Born to Die

  • Record Label: Polydor
  • Release Date: Jan 31, 2012
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 843 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 843
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 12, 2016
    7
    Born to Die is an enjoyable major studio debut that, even though it is a little repetitive, is both beautifully cinematic and plenty of fun to listen to.
  2. Jun 10, 2016
    10
    Definitivamente o melhor álbum de sua carreira! Músicas que soam muito bem somadas a letras fantásticas. As faixas não soam enjoativas e atraem desde que se ouve pela primeira vez. Lana fez um excelente trabalho.
  3. Apr 14, 2016
    7
    Born To Die may not be liked by everyone but it is beautiful from the first to the last second. That doesn't mean it is perfect. Give it a try and don't stick to your opinion about LDR. Listen to the composition : the strings are beautiful and the beats are sick.
  4. Mar 16, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Su estilo de musica esta muy remarcado ultimamente no hay que dudar que su hermosa voz a llamado la atencion siendo haci uno de sus grandiosos albumes entre tantos Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2016
    9
    This record is both overrated and underrated. It's overrated by her fans, which make it seem like it's the best album of all time when it's not even close to being the artist's best. It's overrated by the GP, since it's her best selling album and also the best selling alternative album of this decade by a femalr artist. But it is underrated by critics, which dragged Lana to the pits. And IThis record is both overrated and underrated. It's overrated by her fans, which make it seem like it's the best album of all time when it's not even close to being the artist's best. It's overrated by the GP, since it's her best selling album and also the best selling alternative album of this decade by a femalr artist. But it is underrated by critics, which dragged Lana to the pits. And I feel like most of them judge her by her persona and not solely by her music as it should be. Also they let the tragic SNL performance affect their review. Producers tried to make it more appealing by adding more beats which I feel like isn't very true to Lana herself as an artist. But I do think this album is in fact brilliant, from its concept and the character Lana creates in her albums to the lyricism and vocals and all that's in between. Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2016
    8
    So powerful debut album. She knows how to talk about pain and to express what she had to live so that she could be the girl that has touched the sky of celebrity!
  7. Jan 27, 2016
    4
    In a word this album was meh. I wasn't impressed at all but it wasn't awful but I really don't like Del Rey's voice and she certainly should change it up drastically to impress me.
  8. Jan 17, 2016
    0
    Horrible album. My ears started bleeding when I heard this. It's utter trash. You'd have to pay me to listen to this woman. Like who even listens to this goat?
  9. Jan 5, 2016
    1
    This girl tryna be alternative, but she fell in the commercial pop in all the beats of the songs from the album. It's pretty annoying the fact that the album is considered refined, personally i hope that this album will be forgotten in the future
  10. Dec 24, 2015
    7
    Apesar de eu não gostar da Lana del Rey, devo admitir que o álbum é ótimo. Eu adorei várias músicas do material. A voz da Lana está doce e a instrumental não é tão sonífera assim. Os destaques ficam para as mais agitadas.

    Pontos altos: Radio, National Anthem, Summertime Sadness
    Pontos baixos: Carmen, Million Dollar Men, Video Games
  11. Dec 4, 2015
    10
    An instantly recognisable sound and a truly credible album, Born to Die is a fast burner. Del Rey explores themes such as heartbreak, money, alcoholism, wealth, celebrity and death in the most captivating and creative fashion. The mellow sadness, heartache and tragedy is cohesive throughout the album, but it never becomes too much. Each and every track is worth a thousand listens. One ofAn instantly recognisable sound and a truly credible album, Born to Die is a fast burner. Del Rey explores themes such as heartbreak, money, alcoholism, wealth, celebrity and death in the most captivating and creative fashion. The mellow sadness, heartache and tragedy is cohesive throughout the album, but it never becomes too much. Each and every track is worth a thousand listens. One of the most exciting records of the past decade. Expand
  12. Oct 28, 2015
    10
    An extraordinary example of worldwide teenagers dreams; a mix of freedom, drugs, fun, friendship, losses, overcoming and love... Born To Die is the real beginning of a solid artist.
  13. Sep 28, 2015
    7
    Despite what many will claim, no, Born to Die is not the best album from Lana Del Rey. Yes, it's a good album. No, it is not perfect. She clearly lacked experience and confidence when she wrote and sang this album: the way she makes the notes go fast, and the pop-esque beat to cover any flaws she feared that could creep into her music. That said, the album has some spectacular moments,Despite what many will claim, no, Born to Die is not the best album from Lana Del Rey. Yes, it's a good album. No, it is not perfect. She clearly lacked experience and confidence when she wrote and sang this album: the way she makes the notes go fast, and the pop-esque beat to cover any flaws she feared that could creep into her music. That said, the album has some spectacular moments, especially the lyrics and her sultry singing. Highlight songs are Off to the Races, Blue Jeans, Video Games and Million Dollar Man. Low points of the record are Radio and This is What Makes Us Girls. In this album, what Lana needed was more confidence and experience to express herself properly. Expand
  14. Sep 13, 2015
    7
    I met her with Born to Die (song) and I fell in love with it, and the whole album! Best songs: Video Games, Radio, Without You, Least: Lolita. Lana made a good job.
  15. Sep 13, 2015
    4
    Lana has a beautiful voice, but in the most part of this album she sings like she was having an orgasm, or at least too bored to sing decently. The lyrics are OK, there are still really good tracks on it, like Carmen, Summertime Sadness and Off to the Races, but when I listen to National Anthem I just want to know what the **** is going on there.
  16. Sep 10, 2015
    10
    This album it's sooooooooooo good. You are definitly play it on repeat, really, again and again and again.
    .............................................
  17. Sep 4, 2015
    10
    The album is subtle, eclectic and beautiful in every single way. Her voice engages almost perfectly with the lyrics and gives a different way to 'see it' that no singer out there can give it; the producers, specially Nowels and Haynie are the ones who have done major masterpieces in this album and REALLY team up with Lana to make songs to never forget.
    This album is a one-way ticket.
  18. Sep 2, 2015
    10
    I love every song on this album, the potential of Lana Del Rey in this is amazing, brilliant!!!! Pure art mixed with the experiences to fall in love and dead at the same time, just great!!!!!!
  19. Aug 19, 2015
    9
    Un Gran Álbum de Lizzy, es bueno saber que hay artistas que se inclinan por distintos géneros que no sean el Pop, este trabajo tiene un tema en general, pero cada canción tiene un ritmo y una lírica distinta. Lana supo canalizar sus emociones y sentimientos en cada canción y la hizo única, contiene sonidos realmente 'Alternos' al Pop y Teen Pop, sus rítmos Indie,Sadcore y Alternativo, conUn Gran Álbum de Lizzy, es bueno saber que hay artistas que se inclinan por distintos géneros que no sean el Pop, este trabajo tiene un tema en general, pero cada canción tiene un ritmo y una lírica distinta. Lana supo canalizar sus emociones y sentimientos en cada canción y la hizo única, contiene sonidos realmente 'Alternos' al Pop y Teen Pop, sus rítmos Indie,Sadcore y Alternativo, con ese toque de Barroco lo hacen un Álbum Único. Expand
  20. Jun 23, 2015
    6
    Lana sounds melodically pleasant, but lyrically speaking, the lack of diversity is the sin of the disc. Each song, except for 'Carmen', is about a single subject: men. And this subject is explored involving suffering, drinks and luxury. Not very intelligent, since we speak of a woman who fought to be an artist.
  21. Jun 14, 2015
    10
    Melhor album de 2012..................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  22. May 9, 2015
    10
    É realmente ótimo, a sonoridade é perfeita, letras todas feitas pela própria cantora, a música não é farofa e as letras são lindas, merece 10 de nota
  23. Apr 3, 2015
    8
    lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo
  24. Apr 3, 2015
    10
    amiga adorei o album porem vc tem que faze umas musiquinhas mais animadinhas né ? , eu confesso pra vc que eu dormi durante o album , por isso eu te dou um zer ... 10 maravilhoso !!1 dancei muito !!
  25. Mar 27, 2015
    10
    Definitely the alternative peak of 2012, her magnus opus, brilliant, confident and cohesive in sound and lyrics, her voice deal with a sound that express new and fresh material. Before the Lizzy Grant effort she gave the public a record full of feelings, a wonderful collection of pretty and dark songs.
  26. Mar 11, 2015
    6
    While she is somewhat melodramatic with her vocals and her songs seem to be on repeat, Lana Del Rey overall bursts out a successful "debut" album. She is a talented vocalist and I am hoping for more in the future.
  27. Mar 10, 2015
    9
    Greatly well-produced, her vocals are heavenly and lyrics are... somewhat understandable. Her first release via Interscope Geffen A&M, it makes me upset at the contemporary critics whom exclusively judged her performance, but has not even reviewed this masterpiece. Standout tracks from this album are "Born to Die", "Blue Jeans", "Video Games", "National Anthem", "Lolita", and "Lucky Ones".
  28. Mar 7, 2015
    10
    Beautiful album. Surely, it can be considered as the best album of 2012. Reading the critics reviews, i feel disgusted. Worth buying at least 10 copies.
  29. Jan 30, 2015
    7
    I'm just here to say that I understand if some people didn't like this album; it's a matter of taste.
    But all the critics who wrote negative reviews on this album, are simply jealous. The album is an original concept, and it doesn't happen every day when we see original art. It's OK, let them be jealous.
  30. Dec 27, 2014
    6
    Pretty amazing universe, no colloquial texts, always poetry. It's like Lana saw flowers and tell it without spelling the main word once. She uses a form nobody uses, this is it
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    50
    Spread over 12 songs, Del Rey becomes so ordinary, even bland, that no amount of little girl vocals or pouting can save her.
  2. Mojo
    Feb 27, 2012
    80
    Tune out the background media noise and immerse yourself. [Mar 2012, p.94]
  3. Q Magazine
    Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Confirms her as the most compelling new pop star around: half doomed romantic, half mordant cynic, with a distinctively conflicted vision of how love, fame and America work. [Mar 2012, p.94]