desde el inicio de su carrera fuese una artista madura y una genio del R&B de la nueva era.
  19. Jan 18, 2015
    8
    Beyoncé has at last experimented with the themes she’s continuously half-explored throughout her decade(+)-long career—feminism, sexual expression, self-empowerment—and overall, she has created her most erotic, overtly feminist, and sonically experimental record to date. The intros and interludes of audio snippets seeming to act out Knowles’ childhood experiences and the segments ofBeyoncé has at last experimented with the themes she’s continuously half-explored throughout her decade(+)-long career—feminism, sexual expression, self-empowerment—and overall, she has created her most erotic, overtly feminist, and sonically experimental record to date. The intros and interludes of audio snippets seeming to act out Knowles’ childhood experiences and the segments of speeches discussing society’s expectations of women (“***Flawless”) and why women can openly love sex (“Partition”), it’s a concept album through and through. Besides its accompanying visual experience, the dark, moody production trails PBR&B, electronic, and even ambient influences and its large array of producers—Ammo, Boots, Detail, Hit-Boy, Timbaland, etc.—and featured artists—Drake, Frank Ocean, and, of course, hubby Jay-Z—help her achieve her musical ambitions. The monumental “Drunk in Love”, the sultry “Partition”, the urban confidence of “***Flawless” featuring an insert from Nigerian novelist Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Beyoncé’s self-titled fifth studio albums further certifies her status as one of pop music’s most dominant divas and if her overnight release date without any prior promotion or singles isn’t evidence of that, let her musicianship and vocal capabilities speak for her themselves. Expand
  20. Mar 18, 2014
    5
    Beyoncé surprises the world with her secret 5th studio album entitled Beyoncé but fails to win me over like she did on her previous attempts.

    I have been a fan of her's since i first heard Crazy in Love but really came on board with B-day and I am... Sasha Fierce which really impressed me with her ability to sing and write some of the best songs of the past decade. However she dipped
    Beyoncé surprises the world with her secret 5th studio album entitled Beyoncé but fails to win me over like she did on her previous attempts.

    I have been a fan of her's since i first heard Crazy in Love but really came on board with B-day and I am... Sasha Fierce which really impressed me with her ability to sing and write some of the best songs of the past decade. However she dipped with 4, in my opinion. I found that the album was mediocre at best (apart from Run the world, I was here & Best thing i never had). Then with Beyoncé she has failed to get back on top. Don't get me wrong its a very good album but isn't up to her standard.

    Songs such as Partition, Mine, Blue & Heaven are all 5/5's are are the real highlights of this album. They are all amazing! Heaven particularly reminiscent of her I am work in particular Halo. However, Drunk in love, Rocket, Superpower, Yoncé & Flawless all prove to be rubbish! They sound very bad and are nothing like what this woman can make!! Flawless & Drunk in love are mediocre but ultimately are hyped up songs that end up adding to nothing more than average at best.

    Overall, it's a good album with some brilliant songs but it has its 'flaws' and is certainly not as good as her previous work.
    Expand
  21. May 11, 2014
    8
    Out of the few female R&B artists of note, Beyonce is the best going round & this album stamps her authority.
    Standout Tracks: Drunk in Love, Partition, Blue, Heaven, Superpower.
  22. Jan 9, 2014
    8
    I just love it. This is the Beyonce that I like, it is such a good album, love the R&B mixed with Pop and Hip-Hop, it's incredible. Beyonce knew how to make this albums, it has a good variety and the lyrics shows the amazing artist that Beyonce is, a lot of songs that are excellent like "Pretty Hurts", "Partition", "Drunk in Love", "XO", and others; I like the message that she wants toI just love it. This is the Beyonce that I like, it is such a good album, love the R&B mixed with Pop and Hip-Hop, it's incredible. Beyonce knew how to make this albums, it has a good variety and the lyrics shows the amazing artist that Beyonce is, a lot of songs that are excellent like "Pretty Hurts", "Partition", "Drunk in Love", "XO", and others; I like the message that she wants to shows with the album, it's really good music. Expand
  23. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    Beyonce shocked us all when she released her self-titled album without any sort of promotion or any indication she was working on her new record. This album is less commercial than her previous efforts but channels more soul and depth than a lot of her pop/r&b contemporaries.
  24. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    Beyoncé (album) states that not only Beyoncé (singer) can surely master the art of audiovisual creativity, but can unite power, consistency and, of course, a beautifully placed voice in one single piece of heaven. With songs that go from a desperate perfection-addiction to an acute case of nymphomania, there's no need to doubt why she is called Queen B. She's earned the crown anyway, hands down.
  25. Feb 12, 2015
    10
    Brilliant album! Not only did the Queen defy the tradition and shatter records, this album is a visual and artistic masterpiece! She truly understands that music is a whole experience, for the ears and the eyes!
  26. Jun 23, 2014
    9
    Bee's historical album!
    and it's amazing that she tried colorful music and MV.
    especially I love "Ghost", "XO", "Mine", "Haunted", "Yonce" and so on...
    absolutely her revolutionary album!!!
  27. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    as a surprise album with no promotion it could've gone either two ways, which it ironically did, as breaking records in America and barely reaching the same chart position as her lowest charting album in the UK. However this is a valiant effort for someone hailed the queen when really people have had better success than her. the uptempo (blow, drunk in love, xo, partition) are great butas a surprise album with no promotion it could've gone either two ways, which it ironically did, as breaking records in America and barely reaching the same chart position as her lowest charting album in the UK. However this is a valiant effort for someone hailed the queen when really people have had better success than her. the uptempo (blow, drunk in love, xo, partition) are great but the down tempo songs leave me wanting something more to happen, and sometimes it feels like two songs have been stuck together with the awkward pauses, nevertheless a valiant effort, but maybe pushing the boundaries too far, i doubt the singles will chart high without promotion and videos already out there Expand
  28. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    Beyonce at her core has proven to be a student of music, particularly of the R and B genre, but with each album she has experimented with other flavors. This album amazingly brings so many sounds together while still sounding like one. Clearly Beyonce's best album by far, and arguably the best mainstream album in the last decade. Impeccable production, unique song structures, mindBeyonce at her core has proven to be a student of music, particularly of the R and B genre, but with each album she has experimented with other flavors. This album amazingly brings so many sounds together while still sounding like one. Clearly Beyonce's best album by far, and arguably the best mainstream album in the last decade. Impeccable production, unique song structures, mind blowing vocals, boundary pushing content, everything you want and more from a cultural blockbuster. Expand
  29. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    Beyoncé pegou a todos de surpresa e isso só prova mais ainda que ela é maravilhosa em tudo que faz.Creio que esse álbum visual mudou os conceitos da música,ela surpreende a cada uma delas.Os videos deram ainda mais enfase,o que ficou melhor ainda de entender as músicas.O mundo da música já pode considerar uma nova rainha:Beyoncé!!!
  30. Feb 22, 2014
    8
    though the visual side to the album offers some background to each song, the album alone, without the videos is touching and enjoyable enough. There is an awful lot of language in there that might perhaps need some over-looking but otherwise Beyonce seems to have messages to deliver in her songs and they make the songs feel more vital and enjoyable. Beyonce has redefined her music, and shethough the visual side to the album offers some background to each song, the album alone, without the videos is touching and enjoyable enough. There is an awful lot of language in there that might perhaps need some over-looking but otherwise Beyonce seems to have messages to deliver in her songs and they make the songs feel more vital and enjoyable. Beyonce has redefined her music, and she has created without doubt the greatest album of her entire career in the music business. Expand
  31. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    I think this is Beyonce best work to date! The level of musicality, topics she discusses and vocal maturity really shows us why she is one of the best in the music industry.
  32. May 23, 2014
    10
    6 months after the release, I am still charmed by it.
    experimental sounds are mesmerizing!
    this record is the least commercial of her, ba a large margin and I lvoe it!
    well done bey!
  33. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    Ótimo CD/DVD, nada se compara aos lançados em 2013!
    PERFEIÇÃO, é a palavra que define completamente esse álbum!
    Beyoncé é ótima em tudo que cria/lança!
  34. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    Welcome back " Queen B " Beyonce has really brought out honesty and boldness in this album, expressing her music in a very experimental way. You rock !!!
  35. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Her best yet. It is most certainly, most determined to be only about the music. It abandoned inspiring messages, marketing, and everything else to be able to make an album so perfectly woven together, it's simply a masterpiece. The crown jewel is Ghost, which uses such ambient and soft sounds, so quiet yet it speaks louder than any of her R&B songs. Good job, Queen Bee. Good job.
  36. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    Beyonce, once again, changed the music industry. Her album tells a story, a story of a woman who is not afraid to show all sides of her. You can't decide weather you would listen to it or watch it. It's a combination of pure talent and hard work. She started a new era of music. There is a reason Beyonce is called a Queen, and her "visual album" proves why she is on top for the past 15Beyonce, once again, changed the music industry. Her album tells a story, a story of a woman who is not afraid to show all sides of her. You can't decide weather you would listen to it or watch it. It's a combination of pure talent and hard work. She started a new era of music. There is a reason Beyonce is called a Queen, and her "visual album" proves why she is on top for the past 15 years and will remain to sit on HER throne. Expand
  37. May 30, 2014
    7
    The album, while it was enjoyable, I didn't see it as the masterpiece everyone is making it out to be. The songs were catchy and unforgettable, but it wasn't different from any other Beyonce album that I've heard.
  38. Mar 21, 2015
    9
    Probably,Beyonce's the best album.No traditional R&B like in previous albums.A lot of genres in album-R&B,pop,dubstep,soul,hip-hop,chillwave,trap...Supports her title "R&B-diva".
  39. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    Great album! The videos, the songs, the surprise release ... I like the simplicity of the songs. Here Beyoncé sings about personal things like relationship between mother and child, death, sex (in a romantic way), relationship problems, etc..

    Highlights: Jealous, Pretty Hurts, XO, Flawless and Blow.
  40. Apr 15, 2015
    9
    Not only did Beyoncé’s new album already break multiple records, including being the fastest-selling digital album of all time, but it also has changed the way artists will release music in the future. With absolutely no announcement or promotion ‘BEYONCÉ’ was unleashed to the public exclusively on iTunes, equipped with 14 songs and 17 music videos. What makes this ‘visual album’ so muchNot only did Beyoncé’s new album already break multiple records, including being the fastest-selling digital album of all time, but it also has changed the way artists will release music in the future. With absolutely no announcement or promotion ‘BEYONCÉ’ was unleashed to the public exclusively on iTunes, equipped with 14 songs and 17 music videos. What makes this ‘visual album’ so much more respectable is the fact that all this was created while Beyoncé travelled around the world on a sold-out world tour.
    With this revoluntionary release strategy, Beyoncé has shown other artists that they can take control of their work and don’t have to hype it up in order to sell. Word gets around fast on the internet, so releasing something digitally means that everyone will know about it soon enough. There is no longer any need to announce an album 5 months before its release, because it doesn’t take that long for consumers to catch on anymore.There is also the inevitable burden of “hype”. We have so many artists these days who advertise the hell out of their product and act as if it’s going to be amazing. So much hype just ends up creating too many expectations which hurts the artist in the long run. The same can be said for companies in other industries as well.
    And it’s not only Beyoncé’s release strategy that’s amazing, the music is great as well. The R&B diva who has always held it together finally lets go on this album and shows us emotion we’ve never seen before. On “Pretty Hurts”, the first song on the album, Beyoncé tells the story of a pageant queen hopeful who is faced with the burden of having to be big-chested and skinny. She sings, “Vogue says thinner is better,” on the Sia-penned track. And while the song was written by the same woman who brought us so many pop hits in the last few years, including Rihanna’s “Diamonds”, Beyoncé makes the song her own and doesn’t end up sounding like a Sia imitator as some others have.
    Beyoncé also gives us some blunt honesty on the record. We see this clearly on “Ghost”, a song Beyoncé wrote about being fed up with record labels and the same old game. “I’m climbing up the walls ‘cause all this **** I hear is boring,” Beyoncé states in the song before expressing, “I don’t trust these record labels, I’m touring.” Later in the song we hear Beyoncé telling us that she doesn’t expect to make a lot of money off this album, a sarcastic and ironic statement in that ‘BEYONCÉ’ has already sold over 800k copies worldwide after only three days of being released.
    It isn’t all political, however, as the album covers such a wide variety of topics and genres that its almost hard to digest properly on first listen. But with writing help from Miguel, Justin Timberlake, Pharrell, and even Chairlift’s Caroline Polacheck, what was there to expect. There’s signs of funk, R&B, trap, alternative rock, and so many other genres throughout the album. This results in a body of work with so much mass appeal that it’s insane to say it won’t crossover to multiple formats. The only other influential Pop album I can think of that changed the game and was so appealing to different audiences was ‘Thriller’, and we all know how that turned out.
    Unfortunately, with such a strong statement of an album, there will be negative feedback. I’ve noticed some critics who’ve praised the album but ended up giving it a not so favorable score. It’s interesting that these publications are the same ones who give mediocre indie and rock albums 10s across the board. The problem with a lot of these critics is that they have a biased view on music and see Pop as inferior, so even if, just for example, Nicki Minaj came out with a better album than Muse, the latter would still get the higher rating just because it’s considered rock. Just because it’s a Pop artist doesn’t mean it’s inferior though, and Beyoncé has clearly earned that respect. Hopefully, as it all sinks in and people realize the brilliance, creativity, and hard work put into this project, some more traditional views will start to change.
    Expand
  41. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    In my personal opinion, this is Beyoncé's 2nd best album, to I Am...Sasha Fierce. However I believe the overall messages of the songs are more powerful and emotive. The opening track, 'Pretty Hurts', discusses the importance of self confidence, and how trying to be beautiful and fit in to society's standards of beauty is so dangerous and harmful to us. The songs 'XO' and 'Blue' are alsoIn my personal opinion, this is Beyoncé's 2nd best album, to I Am...Sasha Fierce. However I believe the overall messages of the songs are more powerful and emotive. The opening track, 'Pretty Hurts', discusses the importance of self confidence, and how trying to be beautiful and fit in to society's standards of beauty is so dangerous and harmful to us. The songs 'XO' and 'Blue' are also personal, emotional ballads, to her husband and the latter to her daughter. In contrast, songs like '***Flawless', 'Partition' and 'Blow' still have powerful messages, yet use more upbeat dance production. An array of beats with the same recurring message. The only thing that stops it receiving a perfect 10 is the mashup of tracks like Yoncé & Partition or Ghost & Haunted. A process which I never found appealing. Still strongly recommend. Expand
  42. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    I think this is the best album of Beyoncé. She can go from calm and lovely song even more powerful song, taking his impeccable voice without losing control of your tunes.
  43. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    Melhor álbum de 2013, não foi o melhor dela, mas o álbum tem uma ótima qualidade e muito gostoso de se ouvir, BEYONCÉ salvou o ano de 2013 com essa surpresa, rainha negra é assim mesmo!!
  44. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    O que esperar de uma artista com 17 Grammys e tantos marcos na carreira? Que ela se acomode. Mas Beyoncé faz o contrário, prova o seu valor cada vez mais e mostra que não tem a mínima pretensão de deixar os holofotes da indústria. Tem 1 Grammy pra cada ano de carreira e se depender desse álbum, terá mais um para cada próximo ano que virá.
  45. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    She really surprising. Compositions, vocals, melodies ... Everything is amazing! I think "perfect" is correct for this artwork term. BEYONCE Undoubtedly the best album of 2013 and one of the best of recent times.
  46. Sep 10, 2014
    4
    Gosto muito da Beyoncé,mas esse álbum não me agradou. O álbum foi um estouro na época,já que foi lançado de surpresa,então achei que seria um ótimo álbum,mas ele é apenas mediano. Existem músicas muito boas,como Pretty Hurts e XO,mas a maior parte do álbum não é boa. A Bey consegue ser melhor que isso.
  47. Sep 6, 2014
    5
    O álbum BEYONCÉ foi uma surpresa para todos, quando foi lançado de surpresa no iTunes, e ele surpreendeu a muitos. Depois de ouvi-lo, formulei uma opinião própria: é um album mediano. Não que seja ruim. BEYONCÉ é um álbum com músicas lentas em sua maioria e também são muito compridas. Dangerously, I Am... Sasha Fierce e 4, em minha opinião, são bem melhores do que esse álbum.
  48. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    Sem dúvida o melhor album de 2013. Bey surpreendeu a todos, com uma majestosa surpresa. "BEYONCE" mescla um pop/r&b, com pegadas hip-hop. Destaque para BOOTS, um dos melhores produtores desse album.
  49. Oct 11, 2014
    10
    Experimental and Artistic, Personal and Sexual. BEYONCÉ sounds like that or even more. Lyrically, Queen B puts her emotions and she's not afraid, Instrumentally sometimes falls but still great.
  50. Nov 30, 2014
    10
    The self-titled album from R&B/Pop Superstar Beyoncé is a terrific effort. Each song is perfectly crafted and lyrically fenomenal. With songs like "Pretty Hurts," "Heaven," and "Blue," Beyoncé really delivers her vocal talent. Beyoncé also dabbles in some urban style on songs like "Flawless," "No Angel," and "Drunk in Love." The visuals on this album are an added bonus. The album itselfThe self-titled album from R&B/Pop Superstar Beyoncé is a terrific effort. Each song is perfectly crafted and lyrically fenomenal. With songs like "Pretty Hurts," "Heaven," and "Blue," Beyoncé really delivers her vocal talent. Beyoncé also dabbles in some urban style on songs like "Flawless," "No Angel," and "Drunk in Love." The visuals on this album are an added bonus. The album itself could have stood alone without the videos, and it would have done just as great. 10/10. This album is great in every way. Expand
  51. Dec 13, 2014
    10
    BEYONCE shows so much artistic growth. It's a truly stunning album.
    Rocket, Drunk In Love and ***Flawless have to be some of the best songs of all time!
  52. Feb 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is the most amazing work of Beyoncé , she is already a historical icon , and then this masterpiece she still deserves more recognition ( if that is possible) then I found the amazing and wonderful all the work and I believe that will please everyone who will listen ... Expand
  53. Feb 2, 2015
    4
    A completely overrated album, few good songs, nothing impressive or good at all I think this is her most overrated album of all time, actually beyonce have better ones.
  54. Feb 17, 2015
    10
    Beyoncé's self-titled album came out one year and some months ago and I still don't know if the surprise was the unexpected release or the supreme quality inside every lyric and every track on this album. It's clearly her best (so far) and probably the best of 2013 & 2014 years. This album and the artist behind it are not overrated, they're getting what they deserve. Nobody knows what toBeyoncé's self-titled album came out one year and some months ago and I still don't know if the surprise was the unexpected release or the supreme quality inside every lyric and every track on this album. It's clearly her best (so far) and probably the best of 2013 & 2014 years. This album and the artist behind it are not overrated, they're getting what they deserve. Nobody knows what to expect from her next work, neither do I, but I'm certain of one thing: She will slay us all again. Expand
  55. Apr 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Eu adorei esse álbum, chuto que é o melhor da carreira superando o 4, não deixou nada a desejar, vocais, clipes, sonoridade ( o que acho mais forte no álbum ) é tudo muito impecável. Haunted é uma obra de arte a melhor do álbum com certeza, Beyoncé se supera a cada álbum. Expand
  56. Apr 18, 2015
    10
    It is simply brilliant, just like Beyonce's other albums. She's a star, a powerful, confident woman and those qualities are shown in this masterpiece. The songs are great like always.
  57. May 4, 2015
    10
    her best effort as of yet. Sonically this album is a masterpiece and visually stunning. It emotes so much emotion it's almost tangible. In closing Beyoncé has proved yet again why she
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    At its dizzying zenith, Beyoncé is a loaded fusion of generosity and self-empowerment. or perhaps, more accurately, it finds self-empowerment in generosity.
  2. Feb 11, 2014
    60
    It's this continued need to feed her multi-platinum beast that stops the album from being the post-modern wheeze it could have been. [Mar 2014, p.94]
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    90
    Though there are a million details about BEYONCÉ to examine--from the release strategy to the visual aspect and more--the strongest ideas are still found solely in the music. She addresses topics like beauty, body image, miscarriages, jealousy, sexuality, marriage, motherhood and self-worth.