Cannibal - Ke$ha
  • Band Name: Ke$ha
  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 139
  2. Negative: 31 out of 139

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Kesha keeps getting better. You may complain her lyrics are vain and stupid all you want but thats exactly what she is trying to be. Shes not pretending to be someone she isnt, she is who she is. Her music is made exactly what it is for, expression and fun, its to get lost in the beat. Hate her all you want but with 5 straight top 10 hits her work speaks for itself.
  2. Nov 30, 2010
    0
    Too bad that the film "Idiocracy" was made prior to this album's release. The audio-visual combination would have been glorious. I could even see Ke$ha herself playing the Chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts in it. Ah well, maybe a sequel will happen one day. This is the musical equivalent of McDonald's ... after it's been digested and expelled.
  3. Nov 26, 2010
    3
    Ke$ha is an absolute idiot, with no intellect. At least with her last release we got some embarrassingly catchy songs that are tolerable at a club filled with people equally as stupid as Ke$ha. I'm sorry, but when you're saying "I am Cannibal" -- something is wrong. A lot of people also find this release to be very offensive in content; unapologetic. That would be fine if she wasKe$ha is an absolute idiot, with no intellect. At least with her last release we got some embarrassingly catchy songs that are tolerable at a club filled with people equally as stupid as Ke$ha. I'm sorry, but when you're saying "I am Cannibal" -- something is wrong. A lot of people also find this release to be very offensive in content; unapologetic. That would be fine if she was intelligent and her lyrics didn't suck. The point is, fellow haters -- she WILL NOT last. 50 Cent and Soulja Boy did the same thing! They got famous off one single, and their careers fell off from there because they are stupid, and weren't made for the business. Ke$ha is the same case. Enjoy your fame while it lasts, Ke$ha! Cannibal is the catalyst of your plunge into perpetual darkness. Expand
  4. bob
    Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What an absolutely intellectual record. Kesha- sorry- Ke$ha has put together possibly the most mind-blowingly intriguing albums of the entire year. Her sound is so unique, and her dirty whore image just makes me want to say "Man, this is an album I want to buy". If her incredible innovations in the music industry do not blow you away, I don't know what will. If you give this album anythingWhat an absolutely intellectual record. Kesha- sorry- Ke$ha has put together possibly the most mind-blowingly intriguing albums of the entire year. Her sound is so unique, and her dirty whore image just makes me want to say "Man, this is an album I want to buy". If her incredible innovations in the music industry do not blow you away, I don't know what will. If you give this album anything less than an 11, you are a dirty rotten homophobe who hates music. Collapse
  5. Dec 1, 2010
    6
    Cannibal was on my list for this week's album releases (with Pink Friday and My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy). I admit that I was a bit disappointed by this EP. The songs are okay, nothing special nothing can be qualified as bad, but except for We R Who We R, I don't think that something is very good on this album, but still, we can't say any of this EP is bad. The only reason my rateCannibal was on my list for this week's album releases (with Pink Friday and My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy). I admit that I was a bit disappointed by this EP. The songs are okay, nothing special nothing can be qualified as bad, but except for We R Who We R, I don't think that something is very good on this album, but still, we can't say any of this EP is bad. The only reason my rate isn't higher than 6/10 is because as a whole, this album sucks. I mean, that the song doesn't quite fit together, in contrast with Animal, where all the songs sounds the same. But I have to admit that the EP title was cleverly chosen. I bought the Animal Cannibal Edition and I love how it sounds. The good songs of Cannibal are : We R Who We R, Crazy Beautiful Life, The Harold Song and I have to admit that I love the funny song named Cannibal.On the good side of the album, you have to admit that Ke$ha writes ALL of her songs, which gives her more credit for me than Rihanna who wrote absolutely nothing for Loud. Anyway. If you love Ke$ha, you'll love Cannibal. I do love Ke$ha, and I do love Cannibal, but I took an objective perspective to write this review. And I think everyone should do that, not like the haters who gives zeros instantly and the fans who are doing the same but with a ten.

    **UPDATE: I found it suspicious that half of the bad reviews comes from people with only Cannibal reviewed... Seriously, don't make seven incoherent reviews if your only a hater. "This album is bad" is not a review!
    Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    IIIIII LLLLOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVEEEEEEEE KKKKKKEEEEEE$$$$$$$$$HHHHHHAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CCCAAANNNIIIBBBAAALLL FTW!!! This EP is amazing. Non stop dancing :P
  7. May 26, 2011
    2
    Tripe. Complete and utter tripe.
  8. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Ke$ha really did an aazing job on her EP. I myself am a huge fan and this was a very inticipated album for me. Ke$ha's intoxicating synths, and funky lyrics really have you dancing. She also has a softer side. "The Harold Song" is about how she misses someone who was sopecial in her ife. Overall, a really really really awesome album!
  9. Nov 23, 2010
    0
    This is worse than Animal, and Animal was really really really really BAD. When will her 15 mins be up? Her songs always make me cringe when they come on the radio.
  10. Nov 25, 2010
    2
    intellectual? Ground Breaking? Hardly. Her stupid spoiled slut routine is amusing for a moment, but the music, or electric noise or whatever those beats are supposed to sound like are garbage. her "rhymes" are even worse, usually they dont even rhyme and rarely make sense. There is no talent, effort, or heart in any of these songs
  11. Nov 25, 2010
    7
    Ke$ha's annoying & repulsive, but sweet personality & style of songwriting has led her to make an actually decent, average pop album. Her last album "Animal", was immature & obnoxious, with about two strong points. And, the fact that that was a debut album gives no excuse for such immaturity, considering the fact that this new album "Cannibal" is out less than a year later, & in the sameKe$ha's annoying & repulsive, but sweet personality & style of songwriting has led her to make an actually decent, average pop album. Her last album "Animal", was immature & obnoxious, with about two strong points. And, the fact that that was a debut album gives no excuse for such immaturity, considering the fact that this new album "Cannibal" is out less than a year later, & in the same year. As usual for the hyper valley girl, the ballads (The Harold Song, Animal) are the strongest points. "We R Who We R" is also another strong point with unique lyrics & a catchy hook. I will never be able to get by someone with a dollar sign in their name, but Ke$ha has actually made a decent album. Props! Expand
  12. Nov 22, 2010
    0
    I can't believe people are trying to say Kesha is who she is. She is so desperate for attention and has absolutely nothing to back it up. No creativity, no vocal skills and borderline offensive lyrics in her crappy over auto tuned music.
  13. Nov 22, 2010
    7
    As pop music goes these days, Ke$ha has definitely has shown some improvement from her previous debut effort, "Animal". Brilliantly named "Cannibal" has sick club bangers and still keeping listeners entertained with her slightly auto-tuned vocals and pop-rap style that keeps every young listener up and jumping. "We R Who We R" is the highlight of the EP, as well as the EP's self titledAs pop music goes these days, Ke$ha has definitely has shown some improvement from her previous debut effort, "Animal". Brilliantly named "Cannibal" has sick club bangers and still keeping listeners entertained with her slightly auto-tuned vocals and pop-rap style that keeps every young listener up and jumping. "We R Who We R" is the highlight of the EP, as well as the EP's self titled song "Cannibal" that could be the funniest LOL pop song in years. Expand
  14. Nov 22, 2010
    0
    To think "We R Who We R" is Ke$ha's version of a FTW message lets you know the quality of the EP. Another garage album for a garbage pop artist with materialism presented in a materialistic manner and no real thought put into this whatsoever.
  15. Nov 22, 2010
    2
    Proof that just because it's on the radio or teenagers are buying it, doesn't mean it's good. She's proof that all you need is a producer and mindless people with money to spend. This album is no exception. Rhyming "sleazy" with "easy" and other lazy songwriting, along with her computer generated voice leads to you wonder how she got a record deal in the first place. She represents theProof that just because it's on the radio or teenagers are buying it, doesn't mean it's good. She's proof that all you need is a producer and mindless people with money to spend. This album is no exception. Rhyming "sleazy" with "easy" and other lazy songwriting, along with her computer generated voice leads to you wonder how she got a record deal in the first place. She represents the worst of pop music. Avoid this sludge. Expand
  16. Nov 22, 2010
    0
    Wow ! Another scrap from Kesha. It's so nice to know that really good artists don't get money because the majority of the people listen to bad music. Kesha sucks
  17. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    "Cannibal", the second album released by pop sensation Ke$ha, follows the footsteps of Lady GaGa's "The Fame Monster", as a promotional trick to live up the first album's, "Animal's" sales. Though it was met to mixed or average scores and criticism, this album or extended play is a big step ahead from "Animal", of course excluding "TiK ToK'', "Take It Off" and "Dancing with Tears in My"Cannibal", the second album released by pop sensation Ke$ha, follows the footsteps of Lady GaGa's "The Fame Monster", as a promotional trick to live up the first album's, "Animal's" sales. Though it was met to mixed or average scores and criticism, this album or extended play is a big step ahead from "Animal", of course excluding "TiK ToK'', "Take It Off" and "Dancing with Tears in My Eyes", which are masterpieces in all ways. Here's my rating for each song:
    1. "Cannibal" - 10/10 - Fully deserves to be the album's title. Very nice.
    2. "We R Who We R" - 10/10 - Lyrics fit great, the song itself is another megahit after "TiK ToK".
    3. "Sleazy" - 10/10 - The beat is sick, so are her rapping and singing.
    4. "Blow" - 10/10 - One of the best, sounds like "Take It Off, Part 2".
    5. "The Harold Song" - 9,7/10 - Lyrics are great, but the track is too similar to "Blind" from her own "Animal" set.
    6. "Crazy Beautiful Life" - 8,2/10 - Sounds like a mid-2006 hit, would be popular then, not the best though.
    7. "Grow a Pear" - 10/10 - So far the extended play's best.
    8. "C U Next Tuesday" - 7,9/10 - Just sweet, nothing more.
    9. "Animal (Billboard Remix)" - 10/10 - You best believe me, it is great! Good job, Billboard!
    Overall this is a super EP and I'm against people, who say Ke$ha's fake. Yes, she's a pure auto-tune, but, after all, the next century is sure to have more than a bit of auto-tune. Congrats, K$!
    Expand
  18. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    "If you like to enjoy your life, you will like this record. It's for people who are alive and happy." - Ke$ha

    I would say this pretty much sums it up.
  19. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    This album was just like the other Ke$ha album. It mix with a lot of sloppy hooks that catch out attention. We can't stop singing her songs because her songs are so catchy. Even though Ke$ha isn't a good singer or song writer she find a way to get it done. I like this album it has nice beats with catchy songs that everybody will be singing. Once again Ke$ha made a hit album. Even though IThis album was just like the other Ke$ha album. It mix with a lot of sloppy hooks that catch out attention. We can't stop singing her songs because her songs are so catchy. Even though Ke$ha isn't a good singer or song writer she find a way to get it done. I like this album it has nice beats with catchy songs that everybody will be singing. Once again Ke$ha made a hit album. Even though I say wasn't going listen to her anymore . I cont. to listen to her. Expand
  20. Nov 25, 2010
    1
    Please, America, please knock some sense into yourselves. What happened to good lyrics? Natural vocals? This is not Kesha. This is a computer singing her terrible lyrics. She - as well as other generic pop stars - seem to be trying their best to imitate the only decent pop singer today: Lady Gaga. Kesha is innovative, I'll give you that - she's shown us all that you don't need talent toPlease, America, please knock some sense into yourselves. What happened to good lyrics? Natural vocals? This is not Kesha. This is a computer singing her terrible lyrics. She - as well as other generic pop stars - seem to be trying their best to imitate the only decent pop singer today: Lady Gaga. Kesha is innovative, I'll give you that - she's shown us all that you don't need talent to make it big these days: you just need nice voice editing software and you're good to go. Expand
  21. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    Ke$ha's new EP "Cannibal" is better than her debt CD. There is a minimal use of autotune and vocoders. Her song remain as catchy as first without 'Trying too Hard.' Her new EP shows no false brattiness and stupidity. "Cannibal" the title-track is a standout because it has a new and refreshing sound. "We R Who We R" is the album's catchiest yet carefree song. "Sleazy" musically andKe$ha's new EP "Cannibal" is better than her debt CD. There is a minimal use of autotune and vocoders. Her song remain as catchy as first without 'Trying too Hard.' Her new EP shows no false brattiness and stupidity. "Cannibal" the title-track is a standout because it has a new and refreshing sound. "We R Who We R" is the album's catchiest yet carefree song. "Sleazy" musically and lyrically standout of all her songs. The EP is incredibly, irresistibly catchy among all 2010 releases. Expand
  22. Dec 1, 2010
    6
    True to her last album, Ke$ha continues to produce anthemic party themed songs with a tendency to represent for all the independent women who want to get their drink on and pimp the guys who are eyeing them from the end of the bar. The album guarantees to produce a couple mainstream singles good for dancing at a party and contains politically incorrect lyrics to save her reputation as theTrue to her last album, Ke$ha continues to produce anthemic party themed songs with a tendency to represent for all the independent women who want to get their drink on and pimp the guys who are eyeing them from the end of the bar. The album guarantees to produce a couple mainstream singles good for dancing at a party and contains politically incorrect lyrics to save her reputation as the 'say what I want bad-girl of the party". If your looking for a song to bump while pregaming with your girls, look no further... Expand
  23. Nov 30, 2010
    6
    Let's be serious, until Ke$ha drops the dollar sign and the vocoder, she shouldn't really be critiqued on her lyrical intellect as the standpoint of an album review. The lyrics are unapologetic and banal, and it is clear that no matter her SAT Score, she is profoundly stupid (She spells Are with the letter R, and, in "We R Who We R", commends and commands people to be who they are, beforeLet's be serious, until Ke$ha drops the dollar sign and the vocoder, she shouldn't really be critiqued on her lyrical intellect as the standpoint of an album review. The lyrics are unapologetic and banal, and it is clear that no matter her SAT Score, she is profoundly stupid (She spells Are with the letter R, and, in "We R Who We R", commends and commands people to be who they are, before telling her male companion in, again the well spelled "Grow A Pear", to grow some balls, and change who he is, before she'll take him seriously again).
    The "Animal" extension is however, a fairly pleasing listen. If phazing out the lyrics of title track "Cannibal", the chorus does reach anthemic heights, and is a sure-fire club stomper, with tracks "We R Who We R" and "Blow" following immediately in it's footsteps. "Blow" notably takes a step into the more euphoric trance genre, with soaring vocoded vocals and stop-start style, and is a standout in doing so. Ballads "The Harold Song" and "Crazy Beautiful Life" show a less vocally assisted Ke$ha, and a more vulnerable one. "The Harold Song", which contains striking similarities to "Animal"'s "Dancing With Tears In My Eyes", proves a highlight, with a standout chorus and cold delivery. The most interesting track is "Sleazy", a trashy, repetitive, but somehow suggestive and clever at the same time. She ditches the speak-sung nature of her usual work for straight up Rap, which is delivered poignantly and fairly well, between vocal oddities such as that after "Beat so fat, wanna make me come... Over to your place", showing that she isn't taking her filthy image too seriously.
    Ultimately, this set fails to live up to it's former, and while there are 1 or 2 standouts, the EP itself is ruined by going places that lyrically are far too taboo to even be considered daring, and a vocoder supplied, same synth reliance which, at this point, feels tired.
    Expand
  24. Nov 30, 2010
    2
    Embarrassing and disappointing. Animal was a guilty pleasure, admittedly not a very good one. Even Ke$ha fans will question their loyalty after hearing this follow-up. It's not very catchy, it's somewhat offensive, and it simply sounds bad. The offensiveness of the album stem from Ke$ha's undeserving ego and her constant contradictions.
  25. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    Even If "C U Next Tuesday" was already released before "Cannibal" she still knows how to deliver strong records like "We R Who We R" which is my favorite track on that album, "Sleazy" where she gives a rapping style dance vibe, "Grow A Pear" which delivers humor and a nice dance beat, "and "Blow" which has already broke into the billboard charts is a must-hear! All in all a great albumEven If "C U Next Tuesday" was already released before "Cannibal" she still knows how to deliver strong records like "We R Who We R" which is my favorite track on that album, "Sleazy" where she gives a rapping style dance vibe, "Grow A Pear" which delivers humor and a nice dance beat, "and "Blow" which has already broke into the billboard charts is a must-hear! All in all a great album released by Ke$ha. Expand
  26. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Now we all know that Ke$ha is your Marmite singer...you either love her or hate her. I LOVE HER! she is a musician/lyricist genius, she has set the bars up another level with Cannibal...every track is just infectious as the next one and contains some hilarious lyrics like "Now that I'm famous, your up my anus!"..pure brilliance. The track "Cannibal" is my favourite.
  27. Dec 12, 2010
    6
    I loved "Animal" album, although, as I mentioned on its critic, it's guilty pleasure, but, I don't know... As I said, don't try too hard in finding clever in this. Still, there are some good songs in it. "Canibal" is the best. Funny song, and it should be a club banger soon. But, the other songs are just average. The next single should be "Blow" though, good song on the radio.
  28. Feb 27, 2011
    2
    First of all, Ke$ha should be very thankful for auto-tune, because she would have no career (if that's even what you should call it) with out it. If the song isn't just showing off how conceited she is, it's saying something about a DJ, glitter, and getting wasted. With the same effects making her voice sound like a robot, and practically identical lyrics, most of her songs aren't evenFirst of all, Ke$ha should be very thankful for auto-tune, because she would have no career (if that's even what you should call it) with out it. If the song isn't just showing off how conceited she is, it's saying something about a DJ, glitter, and getting wasted. With the same effects making her voice sound like a robot, and practically identical lyrics, most of her songs aren't even that easy to tell apart. I think Miss Ke$ha is on her 14th minute of fame. Expand
  29. Jan 3, 2011
    8
    Ke$ha, again "Blows" our minds away with a collection of 9 new songs, however, some songs aren't as solid as anticipated, however, a majority of the whole album is addictive! The thing about the dear album Cannibal, is that it gurantees not one boring song, something that most pop artists offer in their nowadays albums, however some songs, again, aren't solid. Though the auto-tuned voiceKe$ha, again "Blows" our minds away with a collection of 9 new songs, however, some songs aren't as solid as anticipated, however, a majority of the whole album is addictive! The thing about the dear album Cannibal, is that it gurantees not one boring song, something that most pop artists offer in their nowadays albums, however some songs, again, aren't solid. Though the auto-tuned voice in many of her songs never get old, it sounds like she's evolved from Animal into a brand new voice range, for example clearly auto-tuned "Your Love Is My Drug" vs all natural "Sleazy". However, many of the songs are too repetitive. Example: Sleazy. After hearing "IMMA GET SLEAZY" for just about 50 times, it gets a bit old, however it is still a jolly-good time to listen to it! I do recommend this record, however, not for all ages. Grow A Pear is very... sensual. Hahaha. You'll have to listen to the album yourself.
    Tracks you HAVE TO LISTEN TO: Crazy Beautiful Life, We R Who We R, The Harold Song, and Grow A Pear.
    Expand
  30. Jan 4, 2011
    8
    Ok, so Ke$ha is like a guilty pleasure. Strictly speaking about the album, I love it. The tracks make me laugh, smile, and want to move. What's better than that? "Cannibal", "Blow" and "Sleazy" are great tracks to party to, along with her first single "We R Who We R"; to name a few. "Grow A Pair" makes me laugh and is not that bad as well.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    67
    This adjunct to "Animal" is unapologetically escapist and highly programmed fun.
  2. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    Sure, Max Martin's hooks, and especially Dr. Luke's neon-colored throb push these tunes into your head--they're in top form, aided by the tight focus of an eight-track EP, Cannibal's brevity trumping the scattershot Animal--but what makes them stick is Kesha, a pop star lacking pop star looks and a pop star voice.
  3. 60
    Ke$ha didn't really set the bar for intellectual heft too high on her debut, Animal, so it seems like hair-splitting to mention that even with guilty pleasures like "Cannibal" and, uh, "C U Next Tuesday," Cannibal seems to be skimping on the cleverness.