Blurred Lines - Robin Thicke
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 59
  2. Negative: 25 out of 59

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    5
    The album is ok, but it can be somewhat boring at times and the lyrics could use some help. Robin Thicke's vocals are good, but he certainly pours it on a little thick at times, which isn't really a good thing. Overall, it's not a bad album, but it's not one I would ever listen to again.
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    It's not just that this guy is the douche satchel of the year. He has genuine talent. But he wouldn't have made it to the top of the charts were it not for Pharrel's label rescuing him and grooming him to chart success. Of course a couple of pairs of breasts and a gyrating Cyrus helped people to keep talking about him. He is a walking, singing pastiche of all that is offensive, mindless and common. To the point where his existing talent is obscured by it all. Of course he's no different from the average rapper in terms of song content or abuse of women in videos. But it's more noticeable with him because beneath the abhorrent surface of this album lies true soul. It's a shame. Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2013
    3
    A lot of these songs sound dated, but not in a fresh way. "Feel Good" sounds like Calvin Harris/Sam Sparro circa 2008. "Give It 2 U" sounds straight out of 2003. Other tracks sound like they could be fillers on his previous albums. As massive as Blurred Lines the single was, this album is not a game changer for him.
  4. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    It's blurred alright! this album doesn't have any focus except a quick hit. It's all downhill from the first track. He changes his singing style so much with each song till it's annoying.
  5. Sep 13, 2013
    6
    Before I start this, I wanna brush off the title track right away, since that's beating a dead horse & I'm more interested in reviewing the rest of the album. I'll just say that in the context of the album of the same name it's not among the best tracks but it's not really a low point either. For the record even though I'm aware of his decade-long respectably successful career as an R&B crooner, this is my full-album introduction to the guy. In terms of overall quality, Blurred Lines really tends to fluctuate from track to track. One minute you've got a fun swagger-filled disco/funk tune like “Get in My Way”, then it's followed up with a piece of modern-day club vomit like “Give It 2 U” (which I really hope bombs as the 2nd single). To me, Robin Thicke is best when surrounded by organic instrumentation, writing lyrics that have some tangible level of depth, and taking full advantage of his soulful voice, particularly getting into his falsetto range.

    A perfect example of this working combination is “Ain't No Hat 4 That”, which shows some extremely catchy melodies complete with a soul-flavored horn section, while also sneaking in a message about materialism that's fun to sing along with in the chorus. Of course he can also pull off a solid light pop song like “Ooo La La”, but it's nice to know not every song in this style here is entirely like that. The last 3 tracks on the standard edition are when things start to get especially interesting in the lyrics department, those being the cheesy but sincerely sweet ballad “4 the Rest of My Life”, the interesting storytelling social commentary in “Top of the World” with a rap-like delivery is parts of the verses that somehow works, and “The Good Life”, which talks about being grateful for his past merely modest success with a steady 3/4 groove & singalong chorus that almost sounds like something out of a musical.

    But again, there are definitely some duds & tracks that make you forget what you liked about the rest of the album in the first place. There's the aforementioned “Give It 2 U”, with whining synths & painfully cliché hack pickup line guide lyrics, made worse by an embarrassingly disappointing guest verse from Kendrick Lamar. Same goes for “Take It Easy On Me”, except here at multiple points Robin also does a laughably bad Timbaland impression & says the line “I want to shop for your underwear”. And the acoustic guitar-driven (why?) “Go Stupid 4 U” is the creepiest, perviest song on the whole album, which is saying something. Rounding out the track list, “Feel Good” and the 2 bonus tracks are okay but nothing all that notable. Overall, I'm not really sure how high or low my expectations were going into Blurred Lines, but I have a feeling they were met for the most part. It's a decent pop album that's not without its awful moments, but is worth checking out for its handful of good ones.

    Top 5 tracks: Ain't No Hat 4 That, Get in My Way, Top of the World, The Good Life, 4 the Rest of My Life
    Score: 62/100
    Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    5
    After Blurred Lines every track became a blur. To be honest, I do not remember or care for the tracks after Blurred Lines. The title track is probably the reason I rated it a 5.
  7. Jul 31, 2013
    5
    Going in expecting something like Blurred Lines will no doubt render you disapproving of this album. I'm a longterm fan and also don't like it, so it really isn't pleasing anyone. It seems like a Justin Timberlake impersonation that bombs. I can admire that he's changing a few things up, and his personal tracks are alright, but this one is a pass compared to previous efforts. 4.8/10
  8. Aug 11, 2013
    5
    Although Robin Thicke's tunes (most notably the title track) are very catchy and you'll end up buying them, you'll still be remembered of the modern pop that his music is.
  9. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    This is not by far his best album but it is quite good and enjoyable. Despite having its up and downs, forget "Give it 2 U" is on the tracklist and you will find out it is a great record. Give some credit to Robin for trying out something different. Blurred Lines will take you to the "R&B" vibe's path, if you're expecting this to sound like his previous work, you shouldn't even bother to listen to Blurred Lines. Expand
  10. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Better than Timberlake for sure, but not his best, he gets credit for trying something new and for the most part the songs are good, theres a few songs that should've been left behind but overall as usual it's a good album especially for the summer.
  11. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    The album is very good, particularly at the attempt of crafting a core R&b vibe with a Dancing Pop sound. Songs like "Feel Good" and "For the Rest of My Life" So off his smooth soothing vocals while others song like "Give it to Me" and "Take it Easy on me" Brings R&b vocals to the dance club.
  12. Jul 31, 2013
    9
    The album is fun, melodic, and beautifully crafted. Robin has been delivering since Thicke and this is is probably the best record since Evolution. If you're looking for generic pool or Justin's wanna-be soul, no, this isn't for you. But for everyone who loves real soul music and doesn't mind having some fun, this is it. Go Stupid and Top of the World are easy standouts. And Give It 2 U is nice!! (let's ignore the remix with 2 Chains for everyone's sake). Expand
  13. Aug 1, 2013
    9
    "Blurred Lines" takes you on a journey to the amazing influences of Robin from Marvin Gaye, all the way to Prince & Michael Jackson. The album is a drastic change from Robin's previous efforts so for a Robin Thicke fan, this album may be a turn off. The lyrics and melodies of this album are feel good & entertaining. What makes this album a stand out amongst it's competition is that Robin's R&B/Soul side shines throughout the album. It saves songs from just lying still and sounding like loops with dumb hooks. I give "Blurred Lines" 9/10 & it's the most exciting Pop effort so far this year. Expand
  14. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Music is a great candidate to be the hit of the summer North American. It's simple, catchy and good technical quality, has an interesting vibe and young, but a very well produced video and idealized.
  15. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    really brilliant album! thicke has tried something new. here is my track by track review 1. blurred lines 10/10 this is surely the best song on the album with a really good beat and catchy tune. 2. take it easy on me- 8.5/10- this song is good disco song and a catchy chorus. 3. ooo la la 9/10 very brilliant vocals, the song has an 80's feel to it. 4. aint no hat 4 that 9.2/10 this is again another great song that you would listen to again and again.
    5. get in my way 8/10 a good disco song but might get repetitive at times.
    6.give it 2 u 6/10 this one of the weak songs on the album.
    7. feel good 8.8 excellent song
    8. go stupid 4 u 9/10 has a great tune.
    9. 4 the rest of my life- 9.1/10 a really good emotional and touching song.
    10. top of the world 9/10 a good song
    11. the good life 7/10 kinda boring
    Expand
  16. Aug 11, 2013
    8
    With a catchy tune, this makes an awesome summer song. However, the lyrics are very offensive and so is the video. Overall, this song is great and I would recommend listening to it.
  17. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    The album title song Blurred Lines is just one of those unusually catchy songs you didn't think you'd like. My ears pricked up the first time I heard this song and I have been dancing to it ever since. It's fun, addicting and naughty. What's not to love?
  18. Jan 11, 2014
    3
    Dear lord. How on earth was blurred lines such a success. It is SUCH A FORGETTABLE SONG!!! But despite that, none of the other songs are very memorable as well. I highly doubt he'll be well remembered in a few years
  19. Dec 5, 2013
    0
    No!!! This album is a disgrace to the music industry! Sad that this even comes under music! Robin, your career is over!! Don't even try to release more music please
  20. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    Really love the title song Blurred Lines, its a catchy, fun song. Haven't heard all songs of the album but the title song is really addictive. Love it!
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    50
    What’s striking is how unambitious most of the rest of the album is, especially the half that’s produced by Mr. Thicke with his longtime production partner Pro-Jay.
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    60
    Thicke's record is wonderfully, brilliantly uncool, a ties-round-the-head, Grandma-friendly wedding reception anthem; and there's more where that came from. [Sep 2013, p.101]
  3. Aug 12, 2013
    80
    This is the album that Justin Timberlake is too famous to make in 2013, its musical scope and track lengths modest, its sexual appetite and commercial ambition immodest, its star willing to offer up whatever cheesy line, vocal acrobatic, pop hook or funk groove or electro flourish that it takes to keep you listening.