Blood Sport Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The band that gave us alt-radio hit "6 Underground" returns with a third album, although their second (1999's 'Splinter') failed to secure U.S. distribution. Guitarist Chris Corner now handles lead vocals, replacing the departed Kelli Dayton.

Top Track

On My Own- Alone (from The Movie Bloodsport)
He hurts to find he failed the test Knowing that you gave your best As your friend I'll never Let you down I know you didn't mean to leave me On my... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. The band continues with a strong electronic feel without compromising the integrity of good, raw musicianship.
  2. Mixer
    70
    The crunchy guitars that underpinned some of the tracks on X are now up front, giving the whole collection the feel of early Manchester bands like Happy Mondays. [Feb 2002, p.74]
  3. Launch.com
    70
    Save for a few heavy-handed tracks, such as the lame religion-as-porn clunker "Blue Movie" and the drag of "Loreta Young Silks," the disc offers a satisfyingly rich aural texture.
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    Once a trip-hop outfit with a female singer, [Sneaker Pimps are] now a mopey synth-pop quartet aimed at everyone's hidden goth teen. [3 May 2002, p.88]
  5. Q Magazine
    40
    Has only occasional flashes of inspiration. [Jan 2002, p.107]
  6. Further success should elude them. That, it seems, is firmly restricted to the past.
  7. Vibe
    30
    Sounds like a watered-down Pearl Jam spiked with a drum machine and a couple of extra synths. [Feb 2002, p.123]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. ZilvinasN
    Jun 9, 2003
    10
    excelent!
  2. Jan 29, 2018
    10
    One of the most underrated albums of all time. It blends trip-hop, alternative rock, and pop masterfully.
  3. Kate
    May 20, 2004
    10
    Anyone who can call this a disapointment needs to look closer. The composition of the tracks, Chris' strained indie-esque vocals and a Anyone who can call this a disapointment needs to look closer. The composition of the tracks, Chris' strained indie-esque vocals and a hard back beat make this album stunning. Well, for me anyway. Collapse
  4. JulieK
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    The Sneaker Pimps are just the most interesting band to me today. Corner's voice is sublime, it can make you feel a large panel of The Sneaker Pimps are just the most interesting band to me today. Corner's voice is sublime, it can make you feel a large panel of emotions. And this album is just their best (with Splinter). Excellent ! Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2017
    10
    I have no idea why this album gets such a low review score. It's easily the second best album from the band and one of the best of theI have no idea why this album gets such a low review score. It's easily the second best album from the band and one of the best of the generation, compulsory listening. Expand
  6. IgorC.
    Sep 12, 2002
    9
    Chris Corner is really charismatic singer and their live show is unforgetable. the new album is not dissapointment for me.
  7. RobbieC
    Oct 4, 2007
    9
    I love this record. It's even better than their first two. The beats and sound effects are really interesting, if not entirely original. I love this record. It's even better than their first two. The beats and sound effects are really interesting, if not entirely original. Their used well and the lyrical themes and hooks are awesome. A great dark-pop album. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews