Bunkka - Paul Oakenfold
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Diverse and constantly engaging.
  2. 90
    A deep, dark and dirty affair. [June 2002, p.88]
  3. Kudos for making such a disparate collection hang together as a cohesive, upbeat, infectious whole.
  4. A slick, expertly crafted crossover plea that can't quite push Oakenfold past every other beat-happy producer out there. [Aug 2002, p.88]
  5. Yes, it's eclectic and he hasn't just slapped together a ragbag of Ibeefa anfums, but this record essentially suffers from a lack of ambition.
  6. 60
    Bunkka has the savvy and brass tacks to challenge even the Jedi master of music/marketing synergy, Moby. [Jul 2002, p.97]
  7. Unfortunately, Oakenfold isn't much of a pioneer any more, and though it's clear his ear for a solid production hasn't deserted him, Bunkka sees him following the trends instead of pushing them.
  8. It's hard to discern quite what Oakenfold himself brings to the party. [July 2002, p.117]
  9. The album works because Oakenfold has abandoned the stylistic limits of trance yet brought the genre's tuneful oomph to tracks with a little more personality.
  10. Even the highlights are bogged down by ambitious aims that translate blindness as blandness.
  11. It was a phenomenal album two years ago, when it was called Movement In Still Life and BT released it. Now, in 2002, it just seems dated.
  12. 40
    Padded out with too much of the Europap that has blotted Perfecto's scoresheet over the years. [Jul 2002, p.116]
  13. 40
    Bunkka proves he can't write songs to save his slipmats. [#8, p.120]
  14. 40
    Spouts off on multiple tangents and never returns.
  15. 30
    The commercial techno sludge of Oakenfold's songs on Bunkka suggests that he should have thought twice about veering from his career path as DJ du jour. [Aug 2002, p.160]
  16. File under: Bunkum. [21 June 2002, p.84]
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. SimonB
    May 13, 2008
    6
    Paul Oakenfold's most notable album. Even if it does drench in pop sauce and stinks of "PLEASE PUT ME ON THE CHARTS" all over, it Paul Oakenfold's most notable album. Even if it does drench in pop sauce and stinks of "PLEASE PUT ME ON THE CHARTS" all over, it manages to sound good. Nevermind the songs with lyrics in them, they're unworthy of notice. Yet, the beats are catchy. I found myself listening to Harder They Fall, but not to Nelly Furtado nor that other guy she sings with. Ready Steady Go starts an album that seems very promising but then just shows there was nothing in its hand. Losing the bets, it just minimizes its great intro and replaces it with soft pop songs with good synths. Zoo York admirably immitates Requiem For a Dream's musical anthem, while the "Coke AD" song works nicely when just attempting to chill out. I like it, really. It could have been better, though. Full Review »
  2. StephenS.
    Sep 22, 2002
    10
    Southern Sun IS the song for 2002... greatest hit of the year here in Malta
  3. BitBurn
    Sep 20, 2002
    7
    Interesting record but not as consistent as the Oakenfold I was knew. A bit too hip-hoping to my taste. However, I must say, the song Interesting record but not as consistent as the Oakenfold I was knew. A bit too hip-hoping to my taste. However, I must say, the song "Southern Sun" with vocals from Carla Werner is simply unbelievable! Too bad the feel of that song isn't felt on the entire album. Still, a good record. Full Review »