Bittersweet World

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Apr 22, 2008
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 60
  2. Negative: 17 out of 60

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. patj.
    Jun 10, 2008
    0
    Pure, cynical marketing. They've taken a girl with a name but no talent and tried to sell her to us. Not sure how anyone could give this anything other than a zero.
  2. RobR.
    Apr 28, 2008
    0
    Hey Brendan, If you divide 100 by 5 you get 20. That would be 20 percentage points for each rating point. Therefore, a 3 ratings is equal to 60. Get your head out of the bong bowl.
  3. CalaodniaK.
    Apr 24, 2008
    0
    Horrid. Absolutely horrid.
  4. SteveS.
    Apr 26, 2008
    1
    Doesn't 3 out of 5 equal 60%, can someone do the math for me? I'm an Ashlee Simpson fan and we don't need to know these things.
  5. Damian
    Apr 26, 2008
    0
    To BRENDAN. H. 3/5 IS 60% YOU DICKWAD.
  6. SilverL.
    Apr 30, 2008
    1
    That smaller nose should allow her to go balls deep at least... best way to keep her from trying to sing...
  7. SteveO
    Jun 8, 2008
    0
    Can crap smell or sound any worse? Who else wants her to die already? We already know from Saturday Night Live that shes a fake. Who is she kidding?
  8. haroldb
    Apr 24, 2008
    0
    This album reminds me of Spinal Taps "Shark Sandwich", or at least should have the same review.
  9. Bob
    Apr 26, 2008
    0
    Brendan H. you dumb ignorant shit 3 out of 5 = 3/5 = 6/10 = 60 %. I mean did you even finish high school? That's just pathetic.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Bittersweet brims with polished--and similarly Gwen-esque--hooks and pretty melodies.
  2. On her third album, Simpson skillfully shifts her crunchy, guitar-driven pop to Eighties-influenced electro-rock with the help of Timbaland and the Neptunes’ Chad Hugo.
  3. Bittersweet World is another step in the right direction for Simpson; now if only she'd learn that real rule breakers don't write songs about it.