Boy In Da Corner

Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Startling, tirelessly powerful, and full of unlimited dimensions.
  2. Adventurous listeners are in for a treat.
  3. Blender
    80
    His hard-edged, dance-inflected debut makes East London sound like the new Dirty South. [Jan 2004, p.108]
  4. On a level of pure listening enjoyment, Boy In Da Corner isn't quite an Original Pirate Material; but it does succeed in establishing that Dizzee Rascal deserves a place right at the forefront of the UK Urban movement.
  5. Delivering his lyrics in a breathless barrage, 'Boy In Da Corner' packs the energy flash of London MCing into its grooves and for that alone it deserves attention.
  6. It's as gripping as N.W.A.'s groundbreaking Straight Outta Compton.
  7. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    One of the strangest, bumpiest musical journeys we're likely to experience on record this year. [16 Jan 2004, p.68]
  8. 100
    Corner's gutter low ends, amphetamine drum programming, and Dizzee's cockney slang-spitting place this record among rap's paradigmatic moments.
  9. He hasn’t made a great album, but even Tupac never managed that; the bombed-out landscape of Boy In Da Corner burns instead with all the anger, confusion and messed-up desperation of youth.
  10. Los Angeles Times
    88
    A dance syncretism made of menacing beats skittering from dark dancehall to mashed-up jungle, super-warped bass frequencies, stark anti-hooks, and a voice that is the most authentic to emerge in years. [18 Jan 2004]
  11. Mojo
    100
    Brilliantly original. [Aug 2003, p.106]
  12. Boy in da Corner defies genre in a defiant manner, refusing to be defined, refusing, even, to be dismissed.
  13. One of the most assured debut albums of the last five years.
  14. Dizzee's despairing wail, focused anger, and cutting sonics places him on the front lines in the battle against a stultifying Britain, just as Pete Townshend, Johnny Rotten, and Morrissey have been in the past.
  15. Not much here is too likely to blow up on the airwaves... it's too dirty, too ugly, too hard, and too Real.
  16. It is an album that can be loved as both an achievement and an experience, a document and a revelation; it is simultaneously a problem to be solved and a spectacle to simply witness.
  17. Q Magazine
    70
    [A] strikingly stark and innovative debut. [Sep 2003, p.102]
  18. If you want a vision of the future of hip-hop and techno, get this record.
  19. One of the most refreshing hip-hop records in quite some time.
  20. Spin
    91
    The flow is straight-up alien: chilled-out and frantic at the same time, slightly breathless. [Feb 2004, p.95]
  21. If Boy In Da Corner marks the beginning of distinctly British hip-hop, the genre's standards are already impressively high.
  22. Most of Boy in Da Corner's most compelling moments come from this uneasy interaction between irrational youth and ultra-rational mechanized society.
  23. It all makes for a bleak spread, but Rascal rises up as a singular musical presence too brimming and perceptive to let the coarse world around him pass by untouched.
  24. The most original and exciting artist to emerge from dance music in a decade.
  25. Uncut
    100
    The best rapper this country's ever produced, period.... Next to Dizzee Rascal everybody looks pale, uninteresting and irrelevant. [Sep 2003, p.98]
  26. Urb
    70
    Dizzee's production style is impressive.... His flow is urgent and coherent. [Mar 2004, p.109]
  27. When Dizzee thinks very deeply--worrying about growing up, about those around him who won't grow up, about dying before he grows up--he sounds like, what else can we call it, the real thing.
  28. His adolescent gulps and yowls are street-Brit with a Jamaican liquidity, as lean, eccentric, and arresting as the beats.
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 110
  2. Negative: 7 out of 110
  1. GiovanniO
    Aug 17, 2006
    2
    I tried hard to like this album. I don't give a puck if he is from Mars, or Europe for this case: he sounds too silly for me and I have I tried hard to like this album. I don't give a puck if he is from Mars, or Europe for this case: he sounds too silly for me and I have heard 100X better beats in Fruity Loops. Believe me this is whack. Full Review »
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    The best album i have ever heard. Tells many different stories which rappers seem to lack. The sound is just great and would recommend to anyThe best album i have ever heard. Tells many different stories which rappers seem to lack. The sound is just great and would recommend to any rap fan especially UK rap fans. Full Review »
  3. MattP
    Sep 5, 2005
    5
    May be the most refreshing debut album of the new millenium.