Bleed Like Me

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2005
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 132

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonathanH
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    This is the year of Garbage! This album is exceptional. None of the tracks have anything wrong with them, but major points are 'Bad Boyfriend', 'Run Baby Run', 'Bleed Like Me', 'Happy Home', and 'Why do you love Me'. While it may look as though critics are divided over this album's quality, one must remember that these are only the This is the year of Garbage! This album is exceptional. None of the tracks have anything wrong with them, but major points are 'Bad Boyfriend', 'Run Baby Run', 'Bleed Like Me', 'Happy Home', and 'Why do you love Me'. While it may look as though critics are divided over this album's quality, one must remember that these are only the opinions of 12 people. What ultimately matters is your own opinion, and the simple fact is that people who actually like the band and aren't biased contradictionary morons looking for an excuse to shit on someone- really love 'Bleed Like Me'. Expand
  2. CarenT
    Apr 17, 2005
    10
    This is a great album! I highly recommend this album (and all their previous albums) to anyone who enjoys good music...unlike some of the critics i've read on here. Garbage is brilliant.
  3. victora
    May 30, 2005
    10
    This albums Rocks!!
  4. EmilyG
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    The thing I love about every Garbage album is that they are albums - and great ones at that - becuase you can listen to them all the way through and end up never questioning whether one of the songs should have been left out. There were times during beautifulgarbage when I wasn't convinced by a song but Bleed Like Me is certainly a return to the glory of the first 2 albums. I love it!!!!
  5. Poldo
    Apr 12, 2005
    9
    This album signs the return of Garbage in the world of music. I think we've been very lucky to have the opportunity to listen to this record, due to internal scissions of the band and Shirley vocal chords. I do not think the album is excellent, but I do think it's quite a good welcome back lp. Metal Heart rocks, Run Baby Run has its own special rhythm, It's all over but the This album signs the return of Garbage in the world of music. I think we've been very lucky to have the opportunity to listen to this record, due to internal scissions of the band and Shirley vocal chords. I do not think the album is excellent, but I do think it's quite a good welcome back lp. Metal Heart rocks, Run Baby Run has its own special rhythm, It's all over but the crying is the unmissable melanchonic ballad which makes me always cry... This album has the potentiality to climb up the music charts of the whole earth. I cannot believe the reviews up to now didn't catch the substance of this really good cd... Expand
  6. WS
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    Version 2.0 remains my favorite, but this album while not spectacular is a good effort, and a good effort from Garbage far exceeds the other crap out there
  7. Colleen
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    Best comeback album in years...I don't understand the mixed reviews at all.
  8. JoshG
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    Very good. Goes back to the debut days.
  9. LakeishaJ
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best albums of the year! I have listened to garbage since their first self titled album, and this is the best one since then. Many people think that they have this trite hard pop sound, but I feel like over the years, Garbage has really defined their own niche. Go Shirley and Butch!!
  10. TimS
    Apr 14, 2005
    9
    To malign the band for sounding like.. the band is ridiculous. The Stones sound like the Stones, U2 like U2, etc. All bands have a basic formula. BLM takes the basic Garbage formula and tries to subtract the rampant samples and glossy production values to create what is, at best, a brilliant rock record. This is the band relying on their abilities to play the guitar, beat the hell out of To malign the band for sounding like.. the band is ridiculous. The Stones sound like the Stones, U2 like U2, etc. All bands have a basic formula. BLM takes the basic Garbage formula and tries to subtract the rampant samples and glossy production values to create what is, at best, a brilliant rock record. This is the band relying on their abilities to play the guitar, beat the hell out of the drums, and sing anthemic rock tunes, without twiddling too many knobs or overanalyzing the tunes. Simple and direct... exactly where the band needed to go. Expand
  11. Brett
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    It has the edge of the first album, the brilliance of the second, and the glamour of the third. I think it is the best album I have heard all year; As for the critics, they are clearly missing the message and have no concept of this album's magnitude. Adding to the fact that Garbage is phenomenal in concert, I think this is the best things to happen to music in a while.
  12. BrennaF
    Apr 19, 2005
    9
    I'd take more stock in these critics if they hadn't decided that Mariah Carey's latest slice of melba toast is one-third better than Garbage's heavy box of big beats, giant hooks and day-glo melodies.
  13. kennyboy
    Apr 25, 2005
    9
    This is a very good, catchy album. I am getting really tired of the snob appeal from the "critics." As soon as an artist reaches critical mass, they its time to slam 'em....sad, really sad. I say get the album, and enjoy.
  14. StephanieM
    May 4, 2005
    9
    I can't stop listening to this album! I am addicted to it. The songs are well worth listening to. When I first listened, it took a couple of times for the music to hook me, and then you find favorites that you didn't think would be in the first place. There is probably only one song I skip..Sex Is Not the Enemy. It sounds dull and boring to me. All of the other songs blow my I can't stop listening to this album! I am addicted to it. The songs are well worth listening to. When I first listened, it took a couple of times for the music to hook me, and then you find favorites that you didn't think would be in the first place. There is probably only one song I skip..Sex Is Not the Enemy. It sounds dull and boring to me. All of the other songs blow my mind. This CD rocks! Expand
  15. SDS
    May 6, 2005
    10
    Best CD of the year so far. Garbage has returned with a CD that is more true to their live show. Shirley Manson's vocals are in top form - she is "The Queen"!
  16. kateg
    May 9, 2005
    10
    this cd has not left my car stereo since it's release in april...i absolutely adore it.
  17. PhilL
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    For those who love good hard rock music this is worth getting. Despite the criticisms, it's still one of the best albums to come out this year. In fact, I think it's the best rock album to come out this year. Sure, many compare this album with their first two which isn't as good but nobody can constantly follow-up each album's success Garbage fans will definitely fall For those who love good hard rock music this is worth getting. Despite the criticisms, it's still one of the best albums to come out this year. In fact, I think it's the best rock album to come out this year. Sure, many compare this album with their first two which isn't as good but nobody can constantly follow-up each album's success Garbage fans will definitely fall in love with this the minute they listen to the first 5 tracks which are clearly better songs than their entire last album combined. My recommedation is go buy the CD because they only sold like 400,000 so far and it deserves higher sells than that. If you're not a Garbage fan, it's still worth getting because there hasn't been a good rock album this year with more than 2 good songs in them and this one succeeds over that with 8 ( in my opinion). Overall, it kick's ass, sounds like a mix of their first two albums, somewhat like Everecence, but most importantly, you get your money's worth! Expand
  18. jimmyjimoneb
    Jun 9, 2005
    8
    I was sooo dissapointed by beautiful garbage... and i'm sooo happy with this return!! very simple yet efficent rock
  19. Fiona
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    This is the best record of the year hands down. They've evolved so much as a band, first the electro rock of 'Garbage', the techno rock of 'Version 2.0', the pop of 'BeautifulGarbage', and now the guitar rock of 'Bleed Like Me'. Shirley Manson's lyrics have never been political, but 'Metal Heart' and 'Sex is not the This is the best record of the year hands down. They've evolved so much as a band, first the electro rock of 'Garbage', the techno rock of 'Version 2.0', the pop of 'BeautifulGarbage', and now the guitar rock of 'Bleed Like Me'. Shirley Manson's lyrics have never been political, but 'Metal Heart' and 'Sex is not the Enemy' prove she's just as good at channeling frustration as Maynard James Keenan and Chris Cornell, while the rest are easily relatable and impactful. It's amazing that anyone could criticize this album; the music is so hook laden you'd be hard pressed to find one song that doesn't present a hint of the perfect radio single, and Manson's vocals are so well delivered that you believe every word she says. And every word is worth listening to if you take the time to see what they mean. Expand
  20. [Anonymous]
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    It's perfect despite the critics. It's like a good wine. Perhaps it's too fine a wine for some people's taste.
  21. SteveR
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    The album is definetly a comeback for Garbage, and I feel this album will do MUCH better than the previous album BG. Can't wait to see them on tour!
  22. DaveB.
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    What a great album! All the tracks kick a**! Have been waiting for this album for years and my prayers have been answered. Can't wait to see Shirley and the boys live in T.O.
  23. samg
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    bleed like me is great! garbage has been gone for a while, but i'm glad they are back, and the album was totally worth the wait.
  24. RandyB
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    It's fairly early in the year, but this is already one of the best of the year. Amazing, and their best since '98's 'Version 2.0'
  25. JamesS
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    I've listened only once so far, but I'm LOVING it!
  26. TerryMitchell
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    This album sounds like the Garbage I fell in love with so many years ago!
  27. SCOTTS
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    A solid rocker after the too diverse Beautiful Garbage CD. Bad Boyfriend is irresistable and should have been the first single. Most of these songs should be very appealing live and we can only hope for a long overdue Live Garbage DVD. The slower Bleed Like Me and It's All Over But the Crying are the best Shirley has sounded yet. This new CD is a must for those who loved A solid rocker after the too diverse Beautiful Garbage CD. Bad Boyfriend is irresistable and should have been the first single. Most of these songs should be very appealing live and we can only hope for a long overdue Live Garbage DVD. The slower Bleed Like Me and It's All Over But the Crying are the best Shirley has sounded yet. This new CD is a must for those who loved Garbage's first two albums. Expand
  28. BadBoyfriendOnIce
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    In a world of "Simple Plans", "Blink 182's", and many wannabe rock bands there's Garbage! Bleed Like Me was everything I wanted in a Garbage Album! From the pounding, aggressive Bad Boyfriend to the deep lyrics of It's All Over But the Crying to...well I just love every track on the album - Garbage's best album to date hands down! Thank you Garbage for producing In a world of "Simple Plans", "Blink 182's", and many wannabe rock bands there's Garbage! Bleed Like Me was everything I wanted in a Garbage Album! From the pounding, aggressive Bad Boyfriend to the deep lyrics of It's All Over But the Crying to...well I just love every track on the album - Garbage's best album to date hands down! Thank you Garbage for producing another gem, easily the brightest! Expand
  29. MattB
    Apr 14, 2005
    7
    The album has ups and downs, but the ups are way up there. The title track is "Walk on the Wild Side" for the 21st century. "Boys Wanna Fight," "Sex Is Not the Enemy," "Bad Boyfriend" and "Why Do You Love Me" showcase a much purer version of Garbage than on the largely over-produced Beautiful Garbage. Still, the album may be late, but it reminds fans of why they listened in the first The album has ups and downs, but the ups are way up there. The title track is "Walk on the Wild Side" for the 21st century. "Boys Wanna Fight," "Sex Is Not the Enemy," "Bad Boyfriend" and "Why Do You Love Me" showcase a much purer version of Garbage than on the largely over-produced Beautiful Garbage. Still, the album may be late, but it reminds fans of why they listened in the first place - because everyone is f***ed up in there own special way. Expand
  30. BrandonS
    Apr 14, 2005
    7
    The thing about Garbage for me is this: since they produce or overproduce everything, there are always elements in the mix waiting to be discovered even years after you first listen to the album (I still hear something new every time I listen to Garbage or Version 2.0). Every time I've listen to Bleed Like Me, it's gotten better, the mix has made more sense, and the overall The thing about Garbage for me is this: since they produce or overproduce everything, there are always elements in the mix waiting to be discovered even years after you first listen to the album (I still hear something new every time I listen to Garbage or Version 2.0). Every time I've listen to Bleed Like Me, it's gotten better, the mix has made more sense, and the overall feeling has come through a bit more. I'm not in love with the album, and I think Garbage needs to return more to their remix-with-the-song strategy on more than just a couple of songs, as they do here. But I do like it quite a bit, and I hope we don't have to wait another few years for another album. This band is still vital and versatile (at one point sounding like classic Garbage, Collective Soul, and the Cardigans in the span of about ten seconds), and Dave Grohl should get a grammy, an emmy, and an oscar for his drumming on the first track. They've turned into a great arena-rock band. So what if it's not a masterpiece? Expand
  31. Joey
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    This album is pure energy, heart-felt and addictive...thats why we love garbage!
  32. DonnaRama
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    OOOhhh,this album is hot!It takes a couple listens to build it's heat for first time listeners,but then bam!,your new favorite Garbage record.Sadly,these music critics offer nothing new themselves...some like it,some don't,don't listen to anyt of them,there's no need as you can make up your own mind.I can't tell you how msany movies and albums I've enjoyed OOOhhh,this album is hot!It takes a couple listens to build it's heat for first time listeners,but then bam!,your new favorite Garbage record.Sadly,these music critics offer nothing new themselves...some like it,some don't,don't listen to anyt of them,there's no need as you can make up your own mind.I can't tell you how msany movies and albums I've enjoyed that have been trashed by these people and consequently,their opinions almost prevented me.Tsk..tsk...my only critism is this album is too short!Bad Boyfriend,Run baby Run and title track Bleed Like me will be clasica.There's sooo much here.....good job Garbage! Expand
  33. BillK.
    Apr 15, 2005
    9
    Well, I like Blink 182, and I wouldn't lump then in with Simple Plan...sounds like someone who hasn't really listened to them. But I do agree this Garbage album is great, and I'm kind of surprised by these negative reviews. I think a lot of these critics are looking for "music" that is experimental, and don't really care if its actually good or not. This album has some Well, I like Blink 182, and I wouldn't lump then in with Simple Plan...sounds like someone who hasn't really listened to them. But I do agree this Garbage album is great, and I'm kind of surprised by these negative reviews. I think a lot of these critics are looking for "music" that is experimental, and don't really care if its actually good or not. This album has some very hummable tunes on it and will definitely spend some time in your stereo. Expand
  34. BogdanK
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    After pop electronic beautifulgarbage , Garbage goes back to it's roots with this perfect rock album. We can just hope to see their albums more often.
  35. JaredJ
    Apr 15, 2005
    8
    Unlike their last CD, this one brings nothing new to the table. But it contains some of their all-time best work.
  36. LevisO
    Apr 17, 2005
    8
    This album is a far better effort than their rather dismal last but surprisingly said album achieved a 67 score while this has only got 54 at present? Madness!. Standout tracks include pretty much all except the annoying Why Don't You Come Over. But my fave tracks are Run Baby Run and Happy Home.
  37. FilazaferX
    Apr 17, 2005
    9
    I agree. This is a great CD. The critics got this one wrong. This is coming from someone that has never bought a Garbage CD before.
  38. BenjitheGreat
    Apr 18, 2005
    9
    man... i usually agree with critic ratings, but here they are completely off the mark. Read Rolling Stone's review for its fair treatment of the album. First off, "Bleed Like Me" is much more rock-oriented than their previous albums; i was skeptical about this but it works extremely well for the most part. This album includes some of the best, catchiest tunes by garbage yet man... i usually agree with critic ratings, but here they are completely off the mark. Read Rolling Stone's review for its fair treatment of the album. First off, "Bleed Like Me" is much more rock-oriented than their previous albums; i was skeptical about this but it works extremely well for the most part. This album includes some of the best, catchiest tunes by garbage yet including: bad boyfriend, run baby run, why do you love me, bleed like me, metal heart, and boys wanna fight. These tracks alone make the album worth buying. There are a couple of weak tracks here, however, such as "sex is not the enemy". Overall, a great album that everyone should try. Expand
  39. GaryH
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    I would say that I am relieved and overjoyed with "Bleed Like Me". Beautiful Garbage was disappointing and this album seems to capture the essence of what Garbage is. I the mor eI listen to it the more I like. I think that "Metal Heart" may end up being Garbage's most underrated song. It is so very powerful!
  40. me
    Apr 23, 2005
    10
    i love this band. and after so much time i was salivating for some more. they didnt disappoint; true they dont have their typical sound, but i think it's a testament to their evolution as a band. i love their new cd!
  41. AdamN
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    Garbage is back and better than ever! Go buy this album!
  42. AustinA.
    Apr 26, 2005
    8
    Bleed Like Me is far from their best album, but Garbage yet again proves not to be garbage.
  43. DiegoM
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    Garbage at their best, awesome CD and great music.
  44. Matt
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Garbage again makes a great album - they changed things around just enough to have it sound fresh.
  45. WillS
    May 26, 2005
    10
    Love it, absolutely love it. Such a great collection of catchy tunes. I haven
  46. WaleedS
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    It's a good album, not as great as Version 2.0, but I like how this site doesn't bother to put up the Amazon and Billboard reviews of the album both of which are very favorable but they put both of those company's reviews up for Mariah Carey's new album which came out on the same date. How stupid.
  47. RomanS
    Jul 14, 2005
    7
    OMG, I've been waiting for this album for soooo long, just like all Garbage fans... And what was released sounds like hastily-made record. Sad sad sad...
  48. SeanD.
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Brilliant, a wonderful change from the also sheer bliss that was beautifulgarbage. A splendid mix of their past efforts placed into one album, with the raw intensity of mid 90's rock.
  49. ChrisS
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    Every single song on this CD is good from start to finish.
  50. Sarah
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    best album since 2.0
  51. LuisR
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    undoubtedly the best album of 2005. Highlights on the album include Why Do You Love Me, Boys Wanna Fight, It's All Over But The Crying, and Metal Heart. Yes Shirley, Duke, Butch and Steve still got it!
  52. MarshallS
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    Awesome CD! Garbage triumphs again with another hard rockin album. Go buy it, don't burn it!
  53. VickyM
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    started listening to the album a couple weeks ago and have been playing it in my car non-stop. love it!
  54. CraigC
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    A good, fun, rockin pop-rock record. How could one not love Shirley? I'm just glad they're back. See them live, they're amazing. Be skeptical about some of the low-rated reviews, they're over-analazing the record. It's not Shakespeare people. It's RAWK!
  55. DrewF
    Apr 13, 2005
    7
    ..i'd actually prefer to give it a 7.5, but can't. The first three tracks on this one are the most generic rock-tracks i've ever heard Garbage produce. I was really worried that this WAS going to be as disappointing as they say. From Track 4 on, it feels alot more like Garbage. Nothing spectacular, but if you're a fan, you'll find enjoyment in it. The least of ..i'd actually prefer to give it a 7.5, but can't. The first three tracks on this one are the most generic rock-tracks i've ever heard Garbage produce. I was really worried that this WAS going to be as disappointing as they say. From Track 4 on, it feels alot more like Garbage. Nothing spectacular, but if you're a fan, you'll find enjoyment in it. The least of their albums, but that's still better then 80% of what's on the market. Expand
  56. johns
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    The Perfect Garbage Album. This one is what Beatiful Garbage should have been. I think Metal Heart maybe the best Garbage Song ever. Even if you don't like past Garbage, pick up this album. It will be worth it.
  57. JamesB
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    I don't get what is wrong with all of these critics. They're all fucking hypocrits. You know why? Because someone like LCD Soundsystem or Beck uses technical flourishes and they call it brilliance. Garbage uses them and they shit on them for doing it. This album is great. Right up there with Version 2.0
  58. DustinR
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    This is their best since Version 2.0
  59. BrianM
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    One of the best of the year. Everything on this album is perfect. As good as their first two and better than their last (though that was one of the best of its year as well) All the mixed reviews make me wonder whether the critics have been labotomized. And is it really fair that only ten critics opinions are represented here, when others get many more than that? an amazing album.
  60. JoshM
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    A hauntingly well written, well played and well produced evolution. They're back, and they're Garbage.
  61. GonzaloP
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    I have never payed much attention to critics and I won't now, simply because I really really like this album and no idiotic word they say is gonna change that. Bad Boyfriend is great, Why do you love is catchy, Bleed Like me is an instant Garbage classic, It's all over.. it's a beautiful song... I mean, whatever!
  62. BillyE
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    This the best Garbage album since their debut and well worth the wait. Went to the live show in Atlanta this past thursday and it was the best concert I've ever seen... A surefire 10!!!!
  63. MacB
    Apr 21, 2005
    8
    Agressive and fun. Not quite as good as the first two cd's, but much livlier than beautifulgarbage.
  64. JoshuaJ
    Apr 21, 2005
    10
    Very good CD in my opinion, I think Metacritic needs to get more of the positive reviews on there.
  65. BrandonR
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    Even after reading the bad reviews on Metacritic, I decided to buy this album simply because I own their three previous albums. I would have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. Bleed Like Me marks Garbage's triumphant return with its mix of the edgy sound from their first album, the "polished" feel that I liked so much about Version 2.0, and a whole new sound that works quite Even after reading the bad reviews on Metacritic, I decided to buy this album simply because I own their three previous albums. I would have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. Bleed Like Me marks Garbage's triumphant return with its mix of the edgy sound from their first album, the "polished" feel that I liked so much about Version 2.0, and a whole new sound that works quite well for them. After Beautiful Garbage, I was sure they were done for but Bleed Like Me definitely proved me wrong. If you are considering buying this album, stop thinking about it and pick up a copy now. Expand
  66. DwightV
    Apr 27, 2005
    7
    This is better than their last album. It's a solid comeback. They cut back on the electronic affects, and focused more on heavy guitar usage. Shirley Manson delivers great vocals although she uses less variety like in the previous album. They seem to be building back to 2.0 form.
  67. RonW
    May 12, 2005
    10
    Simply .... superior.
  68. MatthewS
    May 13, 2005
    10
    This album is spectacular. I've had it since early April and sounds truly nice pumping at a high decibel from the car stereo. I have removed it from time to time to play Fionna's 'Tidal', or the Smashing Pumkins...but for some reason I keep wanting to play this album, even more so than the prior 3 by Garbage. It's just that good in the car. Also, the tracks have This album is spectacular. I've had it since early April and sounds truly nice pumping at a high decibel from the car stereo. I have removed it from time to time to play Fionna's 'Tidal', or the Smashing Pumkins...but for some reason I keep wanting to play this album, even more so than the prior 3 by Garbage. It's just that good in the car. Also, the tracks have simple choruses, but thats the appeal, they leave you thirsting for more and wanting to hear them and belt along with Shirley all the way through. Way to go Garbage. 4 Spectacular albums, is no small feat. Great show @ the Warfield in SF too btw. Expand
  69. JessicaB
    May 24, 2005
    10
    their best album to date. ignore the blog critics. it's the album of the year.
  70. alexd
    Jun 13, 2005
    8
    Not as good as Garbage or Version 2.0, it is a great answer to the pop experiment of beautifulgarbage (which i think got a bad wrap). Bad Boyfriend, Why Do You Love Me, Bleed Like Me and Happy Home stand out. Garbage may not be at the top of thier game, but they still have it, unlike half the rock-lite groups out there.
  71. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    Amazing album! Garbage once again proves critics wrong! This album to me is a masterpiece. Shirley Manson sounds and looks as better than ever. Great album!
  72. May 17, 2012
    10
    Garbages 4th album goes against the individuality they are reknowned for, and blends largely into generic pop rock. It is still a very listenable and melodic collection, it is just a little bland compared to previous albums. Standout songs are Bad Boyfriend, Why Do You Love Me? And Metal Heart.
  73. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    Once you get into the core of the album, it's really hard to understand why this is deemed to be the Garbage's "weakest" record, as nothing of it is bland and it's clearly one of the band's most powerful records. The album lacks the electronica and loops that characterized the band's previous works but it has instead really pure guitars and "raw" drums. Add to that that Foo Fighter's DaveOnce you get into the core of the album, it's really hard to understand why this is deemed to be the Garbage's "weakest" record, as nothing of it is bland and it's clearly one of the band's most powerful records. The album lacks the electronica and loops that characterized the band's previous works but it has instead really pure guitars and "raw" drums. Add to that that Foo Fighter's Dave Grohl provides drums on tracks "Bad Boyfriend" and excellent drummer Matt Walker on the rest of most tracks. This album is explosive! Expand
  74. Jan 10, 2013
    9
    I personally think this album is the closest you could get to 1995's "Garbage." Extremely well written and well performed. A fantastic album. Garbage always will keep you entertained.
  75. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    I love it! They definitely redeemed themselves after "Beautifulgarbage." Shirley's vocals are great, and the songs are catchy. The best songs are "Bleed Like Me," "Sex is Not the Enemy", and "Why Don't You Come Over."
  76. Nov 13, 2013
    7
    The first half of this album is amazing, well produced and a classic. Around track 7 (Sex is not the enemy) things start to wobble and we lose that amazing energy seen in such classics as "Why do you love me", "Bad Boyfriend" and "Bleed Like Me".
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Humongous hooks. [15 Apr 2005, p.77]
  2. The first two-thirds of Bleed Like Me is easily the best sustained run of studio Garbage since the opening half of their 1995 debut.
  3. While Manson's changeling vocals are always worth listening to, Garbage's songs often aren't.