Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    A set of tightly crafted, richly arranged pop songs.
  2. Apr 24, 2012
    It's all catchy enough to keep you listening, slack-jawed.
  3. Apr 19, 2012
    California 37's peculiar teenage stance offers as many toe-curling moments as it does pleasant surprises.
  4. Apr 19, 2012
    California 37 resides gladly in "Hey, Soul Sister's" shadow, full of equally goofy songs, some more so.
  5. Apr 19, 2012
    There's nothing preventing them from indulging in the silliest rhymes, baffling name-drops, nagging hooks, and earworm melodies.
  6. Apr 19, 2012
    California 37 erases Train's original identity, simply leaving us with a train wreck.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    It's not bad for the most part. I feel it is a little different for Train but what they tried wasn't god awful. It was actually pretty good. I just hope they touch base with their roots later. Full Review »
  2. Mar 17, 2013
    I bought this CD because it was on sale. I was pleasantly surprised to say the least that I enjoyed such a mainstream band as much especially since I didn't like Tell Me from a few years back. I absolutely loved this CD. There is a great variety of the type of songs. They are pretty much all great in my opinion and don't include mediocre 'CD FIller' songs. Full Review »
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    California 37 is more "pop" than any of their previous releases. The album is rather happy-sounding, which rightfully starts with "This Will Be My Year", an upbeat song that inspires listeners to anticipate all the good things to come. The album tracks are full of witty pop cultural references, wrapped in catchy tunes. "50 Ways to Say Goodbye" is a brassy break-up anthem whose intro dubiously resembles the score of "The Phantom of the Opera". "Bruises" is a duet with Ashley Monroe, set in a reunion between two high school friends, which is meant to bring nostalgia to every listener. Other great tracks include "You Can Finally Meet My Mom", "Mermaid", and the title track, "California 37". Full Review »