Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    90
    Black Radio creates an entirely new context for popular music in its near erasure of boundaries. It is the sound of the future--even if no one knows it yet.
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    90
    Overall, Black Radio surpasses the excellence of Double Booked, which is a brilliant album in its own right.
  3. 83
    The groove is the thing. [9 Mar 2012, p.80]
  4. Feb 28, 2012
    88
    Anchored by Glasper's masterful, hypnotic work on piano and Rhodes, and filled with cameos by the likes of Bilal, Lalah Hathaway, Yasmin Bey (a.k.a. Mos Def), Lupe Fiasco and more, it's a sensuous and smoky affair.
  5. Mar 12, 2012
    89
    Glasper managed to create a beautiful album from start to finish that will easily be added into conversations with greats like John Coltrane's Blue Train.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    If on the album supporting artists are : Bilal, Erykah Badu, Lalah Hathaway, Shafiq Husayn, Ledisi, Lupe Fiasco, King, Chrisette Michele orIf on the album supporting artists are : Bilal, Erykah Badu, Lalah Hathaway, Shafiq Husayn, Ledisi, Lupe Fiasco, King, Chrisette Michele or Mos Def - it is bound hard to call it unsuccessful. Especially if it comes from the hands of Robert Glasper and it's a mix of various styles: from hip-hop and jazz in "Lift Off Mic Check", to the soulful ballad with a strong beat in the background "Afro Blue". LP however continues to be a jazz album, albeit rather experimental - but worth the money. Full Review »
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    6
    The albums as a whole is fairly impressive, but the problem for me is that no tracks stand out at all. The production is obviouslyThe albums as a whole is fairly impressive, but the problem for me is that no tracks stand out at all. The production is obviously praiseworthy, but I feel like there's no climax to it. And the "Smells Like Teen Spirit" cover is such an anticlimactic closing. Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    this album is my bread n butter. I've been listening to hip hop, soul, jazz, rock, alternative, everything, and this album just amalgamatesthis album is my bread n butter. I've been listening to hip hop, soul, jazz, rock, alternative, everything, and this album just amalgamates it beautifully. So Robert Glasper, kudos man, and keep on your path, keep carving it, because it's gonna be traversed by a lot of people in the future man. You are a pathfinder. Full Review »