Cannibal - Ke$ha
  • Band Name: Ke$ha
  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 139
  2. Negative: 31 out of 139

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Kesha keeps getting better. You may complain her lyrics are vain and stupid all you want but thats exactly what she is trying to be. Shes not pretending to be someone she isnt, she is who she is. Her music is made exactly what it is for, expression and fun, its to get lost in the beat. Hate her all you want but with 5 straight top 10 hits her work speaks for itself.
  2. bob
    Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What an absolutely intellectual record. Kesha- sorry- Ke$ha has put together possibly the most mind-blowingly intriguing albums of the entire year. Her sound is so unique, and her dirty whore image just makes me want to say "Man, this is an album I want to buy". If her incredible innovations in the music industry do not blow you away, I don't know what will. If you give this album anythingWhat an absolutely intellectual record. Kesha- sorry- Ke$ha has put together possibly the most mind-blowingly intriguing albums of the entire year. Her sound is so unique, and her dirty whore image just makes me want to say "Man, this is an album I want to buy". If her incredible innovations in the music industry do not blow you away, I don't know what will. If you give this album anything less than an 11, you are a dirty rotten homophobe who hates music. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    "Cannibal", the second album released by pop sensation Ke$ha, follows the footsteps of Lady GaGa's "The Fame Monster", as a promotional trick to live up the first album's, "Animal's" sales. Though it was met to mixed or average scores and criticism, this album or extended play is a big step ahead from "Animal", of course excluding "TiK ToK'', "Take It Off" and "Dancing with Tears in My"Cannibal", the second album released by pop sensation Ke$ha, follows the footsteps of Lady GaGa's "The Fame Monster", as a promotional trick to live up the first album's, "Animal's" sales. Though it was met to mixed or average scores and criticism, this album or extended play is a big step ahead from "Animal", of course excluding "TiK ToK'', "Take It Off" and "Dancing with Tears in My Eyes", which are masterpieces in all ways. Here's my rating for each song:
    1. "Cannibal" - 10/10 - Fully deserves to be the album's title. Very nice.
    2. "We R Who We R" - 10/10 - Lyrics fit great, the song itself is another megahit after "TiK ToK".
    3. "Sleazy" - 10/10 - The beat is sick, so are her rapping and singing.
    4. "Blow" - 10/10 - One of the best, sounds like "Take It Off, Part 2".
    5. "The Harold Song" - 9,7/10 - Lyrics are great, but the track is too similar to "Blind" from her own "Animal" set.
    6. "Crazy Beautiful Life" - 8,2/10 - Sounds like a mid-2006 hit, would be popular then, not the best though.
    7. "Grow a Pear" - 10/10 - So far the extended play's best.
    8. "C U Next Tuesday" - 7,9/10 - Just sweet, nothing more.
    9. "Animal (Billboard Remix)" - 10/10 - You best believe me, it is great! Good job, Billboard!
    Overall this is a super EP and I'm against people, who say Ke$ha's fake. Yes, she's a pure auto-tune, but, after all, the next century is sure to have more than a bit of auto-tune. Congrats, K$!
    Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Ke$ha really did an aazing job on her EP. I myself am a huge fan and this was a very inticipated album for me. Ke$ha's intoxicating synths, and funky lyrics really have you dancing. She also has a softer side. "The Harold Song" is about how she misses someone who was sopecial in her ife. Overall, a really really really awesome album!
  5. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Now we all know that Ke$ha is your Marmite singer...you either love her or hate her. I LOVE HER! she is a musician/lyricist genius, she has set the bars up another level with Cannibal...every track is just infectious as the next one and contains some hilarious lyrics like "Now that I'm famous, your up my anus!"..pure brilliance. The track "Cannibal" is my favourite.
  6. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    IIIIII LLLLOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVEEEEEEEE KKKKKKEEEEEE$$$$$$$$$HHHHHHAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CCCAAANNNIIIBBBAAALLL FTW!!! This EP is amazing. Non stop dancing :P
  7. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    I Thought I Liked Animal...I LOVE Cannibal Ever More!
    Some Of The Best Tracks Are We R We R, Cannibal, Blow & Grow A Pear The Worst Song By Far Is Slezy.. Its Not Bad... Its Just Not The Best Son.. I Still LOVE K$!
  8. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    She is who she is, and I love her for it! She knows what she wants, and she can adequately portray it to her fanbase. All in all, she knows how to make a great pop record, and I look forward to her future matierla.
  9. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This album is too amazing. Cannibal is the masterpiece that pressed people can't get over. Sadly, their faves don't make masterpieces like this and they are jealous.The 9 bops on this album are enough to get the party wild.
  10. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    "If you like to enjoy your life, you will like this record. It's for people who are alive and happy." - Ke$ha

    I would say this pretty much sums it up.
  11. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    Ke$ha's new EP "Cannibal" is better than her debt CD. There is a minimal use of autotune and vocoders. Her song remain as catchy as first without 'Trying too Hard.' Her new EP shows no false brattiness and stupidity. "Cannibal" the title-track is a standout because it has a new and refreshing sound. "We R Who We R" is the album's catchiest yet carefree song. "Sleazy" musically andKe$ha's new EP "Cannibal" is better than her debt CD. There is a minimal use of autotune and vocoders. Her song remain as catchy as first without 'Trying too Hard.' Her new EP shows no false brattiness and stupidity. "Cannibal" the title-track is a standout because it has a new and refreshing sound. "We R Who We R" is the album's catchiest yet carefree song. "Sleazy" musically and lyrically standout of all her songs. The EP is incredibly, irresistibly catchy among all 2010 releases. Expand
  12. May 29, 2011
    9
    After a slew of bad singles from her first album (with the exception of "Your Love Is My Drug"), Ke$ha's second album is surprisingly well-done. Other than "Blow", which has an annoying refrain, the album is full of energetic dance-pop, with highlights being "Sleazy" and "Crazy Beautiful Life".
  13. Jun 2, 2011
    9
    Listening to dollar-sign-girl is pure dance pop addiction. In her latest EP and major release, the drunk gal proved to be a rising dance artist with creatively nasty lyrics and poppy production excess that make sense. Though her heart is in the clubs, her music is all the more enjoyable and (rare in the pop music landscape, believe it or not) in focus.
  14. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    Track By Track- Cannibal- so fresh and stuff, so electronically cool, album highlight, We R Who We R- Cool. absolutely amazing, i really like it, Sleazy- she shows off her rapping skills in this weirdo electro-hop track, Blow- repetitive and cool, super nice and i'm officially in love with it, The Harold Song- her best ballad ever, it is very sentimental and nice, Crazy Beautiful Life-Track By Track- Cannibal- so fresh and stuff, so electronically cool, album highlight, We R Who We R- Cool. absolutely amazing, i really like it, Sleazy- she shows off her rapping skills in this weirdo electro-hop track, Blow- repetitive and cool, super nice and i'm officially in love with it, The Harold Song- her best ballad ever, it is very sentimental and nice, Crazy Beautiful Life- nice and short quality pop music, i like it, Grow a Pear- naughty but nice dance-pop track that is pretty amazing, C U Next Tuesday- i absolutely love it! Album Highlight, Animal- this remix maybe unnecessary but it is awesome, cute ballad, dancey sort of song. Best Tracks- Cannibal, C U Next Tuesday, We R Who We R, Crazy Beautiful Life Expand
  15. May 29, 2012
    9
    Once More Ke$ha Does It Again!
    A Great Pop Dance Album! We R Who We R Is A Amazing Track!
  16. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    Cannibal Is Somewhat A Better Album That Animal... In A Way....
    A Amazing Album By Ke$ha!

    Below Is A List Of Song Off Cannibal And A Score Out Of 10

    Cannibal 10/10
    We R Who We R 10/10
    Slezy 5/10
    Blow 10/10
    The Harold Song 10/10
    Crazy Beautiful Life 10/10
    Grow A Pear 10/10
    C U Next Tuesday 10/10
  17. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    This EP is great, full of energy and really good overall tracks. As part of Ke$has debut album Animals re-release know as Animal/Cannibal, Cannibal can also be bought as an EP. The 2 singles from the EP We R Who We R and Blow are great, definatly highlights. Personally i think the highlights of Cannibal are We R Who We R, Crazy Beautiful Life and The Harold Song. Lyrically We R Who We R isThis EP is great, full of energy and really good overall tracks. As part of Ke$has debut album Animals re-release know as Animal/Cannibal, Cannibal can also be bought as an EP. The 2 singles from the EP We R Who We R and Blow are great, definatly highlights. Personally i think the highlights of Cannibal are We R Who We R, Crazy Beautiful Life and The Harold Song. Lyrically We R Who We R is an insperational anthem telling people to be who they are and overall an amazing song! Crazy Beautiful Life a really great song and should've been a single in my opinion! The Harold Song is a love/breakup song which is amazing! Lyrically this is the best written song on the whole album i love it! If you haven't bought/listened to this yet i advise you to! Expand
  18. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    It is a shame that "Cannibal" was an EP, because it had lots of potential. The best songs are "Cannibal", "The Harold Song", and "C U Next Tuesday".
  19. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    One of the best EPs I've ever heard, was worth an entire album, all his songs can be good and you do not get tired of hearing it
    Highlights: Sleazy and The Harold Song
    Lows: CU Next Tuesday and Crazy Beautiful Life
  20. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    This album was just like the other Ke$ha album. It mix with a lot of sloppy hooks that catch out attention. We can't stop singing her songs because her songs are so catchy. Even though Ke$ha isn't a good singer or song writer she find a way to get it done. I like this album it has nice beats with catchy songs that everybody will be singing. Once again Ke$ha made a hit album. Even though IThis album was just like the other Ke$ha album. It mix with a lot of sloppy hooks that catch out attention. We can't stop singing her songs because her songs are so catchy. Even though Ke$ha isn't a good singer or song writer she find a way to get it done. I like this album it has nice beats with catchy songs that everybody will be singing. Once again Ke$ha made a hit album. Even though I say wasn't going listen to her anymore . I cont. to listen to her. Expand
  21. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    Even If "C U Next Tuesday" was already released before "Cannibal" she still knows how to deliver strong records like "We R Who We R" which is my favorite track on that album, "Sleazy" where she gives a rapping style dance vibe, "Grow A Pear" which delivers humor and a nice dance beat, "and "Blow" which has already broke into the billboard charts is a must-hear! All in all a great albumEven If "C U Next Tuesday" was already released before "Cannibal" she still knows how to deliver strong records like "We R Who We R" which is my favorite track on that album, "Sleazy" where she gives a rapping style dance vibe, "Grow A Pear" which delivers humor and a nice dance beat, "and "Blow" which has already broke into the billboard charts is a must-hear! All in all a great album released by Ke$ha. Collapse
  22. Jan 3, 2011
    8
    Ke$ha, again "Blows" our minds away with a collection of 9 new songs, however, some songs aren't as solid as anticipated, however, a majority of the whole album is addictive! The thing about the dear album Cannibal, is that it gurantees not one boring song, something that most pop artists offer in their nowadays albums, however some songs, again, aren't solid. Though the auto-tuned voiceKe$ha, again "Blows" our minds away with a collection of 9 new songs, however, some songs aren't as solid as anticipated, however, a majority of the whole album is addictive! The thing about the dear album Cannibal, is that it gurantees not one boring song, something that most pop artists offer in their nowadays albums, however some songs, again, aren't solid. Though the auto-tuned voice in many of her songs never get old, it sounds like she's evolved from Animal into a brand new voice range, for example clearly auto-tuned "Your Love Is My Drug" vs all natural "Sleazy". However, many of the songs are too repetitive. Example: Sleazy. After hearing "IMMA GET SLEAZY" for just about 50 times, it gets a bit old, however it is still a jolly-good time to listen to it! I do recommend this record, however, not for all ages. Grow A Pear is very... sensual. Hahaha. You'll have to listen to the album yourself.
    Tracks you HAVE TO LISTEN TO: Crazy Beautiful Life, We R Who We R, The Harold Song, and Grow A Pear.
    Expand
  23. Jan 4, 2011
    8
    Ok, so Ke$ha is like a guilty pleasure. Strictly speaking about the album, I love it. The tracks make me laugh, smile, and want to move. What's better than that? "Cannibal", "Blow" and "Sleazy" are great tracks to party to, along with her first single "We R Who We R"; to name a few. "Grow A Pair" makes me laugh and is not that bad as well.
  24. Feb 15, 2011
    8
    When going in to listen to Ke$ha, don't expect a masterpiece. Because it's not meant to be. It's supposed to be dirty and destroyed and falling apart. But because of that it's partially how it gets it's charm. It's not meant to be dissected and thought provoking. It's simply meant for fun. It's a dance album and Ke$ha does her job - you WILL be dancing. The songs are catchy, there's goodWhen going in to listen to Ke$ha, don't expect a masterpiece. Because it's not meant to be. It's supposed to be dirty and destroyed and falling apart. But because of that it's partially how it gets it's charm. It's not meant to be dissected and thought provoking. It's simply meant for fun. It's a dance album and Ke$ha does her job - you WILL be dancing. The songs are catchy, there's good production, and personally I have no major complaints about it. It's one of my favorite records of the year. Sometimes you just need a CD to party to and this one does the job. Expand
  25. May 25, 2011
    8
    It's so weird but true, she has her very own style of Pop using very unique electrobeats each song has it's very own style and is not repetitive, even when sometimes the lyrics are a alittle bit goofy but well it's Ke$ha's style.
  26. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    I'm going to guess that the majority of people giving this EP zeros have never actually listened to the it save for its two singles. The fact of the matter is that Ke$ha's Cannibal is far superior to her debut, Animal. It's much more well-written and songs like "The Harold Song" and even "We R Who We R" delve past her ditzy partygirl faux persona. We R Who We R was written as a response toI'm going to guess that the majority of people giving this EP zeros have never actually listened to the it save for its two singles. The fact of the matter is that Ke$ha's Cannibal is far superior to her debut, Animal. It's much more well-written and songs like "The Harold Song" and even "We R Who We R" delve past her ditzy partygirl faux persona. We R Who We R was written as a response to the gay teen suicides and, unlike Lady Gaga's "Born This Way", it doesn't seem like a forced gay anthem. Ke$ha does absolutely have vocal talent, it's just not frequently showcased, but hints of her abilities can be heard on The Harold Song. Many criticize her use of AutoTune, but let's face it, this is a party record and heavily processed vocals just sound better on the dancefloor. Expand
  27. Jun 20, 2014
    8
    Muuuuuuuito bom em relação a Animal,evolução grandiosa,esquecemos até do auto tune que aparece a todo momento.
    Mas Ke$ha só se sobressai a cada album.
  28. Nov 22, 2010
    7
    As pop music goes these days, Ke$ha has definitely has shown some improvement from her previous debut effort, "Animal". Brilliantly named "Cannibal" has sick club bangers and still keeping listeners entertained with her slightly auto-tuned vocals and pop-rap style that keeps every young listener up and jumping. "We R Who We R" is the highlight of the EP, as well as the EP's self titledAs pop music goes these days, Ke$ha has definitely has shown some improvement from her previous debut effort, "Animal". Brilliantly named "Cannibal" has sick club bangers and still keeping listeners entertained with her slightly auto-tuned vocals and pop-rap style that keeps every young listener up and jumping. "We R Who We R" is the highlight of the EP, as well as the EP's self titled song "Cannibal" that could be the funniest LOL pop song in years. Expand
  29. Nov 25, 2010
    7
    Ke$ha's annoying & repulsive, but sweet personality & style of songwriting has led her to make an actually decent, average pop album. Her last album "Animal", was immature & obnoxious, with about two strong points. And, the fact that that was a debut album gives no excuse for such immaturity, considering the fact that this new album "Cannibal" is out less than a year later, & in the sameKe$ha's annoying & repulsive, but sweet personality & style of songwriting has led her to make an actually decent, average pop album. Her last album "Animal", was immature & obnoxious, with about two strong points. And, the fact that that was a debut album gives no excuse for such immaturity, considering the fact that this new album "Cannibal" is out less than a year later, & in the same year. As usual for the hyper valley girl, the ballads (The Harold Song, Animal) are the strongest points. "We R Who We R" is also another strong point with unique lyrics & a catchy hook. I will never be able to get by someone with a dollar sign in their name, but Ke$ha has actually made a decent album. Props! Expand
  30. Mar 8, 2011
    7
    Ke$ha's debut studio album may have been simple and obnoxious, but anyone can admit that it was catchy and shown off her spicy, "I.D.G.A.F." personality. In stead of vanishing for another year in order to focus on a whole studio album, Ke$ha's latest Cannibal is an extended play with eight tracks that -- once again -- show off her rowdy side.

    While the tracks are still autotune-heavy, and
    Ke$ha's debut studio album may have been simple and obnoxious, but anyone can admit that it was catchy and shown off her spicy, "I.D.G.A.F." personality. In stead of vanishing for another year in order to focus on a whole studio album, Ke$ha's latest Cannibal is an extended play with eight tracks that -- once again -- show off her rowdy side.

    While the tracks are still autotune-heavy, and maybe even sound like B-sides from her predecessor, there's a bit more ingenuity in Cannibal. The lead single, "We R Who We R", is hardly different from her previous singles, but it's catchy enough to be a success. However, tracks such as "Cannibal", "Sleazy", and "Blow" are the album's standout club tracks, with rude, but involving lyrics.

    Another highlight of Cannibal are its ballads, specifically "The Harold Song", which features her unlayered vocals during the verses. The lyrics are surprisingly profound, whilst her vocals are quite relaxing as well. "C U Next Tuesday" is auto-tune heavy, but classy as well, inspired by 80's bubblegum pop.

    If you're not a fan of Ke$ha's auto-tune heavy soundtrack, Animal, then there's nothing here to redeem your opinion. However, if you are a fan, then Cannibal will be a gentle step forward.
    Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    67
    This adjunct to "Animal" is unapologetically escapist and highly programmed fun.
  2. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    Sure, Max Martin's hooks, and especially Dr. Luke's neon-colored throb push these tunes into your head--they're in top form, aided by the tight focus of an eight-track EP, Cannibal's brevity trumping the scattershot Animal--but what makes them stick is Kesha, a pop star lacking pop star looks and a pop star voice.
  3. 60
    Ke$ha didn't really set the bar for intellectual heft too high on her debut, Animal, so it seems like hair-splitting to mention that even with guilty pleasures like "Cannibal" and, uh, "C U Next Tuesday," Cannibal seems to be skimping on the cleverness.