Born and Raised - John Mayer
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 23, 2012
    10
    9.9 actually. I sometimes miss his blues edge throughout the album. But almost always it is earnest, brilliant, and beautiful music. Thank you, John.
  2. May 29, 2012
    9
    "Born and Raised" is easily Mayer's best studio work since "Continuum." His previous offering, "Battle Studies," is gaining much criticism in the wake of this new release, but it's clear that "Studies" was a transitional piece, both musically and personally, for Mr. Mayer. While I still argue that "Continuum" is the artist's best work to date, but Born and Raised is a necessary step in Mayer's maturation process, as musician and man. That said, it's a near-perfect album, the one fans have been wanting since "Continuum." The guitar work is less complex, the vocals are emphasized, and there isn't as much layering of instruments as on prior efforts. This is a stripped-down Mayer, and his vulnerable voice sounds even more wounded than normal, likely the result of his pre-surgery recordings. The title track and "Walt Grace's Submarine Test, January 1967" are career highlights for Mayer, who proves yet again that he is at the forefront of his generation's singer-songwriters Expand
  3. May 22, 2012
    10
    A perfect summer road-trip album. 70's folk and Americana for the modern age. After the success of Continuum, John wanted to shred the sumptuous bluesy pop ambience and write a country record. The plans had to take the back burner for a while as John decided to write something else instead for his next studio release. 2009â
  4. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    The album is a nice stop in action some will criticize the album for being a low but to me this album comes out to be a soul shaker and it gets me through my tough times especially the song 'Born And Raised' his best song till date :)
  5. May 29, 2012
    9
    My wife never thought much of John Mayer because he doesn't have a classically "good" voice. And my telling her that he is a songwriter who will be remembered a century from now didn't cut into her opinion any. On a cross country flight the other night, she plugged into my iPad and listened to his album four times. BORN AND RAISED is an example of an album that is infectious upon only one listening. John keeps getting better and better, as he grows up. Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    70
    The Don Was-produced album proceeds at an unhurried pace, featuring Jackson Browne-like confessionals and Young-style, harmonica-accented shuffles. [Jul 2012, p.77]
  2. 60
    Born and Raised a prime example of the John Mayer paradox--it's good enough to satisfy even his most casual fans, but the old-school Mayerisms that remain will only anger his detractors.
  3. May 24, 2012
    70
    It's an honest, and oftentimes compelling, statement on his road to redemption.