Blue Cathedral

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Jul 27, 2004
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GregP
    Aug 10, 2004
    0
    It's amazing how all these no name bands with no fans get great reviews. The critic's are pretty clueless when it comes to music.
  2. RayC
    Aug 14, 2004
    3
    I thought it was pretty wretched, but to each their own wretched things they like. Unforgivably generic and unappealing. I forgot it was even playing several times while listening. I hope we can still be friends.
  3. TomB
    Aug 20, 2004
    1
    This is, simply, awful. Like 4 monkeys in a studio who are banging on pots and pans on the label's dime. Critics who like this are too far gone from what constitutes a TUNE to ever be trusted again. Yecch.
  4. GregP
    Aug 24, 2004
    1
    Well I listened to this pile of steaming hog poo and I'm not impressed at all. The only thing this cd is good for is killing that nasty spider that lived in my room. I dunno how this can be called music, it's just a bunch of random poundage and some scratching sounds. I'll give it a 1 because there were a couple decent riffs.
  5. ScottH
    Aug 24, 2004
    0
    Probably the worst, most unwelcome thing I've ever heard. Dudes, Karp and Led Zepellin are like garlic and chocolate: two great tastes that don't taste good together.
  6. EduardoM
    Sep 12, 2004
    2
    No thanks guys! It's like whatsit the guy from Led Zeppelin is stubbing his toe into a megaphone in a completely different building from all these people who are all soloing at the same time. I won't rest until the world sees that this album is two out of ten material.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. This album just may signal the beginning of an exciting new era in rock music.
  2. Mojo
    80
    This time [COF] have tempered their voluminous superfuzz with scenic bliss. [Oct 2004, p.101]
  3. Uninhibited and hushed in all the right places, it’s safe to say that Comets on Fire have hit their stride.