Blood Bank [EP] Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The four-track EP was recorded at different places between December 2006 and June 2008.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The record sounds, appropriately so, as if it were made by a band experimenting, rather than by one man alone, heartbroken, in his so-often-talked-about Wisconsin cabin.
  2. Blood Bank leaves something to be desired--namely the fragility and unplanned expansiveness that defined Emma. Fortunately, this set's remaining songs benefit from feeling slightly incomplete.
  3. The Blood Bank EP is a fine appendix to the Bon Iver story, so far, and in its subdued elegance, the title track has all the emotional generosity of giving blood, tinged with the awareness of mortality.
  4. The Vocoder on the a cappella track 'Woods' puts forth a robotic wooziness that's more about technical expression than personal sentiment. With full-band backing, Vernon also seems more social on the title track and 'Babys.' What remains from "For Emma" is a dizzying and ethereal beauty.
  5. It sees Vernon moving things on a touch, artistically, while still retaining much of what made his debut such a delight to so many.
  6. Vernon is great at seizing on something simple and spinning it out to reveal its innner beauty and this EP shows that there's more than just heartbreak to the 27-year-old. The title track, however, does sound like something by Coldplay.
  7. Whereas "For Emma" felt like a ray of sunlight seamlessly inching across the forest floor, Blood Bank feels like fluorescent-bulbed filler.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest and moving EP's released during the last decade.
  2. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    I honestly don't know why this EP wasn't received nearly as well as For Emma, its basically the b-sides and you can tell (which is a goodI honestly don't know why this EP wasn't received nearly as well as For Emma, its basically the b-sides and you can tell (which is a good thing). "Blood Bank", the track, is extremely strong and "Babys" is haunting beautiful. With "Woods", Vernon stepped out of his expected sound and made a masterpiece of a song (personally, I think this track may have inspired James Blake a bit). Collapse
  3. aArONM
    Jan 22, 2009
    9
    Great EP. Bon Iver is silently moving through the shadows of the industry. HIs last album, "For Emma, Forever Ago" was amazing. This album Great EP. Bon Iver is silently moving through the shadows of the industry. HIs last album, "For Emma, Forever Ago" was amazing. This album brings joy to my patience of an album release soon. Another great to come! Expand
  4. MarlonZ
    Jan 22, 2009
    9
    Beautifully constructed and astoundingly performed. Every bit as good as "For Emma, Forever Ago".
  5. JJDraper
    Jan 31, 2009
    9
    This is a beautiful hint at what is to come from his full upcoming album. As bleak and devastatingly heart-warming as his prior work, it is This is a beautiful hint at what is to come from his full upcoming album. As bleak and devastatingly heart-warming as his prior work, it is also a definite step towards something new. As for the comment about Blood Bank sounding like Coldplay...look at the lyrics, the incredible building anxiety and wonder at the end and compare that to any of the thoughtless, pretentious noise of Chris Martin and co. Disgrace! Expand
  6. simonf
    Jan 25, 2009
    8
    Show's the beauty Vernon can make, but it feels less motivated than its predecessor.
  7. Jun 15, 2014
    8
    Still good. I loved the uniqueness of "Woods". I loved that track. Probably a bit too short for my liking, but it still has the intimacy andStill good. I loved the uniqueness of "Woods". I loved that track. Probably a bit too short for my liking, but it still has the intimacy and charm from For Emma, Forever Ago. Love it. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews