User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1034 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 23, 2011
    10
    Simply a perfect album. There isn't a track on this record that is a misfire. I can't understand why it didn't get a better metascore. The album is probably the best of the decade. I haven't heard pop genius like this since MJ or Mad. It's INCREDIBLE!!!
  2. May 24, 2011
    10
    One of the best pop albums that I heard and i am not joking! "Born This Way" offers something that not most of the pop albums deliver: Variety! If you like pop in all of his glory, this is your album.
  3. May 23, 2011
    10
    An amazing album! Yes, perhaps not the album of the decade, but comes close to pop album of the decade atleast! the songs are so different from the other mediocre stuff that is put out. I love it!
  4. May 23, 2011
    10
    The hype was worth it. Lady GaGa's Born This Way is a marvelous record. She sings her heart out in every song. Simply AMAZING! There are no stand-out tracks on the album, each and every song is great and could be a potential single. Weather she is singing about religion, love, fighting for equal rights or fighting for your own identity, she always makes sure that your going to beThe hype was worth it. Lady GaGa's Born This Way is a marvelous record. She sings her heart out in every song. Simply AMAZING! There are no stand-out tracks on the album, each and every song is great and could be a potential single. Weather she is singing about religion, love, fighting for equal rights or fighting for your own identity, she always makes sure that your going to be comfortable listening to it. Expand
  5. May 23, 2011
    10
    I didn't think it was possible to improve on The Fame Monster, but Lady GaGa has managed to do just that. This is a brilliant album, dark, dancy and loud. This will be considered one of the greatest albums of all time.
  6. May 23, 2011
    10
    Great album for old Gaga fans and for new ones too! Her music is now so much different so if you are fan who only likes "disco-pop" music you maybe won't like this. Born This Way's songs are heavy-rock-dance-electronic-trance mixtures and it works damn good :D For me this album is awesome! Almost every song could be big hit (Government Hooker, Marry The Night, Bad Kids, Heavy MetalGreat album for old Gaga fans and for new ones too! Her music is now so much different so if you are fan who only likes "disco-pop" music you maybe won't like this. Born This Way's songs are heavy-rock-dance-electronic-trance mixtures and it works damn good :D For me this album is awesome! Almost every song could be big hit (Government Hooker, Marry The Night, Bad Kids, Heavy Metal Lover...) Still some songs are kinda boring when there isn't that catchy melody which would make you listen it more and more after the first time. First when I heard album I thought it was good, but not great...Then I listened more those songs and fall in love! :D

    Buy, it's worth it.
    Expand
  7. May 23, 2011
    10
    Lady GaGa gave an exceptional album. It sounds so different in a good way from her previous work. The lyrics are so inspiring and themes like be yourself, betrayal, self esteem and identity is themes that are generation struggle for. The music is marvelous, it makes you dance or cry (i.e. The Edge of Glory). The GaGa phenomenon is the new type of reality and its characteristic boundlessLady GaGa gave an exceptional album. It sounds so different in a good way from her previous work. The lyrics are so inspiring and themes like be yourself, betrayal, self esteem and identity is themes that are generation struggle for. The music is marvelous, it makes you dance or cry (i.e. The Edge of Glory). The GaGa phenomenon is the new type of reality and its characteristic boundless freedom. Not only album of 2011 or the decade or anything else it is the album of our generation and it is definitely part of it since MJ, Madonna, Mariah Carey described and marked their generation and continue to be, "Born This Way" is excellency and the '10s a have a good start. Congratulations! Expand
  8. May 23, 2011
    10
    Absolutely perfect. A beautiful and perfect album, thank you Gaga! Amazing, not boring, incredible, fantastic! The TRIUMPH of sounds! There isn't a track on this record that is a misfire.
  9. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    My favorite album by Gaga! I love the different genres Gaga explores in this album, flaunting her musical diversity. There's not one song from the 17 tracks on this album that I DON'T like. Give it a listen, you won't regret it!
  10. Jul 6, 2012
    8
    It's not Lady Gaga at her best. Lady Gaga offers charm, sweet, disturbing and metaphors on this album. Why Lady Gaga has the most followers on this planet? Because her music are sexy. Madonna take that!
  11. Sep 4, 2011
    7
    While I certainly enjoy Gaga's music as a whole, this album didn't blow me out of the water as much as 2008's 'The Fame'. While 'Born This Way' may be one of my all time favorite songs, and most likely my favorite Gaga song to date, and 'Edge of Glory', and 'You and I' were also great hits, I really can't say that I enjoyed the rest of the album as much as I thought I would. 'Americano'While I certainly enjoy Gaga's music as a whole, this album didn't blow me out of the water as much as 2008's 'The Fame'. While 'Born This Way' may be one of my all time favorite songs, and most likely my favorite Gaga song to date, and 'Edge of Glory', and 'You and I' were also great hits, I really can't say that I enjoyed the rest of the album as much as I thought I would. 'Americano' and 'Judas' in particular I find puzzling. Not bad, just... puzzling. Gaga really has such an amazing talent, but sometimes I just find myself completely torn as to whether she's a very eclectic genius, or a very talented lunatic. Perhaps both. Either way, Born This Way is at large a great album. Gaga fans must have it, but anyone else might stick to picking the tracks off iTunes. Expand
  12. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    AMAZING album. I know all the lyrics and the choruses are really catchy. Every song has a beautiful story or a strong self-empowering message. Truly one of the best pop albums of all times!
  13. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Como amo este album! es el mejor que he escuchado de Gaga, en este album fluyen muchas emociones al pasar por las canciones, sin duda un album epico que no pasa desapercibido! Good Job Gaga
  14. Jun 7, 2011
    8
    If you're looking for familiar 'pop' territory, or hope to hear Gaga's 'Bad Romance 2', you're going to be **** outta luck. This is a completely different feel for the Lady. It's like New Wave had a love affair with Metal, & then had a three way with House & Euro Pop/Trance. It's funky at times, and others it's insanely exhilarating. She has created her own form of mainstream music. ThereIf you're looking for familiar 'pop' territory, or hope to hear Gaga's 'Bad Romance 2', you're going to be **** outta luck. This is a completely different feel for the Lady. It's like New Wave had a love affair with Metal, & then had a three way with House & Euro Pop/Trance. It's funky at times, and others it's insanely exhilarating. She has created her own form of mainstream music. There is at least one song on this record for EVERYONE. Each song sounds different than the last. It's a huge mess of radically different forms of music, while all still being 'pop'. It's a beautiful mess, to say the least. Expand
  15. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    I've got around 12-13 full play throughs now of the 23 track version of Born This Way and my score of 8 is in relation to her previous effort The Fame Monster. Born This Way is superb from start to finish and in terms of current pop records easily scores a 10. The creative difference between Lady Gaga and her fellow pop ladies, such as Rihanna, Katy Perry, Ke$ha, Britney, etc, is soI've got around 12-13 full play throughs now of the 23 track version of Born This Way and my score of 8 is in relation to her previous effort The Fame Monster. Born This Way is superb from start to finish and in terms of current pop records easily scores a 10. The creative difference between Lady Gaga and her fellow pop ladies, such as Rihanna, Katy Perry, Ke$ha, Britney, etc, is so enormous it's probably impossible to measure. However, Born This Way doesn't quite have the 'magic' that oozed out of The Fame Monster and for that this reviewer has to mark it down slightly, but fairly. Born This Way's identity lies mainly in it's thuding baseline that accompanies around 75% of the album... perfect for getting your 'dance on' or trying to set a personal best on the treadmill at the gym. The Fame Monster was a little more settled and had a fresher feel to it (probably because we hadn't had a pop presence like Lady Gaga for what seems like an eternity). Also, thus far, the choice of singles from Born This Way are certainly not the highlights of the album. Heavy Metal Lover, Electric Chapel, Scheisse, and especially Marry the Night, have all got 'hit' written all over them. To close, it sounds like im putting a bit of a downer on this exceptional album when in fact ive been raving about it to my peers and colleagues. But when all is said and done, and the dust has settled, it just doesn't have a Poker Face, or a Bad Romance to really sit it beside The Fame Monster. ps. "I want your whiskey mouth all over my blonde south"... god bless her Expand
  16. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    This album is great from start to finish. I actually agree it is the album of the decade (2010-2011). I haven't heard an album I like more than this one, to be honest. Negative reviews for the album are completely ridiculous to me. Either the person does not like this genre of music or they have a biased opinion against Lady Gaga. Every song sounds completely different from the next withThis album is great from start to finish. I actually agree it is the album of the decade (2010-2011). I haven't heard an album I like more than this one, to be honest. Negative reviews for the album are completely ridiculous to me. Either the person does not like this genre of music or they have a biased opinion against Lady Gaga. Every song sounds completely different from the next with each containing the high production value and song writing you would expect from Gaga. The album's first half is more modern sounding dance tracks while the later half has more of a 80/90's and rock influence. Excellent! Expand
  17. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    First at all, yes; Born This Way had very hype before the release and this is the worst thing that Lady Gaga made in this work.

    The first time that you listen the album is totally "creep" and even you felt disappointed. But two more times is enough to see the magnificence of Born This Way. All the records are different, the variety is the point of this album and this is GOOD. The other
    First at all, yes; Born This Way had very hype before the release and this is the worst thing that Lady Gaga made in this work.

    The first time that you listen the album is totally "creep" and even you felt disappointed. But two more times is enough to see the magnificence of Born This Way.

    All the records are different, the variety is the point of this album and this is GOOD. The other point is that sound totally different that others pop album releases in this year. Also Born This Way show the very good and strong vocal attitude of Gaga.
    I love so much this work, and I think that much better than The Fame and only slightly below The Fame Monster.

    The best songs on the album are Born This Way (strange the first time but much better in time, people that disappointed Gaga like this song, this is the test), The Edge of Glory (the best song of Gaga ever, even better than Speechless. Very heavy to say) and finally Hair (a powerfull record).
    An the other songs that can be single are, Marry the Night, Scheibe, Bloody Mary, Yoü and I and Heavy Metal Lover.

    All them amazing.


    PD: People that said Just Dance is the better Gaga's song have no idea of music.
    Expand
  18. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    This album is amazing. All the songs are amazing. This album is as dark as the fame monster. Gaga proved that she can sing all the genres, no only pop. One of my favorites by far.
  19. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    So inspirational. Album of the decade. IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
  20. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Very good album! I like it very much, especially ''Americano'', ScheiBe, ''Fashion Of His Love'' and ''You And I''. I really like it!. I can't wait for Gaga's next album!!
  21. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    A very good album with a wide range of rhythms, ranging from pop to rock stickier most representative, with nods towards electronics more delicious and juicy.
  22. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    This is conceptually Gaga's best album yet. It fluids very well from start to finish. It's definitely something very different from Gaga's previous work, it's a bit more ambitious but in different areas. It's something you really don't see these days and I'm talking about the overall "dated" sound, almost all of the songs contain a bit more mature and confusing lyrics, it's just notThis is conceptually Gaga's best album yet. It fluids very well from start to finish. It's definitely something very different from Gaga's previous work, it's a bit more ambitious but in different areas. It's something you really don't see these days and I'm talking about the overall "dated" sound, almost all of the songs contain a bit more mature and confusing lyrics, it's just not something pop stars usually do. What I'm trying to say is "I want your love and I want your revenge, you and me could write a bad romance" is much more accessible and understandable than "I'm on the edge of glory and I'm hanging on a moment of truth. I'm on the edge of glory and I'm hanging on a moment with you" What does that even mean? Not saying that it's a bad song, 'cause is not at all, i'm saying that this isn't your typical 12 songs bubble gum carefree pop star album. It's something more risky and complicated to digest, a very good body of work. That being said... Can a pop star survive with an album like this? Specially these days when it's so easy to call a hit-maker to make you a 3 minutes fun ready-for-the-clubs smash. There is more commercial competition these days than other musicians had to deal even 10 years ago. But then again Lady Gaga seems committed in stay far away for the pop star stereotype. You can just tell she wants transcend in Pop Culture so while Born This Way is a more worked record it may fail in giving her longevity. She doesn't need more polarisation. I'm very excited and interested to hear her next album an artist like her has so much potential and she's more talented talented than her peers but sometimes hard work beats talented. It doesn't matter how good a song, a video, a album is, if nobody hears it, if nobody remembers it: then it's not worthy. Expand
  23. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Outstanding. She took a huge risk and it paid off. Gaga is truly ahead of her time artistically, don't be fooled by the people who say the title track sounds like express yourself because it sure as hell doesn't. It's utterly exceptional and has explored something more than just conventional pop and takes on a much deeper meaning, and not one that applies to more than just her fans. YouOutstanding. She took a huge risk and it paid off. Gaga is truly ahead of her time artistically, don't be fooled by the people who say the title track sounds like express yourself because it sure as hell doesn't. It's utterly exceptional and has explored something more than just conventional pop and takes on a much deeper meaning, and not one that applies to more than just her fans. You don't have to like it but you certainly have to listen to it. They are the kind of tracks that you can listen to everyday for a year and then one day you hear something new that makes you fall in love with them all over again. Both aurally and visually it has the power to make every other female star instantly look dated. Expand
  24. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    One of the biggest and most meanful album of all the time! This is not just for fun,this is for thinking! And the songs are great musically..The album is about breaking the boundries of social life,pop and art!!
  25. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    The BEST Album of the history, Judas, Born This Way, Marry the Night, Hair, The Edge of Glory, Black Jesus, You and I, so perfect! GaGa is so perfect, my favorite album. No more questions, GaGa is the new queen.
  26. Apr 29, 2012
    9
    Compare Lady Gaga's career to the Bible, 'The Fame' being Christmas (birth), 'The Fame Monster' being Easter (resurrection, but nobody died) and 'Born This Way' being The Second Coming. This album is so important, so grand, so good, so well made and so meaningful to millions it really is Biblical.
  27. May 19, 2012
    8
    Wonderful! There are som many gems on this album, and some of them are the ones I didn't expect to love, they just snuck up on me. Many of the singles seems to be my least favourites at this point: they are easily learned but also easily forgotten. Some of the songs can last fresh longer: I never grow bored with Heavy Metal Lover or Electric Chapel, where as Born This Way felt a bit oldWonderful! There are som many gems on this album, and some of them are the ones I didn't expect to love, they just snuck up on me. Many of the singles seems to be my least favourites at this point: they are easily learned but also easily forgotten. Some of the songs can last fresh longer: I never grow bored with Heavy Metal Lover or Electric Chapel, where as Born This Way felt a bit old already when released. Expand
  28. May 28, 2012
    9
    A Powerful Album!
    Unforgetable This Album Has Gotten Slammed Alot! I Have No Clue Why.. Its Simply Amazing
    Hair Should Be A Single!
  29. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    A formidable effort by Lady Gaga. While the hype of the "Greatest Album Of The Decade" may not prove to be true, Gaga produced a rock-thrilled album where each song is brought to perfection.

    Songs that stood out for me were Edge Of Glory, Marry The Night, and Bloody Mary, while Bad Kids seemed a bit out of place. Nonetheless, some songs come over a bit too overproduced, however the
    A formidable effort by Lady Gaga. While the hype of the "Greatest Album Of The Decade" may not prove to be true, Gaga produced a rock-thrilled album where each song is brought to perfection.

    Songs that stood out for me were Edge Of Glory, Marry The Night, and Bloody Mary, while Bad Kids seemed a bit out of place.
    Nonetheless, some songs come over a bit too overproduced, however the album's shining moments cloud over anything.

    Definitely worth a listen to, or even to put on repeat, and I am looking forward to listening to her next album.
    Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Sep 25, 2014
    86
    Lady Gaga promised her fans (perhaps a tad prematurely) that her new album would be the greatest of the decade. But even if the next nine years bring something better, we're unlikely to hear anything bigger than Born This Way.
  2. Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Born This Way feels like the first proper Lady Gaga album. [Aug. 2011, p. 114]
  3. Jul 6, 2011
    60
    Gaga has always been able to anchor her haughty conceptual undertakings with simple, catchy tunes, but with Born This Way, the persona and the message are starting to bleed into the songs. It's not a good look.