Cannibal

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 153 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 153

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 1, 2010
    6
    Cannibal was on my list for this week's album releases (with Pink Friday and My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy). I admit that I was a bit disappointed by this EP. The songs are okay, nothing special nothing can be qualified as bad, but except for We R Who We R, I don't think that something is very good on this album, but still, we can't say any of this EP is bad. The only reason my rateCannibal was on my list for this week's album releases (with Pink Friday and My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy). I admit that I was a bit disappointed by this EP. The songs are okay, nothing special nothing can be qualified as bad, but except for We R Who We R, I don't think that something is very good on this album, but still, we can't say any of this EP is bad. The only reason my rate isn't higher than 6/10 is because as a whole, this album sucks. I mean, that the song doesn't quite fit together, in contrast with Animal, where all the songs sounds the same. But I have to admit that the EP title was cleverly chosen. I bought the Animal Cannibal Edition and I love how it sounds. The good songs of Cannibal are : We R Who We R, Crazy Beautiful Life, The Harold Song and I have to admit that I love the funny song named Cannibal.On the good side of the album, you have to admit that Ke$ha writes ALL of her songs, which gives her more credit for me than Rihanna who wrote absolutely nothing for Loud. Anyway. If you love Ke$ha, you'll love Cannibal. I do love Ke$ha, and I do love Cannibal, but I took an objective perspective to write this review. And I think everyone should do that, not like the haters who gives zeros instantly and the fans who are doing the same but with a ten.

    **UPDATE: I found it suspicious that half of the bad reviews comes from people with only Cannibal reviewed... Seriously, don't make seven incoherent reviews if your only a hater. "This album is bad" is not a review!
    Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2010
    6
    True to her last album, Ke$ha continues to produce anthemic party themed songs with a tendency to represent for all the independent women who want to get their drink on and pimp the guys who are eyeing them from the end of the bar. The album guarantees to produce a couple mainstream singles good for dancing at a party and contains politically incorrect lyrics to save her reputation as theTrue to her last album, Ke$ha continues to produce anthemic party themed songs with a tendency to represent for all the independent women who want to get their drink on and pimp the guys who are eyeing them from the end of the bar. The album guarantees to produce a couple mainstream singles good for dancing at a party and contains politically incorrect lyrics to save her reputation as the 'say what I want bad-girl of the party". If your looking for a song to bump while pregaming with your girls, look no further... Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2010
    6
    Let's be serious, until Ke$ha drops the dollar sign and the vocoder, she shouldn't really be critiqued on her lyrical intellect as the standpoint of an album review. The lyrics are unapologetic and banal, and it is clear that no matter her SAT Score, she is profoundly stupid (She spells Are with the letter R, and, in "We R Who We R", commends and commands people to be who they are, beforeLet's be serious, until Ke$ha drops the dollar sign and the vocoder, she shouldn't really be critiqued on her lyrical intellect as the standpoint of an album review. The lyrics are unapologetic and banal, and it is clear that no matter her SAT Score, she is profoundly stupid (She spells Are with the letter R, and, in "We R Who We R", commends and commands people to be who they are, before telling her male companion in, again the well spelled "Grow A Pear", to grow some balls, and change who he is, before she'll take him seriously again).
    The "Animal" extension is however, a fairly pleasing listen. If phazing out the lyrics of title track "Cannibal", the chorus does reach anthemic heights, and is a sure-fire club stomper, with tracks "We R Who We R" and "Blow" following immediately in it's footsteps. "Blow" notably takes a step into the more euphoric trance genre, with soaring vocoded vocals and stop-start style, and is a standout in doing so. Ballads "The Harold Song" and "Crazy Beautiful Life" show a less vocally assisted Ke$ha, and a more vulnerable one. "The Harold Song", which contains striking similarities to "Animal"'s "Dancing With Tears In My Eyes", proves a highlight, with a standout chorus and cold delivery. The most interesting track is "Sleazy", a trashy, repetitive, but somehow suggestive and clever at the same time. She ditches the speak-sung nature of her usual work for straight up Rap, which is delivered poignantly and fairly well, between vocal oddities such as that after "Beat so fat, wanna make me come... Over to your place", showing that she isn't taking her filthy image too seriously.
    Ultimately, this set fails to live up to it's former, and while there are 1 or 2 standouts, the EP itself is ruined by going places that lyrically are far too taboo to even be considered daring, and a vocoder supplied, same synth reliance which, at this point, feels tired.
    Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2010
    6
    I loved "Animal" album, although, as I mentioned on its critic, it's guilty pleasure, but, I don't know... As I said, don't try too hard in finding clever in this. Still, there are some good songs in it. "Canibal" is the best. Funny song, and it should be a club banger soon. But, the other songs are just average. The next single should be "Blow" though, good song on the radio.
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    I liked the generic pop-vibe shown in Ke$has music. In her album "Cannibal" she doesn't show any more originally than her previous album "Animal". The auto-tuning she uses in her music does let me down a little therefore this contributes towards a deduction of serious points in my final score for this review. I recommend this for people that like uptempo dirty pop music.
  6. Feb 23, 2011
    5
    Ke$ha- Cannibal
    American Pop singer songwriter, Ke$ha, had her breakthrough in 2009 at the age of 22. Her first appearance was with Flo-Rida in the song â
  7. Jul 27, 2011
    5
    A definite step up from "Animal". "Cannibal" at least offers something worth listening to. It is, however, by no means the best piece of work you can imagine. While only a few tracks truly shine, the entire EP is still dull. The motives of this EP are fully commercial. And that is to sell a dying hype. Where Ke$ha shows more vocal capability, it still lacks the ability to be intelligent.
  8. Mar 25, 2012
    5
    Better than "Animal", sure, but not good. "We Are Who We R" is good but in this EP, like in the album, all the tracks have the same horrible and annoying sound. The biggest part of the tracks talks about glitter or parties, so there isn't a lot of substance. Better than Animal, but not good.
  9. Dec 11, 2011
    4
    After her awful debut she decided to record an EP that was equally as bad. Exactly the same story - the two singles are good but the other 8 tracks are filler and all sound the same. C U next Tuseday borders on been good but that's about it. If you like ke$ha then just buy the singles and be done with - don't waste time and money buying this crap.
  10. Mar 28, 2013
    4
    Unlike her previous album, even autotune can't save Ke$ha this time. "Blow," "The Harold Song" and "We R Who We R" were good songs, but the rest of the album was not the best.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    67
    This adjunct to "Animal" is unapologetically escapist and highly programmed fun.
  2. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    Sure, Max Martin's hooks, and especially Dr. Luke's neon-colored throb push these tunes into your head--they're in top form, aided by the tight focus of an eight-track EP, Cannibal's brevity trumping the scattershot Animal--but what makes them stick is Kesha, a pop star lacking pop star looks and a pop star voice.
  3. 60
    Ke$ha didn't really set the bar for intellectual heft too high on her debut, Animal, so it seems like hair-splitting to mention that even with guilty pleasures like "Cannibal" and, uh, "C U Next Tuesday," Cannibal seems to be skimping on the cleverness.