Born This Way

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1520 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 23, 2011
    6
    A solid album. The lyrics are sometimes a little cheesy, but the whole album feels like it could have been released in the 80s. And the 80s was filled with cheesy lyrics so, in some ways, the odd lyrics fit in the album. Vocally, Gaga is amazing. She is obviously trying new styles, such as in Judas, which she has never tried before. It's nice to see an artist challenging themselves in thisA solid album. The lyrics are sometimes a little cheesy, but the whole album feels like it could have been released in the 80s. And the 80s was filled with cheesy lyrics so, in some ways, the odd lyrics fit in the album. Vocally, Gaga is amazing. She is obviously trying new styles, such as in Judas, which she has never tried before. It's nice to see an artist challenging themselves in this way. The songs themselves may take a bit of getting used to; Born This Way, Judas, Americano, Hair, Highway Unicorn and Electric Chapel all initially left me disappointed, but after hearing them more and more, I find all of them very impressive. Here's a track by track review: "Marry The Night" - A nice opener for the album. Like some of Fernando Garibay's other work, I found the production on the song a little messy, but was pleased. The chorus is wonderful and very catchy. 8.5/10 "Born This Way" - Initially a letdown for me (compared to the other album's first singles, Just Dance and Bad Romance, how could it not be!?) mainly because of the bad production. There are seriously like 10 instruments just playing whatever the hell they want. After a while though, once you get over the disappointment, you have to realize that this is probably going to be considered one of Gaga's most iconic songs. It isn't THAT bad, either. 8.5/10 "Government Hooker" - Compared to the preview we got a few months ago, this is a disappointment. It's slower, which makes the song less enjoyable. However, it's one of Gaga's weirdest tracks ever, and it's extremely catchy. Also, I like how Gaga was comparing us to hookers who get "screwed" by the government but don't care. 9/10 "Judas" - At first, I was supremely disappointed by this song. It felt like an attempt to make another "Bad Romance" but failed miserably. However, the song eventually grew on me. A LOT. The verses are amazing, the pre-chorus, too, and the bridge is fantastic. The only thing I dislike about this song is the chorus. Everything else is amazing. 9/10 "Americano" - The beginning kind of threw me off. I really thought I wasn't going to enjoy it and it just sounded like a cheesefest. But once the song got going, it was pretty nice. The chorus is powerful and this is also a really odd track. 8.5/10 "Hair" - Initially another letdown. I felt the song sounded extremely similar to the song released just a week prior to this (Edge of Glory) so was pretty put off. However, once Edge of Glory began boring me I began listening to this more. Yes, it feels like another EoG, but it's more ... fun. The saxophone isn't just randomly clunked into the song; it's actually a PART of the song throughout. The chorus is one of the catchiest on the album. 8.5/10 "Scheià Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2011
    6
    BORN THIS WAY is just so OVERBLOWN! It doesn't embrace Lady GaGa's random-unique style instead this album just plays with the same beat. Its perfect, rushed cover art, weird style and yet no fun or excitement comes out into play. Whats with Jesus and his apostles? Very Odd-Ball, maybe she has nothing else to say? This album is quite a disappointment but it stays true to what it is so IBORN THIS WAY is just so OVERBLOWN! It doesn't embrace Lady GaGa's random-unique style instead this album just plays with the same beat. Its perfect, rushed cover art, weird style and yet no fun or excitement comes out into play. Whats with Jesus and his apostles? Very Odd-Ball, maybe she has nothing else to say? This album is quite a disappointment but it stays true to what it is so I can't complain about that but I wish it could've been better. Expand
  3. IGa
    Jan 30, 2016
    5
    Production aggressive, confused beats, lyrics that repeat along the tracks ... The few hymns found in "Born This Way" can to ensure the album a reasonable source of entertainment, but you can find similar tracks in best quality in discography classic pop artists.
  4. Jun 29, 2011
    6
    Whenever an artist claims to have made the best album of the decade, one can assume that they are going to let you down. Born This Way was supposed to be the album that pushes society into acceptance and equal rights, but instead it was a heaping mess of dance tracks and lyrics that are completely inconsistent. Gaga built this album up as if it was going to be like Marvin Gaye's "What'sWhenever an artist claims to have made the best album of the decade, one can assume that they are going to let you down. Born This Way was supposed to be the album that pushes society into acceptance and equal rights, but instead it was a heaping mess of dance tracks and lyrics that are completely inconsistent. Gaga built this album up as if it was going to be like Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On?" but instead it was like a less impressive version of "True Blue" by Madonna. I was sorely disappointed that I paid for the deluxe version of this album. It had some good songs but it was nowhere near as good as the Fame or the Fame Monster. I just hope this is Gaga's slump and that she recovers on her next album. Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2012
    5
    The sounds are not good for the human ears. Lyrically senseless. Somehow religiously blatant. BUT THERE IS THIS GAGA WITH A HUGE VOCAL EVOLUTION! In this album, Gaga proved she is a singer. There are only few tracks on Born This Way that made me rate this a lot higher: Born This Way, The Edge Of Glory, You And I, and The Queen. These four tracks can stand alone! The rest ---- i don't like them.
  6. Diz
    May 27, 2011
    5
    Most of the reviews here, no doubt, come from her fan base. Of course her fan base is going to love what she does. If you want a more accurate review then I would google it to find what regular people think of the album. That being said, I don't consider myself a fan of Lady Gaga for reasons unrelated to her music so it's not important to the review of her music. Born This Way is a greatMost of the reviews here, no doubt, come from her fan base. Of course her fan base is going to love what she does. If you want a more accurate review then I would google it to find what regular people think of the album. That being said, I don't consider myself a fan of Lady Gaga for reasons unrelated to her music so it's not important to the review of her music. Born This Way is a great pop album with the occasional rock vibe, but it is not an epic album or the 'album of the decade' that some people say it is. I've been listening to the album since it leaked and so far I'm pretty much split down the middle of LOVING half the album, liking the majority of the rest, and hating Born This Way (the song not the album). Marry The Night, Government Hooker, Judas, Hair, Schiebe, and Bloody Mary are the most stand out tracks in my opinion. The only track I don't like is Born This Way because I don't like that people (non fans of Gaga) ask me if BTW is my "anthem" and it's far from. The rest of the album is good, but a bit underwhelming. Songs like Heavy Metal Lover and Electric Chapel have great instrumentals but just when you expect her to belt out singing, she stays on the same level. Does not make it a bad song, but it could have been better. The Fame Monster is definitely a much better album, but Born This Way is a great pop album. I highly recommend a listen, but it does not live up to the hype that surrounds Lady Gaga. Expand
  7. May 23, 2011
    6
    Overwrought and overdone at times. But then again that is Gaga. She is best when she pulls back as with The Edge of Glory. This collection would have been served better with a a more conservative producer behind it to reel Gaga in a bit.At 17 tracks its a 6 at 11 its probably more an 8. Stand out tracks are Edge of Glory, the Petshopboys Abfab sound alike Sheibe, and Bad kids.
  8. Jan 13, 2012
    4
    The most fussed-over album of the last year, it is a big break in Lady Gaga's carreer. It has not the fresh of "The Fame", and is a little bit disappointing. It's a real production mess, all the songs do not mach with each other, but they all have something in common: they sound being recorded in the middle of a highway full of motocycles. Even the spiritual purpose of Love Youserlf in theThe most fussed-over album of the last year, it is a big break in Lady Gaga's carreer. It has not the fresh of "The Fame", and is a little bit disappointing. It's a real production mess, all the songs do not mach with each other, but they all have something in common: they sound being recorded in the middle of a highway full of motocycles. Even the spiritual purpose of Love Youserlf in the songs sound fake, actually rubbish. It's not the album of the decade, as she said, as it's not even the album of the past year. Expand
  9. Jul 5, 2011
    4
    The sound is quite unique, but for an artist who puts so much emphasis on the quality of her songwriting it is quite mundane. All the tracks are so heavy that they seem to be mostly loud noise with little bits of rhythm and hooks in between. You can barely make out the lyrics of some songs and overall a lot of it is just muddled. This album was saved only by it's catchy hooks. SheThe sound is quite unique, but for an artist who puts so much emphasis on the quality of her songwriting it is quite mundane. All the tracks are so heavy that they seem to be mostly loud noise with little bits of rhythm and hooks in between. You can barely make out the lyrics of some songs and overall a lot of it is just muddled. This album was saved only by it's catchy hooks. She relies too much on her persona. She is talented but this album does not showcase that well. Expand
  10. Sep 19, 2011
    4
    Being not a Gaga hater but agreeing on the point that she always tries too hard, I think this album totally lacks the edge that her first album really had. A step backward. My ears cannot listen to anything amazing here.
  11. Jun 2, 2011
    4
    I like The Fame but The Fame Monster not that much and now with Born This Way I was not disappointed at all because I was expecting an album like this, overproduced! I liked "Marry the Night" and I thought it would be a great album, I really don't like "Born This Way" and then the songs seemed to be the same, "Judas" is just a remake of "Bad Romance", then the album started to get evenI like The Fame but The Fame Monster not that much and now with Born This Way I was not disappointed at all because I was expecting an album like this, overproduced! I liked "Marry the Night" and I thought it would be a great album, I really don't like "Born This Way" and then the songs seemed to be the same, "Judas" is just a remake of "Bad Romance", then the album started to get even more boring due to the endless noise and repetitive sound. I know all of her fans love her new music just because it is new, but give it some time, soon it will not make much sense and Born This Way won't be in your favorite collection. Expand
  12. Jun 29, 2011
    5
    Lady Gaga has put out a new album which she herself called the album of the decade. She shouldn't have done that because the album is nowhere to a masterpiece. It is a decent piece of music, a good album to listen to if you wanna have fun with repetitive choruses and senseless lyrics. The album sounds average as a whole (it isn't as bad as some users said, but isn't approachingLady Gaga has put out a new album which she herself called the album of the decade. She shouldn't have done that because the album is nowhere to a masterpiece. It is a decent piece of music, a good album to listen to if you wanna have fun with repetitive choruses and senseless lyrics. The album sounds average as a whole (it isn't as bad as some users said, but isn't approaching perfection), although it has some highlights (and normally its downs). As far as I am concerned, I like Bloody Mary, Marry The Night, Sheisse, Judas and Government Hooker. The rest is from OK to filler. Conclusion: Lady Gaga has grown up, but she's still not where she said she would be. This album sounds half finished and ridiculously commercial (I mean, she's exaggerating on some tracks). Expand
  13. Jun 18, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't like this album so much. Some tracks are fine, but I think there's no reinvention and, obviously, this is not the album of the decade.
    "Marry The Night" is a good album welcome. It shows what we all will hear: electronic beats.
    "Born This Way". I think this is the worst Lady GaGa's career single.
    "Government Hooker". She tries to show a soprano voice, but it's actually her voice with more vibrations. Anyway, the track is fine. It's near to metal sound.
    "Judas" is a mix of "Bad Romance" and "Poker Face". Nothing new, but the music.
    "Americano" is easily contagious, but lyrics are nothing. "I don't speak your.. Jesus Christo"... What is that? Nice track, anyway.
    With this album, we discovered that "Anatomy Of Change" was a remix of "ScheiÃ
    Expand
  14. May 23, 2011
    4
    Unbelievable disappointing, but it still has a couple of tracks that shows that Lady Gaga has something to say: "Government Hooker" and "Hair". The worst song of Gaga in this album and in her whole career is "Born This Way", which has no sense and without any rhetoric in it. Judas, the second single, climb a little in quality, but it's not a "Bad Romance" or a "Just Dance" (this last, theUnbelievable disappointing, but it still has a couple of tracks that shows that Lady Gaga has something to say: "Government Hooker" and "Hair". The worst song of Gaga in this album and in her whole career is "Born This Way", which has no sense and without any rhetoric in it. Judas, the second single, climb a little in quality, but it's not a "Bad Romance" or a "Just Dance" (this last, the best song of Gaga). Expand
  15. May 31, 2011
    4
    Terrible album, it feels like I'm listening to the same song through the whole thing... not good Gaga. The Fame was amazing and now this? Sorry, I'm not buying it.
  16. May 26, 2011
    4
    The 'Use Your Illusion' of 2011 pop: Aside from a few standout tracks, it's mediocre, and meandering without purpose. GaGa obviously has talent, but songs aren't that great, and the music is an unfortunate merge of generic club thumping, recycled 80's beats and Phoenix-style electronica.
  17. Jul 4, 2011
    4
    Disappointing, wish she had spent more time on this album and carefully shortlisted the songs. I give a 4 star rating 3 star for the edge of glory alone and 1 for the rest. Gaga gets all political on this album. Her previous attempts had emotion but they pretained to fun and dancing without a care in the world. In this album it seems like she dances with the weight of political issues. WeDisappointing, wish she had spent more time on this album and carefully shortlisted the songs. I give a 4 star rating 3 star for the edge of glory alone and 1 for the rest. Gaga gets all political on this album. Her previous attempts had emotion but they pretained to fun and dancing without a care in the world. In this album it seems like she dances with the weight of political issues. We get she is passionate about the gay issues and other stuff but these issues do not belong in music. Expand
  18. Mar 22, 2012
    6
    It really seems to be a great album, when enjoyed without much depth, based on sound. You think, "Oh My God, I'm feeling at the end of the 80s." But do not get excited, and if you do not change your mind, simply do not pay attention to the lyrics. Repetitive and wants to look something epic, which makes each verse something forced and unnecessary. Give Gaga, you're not the Madonna andIt really seems to be a great album, when enjoyed without much depth, based on sound. You think, "Oh My God, I'm feeling at the end of the 80s." But do not get excited, and if you do not change your mind, simply do not pay attention to the lyrics. Repetitive and wants to look something epic, which makes each verse something forced and unnecessary. Give Gaga, you're not the Madonna and never do something like Like a Prayer, Ray of Light, Music or Bedtime Stories. Expand
  19. Apr 26, 2012
    4
    I realllllyyyyy just didn't like this album. There are some songs on here that are just really "ok". She lost her style on this album. She experimented where she didn't need/ or have to. "Marry The Night" is the best one. Otherwise, I'm not sure how to classify this utter mess.
  20. Jul 10, 2014
    5
    De Gaga son mejores los vídeos que las canciones. Siempre. Este disco es otra muestra de ello.
    Aparte, cada vez viste mas ridícula y extravagante, dentro de 5-10 años no sé que mas va a hacer...
  21. Feb 13, 2017
    5
    É um bom album, mas ele nao me agrada, nao gosto muito de albuns com batidas eletronicas, mas tem faixas otimas tambem, porem ainda prefiro os outros exceto o the fame que é o pior
  22. Oct 17, 2013
    5
    Lady Gaga already had his moment of fame, the singer keeps the same beat and the same elements "crazies" who put her in the spotlight, the only difference is that now tired and unfortunately no longer works, and for what seems, we can not rely in her new album artpop being different, when I heard some songs already gave it to note that it will be more of the same. Who else had the wisdomLady Gaga already had his moment of fame, the singer keeps the same beat and the same elements "crazies" who put her in the spotlight, the only difference is that now tired and unfortunately no longer works, and for what seems, we can not rely in her new album artpop being different, when I heard some songs already gave it to note that it will be more of the same. Who else had the wisdom to see how GUY has parts similar to Alejandro? fully modified with voices and lyrics negligible. Expand
  23. Nov 29, 2013
    6
    With Born This Way, Lady Gaga has shifted from producing pop hits to writing songs with immense depth. There's a distinct difference in sound and feel from her Fame era, with this album exploring dark and thought-provoking themes that are seldom delved into in the music industry. This includes the likes of homosexuality, religion, acceptance, death and even human rights. The overall appealWith Born This Way, Lady Gaga has shifted from producing pop hits to writing songs with immense depth. There's a distinct difference in sound and feel from her Fame era, with this album exploring dark and thought-provoking themes that are seldom delved into in the music industry. This includes the likes of homosexuality, religion, acceptance, death and even human rights. The overall appeal of the album is intentionally not meant for a particular audience, but takes an individualistic approach that has each song garnering favour from different crowds of people. Near-ballads such as Hair, Yoü and I & The Edge Of Glory certainly show her vocal range, and at the same time broaches different topics that come in life. The album also takes strong influences from Whitney Houston, Madonna & Bruce Springsteen and the genres range from heavy metal to electropop to eurodance. Despite scooping in much success as an album, the singles didn't fare as well on the Billboard Hot 100. Diverting from the typical pop mould may not have brought her the success that the Fame albums did, but she has intricately infused many layers of messages for listeners to extract.

    Personally, I'm not so much a fan of this album. There seems to be too many themes being explored at a go and some of them hinge on blasphemy, irreverence and unfamiliarity, which has caused her to lose many of her initial fans. Fortunately, the music she's produced this round has won her new fans with the strong message of acceptance in various aspects. Her passion for music and musical tributes are apparent, and is definitely admirable. However, she might want to tone down on the heavy tunes and strong background music that seem to engulf the lyrics and clarity that made the Fame albums strong. Hopefully, the forthcoming 4th album will redeem her as a true pop artist, with better choice of singles and a vocal range that will stun the masses. Hmm, but with Lady Gaga, honestly... What's surprising? ;)

    Standout Tracks: Hair, Scheiße, Yoü And I, The Edge Of Glory
    Expand
  24. Feb 18, 2014
    6
    Well, this album has an odd collection of tracks. I enjoyed some of the songs while others dragged on. Disliked the remix of 'Born This Way'. I'm not quite sure of what Lady Gaga's aims were for this album. The album fails, but does it in the most interesting way.
  25. Feb 23, 2014
    6
    Born This Way does have a couple of problems. Perhaps the lyrics are not always perfect, and perhaps the songs start to feel a little more dragged towards the end of the album, but who cares, this is Lady Gaga's standout album, where, as she does borrow a lot of techniques from Madonna, there appears to be nothing other than general power and the need to stand out, and this comes fromBorn This Way does have a couple of problems. Perhaps the lyrics are not always perfect, and perhaps the songs start to feel a little more dragged towards the end of the album, but who cares, this is Lady Gaga's standout album, where, as she does borrow a lot of techniques from Madonna, there appears to be nothing other than general power and the need to stand out, and this comes from Gaga's determined voice and her loud, drilling dance music. Expand
  26. Aug 1, 2014
    6
    The album of the singer sensation of 2010.

    Marry The Night: A great song, the album started very good, far better than the second album. (9/10) Born This Way: A cool song, the only fault is being too repetitive. (besides resemble a Madonna song) (8/10) Government Hooker: The album starts getting darker, a song with a dubious production is lost in the powerful lyrics. (4/10)
    The album of the singer sensation of 2010.

    Marry The Night: A great song, the album started very good, far better than the second album. (9/10)

    Born This Way: A cool song, the only fault is being too repetitive. (besides resemble a Madonna song) (8/10)

    Government Hooker: The album starts getting darker, a song with a dubious production is lost in the powerful lyrics. (4/10)

    Judas: The height of the darkness of "Born This Way", well produced music and controversial lyrics. (7/10)

    U.S.: Strong and cool music. (6/10)

    Hair: The third best song on the album, it would be # 1 in 2010 (9/10).

    Sheibe: A messy and fun music. (5/10)

    Bloody Mary: The repetition of Jesus annoys me, Madonna or Lady Gaga? (4/10)

    Bad Kids: The worst song on the album, sounds like someone trying to do something new. (0/10)

    Highway Unicorn: The album back to get interesting. (7/10)

    Heavy Metal Lover: The album is really getting back cooler. (5/10)

    Electric Chapel: guitar again, Lady Gaga is so rock, we want her back! (Notice the similar vocal with Madonna) (3/10)

    You And I: SHE IS BACK! The best music career of Lady Gaga. (10/10)

    The Edge of Glory: This song is so good, so Lady Gaga. (8/10)

    The album is good, with a few flaws but with some adjustments.
    Expand
  27. Mar 16, 2015
    6
    Track by track review:
    1. Marry the Night 9/10
    2. Born This Way 2/10 3. Government Hooker 10/10 4. Judas 10/10 5. Americano 0.5/10 6. Hair 0.5/10 7. Scheiße 9/10 8. Bloody Mary 9/10 9. Bad Kids 9/10 10. Highway Unicorn 1.5/10 11. Heavy Metal Lover 7.5/10 12. Electric Chapel 8.5/10 13. You and I 9/10 14. The Edge of Glory 0.5/10 Highlights: Judas, Government Hooker.
    Track by track review:
    1. Marry the Night 9/10
    2. Born This Way 2/10
    3. Government Hooker 10/10
    4. Judas 10/10
    5. Americano 0.5/10
    6. Hair 0.5/10
    7. Scheiße 9/10
    8. Bloody Mary 9/10
    9. Bad Kids 9/10
    10. Highway Unicorn 1.5/10
    11. Heavy Metal Lover 7.5/10
    12. Electric Chapel 8.5/10
    13. You and I 9/10
    14. The Edge of Glory 0.5/10

    Highlights: Judas, Government Hooker.
    Potential singles: Hair, Judas, Government Hooker, Born this Way, Bad Kids.
    Expand
  28. Apr 25, 2016
    5
    A not-so-good effort to show Lady Gaga's diversity. I can't even understand some of the songs purposes, and it's main track - Born This Way - fails into be a convicent single.
  29. Nov 21, 2016
    4
    when it's good, it's incredible. when it's bad, it's terrible. a really polarizing, too-drawn-out album with a few fantastic tracks.

    the best: marry the night, you and i, the edge of glory, hair
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Sep 25, 2014
    86
    Lady Gaga promised her fans (perhaps a tad prematurely) that her new album would be the greatest of the decade. But even if the next nine years bring something better, we're unlikely to hear anything bigger than Born This Way.
  2. Q Magazine
    Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Born This Way feels like the first proper Lady Gaga album. [Aug. 2011, p. 114]
  3. Jul 6, 2011
    60
    Gaga has always been able to anchor her haughty conceptual undertakings with simple, catchy tunes, but with Born This Way, the persona and the message are starting to bleed into the songs. It's not a good look.