User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 174 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 174
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 17, 2018
    7
    Kendrick can be really proud of this one, as far as production goes, it is a 10/10, loved every single beat in those songs.
    His rapping his also really good as always, with great standouts, such as SZA, 2 Chainz, Vince Staples, and The Weekend.
    Now it gets a bit repetitive at times, where the songs and lyrics seem to have the same theme to them, and some songs really lack that
    Kendrick can be really proud of this one, as far as production goes, it is a 10/10, loved every single beat in those songs.
    His rapping his also really good as always, with great standouts, such as SZA, 2 Chainz, Vince Staples, and The Weekend.
    Now it gets a bit repetitive at times, where the songs and lyrics seem to have the same theme to them, and some songs really lack that influential and good lyrical tone that those produced beats deserved.
    Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2018
    10
    [ESPAÑOL]
    Considerando que mis conocimientos por el hip-hop son escasos, Kendrick Lamar a logrado en mas de una oportunidad cautivar tanto mis oídos con composiciones que nunca antes había escuchado en este genero y luego de que "DAMN." conquistara parte en mi lista de albums en spoify, estaba esperando con ansias este producto, aun mas después del lanzamiento de "All the Stars". Tal vez
    [ESPAÑOL]
    Considerando que mis conocimientos por el hip-hop son escasos, Kendrick Lamar a logrado en mas de una oportunidad cautivar tanto mis oídos con composiciones que nunca antes había escuchado en este genero y luego de que "DAMN." conquistara parte en mi lista de albums en spoify, estaba esperando con ansias este producto, aun mas después del lanzamiento de "All the Stars". Tal vez mis ganas por escuchar que haría Kendrick para la película se vea condicionado por las amplias ganas que tengo de ver la cinta, sin duda no esperaba encontrarme con un disco tan consistente en cuanto a temática e identidad, y aun siendo tan atado a un concepto, logra ser tan diverso auditiva mente hablando (a lo cual supongo que todos los artistas involucrados tienen que ver) que no aburre escucharlo todo de un vez. Cuando salieron las tres canciones promocionales del disco (Digase "All the Stars", "King's Dead" y "Pray for Me") me esperaba algo mas comercial como lo es la colaboracion con The Weeknd, pero para mi sorpresa me topé con canciones que evocan muchas cosas que aprendí a valorar con el anterior trabajo de Kendrick, y no lo sentí para nada orientado a un extremo comercial (aunque como antes digo, tengo muy poco conocimiento en este genero).
    Al principio con el primer track se puede apreciar de inmediato el trabajo de Kendrick siendo un tanto experimental mas por el sentimiento que evoca el tema, ya que tiende a ser mas una melodia "espiritual" que un track que escogeríamos en un karaoke, no así el segundo tema del disco en el cual SZA suena espectacular, una artista de la cual no he escuchado mucho pero sin duda buscaré mas. Este segundo tema aunque se siente mas fuera de lo que viene después en el resto del disco, cuenta con una letra y un ritmo brutal que se te queda muy marcado queriendo entender aun mas de lo que quiere retratar. El tercer track al principio me "asustó" por su espíritu mas trap, pero mientras iba avanzando me fue enganchando tanto en letra como en ritmo, aunque debo admitir que el "segundo acto" por así decirlo del tema me atrapó mas. El cuarto track me atrapó por sopesa, al tener una propuesta mas relajada y "romántica" (aunque no me termina aun de cerrar sus voces, aun así es una de mis favoritas) me hizo pasar un agradable momento que se vio rotundamente cambiado por el quinto track, el cual es de un bit potente que me hizo entender que el disco que no va a conformar con un solo estilo. El sexto track si debo destacarle ya que desde un inicio me mantuvo atento a su letra y a la vos de Jorja Smith y me a encantado al igual que el séptimo track que aunque suene mucho mas hip-hop común sin duda no lo es, aunque sin duda alguna el rap en el tema es mucho mas superior que a su instrumental, algo contrario al octavo track que siento que crea una buena simbiosis entre instrumental y rap y algunos vocals dentro del tema que le vienen de lujo y te transportan a toda la onda "africana" que al final del tema viene muy bien como introducción al noveno track que es para mi un favorito, un tema que en su amplitud no aburre tanto en la forma de rapear tan diversa en toda su extensión y su instrumental que en su "segundo acto" como me gusta ya llamarle se vuelve loca mente emocionante. El décimo track el cual es un interludio cumple la función de transportarte a un sentimiento mas profundo aunque siento yo mas bien fue para crear un buen contraste con el onceavo track el cual evoca mucho mas el sentimiento africano del disco con una bit mucho mas bailable que te hace menear la cabeza y aunque hay parte de la letra que no logro entender por estar en un idioma que asumo es africano logró hacerme conectar y querer volver a escucharlo varias veces mas y sin duda Zacari a vuelto a llamar mi atención como lo hizo con LOVE. en ese colab. del disco DAMN. pronto buscare mas de él. Con el doceavo track si me llevé una sorpresa ya que no me esperaba un tema mas soul/funk pero funciona muy bien y tiene un ritmo muy atrayente, al principio pensé en querer pasarlo rápido pero los vocals del "coro" me atrajeron bastante y una parte en su instrumental sin duda me conmovió bastante al igual que el rap. El penúltimo track, el treceavo es sin duda uno de mis favoritos, tal ves sea por ese instrumental que me cuesta tanto sacar de mi cabeza, siento un poco de familiaridad con el tema y a la ves lo siento muy fresco, me a encantado, tal ves no sea la mejor letra o rap, pero en conjunto funciona realmente bien. Y el ultimo pero para mi bastante potente, el catorceavo track, es una producción muy bien planificada y montada desde los vocals africanos en partes del tema, el bit que hace a tu corazón seguir el ritmo, la letra aunque parezca directa y clara puede darse varias interpretaciones y el rap de Kendrick tan inteligente y preciso como siempre, es un tema memorable. Me explayo para dejar claro que el disco, lo AME, y no pensé que fuese a pasara. Kendrick lo hizo otra vez
    Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2018
    9
    This album has a lot of songs I'd go back to. With Travis Scott and Kendrick Lamar's "Big Shot", as well as "King's Dead" this is probably one of the best movie soundtracks in my opinion.
  4. Feb 10, 2018
    9
    I honestly didn't think Kendrick Lamar planned on putting together a cohesive soundtrack (especially when I saw the artist listing) but I have to say I was VERY pleasantly surprised. I was anticipating a soundtrack of arduous hit compilations from various artists but I instead got a glimpse at just how talented TDE really is. I would easily consider this to not only be one of KendrickI honestly didn't think Kendrick Lamar planned on putting together a cohesive soundtrack (especially when I saw the artist listing) but I have to say I was VERY pleasantly surprised. I was anticipating a soundtrack of arduous hit compilations from various artists but I instead got a glimpse at just how talented TDE really is. I would easily consider this to not only be one of Kendrick Lamar's most successful projects but one of the greatest soundtracks I've ever heard. Top Dawg Entertainment has given me no reason to not trust them at this point. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2018
    8
    it's goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood lol xD lmao kek lol
  6. Feb 15, 2018
    10
    The best thing that happened to marvel 10/10 :D (kendrick Lamar is on TOP)
  7. Feb 23, 2018
    10
    Kendrick Lamar has always been one of my favorite hip-hop artists and when I heard he was going to do the soundtrack to Black Panther I was excited, But this was better than I expected. Great Tracks and This album has some great artists who collaborated on this album. Listen to this now Its a great listen
  8. Feb 10, 2018
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is good. The melodies remind me of Africa and I think that was the purpose. Some songs aren't that good but it still pleasant to listen to. Expand
  9. Feb 10, 2018
    9
    i wasn't expecting anything special, but thankfully it managed to be a good project
  10. Feb 15, 2018
    8
    This is one of the best movie soundtracks, especially of a Marvel movie. Although compared to Kendrick's recent outings this is certainly not on the same level as his solo stuff.
  11. Aug 11, 2018
    8
    One of the best soundtracks ever made, not every single song is a hit but there's definitely some bangers. Cornrow Kenny can do no wrong.
    Favorite tracks: X, All The Stars, King's Dead, Big Shot
  12. Mar 1, 2018
    7
    Great album with good songs and great collabs

    Best Song(s):
    All The Stars
    X
    Opps
    Pray For Me

    Worst Song(s):
    The Ways
  13. Mar 2, 2018
    8
    With Black Panther: The Album, I am thoroughly convinced that everything Kendrick touches turns to gold. He brings out the best in collaborating artists, as evidenced by this album, managing to craft a cohesive and consistently high-quality record. The beats stick, the lyricism impresses, and the themes empower in this exploration of the black experience.

    Highlights include 'All the
    With Black Panther: The Album, I am thoroughly convinced that everything Kendrick touches turns to gold. He brings out the best in collaborating artists, as evidenced by this album, managing to craft a cohesive and consistently high-quality record. The beats stick, the lyricism impresses, and the themes empower in this exploration of the black experience.

    Highlights include 'All the Stars,' 'I Am,' 'Bloody Waters,' and 'Big Shot'.
    Expand
  14. Feb 23, 2018
    7
    As an album that is described to be "curated by Kendrick Lamar", it's not surprising that nearly all the best tracks feature him. ("All the Stars", "King's Dead", "Big Shot", etc.) These songs really are enjoyable, and wouldn't even look out of place on an official Kendrick LP. There are a few things that limits this album from taking it to the next level; some of the other artists on thisAs an album that is described to be "curated by Kendrick Lamar", it's not surprising that nearly all the best tracks feature him. ("All the Stars", "King's Dead", "Big Shot", etc.) These songs really are enjoyable, and wouldn't even look out of place on an official Kendrick LP. There are a few things that limits this album from taking it to the next level; some of the other artists on this record don't really contribute the same energy or vibe as Kendrick and the flow of the album is broken on a few occasions, and there are a few songs on this that are just a little too generic (i.e. "The Ways".) Overall, really good for a soundtrack. Expand
  15. Feb 23, 2018
    9
    The Black Panther soundtrack complements the movie perfectly. My favorites are "The Ways" and of course "All The Stars"
  16. Mar 6, 2018
    10
    The best soundtrack since Bright: The Album. All the songs were bangers, and Kendrick definitely made a right decision producing this album.
  17. Feb 16, 2018
    9
    Sensacional, é como explicar esse album, varios artistas renomados trazendo musicas de qualidade, além do famoso Kendrick Lamar fazendo o que sabe de melhor
  18. Feb 26, 2018
    8
    Like its movie counterpart, the Black Panther Soundtrack is a pleasant experience from beginning to end, with a variety of renowned artists that bring spirit to the name of the Black Panther. The beats are relevant and very enjoyable to listen to. Aside from the well production and great names, the album tends to have a couple of unneccessary verses that drags some tracks down toLike its movie counterpart, the Black Panther Soundtrack is a pleasant experience from beginning to end, with a variety of renowned artists that bring spirit to the name of the Black Panther. The beats are relevant and very enjoyable to listen to. Aside from the well production and great names, the album tends to have a couple of unneccessary verses that drags some tracks down to awkwardness. Despite this, the album is well-crafted, and would really make for a great standalone album.

    This is not one of Lamar's finest works, but that's unfair to compare the soundtrack to the rest of the discography. A well-fitted choice for a producer who pumps this project its rich blood..
    Expand
  19. Mar 15, 2018
    8
    Decisamente meglio del film, kendrick lamar come al solito non ne sbaglia una, anche se si nota una leggerissima e sopportabile commercializzazione, è comunque un album che ho enjoynato tantissimo, quindi complimenti a tutti.
  20. May 20, 2018
    10
    Un excelente album, con buenas canciones. Completa perfectamente la pelicula.
  21. Jul 6, 2018
    7
    Great variety of different songs. Some have an African tone that is pretty catchy like "Redemption". But this album is overall hit or miss. Some songs hit, some miss. It is more like a compilation album, rather than a soundtrack. A solid 7.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. The Wire
    Apr 5, 2018
    60
    It’s not a bad record--if nothing else it goes some way to atoning for the disappointment of AC/DC rather than Ghostface landing on the Iron Man 2 soundtrack--but it could have been so much more. [Apr 2018, p.50]
  2. Apr 4, 2018
    80
    Black Panther: The Album is an instantly enjoyable project that allows its featured artists to shine under the watchful eyes and ears of Kendrick Lamar.
  3. Feb 20, 2018
    80
    For all the deft, varied professionalism on display here, Lamar’s omnipresence on Black Panther: The Album might be its most compelling feature.